The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Google Maps by Reumer Popular Plugin

Plugin for displaying one or more Google Maps within content-items, modules or components of Joomla 1.5.x (native), 2.5.x and 3.x.

A new release 3.2 of the Joomla plugin Google Maps is available that restores the kml proxy feature in a secure way that was removed in the previous version because of security risks. Also it solves some problems for responsive templates.
The new version has the following new features:
* Added language possibilities for GeoXML and gotoaddress form
* Open infowindow in KML by parameter (GeoXML)

Solves the following errors:
* New authorisation for Twitter
* Security risks in kml proxy
* Problem of standalone Joomla application for kml proxy, twitter and css settings
* Problem with clouds
* Standard use Google Maps API version stable instead of development
* Support for language with multiple dialects (Portugese/Chinese)
* Problem with zoom and center in lightbox
* Solves problems with responsive templates

This version will automatically update in 2.5 and 3.x.
If you want to upgrade from version 2.x then:
1. Install the new version 3.1. This is a new plugin, it does not replace the version 2.x plugin!
2. Do not open the plugin configuration! First you need to enable the new system plugin called "System - Google Map" in the list of plugins by clicking the red dot in the status column. This is the only way to copy all your parameters from the old plugin to the new one!
3. After enabling the plugin in the correct way (point 2) you can check if the settings of the old plugin are copied correctly by opening the new plugin configuration settings.
4. After that you can disable the old system plugin called "Google Map"

Language support available for all the parameters: English, French, Italian, Spanish and Swedish.
Please send me language files so I can add them to the plugin. Goto my website to contact me.

Look at the demo site first for documentation. If you've problems please do the checklist on the site: http://tech.reumer.net/Google-Maps/Documentation-of-plugin-Googlemap/checklist-placing-plugin-in-article.html

If this doesn't help or you have questions or new wishes please fill in the form on my website with an url that shows the problem and version of the plugin and Joomla.

Usage:
{mosmap width='500'|height='400'|lat='52.052312'|lon='4.447141'| zoom='3'|text='svDWO'}
(when editing article goto html view to remove returns or < br /> when you copy this example)

Report Extension

 

 

2011-12-14
Reviews: 1
Very simple to use, yet powerful extension that does exactly what you want it to.

Support is also brilliant - I had a problem, contacted the developer who responded with the solution in less than 24 hours.
AIL
2011-12-13
Reviews: 25
Simply great, very good plugin complete of many variations and options and in the meantime simple to use! Compliments indeed!
2011-12-08
Reviews: 1
The best extension i´ve found. Totally cutomizable whith a lot of features.
2011-12-06
Reviews: 3
Great plugin with lot of possibilities and great support.
2011-12-03
Reviews: 2
This plugin will be a standard extension on all my sites from now on. Excellent work.
2011-11-30
Reviews: 1
I have used this plugin in many projects of mine since joomla 1.5.
It's really easy to use, straithforward with it's instructions and flexible.
It can be implemented by selecting a set of parameters in the plugins page or by adding parameters in the {mosmap} code you use to call it in your article. It also supports the latest version 3 of the google maps API.

What really made a difference for me and made me add this review is the swift and accurate support I got when I was facing a problem with the plugin.
2011-11-30
Reviews: 1
As a new Joomla 1.7 user I needed a plugin which would be quick and easy to apply within a module.

This worked really well.

Support comment:
Originally my map was not displaying correctly, but after a swift response from Mike he identified that I'd missed off a minus in one of my co-ordinates. I corrected that and all works perfectly.

Great plugin and excellent service. Thank you
2011-11-28
Reviews: 4
It's a great plugin. It is highly customizable. I tried it on FF, IE and Opera, and it is working perfectly. Had to disable Mootols to make it work on IE8.
2011-11-26
Reviews: 2
I think this is the first time I really felt the need to review a Joomla plugin.
This plugin works as advertised as soon as you install it. It has dozens of pre-configurated variables that you can change. However, you don't need to change a thing in order for it to work.
It is easy to use, and, most of all, it does the job flawlessly.

I had a problem with maps not showing up in Firefox and IE and emailed the developer. Few minutes later I had a reply from him that fixed the problem in three seconds! It was a bit of CSS code in my template, written by me, that was messing it up. It had nothing to do with the plugin.

If you need a Google Maps plugin for Joomla look no further. You will not find a better one.
2011-11-24
Reviews: 1
First, the plugin is great. Second it takes seconds to set up.
Third, if you have any kind of problem, the developer will get back to you in minutes. Not even hours.
If all Joomla extensions were this good I bet half of intrnet would be build upon it!
Really, really, thanks.
2011-11-24
Reviews: 1
Thanks for this excellent product - easy to use and most of all very good response and support from the author of this product.
2011-11-23
Reviews: 1
Great Plug-in!!!!
This is an excellent extension.
It is complete and has a lot of fields…
But what makes it really special is the online support. Whatever the question, has a clear and rapid response.
Thanks Mike, all the best!
2011-11-23
Reviews: 3
This is a really good extension, doing much more than what I hoped. I needed to do a travel related website, and this actually made it possible. I even had a problem with it, emailled and Mike answered within the same day, fixing it.

Thanks Mike!
2011-11-23
Reviews: 2
Googlemaps is a great product and Mike Reumer the developer - fantastic.

I asked him to do a modification to support nearmap.com tiles. Was done the next day.

Hightly recommend this as the best map pluggin available for joomla - and I have tried a few.
2011-11-16
Reviews: 4
Just started to use this plugin and it works perfectly! Allthough I had some problems during startup, the support was quick and solved the problem immediately. Recommended for everyone who needs a flexible, configureable plugin to implement google maps on his website!
2011-11-13
Reviews: 2
Top Notch!

Absolutely perfect. Does everything needed of it.

This is beyond doubt the best of the many Google Maps plugins.
2011-11-13
Reviews: 1
Great plugin and great support from Mike.

Thanks
2011-11-09
Reviews: 2
A great plugin that is easy to use with lots of options to get your google map working the way you want.

It installed with no problems and i had a map up and running in minutes.

I had to email with a couple of questions about the googlemap as i wanted to extend its functionality to suit my project and had a helpful answer within hours each time.

All in all a well thought out and easy to use plugin.

Many thanks to the developer for building it and supporting it in such a professional manner!
2011-11-08
Reviews: 1
Great plugin and support!
2011-11-07
Reviews: 5
This plugin is 5 stars but the documentation and support from Mike should get 10 stars.

I had an issue caused by my template and Mike spotted it and gave me the settings to correct it.

Thanks Mike.
Page 9 of 35