The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

GoogleMap Component

Editor's Note
  • Includes backlink
The Googlemap light makes it possible to create a googlemap very fast and without much knowledge.

It features stuff like:

* Unlimited destinations on your map
* Attach various information on your maker (address, picture, description, etc)
* Use custom markers
* Possibility to attach routeplanning
* And so much more.

If the Light version is not enough, then you can choose to try the PRO version. use the link below to see what the GoogleMap PRO version offers.

Report Extension



Reviews: 2
A very good component.
Very easy configuration.
Don't need any documentation at all.
Congratulations for the good work.
Keep going.
Reviews: 1
The component itself is feature-rich, easy to administrate and powerfull in many ways. Most interesting is the fact, that you can add as much marks as you like to the map, which allows you to list for example different branches of your local business. We used the component on some of our client sites and liked it a lot.

BUT! Both download links on the devs page are broken and which is the bigger Problem, the devs are neither responding to mail nor fixing this issue. This leads to a not-usable component, which brings the rating from 4 to 2 stars.
Owner's reply


The Download page was down this weeekend, which was solved asap this monday.

Did respond though - but was away in the weekend.

Hope you can use it now though, since the map itself gets no complaints I can see:>

Reviews: 1
I noticed a discrepancy between the rating of this product and its actual effectiveness and the attitude of the developer.

Firstly, I would like to express my disdain for the lack of clear instructions on this version. The component itself could have included simple instructions in Joomla itself. The 36 page PDF included on the website is actually for the commercial version but even that doesn't include comprehensive instructions.

I wasted a lot of time simply figuring out how to publish the plugin, until I found a poorly answered question on the forum wherein the developer informed another user this version does not contain a plugin but still didn't explain how to publish. When someone asks a question it would make sense to make sure their issue is resolved instead of simply answering their question in the most generic way possible, which is a common theme in many questions answered by the developer in her forum.

When I finally did configure the component and published it through a menu item (thanks for explaining that nowhere in the documentation) it did not display. What did display, however, was a backlink to the developer's site. Anyone who is trying to make a professional-looking site doesn't want a load of backlinks junking it up and also hurting its SEO. I scroll through the forum to find instructions for removing this and found the developer was dodging the questions. She would simply state "there is no crime in removing the backlink" but neglected the question was actually for HOW to remove it. We know there is no crime as we are using open-source products here but thanks developer for your sense of humour.

Overall, I'm disgruntled because this component wasted a good 45 minutes to an hour of my time simply because the developer wasn't common-sensical enough to include proper directions or properly answer questions on the forums and perhaps seems more interested in promoting the commercial version or her marketing business than doing a good deed for the open source community.
Owner's reply


First off, thank you for the review.

The review itself does leave some questions unanswered though.

Your issues seems to be of how toactually use joomla, and not the component itself - since you had to use 45 minutes to figure out how to add a menu link.

But if video tutorials, documentation and answered questions on the forum isnt enough - or to generic - I am not sure how I could get a good review from in in the first place.

Best of luck

Reviews: 11
I have used a number of map tools and have never been satisfied with what they did, how they did it until now.

This extension has solved every single need that I have had and the support is top notch. If you need a map tool, no matter what you need this extension will deliver!
Reviews: 1
I was looking for a simple map to point out one location. Found a few great extensions, but all seamed to have conflicts either between K2 or JCE editor. Didn't have time to muck about sorting issue. Loaded up Jan's GoogleMap Light and 'hey presto'. Can recommend it. Thanks Jan
Reviews: 5
I downloaded this, uploaded it to my site and had it working in a few minutes and I am fairly new to joomla.

The great things about google map lite (free version) is its free obviously, but you can have custom icons on it through the server which is great for me. Now all my info from my site can go on one map and users can instantly see where articles are from, have locations to go to and see where local shops and services relevant to that content. Oh and did I say it was free.

Reviews: 1
I must say Thank to jan, He helped me a lot when I customize the google Map light component. Excellent support.
Reviews: 4
Installation was a piece of cake. Finding the right coordinates somewhat difficult, but then i saw the transfer direction button. :)
I think there isn't a better mapping component out there. Compliments, Jan!
Reviews: 1
A Google map component is crucial to my project, so it's no surprise I looked around. I jumped on Jan's project nearly a year ago and haven't been disappointed yet. Each update blows the last out of the water and every time I have contacted Jan he has replied quickly and courteously.

