The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


SP Upgrade Popular Component

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Migrate your old Joomla! sites with the best, most popular, used on thousands of sites already, by thousands of satisfied users, component and keep your Google Rank safe.

SP Upgrade supports transferring between the various Joomla! versions as below:

1.5 -> 2.5
1.5 -> 3.x
1.6 -> 2.5
1.6 -> 3.x
1.7 -> 2.5
1.7 -> 3.x
2.5 -> 3.x
3.x -> 3.x

The simple process

- Install a new version of Joomla (2.5 or 3), anywhere,
(your live server, or a remote server, or even on your PC)
- Install SP Upgrade,
- Connect to the source 1.5 database,
- Click the transfer button,
- Enjoy your new site.

Migrate everything with with no exceptions.

Core Data:
- Users
- Articles (along with their Sections and Categories)
- Contacts
- Web Links
- News Feeds
- Banners
- Menus ability to transfer all menu items, and not - only of the core components
- Modules ability to transfer all modules, and not only the core
- Tags
- All other extensions data!

Extensions:
- K2
- Kunena
- AcyMailing
- VirtueMart
- BreezingForms
- sh404sef
- JComments
- JEvents
- Community Builder
- ARTIO JoomSEF
- Phoca Download
- Phoca Gallery
- Phoca Guestbook
- Phoca Maps
- jNews

Report Extension

 

 

2012-09-20
Reviews: 1
I have to say that this extensions is one of the best I found, after spending hours looking through forums for help regarding "Migration Undefined" for a certain other Upgrade component, I found this.. for €30 its nothing compared to the time that it saved.

Make sure to read the documentation first as it works in a different way to another Upgrade component. Great support too when I had a couple of questions at the start, finished upgrading dozens of sites that were 1.5.26 and now all are 2.5.7 with this and then i'm done

Keep up the good work!
2012-09-16
Reviews: 1
I have upgraded two sites with no issues. I had a lot of articles with the same alias but in different sections, so unfortunately it had to put a prefix on the URLs, but apart from that I am very happy. Perhaps a wizard would make the process a bit simpler.

The small cost was well worth the hours of headaches saved which I had experienced using another migration tool.
2012-09-11
Reviews: 1
At the beginning when i report the problem width the component to the SP CYEND they tried to make their own the migration process but failed also and asked me to fix the bug in the database manually. I refused, because my dbase is about 20MB large, after which it fell silent, and I am left alone with empty pockets :(
2012-09-07
Reviews: 1
I tried to get jUpgrade working for weeks with unanswered forum replies and seeing may other people having the same problem as myself with no answers. I read about this solution and gave it a go and what do you know we were migrated first shot. The site is massive so we ran into a couple of issues but worked with support and run much better. Still not perfect but we are migrating large volumes of data so understandable we have to take additional steps but with each release I am seeing improvements. If you want to migrate your site right this is the solution for you.
2012-08-21
Reviews: 4
This component is so simple and fast. I migrated the core of my site in under an hour, including J2.5 fresh install (which is required).

Please note, don't duplicate your ADMIN login! In other words, skip your admin ID from the J1.5 version if transferring users.. Also, don't expect that by some form of magic your site will be transformed from J1.5 to J2.5. In fact, installing extensions, including updated templates is required. Keep track of errors in the log, since they reflect items that were not able to be completed. In the first site I migrated this was only two menu items.

Worth every penny I paid. Hats off to the developers.
2012-08-11
Reviews: 3
I tried jUpgrade and it didn't work. I even opted for their paid service, which they made me wait for a month as even they couldn't do it straight and their developer was on vacation?

I never knew SPupgrade existed as Joomla was only promoting jUpgrade. Glad I stumbled on this component. I could do it myself and it worked without any issues. This is, in my view, the best migration component available.

Thank you for the awesome work.
2012-08-07
Reviews: 3
I have three sites to migrate from J1.6 to latest J2.? and decided to give this component a try. The hardest part is locating the info to fill in the database names and paths with. Once I figured that out, it was just a few short clicks before my new J2.? site was ready to start fleshing out. This component is worth every penny I paid for it in times savings. Plus, I contacted the support staff via email and received a prompt response. This is the way to go folks.
2012-07-25
Reviews: 2
This is the way to go for getting your website from Joomla 1.5 to 2.5. I do not have a web development background so everything is slow going with me. Early on, I had some difficulty, but that was because of ME not knowing what I was doing. The support I received from Panayiotis Halouvas was absolutely fabulous and fast!

I am glad that I used SP Upgrade. I still have some tweaking to do on my site, but the site has converted to 2.5 and so I am over my major hurdle.

Thank you, SP Upgrade!
2012-07-24
Reviews: 1
I had tried another (free) extension first which never worked for me. I don't know if it was a server issue or what.

SP Upgrade did what it said it would for all 3 websites I've upgraded so far. It converted all the articles, all the menus, and all the core modules.

I'm never upset about paying for an extension that works out of the box.

I had one question about a non-core modules which I emailed to the vendor. The response was prompt and very helpful.

