The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


J2XML ComponentPlugin

J2XML is an easy to use import/export solution for your Joomla!® 2.5+ powered website.

Features:
Export articles, users and weblinks to an xml file.
Import articles, users and weblinks from an xml file (generated by J2XML)
Send articles, users and weblinks to another Joomla! 2.5+ site.
CLI (command line interface)

Report Extension

 

 

2011-02-26
Reviews: 2
Excellent job!
Good documentation!
Easy to obtain - no registration required!
Did the job instantly!

Thank you so much for this brilliant extension - works perfect!
2011-02-07
Reviews: 1
Hi, just tested on Joomla 1.5.15 exporting to 1.6!
It seems that beta is working well! I was so positively surprised. I installed (as mentioned in the article) 1.5.3-beta4.41 in my Joomla 1.5.15 and exported 1532 articles (part after part, every part 100 articles - size limits!) to XML. Next I installed 1.6.0-beta4.40 in my J1.6 and imported file after file. Please don't forget to activate J2XML plugin. Result: impresive! got 1532 and have 1382 records in Joomla 1.6! Probably some articles are missing by my mistae of uploading files. Article status are fine, all images in place. I needed to create images/stories directory and copy all pictures from J1.5 ... still in shock! I can't wait for stable version! Great solution for re-building J.1.5 into 1.6 !!!
2011-02-01
Reviews: 1
I can't say thank you enough to Helios. The first time I used it did not work correctly. Imagine my surprise after sending an e-mail, that I got a prompt answer. A couple more and the Importer was working as advertised. A huge thank you, Helios. You rock!
2011-01-30
Reviews: 14
I installed this extension (beta version) without any problems and it works without any problems on Joomla 1.5.22 with loads of othr extensions installed on both the source & destination sites.

The beta version as of today's date is different from the stable version, it has the ability to send the content directly to the other site server!

I wrote to the developer after an issue installing and working with the stable version and had a reply back within the hour. Following his instructions to install the beta and read the documentation on his web site was all I needed to get going. Works a charm, what a fantastic tool for moving content to a new installation or onto a new server! This deserves awards and donations for it is going to save anyone who uses it a great, great deal of time.
2011-01-25
Reviews: 8
I have rarely been as pleased with an initial test of a component. I moved several hundred articles between Joomla 1.5 and Joomla 1.6 including embedded pictures. Initial testing suggests that it worked like a charm. The coding appears strong and the interface excellent. Tip to users, look at the OPTIONS and set them before trying to use it. AND THINK ABOUT THE OPTIONS.
Strongly recommended.
2010-12-03
Reviews: 6
This take a minute to figure out but it is a great component to have. Easily export then import without all the muss or fuss. Perfect! Got my categories, sections and articles all in a single use. Very easy. Thanks for a great module.
2010-11-19
Reviews: 3
Lovely ! Works like charm. Selfexplaining.
It's exactly what i've been looking for, thank you !

One bug, but easy to solve i think:
if u use extended latin chars, importes names of categories and sections are broke.
2010-11-18
Reviews: 1
this is a great component via which all articles and their related sections/categories/users can be easily exported/imported.

it's designed primarily for articles other than section/category/user, because only the section/category/user related to the articles will be retrieved/extracted, not all of them.

also it doesn't support two-byte characters like Chinese/Japanse/Korean/.etc. Maybe utf-8 encoding format will be much more preferred.

b.t.w, is it possible to make a incorporation/combination/marriage to Joomlarra's "ARRA User Export&Import" components? cheer!!!
2010-10-16
Reviews: 1
Good component - I copy over 600 article from one site to another one , but only article ... I didnt know how to copy ( sections , categories ,.... )
2010-08-10
Reviews: 1
Dear Helios,

Firstly, I want to thank you for creating and updating this simple but very powerful extension. I searched and waited for a long time for such an useful extension. I tried jix, but didn't figure out how it works. I also had a look at import/export functionality from jseblod cck. As of August 2010, it is not ready yet.
But why wait for jseblod cck when j2xml fills the import/export gap very well.
I want to mention that indeed there were problems with downloading the zip archive for versions prior to 15000005. But, fortunately, I was able to download the 15000005 and 15000006 versions. So, this shouldn't be a concern for other users, as well.
At the end, I want to make a feature request. Please add in the parameters an option to preserve the published on frontpage.

Best wishes
Owner's reply

Thanks for everything. Now you can preserve the front page.

2010-07-27
Reviews: 12
Download didn't work. Can't unzip the file and Joomla does not recognize the file. There is no contact information on the site, and none of it's in English.

The JED should really start screening what gets posted. If you don't have documentation or contact for customers to get ahold of you, you should not be allowed to post.
Owner's reply

Thanks for review. All suggestions are accepted. Now you can contact me.

2010-07-23
Reviews: 1
Hi,

when I try to download only the empty 0b file is downloaded. Please fix it so I can try this promising extension.
Owner's reply

I checked the download link and it works well

2010-07-11
Reviews: 1
The export function works fine to create an xml file of the article, however when I try to import articles based on the same xml fields, I get "0 articles imported" every time.

I might be able to figure it out if I had some documentation, but there is none to be found at the moment.

The product would be great, but it does need some documentation, and it would help if failed imports were accompanied by some more complete diagnostic message about the input file.

I'm hoping that there will be some updates to the package. The functionality is very interesting.
Owner's reply

Likely the xml file has a wrong encoding. In this case, no item is imported and no error message displays.

In the next release i will add the xml encoding test.

2010-07-06
Reviews: 1
Works great and is easy to use!

It did print several PHP notices on my localhost dev server, but that's probably due to my PHP config as it worked perfectly on the live server.
2010-07-06
Reviews: 1
Does not even work with your own xml file that is generated.
dates, category sections are ignored....
Owner's reply

Dates, category, section and other info are ignored by default. You must set the right parameters.

Page 4 of 4