The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


SP Upgrade Popular Component

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Migrate your old Joomla! sites with the best, most popular, used on thousands of sites already, by thousands of satisfied users, component and keep your Google Rank safe.

SP Upgrade supports transferring between the various Joomla! versions as below:

1.5 -> 2.5
1.5 -> 3.x
1.6 -> 2.5
1.6 -> 3.x
1.7 -> 2.5
1.7 -> 3.x
2.5 -> 3.x
3.x -> 3.x

The simple process

- Install a new version of Joomla (2.5 or 3), anywhere,
(your live server, or a remote server, or even on your PC)
- Install SP Upgrade,
- Connect to the source 1.5 database,
- Click the transfer button,
- Enjoy your new site.

Migrate everything with with no exceptions.

Core Data:
- Users
- Articles (along with their Sections and Categories)
- Contacts
- Web Links
- News Feeds
- Banners
- Menus ability to transfer all menu items, and not - only of the core components
- Modules ability to transfer all modules, and not only the core
- Tags
- All other extensions data!

Extensions:
- K2
- Kunena
- AcyMailing
- VirtueMart
- BreezingForms
- sh404sef
- JComments
- JEvents
- Community Builder
- ARTIO JoomSEF
- Phoca Download
- Phoca Gallery
- Phoca Guestbook
- Phoca Maps
- jNews

Report Extension

 

 

2012-05-06
Reviews: 4
... and does so in a pleasing way. I've searched for a possibility to migrate my Joomla 1.5 site to Joomla 2.5 without loosing the article-id's.

Nothing I tried so far was able to do that. SP Upgrade does this and so far without any problems.

In a matter of seconds, my articles, categories, etc. were online on Joomla 2.5 - with the same IDs and without any errors.

Thumbs-Up for this Extension! :)
2012-05-04
Reviews: 3
A component that every webmaster should have, we migrated over 200 customer sites without problems.

Great job!
2012-05-04
Reviews: 1
I have worked hard on upgrading from Joomla 1.0 tonight, but upgrading from 1.5 was quite a bit more challenging--mostly since jUpgrade was not working. I couldn't find any answers. Tried many solutions people said worked for them but after about 4 hours, I finally found SP Upgrade. Even with jUpgrade people were still claiming issues. SP Upgrade was so easy and did most of the work for me. I'm very thankful I found it. I had to pay about $35 dollars (vs. jUpgrade for free), but it was well worth it. Quick and easy. When I had a question for SP CYEND, they responded quickly and were very professional, helpful, and courteous. Thanks, SP CYEND, for doing such an excellent job! Couldn't have done it with out you. It truthfully made my day!
2012-04-25
Reviews: 5
Tried both JUpgrade and SPUpgrade on a large site from 1.5 to 2.5. SP was a waste of time and money.
On the positive side the purchase price allows a 'subscription' to other components that may have value.
Owner's reply

First time to have issue with large site. Component is able to migrate sites with 100k+ articles. If a timeout occur for any reason just rerun and process will continue from where it stopped. Contact with us and we can assist you.

2012-04-23
Reviews: 1
Paid for this component, and then had to confirm with support that it's ok to migrate from MySQL database (Joomla 1.5.26) to MySQLi database (Joomla 2.5.4), which it is (changed in 2.5.4 global configuration > server settings > database type > MySQLi).
Took minutes for the migration to happen!!!
Asked a few questions to make sure settings were correct, support answered within an hour or 2. Has saved me endless hours copying and pasting!!!
Had a few issues with menu items, artisteer templates and acymailing transfers, but managed it all eventually, since Joomla 2.5.4 needed configuring / tweaking.
Thanks for a great component and service guys.
2012-04-19
Reviews: 1
Had trouble upgrading my website from J1.5.2 to J2.5.3 & I was very nervous about it with over 500+ pages.

The guys at SP Upgrade handled it without a problem; inexpensive, courteous, trustworthy and very prompt with replies & advice.

Best $'s I have ever spent as I had put 12 months work into the website.

Thank You SP
2012-04-11
Reviews: 2
After several failed attemtps to upgrade a complex site with Jupgrade and SPupgrade, I finally managed to upgrade without errors. This largely due to the support of the SPugrade people and of Jen Cramer who recently published an excellent joomla migration course on lynda.com (search for Migrating from Joomla! 1.5 to Joomla! 2.5)

I followed the instruction Jen Cramer listed in her joomla update course:

-ported my 1.5 site over to a test location. (online not local)
and created an spugrade subdirectory in the 1.5 site.
-I made backups of data belonging to extensions (forms, newsletter, etc)
-I then stripped the site of all extensions and none joomla modules
migrated the site
-deleted the original 1.5 site in the root
and copied the content of the 2.5 spupgrade site to the empty root
-I then reinstalled JCE, Akeeba and the other plugins
-tested the test site and
-moved it to the live site.

