The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


SP Upgrade Popular Component

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Migrate your old Joomla! sites with the best, most popular, used on thousands of sites already, by thousands of satisfied users, component and keep your Google Rank safe.

SP Upgrade supports transferring between the various Joomla! versions as below:

1.5 -> 2.5
1.5 -> 3.x
1.6 -> 2.5
1.6 -> 3.x
1.7 -> 2.5
1.7 -> 3.x
2.5 -> 3.x
3.x -> 3.x

The simple process

- Install a new version of Joomla (2.5 or 3), anywhere,
(your live server, or a remote server, or even on your PC)
- Install SP Upgrade,
- Connect to the source 1.5 database,
- Click the transfer button,
- Enjoy your new site.

Migrate everything with with no exceptions.

Core Data:
- Users
- Articles (along with their Sections and Categories)
- Contacts
- Web Links
- News Feeds
- Banners
- Menus ability to transfer all menu items, and not - only of the core components
- Modules ability to transfer all modules, and not only the core
- Tags
- All other extensions data!

Extensions:
- K2
- Kunena
- AcyMailing
- VirtueMart
- BreezingForms
- sh404sef
- JComments
- JEvents
- Community Builder
- ARTIO JoomSEF
- Phoca Download
- Phoca Gallery
- Phoca Guestbook
- Phoca Maps
- jNews

Report Extension

 

 

2013-09-18
Reviews: 1
Great extension, great support.
I had a little problem because of different Virtuemart languages tables, but the support was quick and solved it.
If I try this extension earlier I could spare 2 weeks fuming.
2013-09-14
Reviews: 3
Fue instalar, habilitar ftp, insetar datos de BBDD y listo! un nuevo joomla actualizado.
si dispones de la plantilla y los componentes queda clonado!
excelente componente! Muchas gracias! -
Was installed, enable ftp, I place DB data and go! a new joomla date.
if you have the template and components is cloned!
excellent component! Thank you very much!
2013-09-01
Reviews: 2
Attention has been excellent, even though I do not speak English using the translator has treated me great and I have solved the problem I had, in terms of the extension does what it says without problems, for one 10 on attention.
2013-08-29
Reviews: 1
I've been trying for months to upgrade my Joomla 2.5.x site to 3.x, without success. It seemed at every turn I'd run into problems, regardless of the upgrade method I chose. Searching forums I saw I was not alone, often seeing surprise in the community when someone *was* able to upgrade themselves.

I tried this extension (SPTransfer, not SP Upgrade) as a last-ditch effort, and all I can say is WOW. Not only did the extension work great, but because it migrates your settings from one site to another, you don't lose your original site. In other words, no risk.

The help support has been fantastic as well. First time I migrated I encountered one minor anomaly (no menus were transferred), but after emailing the developer I received a response back within hours and discovered that I had made a mistake with one of the settings I used during the transfer. Following the dev's advice, I re-migrated, and everything came over perfectly.

Again - this is a fantastic extension, it works very well, and the support is great. If you've been struggling with an upgrade (or given up on one, as I was about to), then please please PLEASE give this extension a try.

-Bob

NOTE: SP Upgrade can transfer data between Joomla 1.5 -> 2.5, 1.5 -> 3.0, and 1.5 -> 3.1. SP Transfer (the app I bought and used) can transfer data between a number of combination of Joomla versions (1.6, 1.7, 2.5, 3.0, and 3.1).
2013-08-26
Reviews: 3
Excellent! It work fine. I was trying to upgrade with the other non-commercial extension for several days, but couldn't. SP has resolved the migration really fast in most of cases.
2013-08-21
Reviews: 1
I'm a novice Joomla user and needed to migrate my 1.5 site to 2.5
Panayiotis Halouvas, the owner/developer of SP Upgrade was extremely helpful and responded almost immediately to my questions.
Bottom line is the application worked as advertised.
I couldn't be happier.
Dan Bibel
2013-08-16
Reviews: 4
This extension is simply amazing.

I've migrated a bunch of sites with this tool and it's never missed a beat.

I can only begin to imagine the kinds of data migration problems that this extension must be solving behind the scenes every time, but it just works.
2013-08-15
Reviews: 1
I was having a little trouble getting all of my data from Community Builder in Joomla 1.5 to migrate. Thanks to the excellent customer support, my data is all moved and my new site on Joomla 3.5.1 is running great...Thanks so much for your help, Tim
2013-08-09
Reviews: 1
I got a great support from the developer. This saved me a lot of work and the migration was then so easy. Thank you again!
2013-08-08
Reviews: 6
Totally recommend this component. Just upgraded 1.5 site that had over 100 RSEventsPro events, many RSFormPro forms, + membership. Support was great, and Panayiotis was very quick to answer my questions.
2013-07-09
Reviews: 20
Migration from Joomla! 1.5 to 3.1 was very easy and comprehensive. The only potential issue is that this extension works best when both databases are on the same server. I could not update from one location to another. Still, it was very easy and I don't regret having paid for this. I must also add the customer support is really helpful and understanding. I have migrated multiple sites since Joomla! 1.0 and this extension was by far the most hassle-free I have encountered.
2013-07-07
Reviews: 11
If I must try to explain what I have tried over months, from extensions to trying to convert / import from excel and hours of frustration, I will take way to much space and bore you. The short and sweet, I did not think this extension would do it, well I just transferred close to 8 000 articles within 5 minutes. Yes the server bombed out a couple of times - but I restarted the process, made sure I skipped the items already transferred and here I am speechless at just how well this extension worked.
2013-06-06
Reviews: 2
This extension made my migration from J1.5 to J2.5 a breezed. I had some issues early on that were no fault of the extension. Following the provided turotial I tried creating my new site on my host in a subdirectroy, but couldn't get to the administrator page of the new site to install SPupgrade and complete the migration. I mention that because even though it wasn't a problem with the extension, the developers worked diligiently to try and help me solve the problem. I found an alternative approach posted by a forum user that bypassed the problem I was having. Instead of creating the new site in a subdirectory to my live site on the host, I created it in a subdomain. I'm not smart enough to understand the true difference, but setting up new site through subdomain instead of a subdirectory got me where I needed to be. From there SPupgrade took me quickly the rest of the way.
2013-05-28
Reviews: 2
I have wasted all my evening on a free upgrade tool with very little documentation and it kept crushing/freezing in the middle. Then I bought this little tool and woww! 2477 articles in under 5 mins inside my joomla 3.1 site.

