The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


SP Upgrade Popular Component

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
Migrate your old Joomla! sites with the best, most popular, used on thousands of sites already, by thousands of satisfied users, component and keep your Google Rank safe.

SP Upgrade supports transferring between the various Joomla! versions as below:

1.5 -> 2.5
1.5 -> 3.x
1.6 -> 2.5
1.6 -> 3.x
1.7 -> 2.5
1.7 -> 3.x
2.5 -> 3.x
3.x -> 3.x

The simple process

- Install a new version of Joomla (2.5 or 3), anywhere,
(your live server, or a remote server, or even on your PC)
- Install SP Upgrade,
- Connect to the source 1.5 database,
- Click the transfer button,
- Enjoy your new site.

Migrate everything with with no exceptions.

Core Data:
- Users
- Articles (along with their Sections and Categories)
- Contacts
- Web Links
- News Feeds
- Banners
- Menus ability to transfer all menu items, and not - only of the core components
- Modules ability to transfer all modules, and not only the core
- Tags
- All other extensions data!

Extensions:
- K2
- Kunena
- AcyMailing
- VirtueMart
- BreezingForms
- sh404sef
- JComments
- JEvents
- Community Builder
- ARTIO JoomSEF
- Phoca Download
- Phoca Gallery
- Phoca Guestbook
- Phoca Maps
- jNews

Report Extension

 

 

2011-06-17
Reviews: 7
thank you so much for this great work.
2011-06-09
Reviews: 8
Looking for a component which could easily transfer articles with id's I saw this extension. Used it on multiple sites which had a long history in Google and couldn't loose their url's, this component gave me a quick and easy solution.

Install, select which data you want to import (articles, users, menu's, etc), import, done! How easy is that? I recommend this component in stead of the one recommended by Joomla itself..

This one works without bugs and is worth the money! I will use this component for all my future migrations.
2011-06-03
Reviews: 1
I've tried several components for Joomla migration, none provided a proper site migration. This component is great, it converts even the template.
I had several problems when first attempting the migration (my mistake, I used incorrect info about old 1.5 site) and had to contact the developer who provided excellent support. I recommend this component to everyone who wishes to migrate to J 1.6 without hassle.
2011-05-30
Reviews: 2
I had tried a couple of other extensions and strategies for converting a site from 1.5 to 1.6 and I bought sp-upgrade based on reviews here. After a few false starts, the extension worked almost 100%.

Migration from 1.5 to 1.6 is not trivial but this extension comes close to making it so. I had three tries at migrating my first site. Initially, I had permissions issues. Next there were problems with some section and category names which needed fixing on the 1.5 site and then finally bingo! Everything across.

My recommendation would be to get a clean, empty, 1.6 installation with sp-upgrade installed, and then zip up a copy before working as a backup because you may not get things right first time. If the migration does not work as planned, scrap everything and start again from the backup. The migration only takes a minute so starting again is a quicker option than fixing everything with edits.

Another small quirk with this version is that if the migration aborts for some reason (permissions for example) you are not given a full warning.

Anyway, sp-upgrade works well and makes a difficult task simple.
2011-05-30
Reviews: 7
After experimenting endlessly with jUpgrade (advised by Joomla) I was about to give up till someone pointed me to this tool. jUpgrade fails miserably because it changes the menu item and category ID's and also some of the aliases. SP Upgrade managed to keep everything intact and that was exactly what I needed. For complex websites with thousands of internal links SP Upgrade seems to be the only tool on the market that does the trick. No hassle, fast, straightforward and very easy for normal users.
It is well worth the 20 euros.
A big thank you to the developer!
2011-04-29
Reviews: 16
This component is very efficient and easy to use. I also appreciate the fact that it's absolutely safe to use since it doesn't interfere with your Joomla 1.5 installation at all (just reading from it).

I had one single, but very important menu problem that I wasn't able to solve myself, and neither was anyone else (template provider for example).

However, I turned to Panayiotis (SP Upgrade developer) who investigated and solved the problem even though it had nothing to do with his component. It was in fact a template problem!

This was all done in one day and Panayiotis fixed the problem + he explained it to me in a very kind and pedagogical manner so that I was able to understand.

I also tried other solutions for migrating before this one but SP Upgrade will be my permanent choice from now on. That's for sure!
2011-02-13
Reviews: 1
After downloading I had some trouble running this mod. But an email to the author did the trick. I'm astonished by the support the gave me. And in the end it's probably a bug in Joomla! 1.6... (you MUST choose "MYSQLi" and not "MYSQL" during installation of J16!)
Many thanx to CYEND.
2011-02-04
Reviews: 1
The extension didn’t work because I had a large number of menu’s and articles. I contacted the support and the fixed it one day. The solve the problem and updated the component so it should even work for large sites.

Huge time saver. Thanks.
2011-01-29
Reviews: 1
Did not work at first but I had great support within the day and everything went smoothly.
2011-01-29
Reviews: 1
The great thing is that you keep your old ids meaning your Google Rank. Some menu links were broken but manually I fixed
2011-01-25
Reviews: 4
no error, but nothing in new database ! this component doesn't work for me...
Owner's reply

This is the first bad comments (officially or not) I get for the component and the reason is we provide support for any possible problems.

We would kindly ask you to contact with us and report the problem in order to be able to assist you.

Page 7 of 7