The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


SP Upgrade Popular Component

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Migrate your old Joomla! sites with the best, most popular, used on thousands of sites already, by thousands of satisfied users, component and keep your Google Rank safe.

SP Upgrade supports transferring between the various Joomla! versions as below:

1.5 -> 2.5
1.5 -> 3.x
1.6 -> 2.5
1.6 -> 3.x
1.7 -> 2.5
1.7 -> 3.x
2.5 -> 3.x
3.x -> 3.x

The simple process

- Install a new version of Joomla (2.5 or 3), anywhere,
(your live server, or a remote server, or even on your PC)
- Install SP Upgrade,
- Connect to the source 1.5 database,
- Click the transfer button,
- Enjoy your new site.

Migrate everything with with no exceptions.

Core Data:
- Users
- Articles (along with their Sections and Categories)
- Contacts
- Web Links
- News Feeds
- Banners
- Menus ability to transfer all menu items, and not - only of the core components
- Modules ability to transfer all modules, and not only the core
- Tags
- All other extensions data!

Extensions:
- K2
- Kunena
- AcyMailing
- VirtueMart
- BreezingForms
- sh404sef
- JComments
- JEvents
- Community Builder
- ARTIO JoomSEF
- Phoca Download
- Phoca Gallery
- Phoca Guestbook
- Phoca Maps
- jNews

Report Extension

 

 

2013-10-06
Reviews: 1
SP Upgrade is easy to set up and easy to use. One problem for me was that article ID’s was changed to avoid duplicate ID’s, so it was some work to update links between articles. And the user menu was not always migrated.

I tested a couple of versions of jupgrade, but I never had it to migrate more than parts of the J 1.5 site.

I absolutely recommend SP Upgrade. I migrated more than 40 Joomla sites, so this component made the work much easier.
Owner's reply

I suppose you mean duplicate alias and not ids. Ids remain the same.

There is a new rule now in Joomla! that was not in version 1.5. In order to be compliant with SEO and Google requirement to have one content per one url, and given that alias are used to build the urls, you cannot have the same alias under the same parent. That goes for menus, articles etc.

Therefore SP Upgrade when identify such case, automatically add a random qualifier to the alias. Even if you try to manually edit it from back end, you will see that Joomla! will not allow it.

It is probable those duplicates comes from your trash. Therefore before migration it is suggested to delete and empty trash for any not needed items.

2013-10-01
Reviews: 4
I will never use, or TRY to use jUpgrade ever again! This component is incredible, super powerful,easy to use, and good support. Worth every penny! Joomla! needs to recommend this component, not jUpgrade. Suddenly, migrations are MUCH easier!
2013-09-24
Reviews: 1
I signed up to post this review. I went with this to upgrade a large site from 1.5 to 3.1 and was able to do it without to much of a issue. The only issue I ran into was small and after contacting the dev I had everything worked out. Communication was quick and very helpful. I would recommend this for anyone looking to do the same upgrade!
2013-09-19
Reviews: 9
Excellent solution for the expert joomla! developer, cut our migrations time to more than half.
2013-09-18
Reviews: 1
The component SP Upgrade is really one of those indispensable tools for anyone who develops websites in Joomla since version 1.5.x, for its versatility, ease of use and excellent support offered by its developer. Enthusiastically recommend for those seeking migration painlessly between versions 1.5 and 2.5 of Joomla.
2013-09-18
Reviews: 1
Great extension, great support.
I had a little problem because of different Virtuemart languages tables, but the support was quick and solved it.
If I try this extension earlier I could spare 2 weeks fuming.
2013-09-14
Reviews: 3
Fue instalar, habilitar ftp, insetar datos de BBDD y listo! un nuevo joomla actualizado.
si dispones de la plantilla y los componentes queda clonado!
excelente componente! Muchas gracias! -
Was installed, enable ftp, I place DB data and go! a new joomla date.
if you have the template and components is cloned!
excellent component! Thank you very much!
2013-09-01
Reviews: 1
Attention has been excellent, even though I do not speak English using the translator has treated me great and I have solved the problem I had, in terms of the extension does what it says without problems, for one 10 on attention.
2013-08-29
Reviews: 1
I've been trying for months to upgrade my Joomla 2.5.x site to 3.x, without success. It seemed at every turn I'd run into problems, regardless of the upgrade method I chose. Searching forums I saw I was not alone, often seeing surprise in the community when someone *was* able to upgrade themselves.