Absolutely delighted with the tool and recommend it. Don't waste your time on the free one. Do yourself a favour and buy this tool:)
2013-05-27
Reviews: 2
easy setup, good ducumentation and helpful support. After emailing, quick reply.
2013-05-22
Reviews: 2
It was excatly what I needed: easy and fast and well documented.
2013-05-19
Reviews: 9
I was having a problem with remote access to my database that was interfering with the normal use of this programs. I asked for help and got a through answer within minutes with two sensible workarounds.

Given that this was all at 2 am Sunday morning in NY, which was probably 8 am where the author is, that counts as exceptional service well worth the price.
Dave Burstein
2013-05-12
Reviews: 3
Well overdue this review after using it with so much success! After the frustration with other tools available we tried a few years ago SP Upgrade as soon as it was released. The suite is excellent and has matured over the years into a very reliable and rock-solid tool to migrate any website from Joomla 1.5 to Joomla 2.5 and/or Joomla 3.0. We are a large global operating, commercial Joomla support organization and we do many, many migrations of all sorts of websites. Every core Joomla migration, small or large is done utilizing SP Upgrade. The largest site we have migrated using this tool was a Joomla 1.5 website with 90,000 articles and a database of 720 Mb. Smoothly and without any loss of data. Links perfectly intact and no loss of Google ranking in the end. The documentation is excellent and is proper updated. The costs are reasonable and you pay about US$ 40 for the component but it is worth the money since you migrate in minutes an average Joomla core site where the "good old" free tools simply won't do the job as good as SP Upgrade (do your research on the Joomla-forums and extension reviews) and they take way more time and effort and repairs after things are completed.
You want to migrate? This extension is the way to go (!)
2013-04-23
Reviews: 1
We're a pretty busy web department for a small advertising firm, and we rarely have time to write reviews like this, but I felt we absolutely needed to write one for this tool, because we would have been dead in the water without it. We were faced with the task of moving 10 old Joomla 1.5 sites done by a previous developer to a new hosting server (which eventually turned out to be upgrading them as well. There were 2 reasons for this move - 1) the sites kept getting hacked and 2)since we were now inheriting the sites, they needed to come over to our hosting plan. Because the sites kept getting hacked, we also recommended upgrading to the latest version of Joomla, obviously. And, it turned out, we wouldn't have had a choice in the matter anyway, as our hosting platform runs PHP 5.4, which evidently doesn't support Joomla 1.5 (which we found out upon initial loading of the new sites). Then the REAL headaches started to manifest when we searched at length for the best way to upgrade Joomla 1.5 to 2.5. Not only are there very few tools out there for this purpose (2, really), but Joomla itself has no formal documentation or recommendations on this matter !(unless you want to struggle comparing the differences in the new db schema and reinserting/manipulating all of your old data to fit the new schema). Oh, and by the way, good luck finding anything even detailed on the exact differences between the old and the new database structures! So, our only choice was one of the plug-ins - either JUpgrade (the one recommended in Joomla's documentation) or SP Upgrade (which we found by doing our own searches - when it really should be in the Joomla documentation too!) JUpgrade operates by running on the same installation as your 1.5 and upgrading to 2.5 from there. SPUpgrade operates on a fresh new Joomla 2.5 installation and migrates your database from the old 1.5 source. Well, turns out the old host running these 10 sites was on PHP 5.3, which can't run Joomla 2.5! Our new host has PHP 5.4, which can't run Joomla 1.5! What a mess! So, we were down to only 1 solution - install a fresh 2.5 on the new host, copy the old 1.5 db over to the new host, and install SP Upgrade and just pray. Well, it worked! After days of research, playing with code, fidgeting data - this just plain worked right out of the box! Gotta say - that rarely happens, especially with Open Source! And even when I had a question, not only were they able to help, but they also answered quite promptly (and we're in the US, and I think they might be in Greece?). All in all, I was mightily impressed and this tool definitely warranted skipping my lunch break today and writing this review!
2013-04-11
Reviews: 34
Want to be abel to do this withotu any hassle... simple and staight to the point!

works locally on wamp and xamp!
Page 3 of 8