The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


googleMaps by kksou Plugin

This plugin allows you to include one or more google maps right inside your content item or article.

This is a super light-weight plugin using less than 20K of codes.

You can use this to easily add a map to your company address.

Unique features:
* uses Google Maps API V3
* You can embed more than one Google Maps within an article
* Each Google Map can be of different size, zoom level, map control and map type
* Support for kml files
* Now works with IE!
* With built-in geocoder! i.e. you can specify using standard address instead of longitude and latitude
* Built-in street view!
* Support for many native languages e.g. Italian, Russian, French
* Supports all Joomla versions - 1.0, 1.5, 1.6, 1.7, 2.5 and 3.0!

How to Use the googleMaps plugin
================================
How to use: http://www.kksou.com/php-gtk2/Joomla-Gadgets/googleMaps-plugin.php#how_to_use

Tutorials: http://www.kksou.com/php-gtk2/Joomla-Gadgets/googleMaps-plugin.php#tutorials

GoogleMaps with Directions
================
This plugin displays the map only. If you want to display the map + driving/walking directions, use the googleDirections plugin:
http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions/maps-a-weather/maps-a-locations/map-directions/8487

Latest Version
==============
v3.0.21 - for Joomla 3.0 and above
Released Feb 10, 2014
Support for Joomla 3.2.2

v1.0.20 (for Joomla 1.0), v1.5.20 (for Joomla 1.5), v1.6.20 (for Joomla 1.6), v1.7.20 (for Joomla 1.7), v2.5.20 (for Joomla 2.5), v3.0.20 (for Joomla 3.0)
Released Apr 21, 2013

* Support for Joomla 3.0!

* Changed onload() to addEvent('load') so that it works with some Joomla templates that also use onload().


v1.0.19 (for Joomla 1.0), v1.5.19 (for Joomla 1.5), v1.6.19 (for Joomla 1.6), v1.7.19 (for Joomla 1.7), v2.5.19 (for Joomla 2.5)
Released Mar 24, 2012

Supports zoom and multiple InfoWindows with KML files!

v1.0.18 (for Joomla 1.0), v1.5.18 (for Joomla 1.5), v1.6.18 (for Joomla 1.6), v1.7.18 (for Joomla 1.7), v2.5.18 (for Joomla 2.5)
Released Feb 4, 2012

* added support for Joomla 2.5
* add flag w3c=1 => w3c compliant
* support for IE7!
* allow googleMaps to display in tabs
* now allow address to include ' (apostrophe)

v2.5.17 (for Joomla 2.5)
Released Jan 26, 2012

Native version of the googleMaps plugin for Joomla 2.5!

v1.0.17 (for Joomla 1.0), v1.5.17 (for Joomla 1.5), v1.6.17 (for Joomla 1.6), v1.7.17 (for Joomla 1.7)
Released Jan 03, 2012

Thanks to feedback from Florian who found out that the reverse geocode lookup by Google sometimes do not gives the right mapping. Have modified the code so that the googleMaps plugin now maps the exact location when latitude/longitude is given.

v1.0.16 (for Joomla 1.0), v1.5.16 (for Joomla 1.5), v1.6.16 (for Joomla 1.6), v1.7.16 (for Joomla 1.7)
Released Dec 24, 2011

New features:

- Support for googleDirections multiple stopovers!
- If no label is specified, will

Report Extension

 

 

2011-11-20
Reviews: 1
Very easy to use plugin and very helpful developer. Thank you !
2011-08-18
Reviews: 1
I run a large real estate site that uses lots of maps to illustrate property locations. I was searching for a "very simple and small" extension that I could manipulate in different situations within the site. This extension is fabulous!!

I chose to pay the very affordable $10 fee to have the License Link removed and was able to download the extension immediately.

I did receive the wrong version however, so I emailed kksou and asked for the correct one. I was very pleased when it arrived in less than an hour! I am in the central part of the US and it was around 1:00am at the time.

Further, I was offered additional assistance which wasn't even necessary, but, I was very grateful for the offer.

My usage of the plugin was as follows:

The plugin itself was designed to be used in an article and/or content area of Joomla. I however, wanted to use it in a module. So, I simply added a code macro to the module and placed the plugin code within it and voila! Instant map in a module. What could be easier? And, the whole plugin is around 10k in size. Perfect!

The greatest thing is that there are lots more parameters to test with this plugin and I can use it in the way it was intended also, for installing into articles.

