The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


userport Component

With userport, you can easily export, add, update or delete users in your database.

Finally a final release!

Note: only the English language file is now present. In the coming days/weeks additional language files will be made available.

Features:
• Users can be mass deleted, blocked, unblocked and activated. A re-activation string can be set and their group assignments can be changed; all with only a few mouse clicks.
• All user information can be set or updated, including registration date, activation string and params.
• The exported user list can be downloaded as CSV text directly.
• userport can be configured by non-super users too: all options can be set and checked in the 4-step workflow.
• An export can retrieve all user information from all users. Basic filtering can be applied to restrict which users need exporting.
• A 'test mode' allows you to test the import file and to verify the notification emails safely: without touching your database, and without disrupting your userbase.
• userport will not time-out: it has been tested to successfully import more than 20000 users using 1 import file.
• userport automatically uses default values for those fields you don't supply.
• All options and their consequences are clearly explained on the page where you configure them.

Note: Joomla 1.5 users must use the stable version v2.2

Changes for v3.0:
Only minor fixes since the last beta.
- Corrected access check for non-super-users.
- Clear the BOM if present.
- Do not present the next batch if no more data is present.
- Do not parse the last empty row.

Report Extension

 

 

2011-03-15
Reviews: 1
I struggled with another import/export component that was higher rated than userport, but just couldn't get it to work. So I gave userport a try and it worked perfectly on my first attempt! Thank you.
2011-02-22
Reviews: 6
Here's the process I followed:

Upgraded the primary website's Joomla installation using the Fantastico option available.
1.5.17 --> 1.5.22

Backed up the website.

As I used a copy to restore the primary website onto the secondary's domain I had to do a manual update through cPanel's file manager.
1.5.20 - 1.5.22

Backed up the website.

Applied the upgrade through cPanel's file manager.

Backed up the website again.

Exported users from the primary domain

Imported to the secondary

Backups not required but hey, you never know...!

Observations...

Maybe a simple export & Import option for people like myself who simply want the data and can edit it locally later would be nice.

Reasonably intuitive but I still read through the process prior to executing the transfer.

All in all a good component and easy to use.
Owner's reply

Thank you for the nice review, but I'm still a bit confused: I tried hard to provide a simple export & Import option! True, while still providing a lot of functionality.

Posting a ticket or emailing me directly to detail the confusions and difficulties is much appreciated. Your comments may give ideas for future improvements.

Regards,

2011-01-17
Reviews: 18
After seeing 5 stars everywhere for this extension, I've tried it ... and bang.... 5 more stars for me.... it is just excellent. It works without problem thx
2011-01-11
Reviews: 6
I've trying to migrate data from a site without access to the database through phpMyAdmin. This was exactly what I needed. Allows export and import of user accounts including existing passwords. Great tool!
2010-12-31
Reviews: 3
I used to Export my Users, all 400 of them and then Userport to finish it up... All in all EASY as pie.

GG
2010-10-01
Reviews: 5
Was in need of this after being told last minute that a site I was designing would need to include the previous users.
A quick search led me here, and within 10 minutes I had everything setup and all current users updated to the new site.
Such an essential component that absolutely works flawlessly. Very good documentation within the component itself made it easy to just look, see what was required, provide the data and be done with it.

Hats off to the programmer!
2010-08-27
Reviews: 1
This isn't a review; it's more of instructions on how to do this task using this component. I was unable to do this with any other component.

This specifically relates to exporting a user database from 1.0, including passwords, and importing them, passwords intact, into a 1.5 installation, a task which is actually rather hard without this component.

********************

Migrating users from Joomla 1.0 to 1.5.

This initially was a difficult task, but using a few steps I was able to complete it using an open-source extension. Even with this extension there are a number of steps you need to take that I was not aware of, and which took me a while to get through. However, I have heard that many people find imporing users a very difficult task from 1.0 and importing them into 1.5 without a full migration, this definitely worked for me.

Please be aware that this only imports the following fields:
name,username,email,password

It does not import
ID
Usertype
Block
SendEmail
gid
registerDate
lastvisitDate
activation
params

If you need those fields imported then you will probably have to do a full migration, as I was unable to find any way to export and import all of these fields easily. Usertype can be chosen when you import the data, as you will see.

1) Log into phpMyAdmin on your 1.0 site
2) Select the database of your 1.0 site
3) Click the Export tab
4) At the left, select *only* the jos_users section to export. If your prefix is different, I am not sure if this method will work when you import the database, but it should.
5) Select CSV for MS Excel
6) Check the "Put fields names in the first row" option at the right
7) Check the Save As item at the bottom, compression is none, then click Go, and save the file.
8) You have now exported your user database. Open this csv file in Excel or some other spreadsheet program.
9) Delete all columns except "name", "username", "email", and "password". Save this file.
10) Open this file again in a text editor. You should see multiple rows with your field items separated only by a comma.

