The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


SP Upgrade Popular Component

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Migrate your old Joomla! sites with the best, most popular, used on thousands of sites already, by thousands of satisfied users, component and keep your Google Rank safe.

SP Upgrade supports transferring between the various Joomla! versions as below:

1.5 -> 2.5
1.5 -> 3.x
1.6 -> 2.5
1.6 -> 3.x
1.7 -> 2.5
1.7 -> 3.x
2.5 -> 3.x
3.x -> 3.x

The simple process

- Install a new version of Joomla (2.5 or 3), anywhere,
(your live server, or a remote server, or even on your PC)
- Install SP Upgrade,
- Connect to the source 1.5 database,
- Click the transfer button,
- Enjoy your new site.

Migrate everything with with no exceptions.

Core Data:
- Users
- Articles (along with their Sections and Categories)
- Contacts
- Web Links
- News Feeds
- Banners
- Menus ability to transfer all menu items, and not - only of the core components
- Modules ability to transfer all modules, and not only the core
- Tags
- All other extensions data!

Extensions:
- K2
- Kunena
- AcyMailing
- VirtueMart
- BreezingForms
- sh404sef
- JComments
- JEvents
- Community Builder
- ARTIO JoomSEF
- Phoca Download
- Phoca Gallery
- Phoca Guestbook
- Phoca Maps
- jNews

Report Extension

 

 

2014-02-10
Reviews: 6
Makes migration from j1.5 to 3.2 so easy that it made me wonder why I didn't do it before.

Very simple to use, great documentation and fast support.

The only tool you need to move from old to new joomla.

Thanks you guys, a really great component.
2014-02-03
Reviews: 1
Customer Service is excellent. I can no say this strongly enough. I am in awe of how helpful and generous this team is. Thank you so much.
2014-01-27
Reviews: 1
Togther with some other colleagues, I am currently migrating a site and have found this tool an invaluable help that is saving us valuable time. So far, we have not experienced any difficulties. Of course, some amount of manual editing after doing the transfer is needed. I clearly recommend it to those migrating from Joomla 1.5
2013-12-16
Reviews: 5
This is definitely the best way to upgrade Joomla. It is easy to install, understand, and use. Support is outstanding. I had an issue that ended up being a Joomla problem. Support was persistent and patient in helping find the problem.
2013-11-21
Reviews: 2
I tried this extension, because I had a lot of problems to upgrade my joomla site from 2.5.16 to 3.x.x
With this extension, the update became too easy! I'm a rookie, but this was a piece of cake.
Panayiotis has been born to make our lives easier!
Thank you!
2013-11-18
Reviews: 1
Migrating from 1.5 to 2.5+ is not for the faint of heart. This process is timely and can be complicated. Purchasing this extension is well worth every penny, and the support team at SP Cyend will stay with you every step of the way. If you run into issues, an email to Sp Cyend and they will promptly get back to you with as much support as you need.

Ask yourself: **WHAT IS THAT WORTH TO YOU**

Important - If you are upgrading Community Builder, YOU MUST go into you PhpMyadmin first on the DESTINATION site (_user table)and create all fields and columns so they match exactly with your source (_user table)database table. Do this before you attempt the CB extention transfer.

Thanks again SP CYEND Support Team!!
2013-11-15
Reviews: 2
I don't usually take the time to write reviews. But in this case i told the develope, Panayiotis Halouva, I would. I accidentally purchased their other extension SFTransfer because I was too in a hurry to read what it actually did. I wrote an email asking about a discount perhaps since the original program didn't do what I needed. Instead he replied with a copy of SFUpgrade for free! I was astonished. I installed this extension and literally within a couple of minutes I had the new 2.5 site up and running. There were only a few items from an FAQ extension that didn't copy over properly. But that minor. This extension probably saved me a weeks worth of time migrating individual menu items, articles, etc...on my client's very large website. I can't recommend this extension and the developers of it enough!
2013-11-14
Reviews: 1
all migrators work around same principle but spupgrade did a very neat job of migrating over joomla/k2/vm around 600 products without any hitch except for the vm images which i would do one by one. no prob. but you see spupgrade did a fantastic job regarding content, layout etc. so neat and perfect . the support guy Panayiotis - wow - never gave up- paid around $50 singapore dollars for the extension - worth every cent.
2013-11-04
Reviews: 1
Had a problem using it online to bring over my 1.5 website at first but i think that was because i didn't migrate the user, sections, categories and articles at the same time. I moved it to my offline xampp localhost and the migration worked out great. Easy enough to use and gets the job done when used properly. Also I emailed the creator about a problem i had and had quick and good support.
2013-11-04
Reviews: 5
Not only is SP Upgrade very simple and efficient but when I needed some technical support, Panayiotis came to my rescue. All in all I highly recommend SP Upgrade.
2013-10-23
Reviews: 1
After wasting days on a 'free' migration tool that I couldn't get to work (nor could many others judging by the forums)I paid the modest sum for this one.

