The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Maps ComponentPlugin

Phoca Maps is a Joomla! component. It is a small component which displays Google Maps on your site. This component doesn't include too much of parameters, the idea of using this component is a fast creation of map on your site.

Just go to Extensions » Maps » New, click on Coordinates button, then click on the place in the map you want to display and save it. Finally create menu link to this map.

If you need to set a marker or more markers, just go to Extensions » Markers » New, select map, click on Coordinates button, then click on the place in the map you want the marker will be set. Add description (you can include images too) and save it. Marker will be displayed in the map.

Use Phoca Maps Plugin for displaying map or more maps in the article.

You are able to select or set your own marker icons.

There are two different versions of Phoca Maps:

- Phoca Maps 1.0.5 - this version uses Google Maps API 2. If you need functions like GoobleBar, Continuous Zoom, Overview Map Control, then download this version.

- Phoca Maps 1.1.0 (2.x for Joomla! 1.6 or 1.7) or any later version - this version uses Google Maps API 3. You need not to create Google Maps API key for your site but some functions are not included (API 3 is still in Google Code Labs - not ready yet). This version is under active development and includes more new features.

Demo (Joomla! 2.5 - custom markers)
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-maps

Demo - KML features:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-maps-kml

Demo - Joomla! 3:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/phoca-maps-demo

Report Extension

 

 

2011-12-03
Reviews: 3
I went through 3 other extensions before I found a good Google Map that will go in an article in Joomla 1.7.

Thanks for the good work.

Sam Drew
2011-11-29
Reviews: 7
Perfect.
2011-10-22
Reviews: 7
Use this extension if you want to display maps in Joomla 1.6/1.7, either as plugin or module or component - this one covers it all in the best way. Easy to install, no reading afforded, Maps API JS3 ... Juice By Jan!!
2011-10-07
Reviews: 1
works very well and has easy to follow instructions. Would definitely recommend
2011-09-05
Reviews: 1
Easy and perfect for my store locating page, thanks!
2011-08-22
Reviews: 4
Thanks for this to pinpoint one location on a map. I am using it on 1.7 in module positions and in articles (with the plug-in).
Customisable - choose the pin, show GPS coordinates or not, re-size, etc.
2011-08-19
Reviews: 8
wow... amazing extension, really helpful, a million thanks to phoca.
2011-08-07
Reviews: 4
Thanks to the developer for this excellent extension, works great and it's really easy to use. I always use it on my sites when i want an easy to install map.
Great work!
2011-08-04
Reviews: 1
If you only need a simple map with just a few markers, this is the extension for you. It's user friendly and straight forward.

But if you need to add a large amount of markers and have safety concerns regarding the zoom range of your map, forget about it.

Three months ago I left a message in their forum asking if it would be possible to limit the zoom range on my map and also if I could deactivate the streetview option. I never received any valid answer. Not even a word from their developers. Too bad.
Owner's reply

Hi, please try to paste your question in the forum again, I am the only one developer, I have answered over 20.000 posts in the forum (I think, there is no other developer in the Joomla! world than me who answered more questions), maybe I have overlook it (after my regular work, at night, I am usually answering over 120 posts, so it is possible to overlook some of them :-( )


Thank you, Jan

http://www.phoca.cz/phoca-needs-your-help/

2011-08-02
Reviews: 36
Phoca extensions are often reliable, and this is a really a useful component. Thanks
2011-07-04
Reviews: 6
Simple but elegant. Very quick to set up and impressive flexibility.
2011-06-29
Reviews: 117
500 - An error has occurred
Return to Control Panel

I re-installed it three times just incase and came across the same issue. I am only giving it a 3 star as most thing of Phoca's I have used have been perfect.Not for 1.6 - Sorry.
Owner's reply

Hi, if you get 500 on your server, just enable php error reporting to see which error you get on your server, see:
http://www.phoca.cz/documents/16-joomla/336-how-to-enable-displaying-php-errors-on-site

Jan

2011-06-20
Reviews: 5
Unfortunately version 1.1.0 marker breaks in all versions of IE so the marker is distorted. This has been reported in the forums for a while now and no fix has been given by the developer. If this could be fixed, then my rating would go to 5 stars.
Owner's reply

Hi, please

1) Allways use the latest version, 1.1.0 is not latest version (1.1.1 is the latest)

2) I see no problem with markers and IE in 1.1.0, the same for 1.1.1:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/phoca-maps-demo-component

3) I see no reporting about such problem in Phoca Forum?

Please if you have some problem which can be caused e.g. by your another extension on your site, etc., please try to describe it in Phoca Forum, so then it can be solved.

Thank you, Jan

2011-04-17
Reviews: 1
Install:
I didn't click the "Install" button after uploading the component into my site then there's error after select Components - Phoca Maps - Maps.
But if click "Install" right after uploading the .zip package, everything's ok.
I think a "Error if not click one of the buttons" is ok.

Setting:
Superb detailed document makes it easy to put everything in places.

Interface:
Simple but very, very good looking map after integrating into articles.

One more:
It's free.
2011-04-06
Reviews: 1
For those looking for a basic use of Gmaps this is a good choice. I needed to present on a map several projects disseminated over the world and with Phoca maps it took less than an hour, including:
- Installing the module
- Creating a map
- Creating marks on the map
- And creating a menu link

Cons:
- Customization of the content shown in each mark window (the bubble that is shown when you click on a mark)
- image of the markes: it has 11 types (arrows, stars, etc) but cannot be customized

Globally: excellent!
2011-03-23
Reviews: 46
This map is awesome
Add multiple locations to a map
Simple to use
Allows you to have as many maps as you want.
Multiple locations on each.
Simply brilliant.
Adding new locations is a breeze.
Fantastic that you can select various icons and add descriptions for each.
All it needs is the ability to link to articles and it covers everything you could possibly need.
Outstanding job !!!
Nice on Jan
2011-03-06
Reviews: 5
This is the best extension for maps...
Superb guys, it is so simple to use and smooth.

It has everything i needed.

Bravo
2011-02-18
Reviews: 3
Easy to use and I was impressed with the support. I asked a question and was responded quickly.

Good Job!
2011-01-14
Reviews: 1
Precisely what I needed for my site and very easy to use! Another hit from Phoca - thanks guys!
2010-12-19
Reviews: 1
The Extension is great, it was very easy for me to change to my own language and was very easy to use! I highly recommend for all of you!
Page 2 of 4