The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


SP Upgrade Popular Component

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Migrate your old Joomla! sites with the best, most popular, used on thousands of sites already, by thousands of satisfied users, component and keep your Google Rank safe.

SP Upgrade supports transferring between the various Joomla! versions as below:

1.5 -> 2.5
1.5 -> 3.x
1.6 -> 2.5
1.6 -> 3.x
1.7 -> 2.5
1.7 -> 3.x
2.5 -> 3.x
3.x -> 3.x

The simple process

- Install a new version of Joomla (2.5 or 3), anywhere,
(your live server, or a remote server, or even on your PC)
- Install SP Upgrade,
- Connect to the source 1.5 database,
- Click the transfer button,
- Enjoy your new site.

Migrate everything with with no exceptions.

Core Data:
- Users
- Articles (along with their Sections and Categories)
- Contacts
- Web Links
- News Feeds
- Banners
- Menus ability to transfer all menu items, and not - only of the core components
- Modules ability to transfer all modules, and not only the core
- Tags
- All other extensions data!

Extensions:
- K2
- Kunena
- AcyMailing
- VirtueMart
- BreezingForms
- sh404sef
- JComments
- JEvents
- Community Builder
- ARTIO JoomSEF
- Phoca Download
- Phoca Gallery
- Phoca Guestbook
- Phoca Maps
- jNews

Report Extension

 

 

2012-07-01
Reviews: 7
I cried with joy when this extension worked first time. The hardest part was finding the info to fill in the form fields. Others have said support is great, but this extension is so well crafted, you probably won't need them.
2012-06-20
Reviews: 10
With several or one Domain to upgrade this component is a must

The component is Excellent
The layout is Excellent
The support is even more Excellent

Buy the SP upgrade start the migration to an easy site

Questions to the support are answered almost instantly

It does want it says on the tin

Excellent
2012-05-26
Reviews: 2
I have several Domains to upgrade from 1.5 to 2.5 .
The first 4 migrations worked well with the recommende migrator, but the 5th was really a pain. I costs me over a month until I decided to buy SP upgrade.
With this, after an hour everything was finished. It seems, that the hoster of the 5th domain is very strict, which results in plenty of time-outs. But the great advantage of SP upgrade is, that after a time-out you just hit the "back"-button of your browser and start the migration again. SP remembers where it has been and continues.
One hint: When you have restarted after a timeout, there is usually a DUPLICATE KEY error. Write down these Ids. About 25% of these records are not properly transferred. In my case 4 defect records of 30,000. Really not a big deal.

Some questions to the support even on a saturday have been answered within an hour.
I wish I have bought it before the first migration. SP would have saved me plenty of time.

Thumbs up for this excellent extension.
2012-05-25
Reviews: 4
I had previously tried a free extension to migrate my Joomla site from 1.5.26 to 2.5.4 and run into tons of problems - way more than any extension should give. I've never been a fan of paying for extensions for an open source system, but SPUpgrade is definitely worth the money. The first attempt didn't go perfectly, but fortunately I was working on a copy of my live site, so not a problem. After a quick response from SPUpgrade's support I tried a second time. It upgraded my site in a couple of minutes and was clean as a whistle. Everything in place as it should be and all working correctly.

Fantastic extension and well worth the price.
2012-05-18
Reviews: 2
I have found this component to migrate my 1.5 Joomla! installation to 2.5.1 and was first happy that it seems the component did a good job (ID's were kept as described).

Menus, images, articles and all I need were migrated very well. On very few items I have had to change the alias but the migration log point out to this.

But there are 1 important thing that seems nobody exepct me does need or have checked this until now: The creation date of articles will be kept which is fine but the modify date changes to the date when you started the migration. So every modified date get lost.

For this I deduct 1 star. The second deducted star is for getting no support on this subject. I started my reques more than 57 houres from now and exepct the automatic copy of my request I did not hear anything.

So I guess I have to write a script to fix this and get my old modified date back what is very disapointing and take me a lot of time. On the home page you can read that they will do anything to help migrate your site but in my case they don't.
Owner's reply

The issue with modified dates is now resolved. Both last modify author and date is now kept from 1.5.

The late respond was due to development and testing, and we neglected to keep you informed. That was mistake from our site.

2012-05-13
Reviews: 1
This product makes migration from Joomla 1.5 to Joomla 2.5 extremely easy. The support extended was outstanding. On a few occasions, I wanted to re-migrate just parts of my Joomla 1.5 installation and the support staff guided me through the steps that I needed to perform in order to accomplish them. This is an extemely Good product which I would recomend to anyone wishing to migrate from 1.5 to 2.5
2012-05-13
Reviews: 42
It's not hard to justify the small fee for this excellent extension as it saves so much time when migrating websites. I have used it on a few websites including one where I needed the userIDs to be consistent so that Kunena, JoomGallery and JEvents data was attributed to the correct user account on the new Joomla 2.5 website. It works the first time without any hassles. Thanks, I have quite a few more migrations to do and will be using SP Upgrade from now on!
2012-05-06
Reviews: 4
... and does so in a pleasing way. I've searched for a possibility to migrate my Joomla 1.5 site to Joomla 2.5 without loosing the article-id's.

Nothing I tried so far was able to do that. SP Upgrade does this and so far without any problems.

In a matter of seconds, my articles, categories, etc. were online on Joomla 2.5 - with the same IDs and without any errors.

Thumbs-Up for this Extension! :)
2012-05-04
Reviews: 3
A component that every webmaster should have, we migrated over 200 customer sites without problems.