I tried this extension (SPTransfer, not SP Upgrade) as a last-ditch effort, and all I can say is WOW. Not only did the extension work great, but because it migrates your settings from one site to another, you don't lose your original site. In other words, no risk.

The help support has been fantastic as well. First time I migrated I encountered one minor anomaly (no menus were transferred), but after emailing the developer I received a response back within hours and discovered that I had made a mistake with one of the settings I used during the transfer. Following the dev's advice, I re-migrated, and everything came over perfectly.

Again - this is a fantastic extension, it works very well, and the support is great. If you've been struggling with an upgrade (or given up on one, as I was about to), then please please PLEASE give this extension a try.

-Bob

NOTE: SP Upgrade can transfer data between Joomla 1.5 -> 2.5, 1.5 -> 3.0, and 1.5 -> 3.1. SP Transfer (the app I bought and used) can transfer data between a number of combination of Joomla versions (1.6, 1.7, 2.5, 3.0, and 3.1).
2013-08-26
Reviews: 3
Excellent! It work fine. I was trying to upgrade with the other non-commercial extension for several days, but couldn't. SP has resolved the migration really fast in most of cases.
2013-08-21
Reviews: 1
I'm a novice Joomla user and needed to migrate my 1.5 site to 2.5
Panayiotis Halouvas, the owner/developer of SP Upgrade was extremely helpful and responded almost immediately to my questions.
Bottom line is the application worked as advertised.
I couldn't be happier.
Dan Bibel
2013-08-16
Reviews: 5
This extension is simply amazing.

I've migrated a bunch of sites with this tool and it's never missed a beat.

I can only begin to imagine the kinds of data migration problems that this extension must be solving behind the scenes every time, but it just works.
2013-08-15
Reviews: 1
I was having a little trouble getting all of my data from Community Builder in Joomla 1.5 to migrate. Thanks to the excellent customer support, my data is all moved and my new site on Joomla 3.5.1 is running great...Thanks so much for your help, Tim
2013-08-09
Reviews: 1
I got a great support from the developer. This saved me a lot of work and the migration was then so easy. Thank you again!
2013-08-08
Reviews: 6
Totally recommend this component. Just upgraded 1.5 site that had over 100 RSEventsPro events, many RSFormPro forms, + membership. Support was great, and Panayiotis was very quick to answer my questions.
2013-07-09
Reviews: 20
Migration from Joomla! 1.5 to 3.1 was very easy and comprehensive. The only potential issue is that this extension works best when both databases are on the same server. I could not update from one location to another. Still, it was very easy and I don't regret having paid for this. I must also add the customer support is really helpful and understanding. I have migrated multiple sites since Joomla! 1.0 and this extension was by far the most hassle-free I have encountered.
2013-07-07
Reviews: 11
If I must try to explain what I have tried over months, from extensions to trying to convert / import from excel and hours of frustration, I will take way to much space and bore you. The short and sweet, I did not think this extension would do it, well I just transferred close to 8 000 articles within 5 minutes. Yes the server bombed out a couple of times - but I restarted the process, made sure I skipped the items already transferred and here I am speechless at just how well this extension worked.
2013-06-06
Reviews: 2
This extension made my migration from J1.5 to J2.5 a breezed. I had some issues early on that were no fault of the extension. Following the provided turotial I tried creating my new site on my host in a subdirectroy, but couldn't get to the administrator page of the new site to install SPupgrade and complete the migration. I mention that because even though it wasn't a problem with the extension, the developers worked diligiently to try and help me solve the problem. I found an alternative approach posted by a forum user that bypassed the problem I was having. Instead of creating the new site in a subdirectory to my live site on the host, I created it in a subdomain. I'm not smart enough to understand the true difference, but setting up new site through subdomain instead of a subdirectory got me where I needed to be. From there SPupgrade took me quickly the rest of the way.
2013-05-28
Reviews: 2
I have wasted all my evening on a free upgrade tool with very little documentation and it kept crushing/freezing in the middle. Then I bought this little tool and woww! 2477 articles in under 5 mins inside my joomla 3.1 site.

Absolutely delighted with the tool and recommend it. Don't waste your time on the free one. Do yourself a favour and buy this tool:)
2013-05-27
Reviews: 2
easy setup, good ducumentation and helpful support. After emailing, quick reply.
Page 3 of 8