The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


GoogleMap Component

Editor's Note
  • Includes backlink
The Googlemap light makes it possible to create a googlemap very fast and without much knowledge.

It features stuff like:

* Unlimited destinations on your map
* Attach various information on your maker (address, picture, description, etc)
* Use custom markers
* Possibility to attach routeplanning
* And so much more.

If the Light version is not enough, then you can choose to try the PRO version. use the link below to see what the GoogleMap PRO version offers.

http://joomla.jansangill.dk/products/googlemap-pro

Report Extension

 

 

2009-09-01
Reviews: 1
This is a very good component although it does not work on any of the latest templates with Rocket Theme. I would totally give it 5 stars if it worked with the new Rocket Theme templates. Im sure it will work with the new version.
2009-07-17
Reviews: 1
Thanks for that impressive tool! You can add many destinations, you can add your own icons, easy CSS editing in backend and everything works well.....and also in german language! I WILL DONATE!
2009-07-08
Reviews: 7
I love it! Does exactly what it should. Easy to install, and you don't need to be a rocket scientist!

Makes my site look great!
I will make a donation shortly. : )
2009-07-01
Reviews: 3
Well done, thank you!
2009-06-27
Reviews: 11
Easy to install and setup. Fast support from developer. Nice new features not seen in other GoogleMap components for Joomla. A very active project - new features soon to come in the next version (seen on a roadmap page). I have tried nearly all the other GoogleMap components and this is the best.
2009-06-07
Reviews: 1
Easy to configure and install!!
2009-06-02
Reviews: 11
I am kind of speechless ...

This is an awesome extension with a lot of flexibility. The developer(s) are evolving the extension further and further. I like it very much and I do hope that the developer(s) behind this will do other extensions for joomla... he has great skills.
2009-05-20
Reviews: 2
This is really a great component. The setup is done and working within 10 minutes.

The component works with standalone language files, so you can translate them to your own language in no-time.

I have send Jan Sangill the dutch translation, so hopefully he will include this in the next version or update of this great component!
2009-05-20
Reviews: 1
Thanks for the effort & for making it available for the rest of us!
2009-05-17
Reviews: 1
This is a great compenent thats simple to setup once you get your google maps api key.
Jans instructions are easy to follow.

I made a minor enhancement in the code on my install so I have an info box open on a map marker when the page loaded. I contact Jan about making this a configuration option in the next release. I got a prompt and positive response to my suggestion.
Having looked in the code its quite cleanly written.

Only recommendation to people using this to define a fixed pixel size for you map as I had a problem in ie 7 with % size. This is a browser issue and not so one of the component.
2009-05-16
Reviews: 1
This is a great extensions, does everything that you could need. The real reason that this is a great extension is the support given by Jan. I found an error and within 30mins of sending my first email Jan had solved the problem (despite my lack of knowledge)

MUST HAVE.
2009-05-09
Reviews: 4
I tried several Joomla mapping extensions for Google maps and this one is by far the easiest to get going. Download the module and install it and the rest is very intuitive.

What is great is that you can define several marker points and that it does not require you to learn any complex syntax.

I just would like to see some more configuration possibilities. There is no clear way to change the wording for getting directions and I did not see a way to work with Google KLM files. Yet with these shortcomings I come back to this one after having tried some others.

Also note: This is 1.5 native, many other map plugins seem not to be 1.5 native.
Owner's reply

Around the 1st of June there will be a big update on the component.

This new version will have more configuration possibilities and 2 more views, plus more.

2009-05-06
Reviews: 13
Great tool as a component menu link... the plugin and the module for some reason are different and had errors on my system...but I didn't need those for my current project...and this is a new tool. Keep up the good work!

I would love to see the coordinates map tool added to the Category and Config settings...since I keep going into the destinations to use that tool to find the coordinates and then I copy and paste.
2009-05-06
Reviews: 2
Great extension and a wonderful contribution to the FREE Open Source community. This Google Maps component is feature-rich...and better than the commercial YOOtheme.com extension! I like the route-planning feature. As far as I can tell, the component works well...I think the only thing that could be enhanced is the support of UK postcodes. If a postcode is typed into Google, it will recognise it, but if a UK postcode is typed into this Google Map component, it does not recognise it. Overall, excellent work!
2009-05-03
Reviews: 7
Does everything as advertised and was very easy to install. Because there are several facets to this control it's best to read the well laid out instructions that can be found on the author's site. The only trouble I had was getting it to open zoomed. Instructions say zoom factor of 1-9 but it will accept a higher (and lower) number. I put in a 15 to get to street level.

Good Work!
2009-05-02
Reviews: 1
A good idea. Excellent job and support. Thanks!!
Page 2 of 2