The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Google Maps by Reumer Popular Plugin

Plugin for displaying one or more Google Maps within content-items, modules or components of Joomla 1.5.x (native), 2.5.x and 3.x.

A new release 3.2 of the Joomla plugin Google Maps is available that restores the kml proxy feature in a secure way that was removed in the previous version because of security risks. Also it solves some problems for responsive templates.
The new version has the following new features:
* Added language possibilities for GeoXML and gotoaddress form
* Open infowindow in KML by parameter (GeoXML)

Solves the following errors:
* New authorisation for Twitter
* Security risks in kml proxy
* Problem of standalone Joomla application for kml proxy, twitter and css settings
* Problem with clouds
* Standard use Google Maps API version stable instead of development
* Support for language with multiple dialects (Portugese/Chinese)
* Problem with zoom and center in lightbox
* Solves problems with responsive templates

This version will automatically update in 2.5 and 3.x.
If you want to upgrade from version 2.x then:
1. Install the new version 3.1. This is a new plugin, it does not replace the version 2.x plugin!
2. Do not open the plugin configuration! First you need to enable the new system plugin called "System - Google Map" in the list of plugins by clicking the red dot in the status column. This is the only way to copy all your parameters from the old plugin to the new one!
3. After enabling the plugin in the correct way (point 2) you can check if the settings of the old plugin are copied correctly by opening the new plugin configuration settings.
4. After that you can disable the old system plugin called "Google Map"

Language support available for all the parameters: English, French, Italian, Spanish and Swedish.
Please send me language files so I can add them to the plugin. Goto my website to contact me.

Look at the demo site first for documentation. If you've problems please do the checklist on the site: http://tech.reumer.net/Google-Maps/Documentation-of-plugin-Googlemap/checklist-placing-plugin-in-article.html

If this doesn't help or you have questions or new wishes please fill in the form on my website with an url that shows the problem and version of the plugin and Joomla.

Usage:
{mosmap width='500'|height='400'|lat='52.052312'|lon='4.447141'| zoom='3'|text='svDWO'}
(when editing article goto html view to remove returns or < br /> when you copy this example)

Report Extension

 

 

2007-11-29
Reviews: 3
At first I thought the configuration seemed a little daunting but when I went to to developer's site there were more than enough examples from which to copy and paste from. On the plus side, the options to allow you to customise the extension to how you want. I also noticed some weird graphics appear on the map but an email into support and they informed me of a conflict with the font resizer I had on the page. I did find the support very timely, accurate and you feel the developer is passionate about his work. A very good extension with great support that I will keep in my portfolio as a must have rather than a nice to have extension
2007-11-23
Reviews: 1
This mambot is absolutely perfect for my clients sites needs. With the addition of customizable icons it adds that special something.
2007-11-15
Reviews: 1
Had a problem with IE 7 and the lightbox but the developer fixed it ASAP. Great plugin! So easy and quick!
2007-11-15
Reviews: 1
This one is really easy to use.

Install it, go to google map, get the cordinates and publish

I sometime hope that all extensions works like this ;-)
2007-11-15
Reviews: 1
This is a very nice plugin and the support of the developer is great. I wanted to use this plugin on my website both in English and in Dutch and within a view days the plugin has been adapted and now it works together with Joomfish.
2007-11-11
Reviews: 5
Easy to install, and easy to use. I use templates for all my articles, and implementing this mambot in the template makes it easy enough that all I have to do is type in an address, and poof, instant map. Awesome little tool!
2007-11-01
Reviews: 1
This product is most definitely good, but unfortunately it does not work at all with internet explorer. This is the case with most of the components/mambots created for joomla. Tried hunting online for a solution, but couldn't get any. Wish somebody could find a solution for this...
Owner's reply

I've talked with Gaurav Kashalkar. It is not IE in general but IE6 and lower. He got a stack error in IE6.
The cause is not the Plugin or Google Maps, but the template. In some templates for Joomla there is javascript to make png transparant. This conflicts with the Google Maps API. When this is removed the maps work perfect in IE6
So Gaurav en I solved it.