So far--so good

Gert
2012-04-09
Reviews: 6
We are currently on our 150th migration from 1.5 and while other 'recommended' tools have worked for us the dance required to make it work wasn't justifiable. SP Upgrade costs a small amount compared to the time saved on just a single upgrade - I can strongly recommend it.

Of course read the documentation before you start - as always it will make you life easier.
2012-03-11
Reviews: 3
The support stuff was incredibly fast and effective. I had some minor problems and they got solved very quickly.

Thanks!
2012-03-04
Reviews: 5
I seldom write reviews but this one is worth highlighting. Filled with fear about migrating I clicked on the "Migrate" button. There was nothing to worry about even though we have a large website. All content (with intact links) was migrated without a hitch. I subsequently had some queries which I sen to the developer about doing subsequent migrate runs (the live site is still up and has constant changes so we wanted to be able to import that fresh content while we continued to do the conversion on localhost). He always responded very quickly and with the information needed. We had previously attempted to use jUpgrade but sadly it was a disaster for us. It is a little surprising that Joomla seem to be pushing it so hard when it seems clear that it is not quite ready for the task yet. Also, you do not retain your original ids in jUpgrade.

While SP Upgrade does not attempt to migrate extensions, I would prefer to do the extensions manually than use something with appears inherently unstable and does not maintain the integrity of your content ids.

So well done to the developer! A small price to pay Thank you.
2012-02-19
Reviews: 8
Perfect works! Joomla 1.5 to Joomla 2.5 in five minutes! Thanks lot for your work!
2012-02-17
Reviews: 2
I recently purchased this component to upgrade a large site from 1.5 running Jomsocial.

The upgrade was simple and easy to implement - what a time saver!

I had only one problem with user preferences in 1.5 causing a login problem in 1.7.3. I wrote to Cyend and they prepared a bespoke version that allowed me to import users without the preferences.

This was support at its very best and is a credit to the ethos of the Joomla Community.

Anyone who is nervous about upgrading to 1.7. or 2.5 - don't worry, this is a fantastic component and well worth every penny.
2012-02-15
Reviews: 2
I waited until now to update my Joomla website from version 1.5 to version 2.5 and skipped the other version updates in between waiting for a tool like this one. One that works as good as it is advertised to work. I ran into a few issues because the SimpleScript installer on my server doesn't allow for a Joomla install *without* the sample data, so I wrote to tech support and Panayiotis Halouvas gave me simple directions to install Joomla 2.5x manually (which I had never done before). Then I ran the extension and it worked perfect the first time. Can't ask for more than that. Thank you for a great product and keep up the most excellent work.
2012-02-15
Reviews: 1
Don´t spend money on this extension!
I wanted to upgrade from 1.5.25 to 2.5.1 and everything broke down and I had to reinstall my site using Akeeba backup.
Then their support migrated my database for e and sent me a migrated one but i still didn´t work. The menues where corrupt and every alias also, so the links didn´t work. I tried three times and then I gave up.
I tried Jupgrade instead and when my webhotell turned off the safe_mode everything worked very nice. Conclusion: Don´t spend money on SP upgrade Use Jupgrade instead.
2012-02-13
Reviews: 1
Thank you for the good work... after a lil problem installing... and couple email exchange with the support... i finally made it work...
Keep the good work.
2012-02-04
Reviews: 6
Great extension! worth every cent you spend on it. It just makes the migration from Joomla 1.5 to Joomla 2.5 that much less daunting.

I ran into a little uncertainly as to the right steps to take and the Support was brilliant to say the least, no question was too small or too time
consuming to answer by Panayiotis Halouvas, if I could rate it higher I would. Excellent! that is all I can say!
2012-01-30
Reviews: 2
This extension, in my opinion can only be rated excellent. I migrated a Joomla 1.15 website to Joomla 1.73 in a matter of minutes. Initially, I had some issues but was able to email their support and received valuable feedback. One word of advice I will put out there to anyone using this extension is you may need to increase the php memory size since it is using a lot of resources to perform the upgrade. Well worth the money spent. Great job!
2012-01-29
Reviews: 6
If you want to go from Joomla 1.5 to Joomla 2.5, take it.

Everything is on the right place, and if something is not, you will get an information in the update log.

I had a large site to upgrade and it just worked.

This saves me a lot of frustration and time.
2012-01-19
Reviews: 1
These guys really did a good job. Perfect component en awesome support. Migrated Joomla 1.5.25 to 1.7.3 and all the id's articles and categories are the same. Because I didn't have a second database they did the migration for me.
Don't waste your time on other tools if you want you Google rank to be safe. This component does the job!
2012-01-09
Reviews: 5
I'm feeling a bit guilty for not submitting a review sooner. SP Upgrade is one of the core tools in my Joomla development toolkit. This does something different than JUpgrade in that it will import data from a J1.5 database to an existing 1.7 site, whereas JUpgrade pushes data out.

The best use example I can think of to illustrate the benefit of SP Upgrade is this. If you installed a quicklaunch version of template from a template club with lots of demo content and extensions already set up, but now you need your content from your old 1.5 site you can use this extension to import it.
Page 6 of 8