The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Z Weather ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
** New in version 9: support for Joomla 3.x, additional weather stations

Zap Weather (formerly Z Weather) is a Joomla application that displays weather for U.S.A. cities and territories using data provided by the National Weather Service. Forecasts, current conditions and weather alerts are supported. Many display options are available, including single and multiple day forecasts and a choice of either 3, 12 or 24 hour forecast display. Zap Weather is also compatible with the JED extension Zap Calendar, allowing the display of weather forecast information within a calendar.

Zap Weather is absolutely free to use and DOES NOT have any advertising or links to commercial sites that other weather products require. The weather data Zap Weather uses is provided free of charge by the U.S. government.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2006-06-06
Reviews: 1
This is a very good component for anyone wanting to show local or ther cities weather. Very flexable with may easy to set options.

The only problem is finding your cities information. I have included some links to help.

http://www.nws.noaa.gov/tg/siteloc.shtml
- Observation Location Code
- Latitude & Longitude

http://www.weather.gov/alerts/
- CAP Zone (Find state, click on XML under "By County/Zone")

Can't wait for the next update to see what has been added.
2006-05-19
Reviews: 1
I've tried most of the weather extensions and this one is the best. Reasons:
- control over layout
- no external links
- no advertising
- more feaures

Areas for improvement:
- setting up new locations
- certain feature when activated seem to crash the site
2006-04-18
Reviews: 1
Great software with a pretty simple setup. I'm very pleased with the way it integrates into my site.

The one thing I'd change is how new cities are added to the list. Right now, you have to look up the city's longitude, latitude, airport code and CAP zone (a code used for weather alerts), but it would be nice if just putting in a ZIP code was all that was needed.
2006-04-17
Reviews: 1
Very easy to install component and module. Just make sure you follow the instructions from www.zcontent.net!
2006-04-09
Reviews: 1
ZWeather is straightforward, easy to use, highly customizable, and is seemingly bug-free. I've tried several weather mods & components with Mambo and Joomla, and this is the only one I'd recommend. Please keep up the great work!
2006-03-27
Reviews: 2
I have been using this component for some time now. It works great and provides a much appreciated additonal "customized" flavor to my website. Thanks a lot to the Devs.

Dave
2006-03-22
Reviews: 1
The componet and module for Z Weather together are amazing. I have been searching and waiting for a worthy weather componet that gets the job done and Z Weather does it!! Wow, there are a million ways to customize this and it just keeps going and going. It is amazing all the ways you can set this up.

Thanks a BILLION Dan. A++
2006-03-12
Reviews: 1
Recently I started to try NWS XML service, but browsing this new site I found ZWeather that makes what I was looking for, show auto-updaded climate forecasts witout the ugly banners or logos.

Keep doing the good job. I know it´s still in beta step, but as a recomendation, it would be nice to consider make it multi-languaje or easier to translate. I know it´s a US weather component, but spanish and french versions will be higly required for Mex and Can cities close to the US border.
Page 3 of 3