I am very pleased with the plugin as well as the top-notch service I received.

Thanks kksou!
2011-06-02
Reviews: 7
This plugin is extremely easy to setup and is perfect for adding multiple maps to a single page.

Excellent!
2011-03-29
Reviews: 1
Is the best plugin I've used so far, but do not know why google is not shown in chrome, works well in all browsers, but in my case is not shown in chrome, just blank, do not know if I'm doing something wrong, please expect help from him
2011-02-16
Reviews: 3
how to use multiple sites coordinate in a single map.in documentation u didn't mentioned about the two site corodinates. give example
2011-02-11
Reviews: 1
Google has changed the code, the developer didn't and he/she hasn't indicated on the website, that this plugin is outdated.
What to say ... useless in this form.
Owner's reply

The latest version of the plugin uses the new Google Maps API V3.

Regards,
/kksou

2010-12-02
Reviews: 5
I wanted to show a map in my Contact Us page, so I've downloaded and tried the other GoogleMap plugin together with the custom content extension. I was able to make it work but there is an error showing up which is conflicting to other extension.

Then, I tried to match up my previous/old GoogleMap plugin with the Articles Anywhere, but this time, the doesn't show at all.

Then I search again until I found this googleMaps plugin and gave it a try! And the result...

googleMaps plugin + Articles Anywhere = Perfect!!!

To the developer -- kksou, thank you very very much!
2010-11-17
Reviews: 1
Wow. This is great! I spent a whole day yesterday trying all different kinds of plugins,modules and eventually a mess with a wrapper. Fortunately, found this plugin today. Installed without any problem. The "How-To" was right there in your face. Install, Follow directions, little bit of code. and, DONE!
Thank you developer!
2010-11-10
Reviews: 6
What can I say? I have tried almost ALL map plugins/components for Joomla over the last 3 years, and this is easily the smoothest and least troublesome.

Will definitely be using this plugin for all my client sites moving forward.
2010-10-21
Reviews: 16
Been using this plugin for some time, the latest version is excellent as it includes Google Earth (3Dish). Had problem with generating the right API as I put in www when trying to generate it as I had not read Google instructions carefully enough. Once I had put only the site address as per Google note it created the correct API and worked.
2010-10-03
Reviews: 1
Hi,

Thanks for the precious plugin, it works easily. My problem is that it kills email cloaking if they are in the same article. Could You please fix this problem?
2010-08-26
Reviews: 1
Hi, I'm using this plg since long time ago and it alwas works pretty. Furthemore: I had some support needs with joomla 1.5 and got an excellent support.
2010-07-16
Reviews: 3
I have tried other extensions for googlemaps that features everythinhg, but always problem with the API, make me headache looking troubleshoot for a week

but this plugin is very easy to use, no headache to install and it just working ..... without headache

Although without additional feature like others do, but all the features here is enough for me. Thanks for making this plugin !
2010-06-30
Reviews: 2
Very simple and easy to use.

Thank you to the developer - I got a two minute fix for a problem - I'm delighted.
2010-06-05
Reviews: 5
This is an Excelent Plugin
- Light weight
- Easy to Install
- Good Documentation
- Very, very much useful
for me
Thanks.
2009-11-10
Reviews: 1
Long time Joomla! user first time reviewer...
Perfect Plug in! Easy to install easy to setup, and the online documentation is easy to understand and implement :D
Thank you for a great Plug In
2009-08-31
Reviews: 1
I am no noob but after trying 3 other solutions to get google maps into content this work is by far the cleanest and easiest. Not sure why other solutions needed umpteen variables but this one installed properly and had maps on my employers website within minutes.
2009-08-08
Reviews: 2
It was a great plug-in very easy to use for a non-programmer like me. Just exactly what I needed, no skills needed, just need to follow the instructions "parameters" and that's it....nice work..thanks.
2009-06-03
Reviews: 1
Great plugin set, easy to install and implement immediately. Spot on documentation. I needed a way to add Google Maps to over 1000 pages in a directory, all with different addresses. Works like a charm. My only suggestion would be to make the download links on your site for the plugins easier to find. Otherwise 5 stars. Thanks so much.
2009-05-29
Reviews: 1
Great program! Was very easy to install and use. The directions given on the download page and were very concise and easy to understand. It took me longer to sign up for this site than it did to get this extension up and running. Once again great job!
Page 2 of 2