The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


jUpgrade Popular Component

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
jUpgrade is a simple Joomla 1.5 component that will download a version
of Joomla 2.5, decompress it and install it. After that, it should
migrate all of the data from old Joomla 1.5 to the new Joomla 2.5
installation.

The steps to test it

1) Install the component in your Joomla 1.5 site.
2) Run the upgrade

Requirements

* PHP 5.x
* Curl module of PHP enabled
* Joomla 1.5
* Enable System - Mootools Upgrade plugin that is included in Joomla 1.5.19 and greater.
* A Browser with Javascript/Mootools support


Video Tutorial:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cAufYW9SBm8

A new tracker is created for jUpgrade and Joomla 2.5 migrations bugs. You can access (and use it) here:

http://forge.joomla.org/gf/project/joomla/tracker/?action=TrackerItemBrowse&tracker_id=10539

Debugging:

If you have problems with migrations please go to Settings and set "Debug" = ON.

The way to test it:

1) remove ROOT/tmp/joomla25.zip and ROOT/tmp/size.tmp
2) remove ROOT/jupgrade directory
3) delete all j17_ tables (except j16_jupgrade_categories and j16_jupgrade_menus)
4) REMOVE OLD jUpgrade installation and install the version 2.5
5) Set "Skip download" to 'No'
6) F5 to reload the browser
7) Run upgrade

Report Extension

 

 

2013-01-26
Reviews: 12
Maybe have problems, but it's working!

It's useful if you need to migrate site from 1.5 to 2.5
2013-01-18
Reviews: 4
I have tried this script on several sites. It has only worked a few times. I can find no reason for the malfunction, each hosting environment was the same. This is endorsed by Joomla? The developers NEVER respond to poor reviews, which is unfortunate.. they should say "see our forums for issue resolutions"
2012-11-27
Reviews: 2
I have been using this great extension to upgrade a whole host of websites from 1.5 to 2.5. First of all for the price nobody can complain. Secondly I have never had an major issues. It does not delete any database tables. It leaves the original tables intact and creates a new set of tables for 2.5. It migrate the core data and many main extensions without any problems. Small issues I have faced are: k2 categories and articles are not assigned any language so you get lots of 404 in the frontend but if you assign '*' to all the rows in the language column it solves that issue. Also for some extensions the component_id is not assigned in the menu table so the menu links do not work for some extensions. However manually setting the correct component_id quickly resolves this issue. Apart from this a great extension and thanks to the developer for making mine and many other people's lives much easier. (I have tried migrating manually but do not even go there!!)
2012-11-14
Reviews: 3
I installed this on my Joomla 1.5.26 installation that was clean without any additional extensions.

I spent many hours attempting to get the upgrade to 2.5 to happen, but it hung every try. I posted the handing errors to their support forum, but apparently they no longer do support on their support forum and you must purchase a subscription to all their extensions to get support on jupgrade.

I'd rather they just sold jupgrade, as I don't need the other extensions.

I'm moving on to another package, because this one doesn't work, and it wasn't made clear when downloading that no support is provided unless you pay for it.
2012-11-07
Reviews: 2
I had some initial glitch preventing the script from running, but after reading their forum I found the answers. After that, it ran fine and did the job. Thanks!
2012-11-06
Reviews: 7
I don't know why others said they had a problem, but I first tried a more highly rated migration tool and it did not migrate all the content articles. Then I tried this one and it worked great. All my articles and users were migrated.

Thank you!
2012-11-01
Reviews: 3
So many times I have failed to upgrade properly and had to restart it, do it again etc etc.

Not now though, this worked fantasically. Brilliant
2012-10-24
Reviews: 1
I just tried out this extension and it deleted the database without even making a backup! Created a nightmare, I wasn't really expecting any tables in the database to be deleted. Avoid it unless you make database backups.

It probably varies from host to host...
2012-10-01
Reviews: 5
I just upgraded a 1.5.25 site to 2.5 without a hitch.

Nothing more to say than that really!
2012-09-10
Reviews: 5
The best thing about this was retaining all the articles, categories, menus, users which saved a bunch of time. You have to fix your templates and replace old components/modules. But it gives you a good place to start from.

There are some heavy duty gotchas so this is what i did to get it working.

Make sure you're at J1.5.26. Use Akeeba backup (3.4.3 - not higher) to make a copy of the site. Set up a test server, create a new database and restore a copy of the site. During the restore (i used akeeba kickstart) make a note are you using mysql or mysqli (probably mysqli).

On the test server, rename your htaccess file to htaccess.txt and create a folder on the root called jupgrade. Inside that folder extract joomla 2.5.4 (not higher, jupgrade won't work otherwise). Doing it this way means you don't have problems with curl and its just faster. Log in to the test site and under config > site, uncheck use Apache module_rewrite if its on. Under plugins > system enable MooTools Upgrade. Now install JUpgrade 2.5.2 and in the Parameters menu, change skip checks, skip download and skip decompress to YES. Note that jupgrade uses the mysqli driver by default so if you chose mysql during the akeeba restore you will need to change that here also. Save those changes and click on the upgrade button.

