The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

MailChimp2 Module

Editor's Note
  • Require Registration to download
* New in this version: * Fixed an AJAX error where the module would freeze at the "Sending" message on some servers.

This is a module that allows visitors to sign up for a mailing list that's powered by MailChimp. Download doesn't require site registration (as indicated in the notice), but rather use of MailChimp Module2 to sign up on our MailChimp list for future updates.

There was a previous Joomla module that had much the same functionality, but there were several problems with it: it wasn't Joomla 1.5 native, it wasn't GPL, and there was a security hole in it. So we've completely rewritten the module. This one was originally developed for J1.5, it is GPL, and we've left out the security hole. It now supports Joomla 2.5 and we are working on 3.x.

Usage: From the admin site, provide your MailChimp user name and password, and the mailing list ID of the list you want the user to subscribe to. From the front side, the user types in his or her email address and clicks the submit button. The module does an AJAX call to the subscription program, so there is no page refresh.

Be sure to use our FAQ section and videos if you need help!


Report Extension



Reviews: 1
Everything in the description looks great, but I was unable to get it to work. I've noticed that after Apr 29, 2013 none of the MailChimp plugins for Joomla are working. I know that MailChimp was notoriously changing their API constantly, but I can't find a plugin that allows me to make a simple signup module on my site that doesn't make the user leave my site to complete the newsletter signup. I'd love to try this one out, please let me know if you're still supporting this plugin. Thanks.
Owner's reply

Hi, Gage -

Our MailChimp2 Module does work with the latest MailChimp API. Perhaps you need some assistance with the module configuration. We do actively support the extension via our Support ticket system found here -

You may also find the following page of our website helpful as it contains FAQs and a video demonstrating the module configuration process -

Please consider changing your review if you find this information helpful.

Reviews: 22
It worked out of the box and without any problems. It does require for you to pay close attention on how to get a couple of lines of information from ChimpMail but they made a great video tutorial.
Watch the tutorial and you will integrate this great sign-up module in 5 minutes or less.

Thank you for such great work on this module!

Reviews: 1
I been looking for a simple module that would include mailchimp connection without having to many issues I didn't want to manage my mailchimp from joomla so this was just perfect and in time as I was press on time.
Thank you
Reviews: 12
Did everything I needed in moments. Clean and uncluttered. Recommended.
Reviews: 2
Works great but i think that you cannot override its layout!
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for using the module!

We've been working on supporting more languages and increasing support for the fields available in MailChimp's form designer.

Template overrides are our most-requested new feature! We want to support template designers who want to use MailChimp2, so we will release an MVC update as soon as possible.

Reviews: 2
I tried several extensions without success. MailChimp2 is simple to use and configure. It worked the very first time. I highly recommend it

Thank you for an excellent extension.
Reviews: 3
I've just started working with MailChimp and was thrilled to find this module. It is simple to install and just works like it should!

I would love to see a way to change the button text and add a pre-text message inside the module setup but I can't fault you for wish list items.

Great work & thanks!
Owner's reply

Hi, we're glad you're enjoying the extension.

You can change your button text by editing the module's language file for your language.

After the module is installed, you will find the default (English) language file at /language/en-GB/en-GB.mod_mailchimp2.ini

Change the text in quotes to your new value.

Reviews: 1
Using the mailchimp code I had problems with the submit button not displaying. (I think it's something to do with css). I came across this module whilst searching google for a fix and decided to give it a try and found it does the job perfectly.
Reviews: 2
This plugin should be rated excellent, but due to a change to MailChimp API calls, it won't function after January 16th 2012.

The warning from mailchimp is as follows:
Your MailChimp account is using the login() API method which will be disabled in the near future.

I hope the developers can patch this module to work with the new API calls, as it is by far the best mailing list module!
Owner's reply

Please make sure you're running the latest version of the module. It uses the current MailChimp API (version 1.3) and also supports both Joomla 1.5 and 1.7, so it should be nowhere near end-of-life.

Reviews: 1
This module was exactly what I wanted for integration with a Mailchimp list, as I wanted something I could position on a sidebar WITH the content it was related to taking center stage, and not a whole page just devoted to signup for the list. It worked perfectly straight away and looks great. I had one technical problem which was solved very quickly and completely. I cannot recommend this product more highly.
Reviews: 1
I love this module. I've spent the past two days trying to make others work so I was glad to discover this one! I have one problem though... If I set it to display extra fields, I get a couple of hidden fields displaying. If I set it to hide extra fields, I only see email and there are two more required fields (first and last name) - so the sign-up doesn't work. What I want is to be able to display just the required fields. If I can't do that, I'm back to square one.

Would be great if this extension came with a bit more support. Otherwise, it is a great module and I would highly recommend it!
Reviews: 2
Reading other recent reviews I thought I would be in for some PHP coding.
However, this module worked straight out of the box with Joomla 1.5
I haven't encounted any bugs/errors/ or difficulties.

Don't be deterred by others reviews, this module works brilliantly!
Reviews: 4
I had installed this on numerous clients sites and now it no longer works. Firstly I thought it was a mailchimp issue but they checked everything and all was working correctly.

I contacted the developer and still have yet to hear from them. This was weeks ago. I'm so disappointed because this is what I needed. Shame
Owner's reply

Please make sure you're running the current version of the module, as MailChimp has deprecated earlier versions of their API. The current version of the module used the current 1.3 version of the MailChimp API. We're sorry we can't always answer support questions in a timely fashion, but as this is a free extension we can only provide support on an as-available basis.

Reviews: 3
Be careful with this module.

We have received reports that emailadresses containing "-" or "+" are not accepted.

Our requests to solve this remain unanswered.
Reviews: 2
My site has no need for multiple interests.
Easy install, easy to use, easy to target with CSS.

I like easy and think this is a great module that saves time so I can create more content.

Thanx a bunch.
Reviews: 1
It's OK - what a great idea, to have a module that lets users sign up directly with your MailChimp list.

However, in spite of what the developer has stated, you CANNOT have more than one list sign up on the same page.

Is this is a problem due to the AJAX? Who knows, but I cannot say because requests for information from the developer have gone unanswered.

One list on any one page - for us, this is a serious limitation. Combined with the lack of response from the developer gives this extension a blow par score.

Probably have to buy a commercial extension if you want a really integrated solution
Reviews: 1
This plugin has worked great for our sign ups from day one and have never had a problem with it.

We recently added two interest groups to the list in Mailchimp and checked the box in the backend of joomla to show interest groups but only one shows up not both.

So not too sure what is going on there, but all the same a good plugin, just wish there was a support forum somewhere.
Reviews: 3
Very simple and works great.

The backend coding is very good and is easy to customise the look.

However, after I installed this module and adjusted the module settings it wasn't working and I was a bit frustrated. I searched the developer's website but nothing was written about this problem - the email I was inputting in the sign up wasn't validating because I am loading the module into a Joomla article. When I looked in the code I noticed that in the file "send_to_mc.php" the $_POST['email'] variable wasn't right for my situation so I changed it to $_POST['amp;email'] and it worked from that point onwards.

Hope this helps someone in the future.
Other from that, great work to the developer!
Reviews: 3
Simple yet effective module. Does what it says on the tin. Thanks for making this available. two thumbs up!
Reviews: 1
Really enjoy this module, it was easy to install and css. One thing though is there a way to make Extra Fields required?

Page 1 of 2