11) Now its time to install the importer. Go here: http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions/5430/details
And navigate your way to download the 1.7 or later version of Userport. Make sure it's at least 1.7; the older versions cause errors.
12) Install this on your 1.5 site. Navigate to this component in your backend.
13) Set your parameters for "Given passwords are already properly encoded" to YES.

Select User type as "registered" or whatever type of user you are importing. Everything else is up to you, but this should be the only two you need to set.

IMPORTANT: If you have a lot of users in multiple user groups, such as 200 authors, 300 admins, and 1000 registred users, you will probably have to import these groups one at a time, otherwise you will have to go back and change their status to the correct one. For 5 super admins, for example, this is not a problem, but for a wide variety of users, the process would be more complex. You would filter out of your csv FIRST all users who are authors, save the file with only the authors, THEN delete all the fields like in step 9, and THEN import these users as Authors into Userport. You'd need to do this for each group.

14) Click import, then check the No Initial Text radio box, then click continue.
15) On the next page, copy a single line of a user from your open CSV file (which is open in your text editor) you are able to log into the old 1.0 site with, such as an admin account. Paste this into the CSV field, then click add.
16) If all goes well, you should see no errors, and then you can navigate to your current sites front end and try logging in as the user you just imported.
17) Now that you know it works, you can import them all at once this way by pasting your entire csv file in and adding all the users. If your csv file has a "" in it for a user, it might throw an error, but this doesn’t break the process.
18) Now go into your user database and alter any admin or superadmin or special usergroups that people were assigned to. If you have a wide variety of people assigned to usergroups, this method may require additional editing of users after they have been imported.

It took me quite a while to figure this out; this is the simplest way to do this. I went through a lot of paint o figure this out, as I could never get the user fields to export properly from the old site. This method is relatively painless.
2010-06-25
Reviews: 2
I downloaded this component after searching for something that would allow me to extract my list of 380 users and install it onto a new Joomla install.

I played around with it first on a trial installation of Joomla 1.5.17 that I set up specifically for this purpose.

It took me a little while to get the passwords to copy across properly, but after checking out the support section I located the solution on page 2 of the support site.

Fantastic bit of code this, which will allow me to start a fresh installation of Joomla without losing my subscribers.

Thanks to the developer!
2010-06-22
Reviews: 4
I had 2000 users with passwords to import. This component allowed me to import all the users AND send them all an email reminding them of their user name and password (some users are over 3 years old and they have probably forgotten the password). This saved me hours of individual emails to users who had forgotten their password.

Excellent!!!
2010-06-06
Reviews: 1
This very nice!
2010-05-28
Reviews: 2
Saved me hours of work - very simple to use and does exactly what it claims to do.
2010-05-23
Reviews: 2
You just saved me hours of trying to figure out SQL. Thank you very much.
2010-05-11
Reviews: 5
it does what it said
2010-04-26
Reviews: 1
Everything works as it says, except that at the very end it says WARNREG_MAIL... what does that mean? How can I get rid of it? Can I then use these users to populate a Jom Social accounts?
Owner's reply

WARNREG_MAIL should have been replaced by the appropriate language string. In English, this is "Please enter a valid e-mail address." This just means that the email you supplied has an invalid syntax.
Are you quoting the fields? You should not. See the text above for some valid examples. If you still have issues, it is better to use the support forum.
Thank you for the kind scoring!

2010-02-13
Reviews: 1
This componant was east to install, works nicely and had some advanced capabilities that are nice.

You basically import the data in from a .csv file with NAME, LOGIN_NAME, EMAIL, PASSWORD .

Note: PASSWORD(s) can be auto-generated for you if you want.

Then you can review the imported data in a window.

Then you can add, update or add+update from that list into your user database.

Make sure you configure the parameters first, before running.

Some things to consider is the group assignment for those users being added (will they be Registered, Author, etc).

You can also opt to send and email for each new user added ... and these emails can contain some parameters, which were a wonderful to discover as they were not in to documentation that I read, but were on the support forum under enhancements.

Example of text you can include in the new user email template:

USERNAME: {user_login}
PASSWORD: {user_password}

Then when it mails the new users added, they can see their USERNAME and PASSWORD (they generated in the .csv)

Great componant ... and when importing, existing emails are not overwritten (configurable, of course) ... and the errors/warning messages are very descriptive and useful.
2010-01-20
Reviews: 1
No more words to say. With one word perfect.
2009-11-09
Reviews: 3
A real must have to anyone who needs to manage users between different websites. Backed up by five-star support.
2009-10-30
Reviews: 10
Wow..what a great component and support. Excellent. I posted a question which was answered almost immediately.. Thanks and god bless :)
2009-09-27
Reviews: 1
So simple and easy to implement. Works perfect.

Cheers!
2009-09-10
Reviews: 1
Works with a .csv file formatted in Excel, very simple to use and gives a useful error log for duplicated emails etc. Well done!
Page 2 of 4