It installed and just worked without any problems including migrating the Agora Pro database.

I also liked the concept of migrating into a fresh system that you can test and adjust first before implementing it on the live system.

Magic!
2013-10-12
Reviews: 1
I had to migrate my joomla site from 1.5 to 3.1 due to security issues. Rebuilding the whole website will have been a migthy task that's why I decided to give SP Upgrade a go.

I follow the instructions and the migration occured but for some reason a couple of items failed (I think my site is a bit old an intricate). Since I couldn't use the migrated 3.1 site I was going to ask for a refund.

Cyend were professional in their approach. They offered me the possibility of a refund but also offered to help me sort out the issue with the migration.

In the end they sorted out the problem and now I have a working 3.1 site on which I will have to make some adjustment but the migration saved me lots of works.

Totally recommend them. They were responsive in a timely fashion, concise and effective in their approach.

Thanks guys!
2013-10-07
Reviews: 2
Without this update component, I would never have been able to migrate my sites to 2.5

One or two connection issues between different hosting companies where the old and new websites were situated, but each time I needed help my request was swiftly dealt with by Panayiotis.

A lot of work has gone in to this component which has made updating my websites relatively simple, and easily worth the modest cost.
2013-10-06
Reviews: 1
SP Upgrade is easy to set up and easy to use. One problem for me was that article ID’s was changed to avoid duplicate ID’s, so it was some work to update links between articles. And the user menu was not always migrated.

I tested a couple of versions of jupgrade, but I never had it to migrate more than parts of the J 1.5 site.

I absolutely recommend SP Upgrade. I migrated more than 40 Joomla sites, so this component made the work much easier.
Owner's reply

I suppose you mean duplicate alias and not ids. Ids remain the same.

There is a new rule now in Joomla! that was not in version 1.5. In order to be compliant with SEO and Google requirement to have one content per one url, and given that alias are used to build the urls, you cannot have the same alias under the same parent. That goes for menus, articles etc.

Therefore SP Upgrade when identify such case, automatically add a random qualifier to the alias. Even if you try to manually edit it from back end, you will see that Joomla! will not allow it.

It is probable those duplicates comes from your trash. Therefore before migration it is suggested to delete and empty trash for any not needed items.

2013-10-01
Reviews: 5
I will never use, or TRY to use jUpgrade ever again! This component is incredible, super powerful,easy to use, and good support. Worth every penny! Joomla! needs to recommend this component, not jUpgrade. Suddenly, migrations are MUCH easier!
2013-09-24
Reviews: 1
I signed up to post this review. I went with this to upgrade a large site from 1.5 to 3.1 and was able to do it without to much of a issue. The only issue I ran into was small and after contacting the dev I had everything worked out. Communication was quick and very helpful. I would recommend this for anyone looking to do the same upgrade!
2013-09-19
Reviews: 9
Excellent solution for the expert joomla! developer, cut our migrations time to more than half.
2013-09-18
Reviews: 1
The component SP Upgrade is really one of those indispensable tools for anyone who develops websites in Joomla since version 1.5.x, for its versatility, ease of use and excellent support offered by its developer. Enthusiastically recommend for those seeking migration painlessly between versions 1.5 and 2.5 of Joomla.
2013-09-18
Reviews: 1
Great extension, great support.
I had a little problem because of different Virtuemart languages tables, but the support was quick and solved it.
If I try this extension earlier I could spare 2 weeks fuming.
2013-09-14
Reviews: 3
Fue instalar, habilitar ftp, insetar datos de BBDD y listo! un nuevo joomla actualizado.
si dispones de la plantilla y los componentes queda clonado!
excelente componente! Muchas gracias! -
Was installed, enable ftp, I place DB data and go! a new joomla date.
if you have the template and components is cloned!
excellent component! Thank you very much!
Page 2 of 8