Wish all the extensions were this good.
2012-07-20
Reviews: 49
This is a great extension for migrating content from Joomla 1.5. One thing I have yet to find with any of the migration tools is one that properly handles the assets table.

After using SP-Upgrade and others, then running ACL Manager to check the assets tables shows errors on every article imported.

If the author is using Joomla API's to import, then the core has an issue. Don't know which one it is with the issue but, I have yet to get a clean migration on sites with any tool where the assets table came out clean!

To this day I think the assets table is a mistake and that it's going to continue causing issues down the road, even with Joomla 3.0 and beyond until the core devs come up with a set of tools for repair or API's to properly migrate content.
2012-07-07
Reviews: 5
At first, I tried J2XML export/import (for free), but I have some problem with max execution time on my hoster server. So, I decided try this component. I hope, it export not only articles, I need export the menus (and menuitems too).
After update, I have succesfully moved all articles (good work), all menus (but without menuitems). Bad new :(
After this, I try to work with exported articles, but It doesn't work because it badly import a category tree!

Then my hoster set correctly the max execution time. I clean up the import articles and categories by this component and tried J2XML (free export/import tool). And it works perfect.

SP upgrade was useless for me :(
2012-07-01
Reviews: 7
I cried with joy when this extension worked first time. The hardest part was finding the info to fill in the form fields. Others have said support is great, but this extension is so well crafted, you probably won't need them.
2012-06-20
Reviews: 9
With several or one Domain to upgrade this component is a must

The component is Excellent
The layout is Excellent
The support is even more Excellent

Buy the SP upgrade start the migration to an easy site

Questions to the support are answered almost instantly

It does want it says on the tin

Excellent
2012-05-26
Reviews: 2
I have several Domains to upgrade from 1.5 to 2.5 .
The first 4 migrations worked well with the recommende migrator, but the 5th was really a pain. I costs me over a month until I decided to buy SP upgrade.
With this, after an hour everything was finished. It seems, that the hoster of the 5th domain is very strict, which results in plenty of time-outs. But the great advantage of SP upgrade is, that after a time-out you just hit the "back"-button of your browser and start the migration again. SP remembers where it has been and continues.
One hint: When you have restarted after a timeout, there is usually a DUPLICATE KEY error. Write down these Ids. About 25% of these records are not properly transferred. In my case 4 defect records of 30,000. Really not a big deal.

Some questions to the support even on a saturday have been answered within an hour.
I wish I have bought it before the first migration. SP would have saved me plenty of time.

Thumbs up for this excellent extension.
2012-05-25
Reviews: 4
I had previously tried a free extension to migrate my Joomla site from 1.5.26 to 2.5.4 and run into tons of problems - way more than any extension should give. I've never been a fan of paying for extensions for an open source system, but SPUpgrade is definitely worth the money. The first attempt didn't go perfectly, but fortunately I was working on a copy of my live site, so not a problem. After a quick response from SPUpgrade's support I tried a second time. It upgraded my site in a couple of minutes and was clean as a whistle. Everything in place as it should be and all working correctly.

Fantastic extension and well worth the price.
2012-05-13
Reviews: 1
This product makes migration from Joomla 1.5 to Joomla 2.5 extremely easy. The support extended was outstanding. On a few occasions, I wanted to re-migrate just parts of my Joomla 1.5 installation and the support staff guided me through the steps that I needed to perform in order to accomplish them. This is an extemely Good product which I would recomend to anyone wishing to migrate from 1.5 to 2.5
2012-05-13
Reviews: 42
It's not hard to justify the small fee for this excellent extension as it saves so much time when migrating websites. I have used it on a few websites including one where I needed the userIDs to be consistent so that Kunena, JoomGallery and JEvents data was attributed to the correct user account on the new Joomla 2.5 website. It works the first time without any hassles. Thanks, I have quite a few more migrations to do and will be using SP Upgrade from now on!
2012-05-06
Reviews: 4
... and does so in a pleasing way. I've searched for a possibility to migrate my Joomla 1.5 site to Joomla 2.5 without loosing the article-id's.

Nothing I tried so far was able to do that. SP Upgrade does this and so far without any problems.

In a matter of seconds, my articles, categories, etc. were online on Joomla 2.5 - with the same IDs and without any errors.

Thumbs-Up for this Extension! :)
2012-05-04
Reviews: 3
A component that every webmaster should have, we migrated over 200 customer sites without problems.

Great job!
2012-05-04
Reviews: 1
I have worked hard on upgrading from Joomla 1.0 tonight, but upgrading from 1.5 was quite a bit more challenging--mostly since jUpgrade was not working. I couldn't find any answers. Tried many solutions people said worked for them but after about 4 hours, I finally found SP Upgrade. Even with jUpgrade people were still claiming issues. SP Upgrade was so easy and did most of the work for me. I'm very thankful I found it. I had to pay about $35 dollars (vs. jUpgrade for free), but it was well worth it. Quick and easy. When I had a question for SP CYEND, they responded quickly and were very professional, helpful, and courteous. Thanks, SP CYEND, for doing such an excellent job! Couldn't have done it with out you. It truthfully made my day!
Page 5 of 8