The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Google Maps by Reumer Popular Plugin

Plugin for displaying one or more Google Maps within content-items, modules or components of Joomla 1.5.x (native), 2.5.x and 3.x.

A new release 3.2 of the Joomla plugin Google Maps is available that restores the kml proxy feature in a secure way that was removed in the previous version because of security risks. Also it solves some problems for responsive templates.
The new version has the following new features:
* Added language possibilities for GeoXML and gotoaddress form
* Open infowindow in KML by parameter (GeoXML)

Solves the following errors:
* New authorisation for Twitter
* Security risks in kml proxy
* Problem of standalone Joomla application for kml proxy, twitter and css settings
* Problem with clouds
* Standard use Google Maps API version stable instead of development
* Support for language with multiple dialects (Portugese/Chinese)
* Problem with zoom and center in lightbox
* Solves problems with responsive templates

This version will automatically update in 2.5 and 3.x.
If you want to upgrade from version 2.x then:
1. Install the new version 3.1. This is a new plugin, it does not replace the version 2.x plugin!
2. Do not open the plugin configuration! First you need to enable the new system plugin called "System - Google Map" in the list of plugins by clicking the red dot in the status column. This is the only way to copy all your parameters from the old plugin to the new one!
3. After enabling the plugin in the correct way (point 2) you can check if the settings of the old plugin are copied correctly by opening the new plugin configuration settings.
4. After that you can disable the old system plugin called "Google Map"

Language support available for all the parameters: English, French, Italian, Spanish and Swedish.
Please send me language files so I can add them to the plugin. Goto my website to contact me.

Look at the demo site first for documentation. If you've problems please do the checklist on the site: http://tech.reumer.net/Google-Maps/Documentation-of-plugin-Googlemap/checklist-placing-plugin-in-article.html

If this doesn't help or you have questions or new wishes please fill in the form on my website with an url that shows the problem and version of the plugin and Joomla.

Usage:
{mosmap width='500'|height='400'|lat='52.052312'|lon='4.447141'| zoom='3'|text='svDWO'}
(when editing article goto html view to remove returns or < br /> when you copy this example)

Report Extension

 

 

2012-02-16
Reviews: 1
I am pretty new to Joomla and needed a map integration for a project. Mikes plug in worked like a dream. I then ran into a little problem with the map not showing in Chrome and Mike helped me out right away.
2012-02-10
Reviews: 8
I was looking for a plugin to indicate the address of a local music shows.
The answer came this plugin: incredibly simple to configure.
Congratulations to the author for this excellent work.
2012-02-04
Reviews: 3
Got the google maps plugin installed in wamp/localhost worked perfectly BUT when I uploaded to the server it broke !. Got in touch with Mike who sent me a fix and now works beautifully.
The plugin broke because of a PHP server problem and mike sent me a javascript fix, the only issue I had with the fix was the google api key had to be re-done, my old api key would not work so I had to get a new one. The settings and variations of the map plugin is amazing and I highly recommend it. Mike asked me for a couple of days to fix and true to his word its fixed, if you ever have any probs get in touch with the developer.
2012-01-27
Reviews: 2
thats the absolute best maps-extension you could find!

i need something like this since about three months, and no one is so effectively, so challenging or so easy to handle!

So, everybody, if you need a maps plugin: JUST TRY THIS ONE!

May someone can tell me if or when this plugin will be J!2.5 compossible?

TY so far and ty for this extension!!!
Owner's reply

Yes the plugin is compatible with Joomla 2.5. This will be updated in JED very soon

2012-01-26
Reviews: 2
Cant recommend this google map plug in enough.

Very simple, with lots of parameters.

I had trouble with map showing in IE and support from Mike was first class, solving the problem instantly for me.
2012-01-26
Reviews: 5
This is one easy to use and implement plugin. The surprising part is now much control you have over it and how much it can do and it is FREE. More importantly it actually works.

There was one issue with my Joomla setup and Mike quickly was able to send the patch to have it work. That simple, hard to believe it was possible. I had read the reviews and I have to concur with the rest of his users/fans. He has written clean, workable code that is respectful of the Joomla framework. I tip my hat to Mike and his plugin.

Thanks for developing this piece of code.
2012-01-21
Reviews: 1
I’m impressed efficient the support by mike.. Thanks a lot Great extension! Really enjoyed working with it :)
2012-01-19
Reviews: 1
Really very good job. I just installed it on my site and it works perfect.
At the beginning a had some problems (on my side) but the support was immediately and now .... it works like I wont.
2012-01-17
Reviews: 2
Very easy to use with great documentation - thank you.
2012-01-17
Reviews: 8
One of my favorite plugins ever. Used it on several sites. Now with Google API 3 even easier. Many options. It's just hardly to believe that it is free. I needed a little support. Mike answered same day. Thank you so much for this.
2012-01-14
Reviews: 1
easy to use (just a read manual) and exellent support!
2012-01-10
Reviews: 2
After reading the other reviews i tried this extension and it is great! It is extremly simple and works perfect.

The support of Mike is also excellent! I had a little question an Mike answered within 2 hours providing the solution.

Thank you very much for this great plugin!
2012-01-09
Reviews: 2
Hi thank you for this plug in and all the supporting documents. Takes a little know how but its very good. Thaks
2012-01-08
Reviews: 4
I have had so much problems with iframe and google maps in joomla 1.7 but this plugin fixes it just great. I also got execellent support by email.
I have achieved what I needed for the moment and there are more settings and different methods to use for more advanced usage.

So if you have problems with google maps try this plugin, really.
/Göran
2012-01-08
Reviews: 1
This really is simply the best extension out there, no doubt! And Mike is ready to help you with any questions you might have. Excellent!! I have been using the module on Joomla 1.5 for a number of years and the users have voted by making the page the most popular on the site. Now moving to 1.7 and Mike was on hand to assist.
2012-01-07
Reviews: 3
This plugin has so many options, it can be a bit overwhelming at first. However, the author has provided extensive documentation and examples on his website, which proves very helpful.

I contacted Mike regarding a map layout I was trying to achieve, and apparently what I wanted wasn't possible. Within a day he wrote a new version of it, emailed it to me, and provided me with the exact method to call. Absolutely outstanding, especially for a /free/ plugin!

Keep up the great work Mike!
2012-01-03
Reviews: 8
After figuring out I needed to go back to V2 API to get the lightbox happening, I swiftly had the plugin integrated into K2 and was automatically displaying maps on K2 items including a lightbox version meaning there was a little and big map available easily.
2012-01-03
Reviews: 3
I have used the google maps plugin in my website to display a map in an article. Despite being new to joomla I found it very easy to implement. I then decided to try and use a kml file with the module on a locally based server and ran in to difficulties. After hours of frustration I emailed the developer (Mike) and was surprised to get a response a couple of hrs later. A few screen shots back in a second email and I was up and running. What makes it even more amazing is that I got this support over the new year!

Mike thanks a million !
2012-01-01
Reviews: 2
Just the extension I have been looking for. Easy to use. Just one place(module) where all the googlemaps options can be set. Or overrule them on specific places with command line commands in specific articles.

And all the possible googlemaps options are available. At least, all the googlemaps options I know of ;-)


Also like the support. Something did not work as I expected: got an answer within a few hours.
2011-12-30
Reviews: 14
I can fully understand why people are so taken with this excellent plugin, it works a treat, but if you have problems, as I did get it to work, the developer was there to resolve the problems.

The problems was of course all of my making, I had the wrong code or I hadn't edited the code correctly.

What a joy, thanks for all of your help, I think that this is a great product and does all and more that you would expect.
Page 8 of 35