The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Google Maps by Reumer Popular Plugin

Plugin for displaying one or more Google Maps within content-items, modules or components of Joomla 1.5.x (native), 2.5.x and 3.x.

A new release 3.2 of the Joomla plugin Google Maps is available that restores the kml proxy feature in a secure way that was removed in the previous version because of security risks. Also it solves some problems for responsive templates.
The new version has the following new features:
* Added language possibilities for GeoXML and gotoaddress form
* Open infowindow in KML by parameter (GeoXML)

Solves the following errors:
* New authorisation for Twitter
* Security risks in kml proxy
* Problem of standalone Joomla application for kml proxy, twitter and css settings
* Problem with clouds
* Standard use Google Maps API version stable instead of development
* Support for language with multiple dialects (Portugese/Chinese)
* Problem with zoom and center in lightbox
* Solves problems with responsive templates

This version will automatically update in 2.5 and 3.x.
If you want to upgrade from version 2.x then:
1. Install the new version 3.1. This is a new plugin, it does not replace the version 2.x plugin!
2. Do not open the plugin configuration! First you need to enable the new system plugin called "System - Google Map" in the list of plugins by clicking the red dot in the status column. This is the only way to copy all your parameters from the old plugin to the new one!
3. After enabling the plugin in the correct way (point 2) you can check if the settings of the old plugin are copied correctly by opening the new plugin configuration settings.
4. After that you can disable the old system plugin called "Google Map"

Language support available for all the parameters: English, French, Italian, Spanish and Swedish.
Please send me language files so I can add them to the plugin. Goto my website to contact me.

Look at the demo site first for documentation. If you've problems please do the checklist on the site: http://tech.reumer.net/Google-Maps/Documentation-of-plugin-Googlemap/checklist-placing-plugin-in-article.html

If this doesn't help or you have questions or new wishes please fill in the form on my website with an url that shows the problem and version of the plugin and Joomla.

Usage:
{mosmap width='500'|height='400'|lat='52.052312'|lon='4.447141'| zoom='3'|text='svDWO'}
(when editing article goto html view to remove returns or < br /> when you copy this example)

Report Extension

 

 

2008-04-19
Reviews: 1
This one is highly recommended.
Installing and setup was very easy.
Only thing was that the map did't work in IE7...
Turned out to be a problem in my template!
Mike solved it for me, so his support is excellent.
Very fast reply on my emails,
Mike: well done!
2008-04-14
Reviews: 2
Mike is a great person, He reply fast and always to my emails.
But above all he create a great plugin!!!
2008-04-09
Reviews: 2
Mike gave me fantastic and quick response to my inquiries. A little intricate to code the parameters for this mambot but it would mostly be a one off job for a web site.

Worked great for me.
2008-04-05
Reviews: 5
although I'm new to joomla, i had almost no trouble installing and using this plugin. Good stuff!
2008-03-28
Reviews: 1
With Mozilla this works fantastic. Under IE7 I had problems loading the maps. It turned out to be a problem with my Template. Mike was very helpfull and gives excellent service.
2008-03-25
Reviews: 5
A great plugin, very easy to install and configure.
I had a problem with my site having white text, and the text in the info window not showing.

I e-mailed the author and got a prompt reply with the solution. Fantastic support.

Highly recommended
2008-03-24
Reviews: 1
Very good site by Mike and great plug in. I just installed Joombla yesterday and I am having a blast.
2008-03-23
Reviews: 3
I was a complete newbie to Joomla when I installed this on our organization's website. After I got the hang of it, it worked great. Our members are thrilled. I tried it on a different template and had some trouble getting it to work. Mike was extremely helpful in helping to resolve the issue.
2008-03-21
Reviews: 4
This plugin works great. Thank you very much!
2008-03-17
Reviews: 1
I am new to Joomla. Googlemaps was very easy to install and use. I also contacted the developer, Mike, with a question and he was very helpful and courteous. Can't ask for better than that. Thanks and great job!
2008-03-16
Reviews: 1
Great extension, did just what we wanted straight out the box!

Just a shame requires Legacy mode in Joomla 1.5, otherwise a fantastic extension!
2008-03-12
Reviews: 2
The Googlemaps plugin is an easy to use, really fantastic plugin. With a little tweaking (that is explained on the plugins home page), this installs and works like a dream! As a relative newbie to joomla (I'm using 1.5), I had the plugin installed and working in both modules and contacts within 3 minutes.

I'd recommend this plugin to anyone who needs to display googlemaps. The developer is happy to respond to requests, and seems to be constantly updating and improving the plugin. Top work Mike, and thanks for all your hard work!
2008-03-05
Reviews: 2
This is an excellent plugin. Easy to use and understand.
2008-03-04
Reviews: 54
This is an excellent Plugin. Worked right out of the box first time !! - Very clear instructions and perfect Google mapping on your Joomla site. If you need Google maps, this one most likely will do the trick for you. Many Thanks to the Developers of this fine Plugin
2008-02-28
Reviews: 1
I was looking for this sort of plugin for a J! 1.5 site and I'm very happy to say this works fine with the new Joomla. Even though the instructions say that Legacy mode needs to be enabled, I have managed to install and run this plugin without enabling Legacy mode.

All I had to do was to modify the xml file to the new J!1.5 format structure and repackage the plugin and, voila, it installed without problems. I don't know why the author(s) don't create a J! 1.5 version of this plugin since it's so simple...
2008-02-21
Reviews: 2
Thanks Mike for such a high impact, easy to install, easy to use, cool extension.

I reckon I got is working initially in about 15 mins or less by hooking into an existing KML file on the web. I then built my own KML file and hooked this in very quickly.

I did have an issue with my own KML file but I basically didn't read Mike's documentation, much to the chagrin of my wife, the Documentation Manager for a software company :) -- the KML file MUST BE in a location that is accessible by Google. This is a Google thing and not a Mike thing, and once I figured this out we were up and running!

Great flexibility in all the parameters between global params at the plug-in level and local param at the instance level.

They really should have a rating higher than "Excellent!" just for this plug-in.
2008-02-18
Reviews: 3
This thing rocks!!! I used the standard information in the backend and added the mosmap tag to an article and it's done! Awesome work on this Plugin that Rocks like a Component!!!
2008-02-10
Reviews: 1
Easy enough for a n00b like me to use. Mike is terrific about helping out with problems. This is a very straightforward plugin. Does what I need, no muss, no fuss!
2008-02-10
Reviews: 1
This plugin is amazing, simple to use, easy to setup and works with both J! 1.0 and J! 1.5

The support the developer offered me was amazing when I had a query and I must admit that you should use this over any other mapping plugin/component!

Nice one Mike!

-John
2008-02-10
Reviews: 41
Really cool and really simple to install and just does exactly what you would want. I've not yet tried any of the more advanced functionality (doing routes), but for a basic Google map on your webpage, it's perfect!

Don't make the mistake I did: copying and pasting the lat/lon coordinates into JCE put some HTML tags in there too and I didn't realise until I checked the HTML...



is a good website for getting lat/lon coordinates.

Thanks for this extension :-)
Page 31 of 35