Mike

2007-10-29
Reviews: 2
If you use GPS to map information, and you need to map a polylines in kml files, then this extension is the business. This extension fully supports display of Google Map kml files on your site (Google Earth kml files have more information in them).
In the latest version of Google Maps, you can use kml files to map routes that previously required a tiresome edits to pull out latitude and longitude in to a comma separated file. This extension means no more messing around, one mambot line is all it takes, provided that you do not exceed Google's size limit for kml files, to display an entire route trip from your GPS on your website.
As for support, I can not thank Mike enough. I need to be able to display information using the most stable version of Google Maps. But he quickly found out that this version, 2.s, does not, as yet, support kml files. So a quick reload of the original sorted the problem. I, like other reviewers have found, it is usually a silly mistake that results in the map not displaying.
Some bits seem a bit of a struggle, but most of this is due to the Google API requirements rather than anything Mike has done. Read the instructions very carefully, and you'll be amazed.
My GPS data now displays beautifully.
2007-10-28
Reviews: 1
It works perfect. Also you get great support, much better than most paied software :-)
2007-10-26
Reviews: 7
I have tried all of the Google Maps extensions currently and this is the easiest to use. It does the job and does it well. Lots of easy-to-follow examples on the author's website. You can even do driving directions from the maps it generates. One small bug, though, where it does not display your map on content pages with a Read more... link and the map is on the second section of the content page. Other than that, highly recommended!
Owner's reply

Hello Tom,

Thanks for your review.

I've tested my plugin in Joomla 1.0.13 and Joomla 1.5 with the read more.. link and it works allright.

Can you please send me more information or example where it doesn't work?

Regards Mike

2007-10-26
Reviews: 1
For me this plugin have all the things i need, and is very easy to use... In my opinion it just need a plugin for a wysiwyg editor, because in some websites we need that the visitors post a map, and for this people that can be a littel difficult.

:) :) :)
2007-10-18
Reviews: 2
I had a problem with the plugin, but the support was great. It was my own stupidity it doesn't works.
Now I use the plugin and it is very skilful.
2007-10-17
Reviews: 2
It is an excellent plugin and the support of Mike very fast and efficient... congratulations for this job.
2007-10-16
Reviews: 1
User in Maine USA trying to get a map with multi markers up on Joomla 1.5. Mike returned my email promptly with guidance on using KML with googlemaps. Was up and running after reading the documentation... maybe an hour end-to-end. Thanks Mike -- I recommend highly.
2007-10-06
Reviews: 1
Found this great - easy to include in a content item, and simple to configure.

Only hicup I had was when trying to give an address rather than lat/lon parameters. But Mike got back with a fix in very short order.
2007-09-30
Reviews: 1
Excellent extension. Simple to use but pretty powerful. Have easily added GoogleMaps to JReviews so that all reviews of places to visit include little google maps.

Initially had a query about setting this up but Mike emailed back really quickly and provided link to useful info. I then took couple of minutes to link Googlemap and JReviews and I'm not a hardcore techie.
2007-09-30
Reviews: 1
After getting over how to figure out how to set you parameters, using this plugin is straight forward.

This is as simple as setting up maps for Joomla as it gets.

On Joomla 1.5 RC2, I initially had problems getting maps appear in articles. I had no problems in the frontpage and blog views of the article. But the articles just showed a blank space for the map. I wrote for support and the problem was solved after 3 or so prompt email exchanges. Thanks Mike.
2007-09-24
Reviews: 2
Great Plugin:
This is a great tool... especially for features like adding a Kml file as an overlay, exactly what I needed.

Great Support:
I installed 2.9 but found I could not get the map with loaded kml file to zoom in on lat/lon I had set... it kept loading zoomed out to 'show all' markers on the map. I emailed Mike and he responded straight away, checked my page and admitting it was a bug in the plugin sent me an updated version which completely fixed it :)

Very impressed... will definately send a donation for that support.
2007-09-16
Reviews: 2
I've used this on a couple of sites now and it's really easy to use and looks great ! When I initially used it and had problems with the configuration, Mike was really helpful and fast to reply.

I'd highly recommend using this great tool to get the latitude and longitude to use with this plugin: http://www.gorissen.info/Pierre/maps/googleMapLocationv3.php

Nice work Mike, thanks very much :o)
2007-09-15
Reviews: 1
I managed to launch the plugin in no time. After 20 minutes I had a nice looking map in one of my articles. Works fine under FF2 and IE7.
I had an issue with putting an e-mail address in the balloon popup but after contacting Mike (it took him a few hours!), he promised to take care of it. So it's a score for the developer, as well as to the code itself.
Page 33 of 35