If it fails/stalls, you can try again but remember to dump out any j25_ tables in the database, clear out the jupgrade folder and start over. If it works, it does it in a couple of minutes. Your original site is preserved, your new site is in the jupgrade folder - so you have 2 different paths for each. But both are there for reference and you can start to fix stuff til its right.
2012-09-07
Reviews: 2
5 Stars +++

This is very vey good!!!

Upgraded first from 1.5.10 to 1.5.26 and then used this extension.

Ok, it's not totally automated. I have to find a new template or modify my existing. But over all it's a time saver!

Thanks Dudes!
2012-09-02
Reviews: 1
Tried to upgrade from 1.5.latest to 2.5latest. All kinds of issues...
2012-08-31
Reviews: 1
I installed the component, I at first thought it didn't work because it got hung up. But when I went back to it the whole view had change. But now I can't log in at all. There is a similar question on their bulletin board that no one has answered.
2012-08-31
Reviews: 1
For some time I have been concerned with upgrading the 20+ 1.5 sites that I had built, and the work that seemed to be mountainous. But not anymore.

JUpgrade installed like a dream and upgraded the site cleanly and quickly. In less than 5 minutes JUpgrade was installed and my site was upgraded to 2.5 from 1.5. perfectly.

Great work folks! This is how it should be.

Thank You!
2012-08-31
Reviews: 1
Having read many of the negative reviews on this site, I became very apprehensive about using the extension. I decided to take a backup and give it a go!

The result was wonderful. Of course, there are many mistakes that can be made. I decided to read the documentation very carefully, step by step, while I did the migration. The comments about using Akeeba backup for the 1.5 original site need very careful scrutiny of the Akeeba site to make sure that there is a version compatible with your combination of Joomla and PHP - and there may not be. I skipped all of that and used cPanel for the backup.
The basic upgrade worked like a dream. I made one mistake - I also copied over the templates - that was a mistake. I deleted the first jupgrade migration and re-ran it without the templates (yes, that left me a bit uncertain about comments suggesting jupgrade can damage the 1.5 installation - I had no problems, after the upgrade, accessing the 1.5 and 2.5.6 sites before switching them over, and no problems running jupgrade a second time on the 1.5 site). After the 2nd upgrade without templates, I reinstalled a 2.5 compatible version of the template. It took more time configuring the 2.5 compatible version of the template than migrating Joomla with jupgrade.

So, for me, it was an extremely helpful tool. My bottom line is follow the documentation carefully, step-by-step, backup with cPanel or something else, rather than Akeeba (I installed Akeeba backup and admin tools after the migration) unless you are certain you have a compatible version. If you have a 2.5 compatible version of your template, don't try to migrate the version 1.5 template; install the 2.5 version after the migration the configure the template.

Great tool - so good, that it left me very puzzled about some of the negative reviews here, but I guess some people had big problems for some reason or another. I'm really pleased I decided to try it.
2012-08-29
Reviews: 1
Installation was a breeze. Strangely though, I was taken to a different URL (mydomain.com/JUPGRADE/administrator) to log into my admin area. Checked my site and there were no changes. Turned out it didn't upgrade my site at all, but rather gave me a sub-domain. I had to type mydomain.com/JUPGRADE to see the new version. Good thing about it though was that I was able to see what the newest version looks like. I would give this a five star, but it looks more like a preview of some sort... Or maybe I was suppose to pay for the real one? Anyway, did the upgrade manually. Not hard at all. I only thought it'd be hard since there is an extension to do an upgrade... I think everyone is looking for a short cut, but if you really learn to do things, it will be MUCH easier.
2012-08-28
Reviews: 3
Just upgraded my (fairy simple) website from 1.5.26 to 2.5. Perfect. Not a single hitch. Thanks for saving me lots of time and headache!
2012-08-22
Reviews: 1
Wow, this worked really well for me. I did have to make sure that I was on version 1.5.26 before I used it, as someone else mentioned, but then it worked like a charm. No problems at all. Thanks!!!
2012-08-22
Reviews: 6
This one click wonder will leave you wondering where your stuff is. I've used JUpgrade on 5 sites now and with varying results. There 2 complete executions of the program but not full migrations. My hat goes off to these people for the effort that they've put into this product and the simplicity of it. If you don't mind a little clean up work then this is an awesome tool to use.
★
WTF
2012-08-12
Reviews: 5
I've tried it on many sites and servers.
Does NOT work.
It's on:
"Checking and cleaning..." for days and nothing happens.
I saw that many has the same problem.

It's a shame.
Page 2 of 9