The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Google Maps by Reumer Popular Plugin

Plugin for displaying one or more Google Maps within content-items, modules or components of Joomla 1.5.x (native), 2.5.x and 3.x.

A new release 3.2 of the Joomla plugin Google Maps is available that restores the kml proxy feature in a secure way that was removed in the previous version because of security risks. Also it solves some problems for responsive templates.
The new version has the following new features:
* Added language possibilities for GeoXML and gotoaddress form
* Open infowindow in KML by parameter (GeoXML)

Solves the following errors:
* New authorisation for Twitter
* Security risks in kml proxy
* Problem of standalone Joomla application for kml proxy, twitter and css settings
* Problem with clouds
* Standard use Google Maps API version stable instead of development
* Support for language with multiple dialects (Portugese/Chinese)
* Problem with zoom and center in lightbox
* Solves problems with responsive templates

This version will automatically update in 2.5 and 3.x.
If you want to upgrade from version 2.x then:
1. Install the new version 3.1. This is a new plugin, it does not replace the version 2.x plugin!
2. Do not open the plugin configuration! First you need to enable the new system plugin called "System - Google Map" in the list of plugins by clicking the red dot in the status column. This is the only way to copy all your parameters from the old plugin to the new one!
3. After enabling the plugin in the correct way (point 2) you can check if the settings of the old plugin are copied correctly by opening the new plugin configuration settings.
4. After that you can disable the old system plugin called "Google Map"

Language support available for all the parameters: English, French, Italian, Spanish and Swedish.
Please send me language files so I can add them to the plugin. Goto my website to contact me.

Look at the demo site first for documentation. If you've problems please do the checklist on the site: http://tech.reumer.net/Google-Maps/Documentation-of-plugin-Googlemap/checklist-placing-plugin-in-article.html

If this doesn't help or you have questions or new wishes please fill in the form on my website with an url that shows the problem and version of the plugin and Joomla.

Usage:
{mosmap width='500'|height='400'|lat='52.052312'|lon='4.447141'| zoom='3'|text='svDWO'}
(when editing article goto html view to remove returns or < br /> when you copy this example)

Report Extension

 

 

2012-01-07
Reviews: 4
This plugin has so many options, it can be a bit overwhelming at first. However, the author has provided extensive documentation and examples on his website, which proves very helpful.

I contacted Mike regarding a map layout I was trying to achieve, and apparently what I wanted wasn't possible. Within a day he wrote a new version of it, emailed it to me, and provided me with the exact method to call. Absolutely outstanding, especially for a /free/ plugin!

Keep up the great work Mike!
2012-01-03
Reviews: 8
After figuring out I needed to go back to V2 API to get the lightbox happening, I swiftly had the plugin integrated into K2 and was automatically displaying maps on K2 items including a lightbox version meaning there was a little and big map available easily.
2012-01-03
Reviews: 3
I have used the google maps plugin in my website to display a map in an article. Despite being new to joomla I found it very easy to implement. I then decided to try and use a kml file with the module on a locally based server and ran in to difficulties. After hours of frustration I emailed the developer (Mike) and was surprised to get a response a couple of hrs later. A few screen shots back in a second email and I was up and running. What makes it even more amazing is that I got this support over the new year!

Mike thanks a million !
2012-01-01
Reviews: 2
Just the extension I have been looking for. Easy to use. Just one place(module) where all the googlemaps options can be set. Or overrule them on specific places with command line commands in specific articles.

And all the possible googlemaps options are available. At least, all the googlemaps options I know of ;-)


Also like the support. Something did not work as I expected: got an answer within a few hours.
2011-12-30
Reviews: 18
I can fully understand why people are so taken with this excellent plugin, it works a treat, but if you have problems, as I did get it to work, the developer was there to resolve the problems.

The problems was of course all of my making, I had the wrong code or I hadn't edited the code correctly.

What a joy, thanks for all of your help, I think that this is a great product and does all and more that you would expect.
2011-12-28
Reviews: 3
I used the plugin to import a kml file to show in an article in my Joomla site. (Town portal)

In 15 minutes I have the map loaded right on!
I get stuck trying to show a sidebar with references like the one in Google Earth and so I ask to Mike Reumer for support, in a few hours I get the issues fixed and all was running.

Pros;
Plugin works great, its free, support is excellent (better than some payed extensions).
Cons:
I can not buy Mike a dinner for all his help, cause he is from Netherlands.
2011-12-22
Reviews: 4
Installed this free plugin and a few minutes later I had a excellent maps view in my site. Respect for the developers, thanks!
2011-12-21
Reviews: 4
This is simply the best extension out there, no doubt! And Mike is ready to help you with any questions you might have. Excellent!!
2011-12-17
Reviews: 1
* Simple but powerful.
* Full of features.
* Partial support for Google APIs v3 but the main features are already implemented.
* Immediate support from the author.

Look no further for a Google Maps extension. You have found it!
2011-12-14
Reviews: 1
Very simple to use, yet powerful extension that does exactly what you want it to.

Support is also brilliant - I had a problem, contacted the developer who responded with the solution in less than 24 hours.
AIL
2011-12-13
Reviews: 24
Simply great, very good plugin complete of many variations and options and in the meantime simple to use! Compliments indeed!
2011-12-08
Reviews: 1
The best extension i´ve found. Totally cutomizable whith a lot of features.
2011-12-06
Reviews: 3
Great plugin with lot of possibilities and great support.
2011-12-03
Reviews: 2
This plugin will be a standard extension on all my sites from now on. Excellent work.
2011-11-30
Reviews: 1
I have used this plugin in many projects of mine since joomla 1.5.
It's really easy to use, straithforward with it's instructions and flexible.
It can be implemented by selecting a set of parameters in the plugins page or by adding parameters in the {mosmap} code you use to call it in your article. It also supports the latest version 3 of the google maps API.

What really made a difference for me and made me add this review is the swift and accurate support I got when I was facing a problem with the plugin.
2011-11-30
Reviews: 1
As a new Joomla 1.7 user I needed a plugin which would be quick and easy to apply within a module.

This worked really well.

Support comment:
Originally my map was not displaying correctly, but after a swift response from Mike he identified that I'd missed off a minus in one of my co-ordinates. I corrected that and all works perfectly.

Great plugin and excellent service. Thank you
2011-11-28
Reviews: 4
It's a great plugin. It is highly customizable. I tried it on FF, IE and Opera, and it is working perfectly. Had to disable Mootols to make it work on IE8.
2011-11-26
Reviews: 1
I think this is the first time I really felt the need to review a Joomla plugin.
This plugin works as advertised as soon as you install it. It has dozens of pre-configurated variables that you can change. However, you don't need to change a thing in order for it to work.
It is easy to use, and, most of all, it does the job flawlessly.

I had a problem with maps not showing up in Firefox and IE and emailed the developer. Few minutes later I had a reply from him that fixed the problem in three seconds! It was a bit of CSS code in my template, written by me, that was messing it up. It had nothing to do with the plugin.

If you need a Google Maps plugin for Joomla look no further. You will not find a better one.
2011-11-24
Reviews: 1
First, the plugin is great. Second it takes seconds to set up.
Third, if you have any kind of problem, the developer will get back to you in minutes. Not even hours.
If all Joomla extensions were this good I bet half of intrnet would be build upon it!
Really, really, thanks.
2011-11-24
Reviews: 1
Thanks for this excellent product - easy to use and most of all very good response and support from the author of this product.
Page 9 of 35