The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


SP Upgrade Popular Component

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Migrate your old Joomla! sites with the best, most popular, used on thousands of sites already, by thousands of satisfied users, component and keep your Google Rank safe.

SP Upgrade supports transferring between the various Joomla! versions as below:

1.5 -> 2.5
1.5 -> 3.x
1.6 -> 2.5
1.6 -> 3.x
1.7 -> 2.5
1.7 -> 3.x
2.5 -> 3.x
3.x -> 3.x

The simple process

- Install a new version of Joomla (2.5 or 3), anywhere,
(your live server, or a remote server, or even on your PC)
- Install SP Upgrade,
- Connect to the source 1.5 database,
- Click the transfer button,
- Enjoy your new site.

Migrate everything with with no exceptions.

Core Data:
- Users
- Articles (along with their Sections and Categories)
- Contacts
- Web Links
- News Feeds
- Banners
- Menus ability to transfer all menu items, and not - only of the core components
- Modules ability to transfer all modules, and not only the core
- Tags
- All other extensions data!

Extensions:
- K2
- Kunena
- AcyMailing
- VirtueMart
- BreezingForms
- sh404sef
- JComments
- JEvents
- Community Builder
- ARTIO JoomSEF
- Phoca Download
- Phoca Gallery
- Phoca Guestbook
- Phoca Maps
- jNews

Report Extension

 

 

2013-01-02
Reviews: 1
This plugin did exactly what is was suppose to.

I had a site going from v1.5 to v2.5

Some issues, but the developer was very helpful and even went into my site to find the issue!

Articles converted are clean.

I Could not rate the developer more highly and 100% recommend this plugin .
2012-12-27
Reviews: 4
Compared to my previous attempts with another well documented component SP Upgrade came up trumps with no real issues. Okay, some of my modules and templates didn't transfer over but I knew that because they were not 2.5 items. However I don't think that's an issue as I can install the latest (2.5) versions and rebuild that. I was more concerned with getting all my articles and members database transferred, hey presto! Job done. Forget the one with zero support, spend the cash on this and you won't look back. I'm told the component support is very good but I didn't need to ask them, neither should you if you read the user guide and many tutorials out there.
One thing, the images file doesn't (didn't) transfer. but it's a simple matter of copying the contents over in cPanel.
Just going through the process of re positioning my modules to fit the new template I have and pointing the menu items to my new top menu then it should be ready to launch.
2012-12-18
Reviews: 1
Migrating from 1.5 to 2.5 is a serious undertaking, especially if you have a lot of components. I tried jupgrade with no success and so went this route. With components especially (CB, JComments, etc...) you will need to upgrade to the latest version on your 1.5 installation and then export the dbase fields to your new 2.5 installation. But that said, the developers were very helpful and extremely prompt with followups to my questions and technical difficulties. They went above and beyond to help me track down issues that were cropping up in the migration that wasn't directly connected to their component. The money spent on this product and the support is well worth every dime!
2012-12-02
Reviews: 23
Used to transfer 1.5 to 2.5 and worked with few problems.

Documentation is pretty useful and the extension seems designed to catch most problems that are likely to be encountered and actually offers choices as to how to deal with these problems. (Main problem encountered: issues with items with identical aliases).

Templates need to be migrated one at a time. And definitely a hit or miss (about 70% success rate).

Even though it is a paid product it works out less expensive than the free migration tools because it is quicker and a lot more reliable than the other tools I've tried.
2012-12-01
Reviews: 1
Great component, and very important for a novice like me : great support anh thanks for the patience they had with me ;-)
2012-10-30
Reviews: 2
Worked perfect except images didn't all transfer, which turned out to be because there are so many it timed out. Simple solution provided promptly was to copy the images within my control panel. Well worth the small cost.
2012-10-25
Reviews: 19
Like others wrote: this is a bargain. I had some issues which were server-related. The support was great and the 2.5 site runs fine.
I wish I had found this component before, it is much better than the free jupgrade.
2012-10-08
Reviews: 10
perfect match for my migration from 1.5 to 2.5

sunny regards

KurtSteiner
2012-09-20
Reviews: 1
I have to say that this extensions is one of the best I found, after spending hours looking through forums for help regarding "Migration Undefined" for a certain other Upgrade component, I found this.. for €30 its nothing compared to the time that it saved.

Make sure to read the documentation first as it works in a different way to another Upgrade component. Great support too when I had a couple of questions at the start, finished upgrading dozens of sites that were 1.5.26 and now all are 2.5.7 with this and then i'm done

Keep up the good work!
2012-09-16
Reviews: 1
I have upgraded two sites with no issues. I had a lot of articles with the same alias but in different sections, so unfortunately it had to put a prefix on the URLs, but apart from that I am very happy. Perhaps a wizard would make the process a bit simpler.