Take a good look at all this component does and be amazed. From user uploads to handling different categories to landing pages (location specific pages with location details), and that is just for starters.

I will be a Jan's Joomla fan for a looong time to come.
Reviews: 3
I bought Pro after trying light and this component works great and dose what its says. There are going to be some changes in the next version and I cannot wait. Great job on this!

Reviews: 2
Since this component went commercial (Pro Version) there has been some problems and it seems the developer is ignoring questions in their forum.

I read the documents, I scanned to forum for a similar problem also. I found no solution and no answers from the developer.

I posted this and it sat for over 2 weeks:

And still no answer. I installed Phoca Maps and used the exact same API key for Google and it worked great.

The features that are implemented in this component may be what you are looking for and if that is the case, I think it is still a good option. But for me, there is no way I am going to pay for the Pro version if I cannot be assured it will actually work.

Also, I cannot uninstall it from the component menu. Problems all around that should be easy to fix, let's hope the developer decides to do that.
Owner's reply

If you scan the forum, and look thorugh it. You will have a hard time finding even one question ignored - and it is even a free component.

The problems you are refering too with the key was most likely a configuration setup done wrong, however you did not reply to my answer on the forum - so I cant know for sure.

Reviews: 3
It's very important to say that in light version it is not possible to integrate the map in articles. I had to install it first to check it out. Time could have been saved if I knew it before. It may be an excellent plugin but for me it is not useable. I decided for Plugin Googlemaps. And this works great.
Owner's reply

The light version does not come with an article plugin. That is correct.

However, it is not indicated that the light version comes with this anywhere. So why you would presume this, I do not know.

Reviews: 2
The user guide is incomplete. Includes installation and setup documentation, but leaves out the final steps of inserting the maps. Seems to be on purpose, believing that if you went through the trouble of installing and configuring the extension, you would go ahead and pay for the pro version with the video and written guides. I on the other hand uninstalled it, and will avoid anything else from this developer. I gave it a "fair" review, instead of "poor", because it does look like a nice extension if you know how to use it. Maybe someone can post the missing documentation here.
Owner's reply

Does not seem like a fair review.

The documentation is not different from how it was at the start.

So this is not the reason.

Any problems you had could always have been posted in my forums.

Good luck though.

Reviews: 1
It`s told that we can download the component, module, plugin... but only if we pay. In the light version we only have the component to download.
In the tag should only be the Component icon and not the other ones, because that is for the Pro Version and its Commercial and not Non-Commercial.

It´s a Great Component, i a only having a problem with the bubble info.
Owner's reply

Sorry for that confusion. Have been removed now.

Reviews: 1
There used to be documentation and video tutorial at the developer's site. They have been removed and the user is told (in the forum) that 'Documentation, video tutorials and setup help follows the Googlemap PRO component'. Without proper documentation, this extension is a pain for the average user if they want to use the plugin.

When so many other commercial extensions have been removed from Joomla extensions directory, this one has no place here after becoming commercial.
Owner's reply

I am sorry you do not like the new Light version.

At some point the documentation will be available again. I just need to adjust it to the new version.

Regarding free setup help. That can not be expected of anyone. I did this at the start, however I am forced to cut down on it. I do have a day job besides this.

The vulnerability you are talking about in my language file. That makes no sense. The file is exactly as the rest of the language files located under the language folder.

At the end of the day I am sorry that you feel this way though, but a free version is available for anyone to download.

Best regards.

Reviews: 1
The light version is ok for me and works good. I had to make a fix in the module by putting a require_once cause of an error, with no clue for the reason. I put this module on my startpage it provide the error and if I put it on other page I haven't. Maybe a problem in the framework of J!. Otherwise I'm happy with and it's easy to use.
Reviews: 1
Amazing!! I was a little nervous having read the review about it not working with new RocketTheme templates, but I installed it in the Moxy template and it worked like a charm right out of the box!! Excellent work guys!!
Reviews: 1
I say simply because this is software how it should be. It works, it's easy to use and the results are superb. Well done on such a great and useful add on.
Reviews: 7
This is simply amazing. Everything you could hope for and more. So professional, intuitive, and it works.

Well done!
Reviews: 1
I am not so experienced with Joomla but with the helpful and very fast support from the author even I could get this up and running exactly as is my wish in no time. Great component, good backend layout, very functional and just looks great on any website. Thanks.
Page 1 of 2