Great job!
2012-05-04
Reviews: 1
I have worked hard on upgrading from Joomla 1.0 tonight, but upgrading from 1.5 was quite a bit more challenging--mostly since jUpgrade was not working. I couldn't find any answers. Tried many solutions people said worked for them but after about 4 hours, I finally found SP Upgrade. Even with jUpgrade people were still claiming issues. SP Upgrade was so easy and did most of the work for me. I'm very thankful I found it. I had to pay about $35 dollars (vs. jUpgrade for free), but it was well worth it. Quick and easy. When I had a question for SP CYEND, they responded quickly and were very professional, helpful, and courteous. Thanks, SP CYEND, for doing such an excellent job! Couldn't have done it with out you. It truthfully made my day!
2012-04-25
Reviews: 5
Tried both JUpgrade and SPUpgrade on a large site from 1.5 to 2.5. SP was a waste of time and money.
On the positive side the purchase price allows a 'subscription' to other components that may have value.
Owner's reply

First time to have issue with large site. Component is able to migrate sites with 100k+ articles. If a timeout occur for any reason just rerun and process will continue from where it stopped. Contact with us and we can assist you.

2012-04-23
Reviews: 1
Paid for this component, and then had to confirm with support that it's ok to migrate from MySQL database (Joomla 1.5.26) to MySQLi database (Joomla 2.5.4), which it is (changed in 2.5.4 global configuration > server settings > database type > MySQLi).
Took minutes for the migration to happen!!!
Asked a few questions to make sure settings were correct, support answered within an hour or 2. Has saved me endless hours copying and pasting!!!
Had a few issues with menu items, artisteer templates and acymailing transfers, but managed it all eventually, since Joomla 2.5.4 needed configuring / tweaking.
Thanks for a great component and service guys.
2012-04-19
Reviews: 1
Had trouble upgrading my website from J1.5.2 to J2.5.3 & I was very nervous about it with over 500+ pages.

The guys at SP Upgrade handled it without a problem; inexpensive, courteous, trustworthy and very prompt with replies & advice.

Best $'s I have ever spent as I had put 12 months work into the website.

Thank You SP
2012-04-11
Reviews: 2
After several failed attemtps to upgrade a complex site with Jupgrade and SPupgrade, I finally managed to upgrade without errors. This largely due to the support of the SPugrade people and of Jen Cramer who recently published an excellent joomla migration course on lynda.com (search for Migrating from Joomla! 1.5 to Joomla! 2.5)

I followed the instruction Jen Cramer listed in her joomla update course:

-ported my 1.5 site over to a test location. (online not local)
and created an spugrade subdirectory in the 1.5 site.
-I made backups of data belonging to extensions (forms, newsletter, etc)
-I then stripped the site of all extensions and none joomla modules
migrated the site
-deleted the original 1.5 site in the root
and copied the content of the 2.5 spupgrade site to the empty root
-I then reinstalled JCE, Akeeba and the other plugins
-tested the test site and
-moved it to the live site.

So far--so good

Gert
2012-04-09
Reviews: 5
We are currently on our 150th migration from 1.5 and while other 'recommended' tools have worked for us the dance required to make it work wasn't justifiable. SP Upgrade costs a small amount compared to the time saved on just a single upgrade - I can strongly recommend it.

Of course read the documentation before you start - as always it will make you life easier.
2012-03-11
Reviews: 3
The support stuff was incredibly fast and effective. I had some minor problems and they got solved very quickly.

Thanks!
2012-03-04
Reviews: 6
I seldom write reviews but this one is worth highlighting. Filled with fear about migrating I clicked on the "Migrate" button. There was nothing to worry about even though we have a large website. All content (with intact links) was migrated without a hitch. I subsequently had some queries which I sen to the developer about doing subsequent migrate runs (the live site is still up and has constant changes so we wanted to be able to import that fresh content while we continued to do the conversion on localhost). He always responded very quickly and with the information needed. We had previously attempted to use jUpgrade but sadly it was a disaster for us. It is a little surprising that Joomla seem to be pushing it so hard when it seems clear that it is not quite ready for the task yet. Also, you do not retain your original ids in jUpgrade.

While SP Upgrade does not attempt to migrate extensions, I would prefer to do the extensions manually than use something with appears inherently unstable and does not maintain the integrity of your content ids.

So well done to the developer! A small price to pay Thank you.
2012-02-19
Reviews: 8
Perfect works! Joomla 1.5 to Joomla 2.5 in five minutes! Thanks lot for your work!
2012-02-17
Reviews: 3
I recently purchased this component to upgrade a large site from 1.5 running Jomsocial.

The upgrade was simple and easy to implement - what a time saver!

I had only one problem with user preferences in 1.5 causing a login problem in 1.7.3. I wrote to Cyend and they prepared a bespoke version that allowed me to import users without the preferences.

This was support at its very best and is a credit to the ethos of the Joomla Community.

Anyone who is nervous about upgrading to 1.7. or 2.5 - don't worry, this is a fantastic component and well worth every penny.
2012-02-15
Reviews: 2
I waited until now to update my Joomla website from version 1.5 to version 2.5 and skipped the other version updates in between waiting for a tool like this one. One that works as good as it is advertised to work. I ran into a few issues because the SimpleScript installer on my server doesn't allow for a Joomla install *without* the sample data, so I wrote to tech support and Panayiotis Halouvas gave me simple directions to install Joomla 2.5x manually (which I had never done before). Then I ran the extension and it worked perfect the first time. Can't ask for more than that. Thank you for a great product and keep up the most excellent work.
Page 5 of 7