The small cost was well worth the hours of headaches saved which I had experienced using another migration tool.
2012-09-11
Reviews: 1
At the beginning when i report the problem width the component to the SP CYEND they tried to make their own the migration process but failed also and asked me to fix the bug in the database manually. I refused, because my dbase is about 20MB large, after which it fell silent, and I am left alone with empty pockets :(
2012-09-07
Reviews: 1
I tried to get jUpgrade working for weeks with unanswered forum replies and seeing may other people having the same problem as myself with no answers. I read about this solution and gave it a go and what do you know we were migrated first shot. The site is massive so we ran into a couple of issues but worked with support and run much better. Still not perfect but we are migrating large volumes of data so understandable we have to take additional steps but with each release I am seeing improvements. If you want to migrate your site right this is the solution for you.
2012-08-21
Reviews: 4
This component is so simple and fast. I migrated the core of my site in under an hour, including J2.5 fresh install (which is required).

Please note, don't duplicate your ADMIN login! In other words, skip your admin ID from the J1.5 version if transferring users.. Also, don't expect that by some form of magic your site will be transformed from J1.5 to J2.5. In fact, installing extensions, including updated templates is required. Keep track of errors in the log, since they reflect items that were not able to be completed. In the first site I migrated this was only two menu items.

Worth every penny I paid. Hats off to the developers.
2012-08-11
Reviews: 3
I tried jUpgrade and it didn't work. I even opted for their paid service, which they made me wait for a month as even they couldn't do it straight and their developer was on vacation?

I never knew SPupgrade existed as Joomla was only promoting jUpgrade. Glad I stumbled on this component. I could do it myself and it worked without any issues. This is, in my view, the best migration component available.

Thank you for the awesome work.
2012-08-07
Reviews: 3
I have three sites to migrate from J1.6 to latest J2.? and decided to give this component a try. The hardest part is locating the info to fill in the database names and paths with. Once I figured that out, it was just a few short clicks before my new J2.? site was ready to start fleshing out. This component is worth every penny I paid for it in times savings. Plus, I contacted the support staff via email and received a prompt response. This is the way to go folks.
2012-07-25
Reviews: 2
This is the way to go for getting your website from Joomla 1.5 to 2.5. I do not have a web development background so everything is slow going with me. Early on, I had some difficulty, but that was because of ME not knowing what I was doing. The support I received from Panayiotis Halouvas was absolutely fabulous and fast!

I am glad that I used SP Upgrade. I still have some tweaking to do on my site, but the site has converted to 2.5 and so I am over my major hurdle.

Thank you, SP Upgrade!
2012-07-24
Reviews: 1
I had tried another (free) extension first which never worked for me. I don't know if it was a server issue or what.

SP Upgrade did what it said it would for all 3 websites I've upgraded so far. It converted all the articles, all the menus, and all the core modules.

I'm never upset about paying for an extension that works out of the box.

I had one question about a non-core modules which I emailed to the vendor. The response was prompt and very helpful.

Wish all the extensions were this good.
2012-07-20
Reviews: 52
This is a great extension for migrating content from Joomla 1.5. One thing I have yet to find with any of the migration tools is one that properly handles the assets table.

After using SP-Upgrade and others, then running ACL Manager to check the assets tables shows errors on every article imported.

If the author is using Joomla API's to import, then the core has an issue. Don't know which one it is with the issue but, I have yet to get a clean migration on sites with any tool where the assets table came out clean!

To this day I think the assets table is a mistake and that it's going to continue causing issues down the road, even with Joomla 3.0 and beyond until the core devs come up with a set of tools for repair or API's to properly migrate content.
2012-07-07
Reviews: 5
At first, I tried J2XML export/import (for free), but I have some problem with max execution time on my hoster server. So, I decided try this component. I hope, it export not only articles, I need export the menus (and menuitems too).
After update, I have succesfully moved all articles (good work), all menus (but without menuitems). Bad new :(
After this, I try to work with exported articles, but It doesn't work because it badly import a category tree!

Then my hoster set correctly the max execution time. I clean up the import articles and categories by this component and tried J2XML (free export/import tool). And it works perfect.

SP upgrade was useless for me :(
2012-07-01
Reviews: 7
I cried with joy when this extension worked first time. The hardest part was finding the info to fill in the form fields. Others have said support is great, but this extension is so well crafted, you probably won't need them.
Page 5 of 8