The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JPlayer Popular Plugin

NEW: I just update compatibility information. Jplayer 1.6.x is compatible with Joomla! 2.5

NEW: Added option to play video with srt subtitles and more features... For activate subtitles use 4. parameter in tag. Subtitles support styling. Example: {flv}your-flv-video|640|480|0|1{/flv}

JPlayer is simple flash player plugin for Joomla! based on flash player "JW Player".
Plugin is a fork of AllVideos plugin (by JoomlaWorks). JPlayer have simplified code without unnecessary functions but enhanced with lots of usefull features.

Supporter file formats: flv, mp4, mp3, xml playlist, youtube video, srt subtitles.

Features:
- stream local file or remote file
- play video with subtitles (with styling)
- play files from xml playlist
- play Youtube video
- display a preview image
- your website logo in player window
- skinable player
- can switch to older player version without JW Player logo
- enable or disable fullscreen, autoplay, shuffle and more options
- debug mode for help solving problems

Why?
- easy to use
- lots of tunable parameters
- play video with subtitles
- simple and fast without unnecessary functions
- support Joomla! 1.5 and Joomla! 1.6

Use:
After installing and enabling plugin, in WYSIWYG editor use plugin tags {format}filename|width|height|autoplay|subtitles{/format} or simple {format}filename{/format} with default settings.
With local media use filename without file extension, with remote media use filename with file extension.
If you want use preview for video file (instead of black background), place png image (name like video file) to directory with video file. If you want use jpg image rename file extension jpg to png, player can use it ;)
In remote video must have subtitle file or preview image file video extension in name too (example: your-remote-flv.flv.png).

All supported tags:
{flv} {flvremote} {mp3} {mp3playlist} {mp3remote} {mp4} {mp4remote} {videoplaylist} {youtube}

Examples:
{flv}your-flv-video{/flv}
{flv}your-flv-video|||1{/flv}
{mp4}your-mp4-video|600|450|1{/mp4}
{mp3}your-music{/mp3}
{mp3}your-music|600||{/mp3}
{mp3}your-music|600|20|true{/mp3}
{mp3playlist}your-mp3playlist{/mp3playlist}
{flvremote}http://vault.futurama.sk/video.flv{/flvremote}
{videoplaylist}videoplaylist|600|450|1{/videoplaylist}
{youtube}ZN5PoW7_kdA{/youtube}

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-12-30
Reviews: 6
I've tried it and again and again. IT DOES NOT DO WHAT I TOLD IT TO.

It's like it can't load local videos more than one time, and when I try to put youtube videos, it put it self in very low resolution.

Go learn php !
Owner's reply

Dear user.

JPlayer has over 120000 downloads (over 42000 downloads of newest version) and nobody complain on malfunction. If you don't know how use it, please read documentation. If you still have problems contant me by e-mail.

And... when you put YouTube video with low resulution can't expect high quality video. JPlayer just include original YouTube player with default resolution and you must manualy choice higher video resolution if is available.

MaxSVK

2011-12-15
Reviews: 5
No words, easy, simple, works great.thank you.!!

I'm happy.
2011-12-10
Reviews: 3
JPlayer is good, easy and useful!
But I would like to have more controls on the plugin, as I can find in the original JWPlayer! ;)
2011-12-06
Reviews: 2
Very easy to configure and implement. One of the easiest for a long time. Great to see support for 1.5 too as we have yet to make the jump to 1.6/1.7 as yet for sme sites.

Thank you!
2011-11-18
Reviews: 1
I am extremely pleased with this flash player plugin. The look was awesome. I thought it would be simple to install, but I am proved wrong. It took me more than fifteen minutes to set up this plugin.
And so I tried to contact the support but Live chat option is not available. Hence I was forced to prefer other component which has a good support.
I have given this plugin a low ranking since I really look forward that the developers would understand the importance of support however big your product might be.
Hope they understand my concerns.
2011-10-16
Reviews: 17
It simply works without any effort. Developer made it simple and powerful, congratulation!
2011-10-01
Reviews: 46
Lots of great options.
Easy and fast to use.
Nice smooth playback of video.
Great job developer :)
Many thanks
2011-10-01
Reviews: 1
installed, enabled, added the tags & it worked !!
2011-09-15
Reviews: 2
After reading the documentation, and knowing this extension wouldn't be useful for me (at this time) I decided to try it for the experience (learning Joomla! 1.7).

Installed in a snap. Worked exactly as advertised. It's nice to see things that work, isn't it?

My congratulations to the developer for their hard work, and excellent beginning!

My only issue is that I have hundreds of MP4 recordings that utilize the Timed Text format for Closed Captions (subtitles). I don't have time to convert all of them to SRT format. If the ability to utilize Time Text format files is ever supported, I'll gladly use JPlayer!
2011-09-15
Reviews: 1
Great stuff and does the work, in general.

But I am afraid there is no support whatsoever. I have an issue I'd like to resolve and I have tried their website forum, or e-mailing them, even tried here ..but I got no feedback. Really, is there anybody there?
2011-08-30
Reviews: 3
I was little afraid adding that curly brackets tag, but when i figure out how that works, including thumb I was to satisfy to tell.
For my site I needed just to add video, and just to add you tube video without any too much option and this was just what i needed,
Thanks guys, and best with your work!
(almost year ago i submit this review -by mistake- to another extension that even wont work. Now I see that and wanna to say this to you guys)
2011-08-28
Reviews: 2
Works perfectly and provides an upgrade path forward for my j1.5 site which used AVReloaded. JPlayer gives me just the pieces I use and works in j1.6 and j1.7

Much appreciated!
2011-08-27
Reviews: 4
installs and works like a charm with MP3, my website has lots of MP3 and after installing the plugin, I moved the AUDIO folder and voilà!

Thanks a lot
2011-08-19
Reviews: 3
Great job with this plug in! Installed, configured and enabled. As easy as that. Would be nice to have an option to hide the player skin as the video plays, but otherwise, a great choice to embed videos.
2011-08-15
Reviews: 1
Did not work well with large videos. Tried it with different browsers and streaming is not good when large videos are inserted in the webpage.
2011-08-14
Reviews: 1
Excellent plug in that i have used by the past on a whole 3000+ article site, but when upgraded to 1.6+/1.7 they forget to centered the flv video, so that a bit UGLY, (that is ok on MP4 as i know) i warned them but you know software compagnies...

if you're not hurted by cosmetic issue go ahead its excellent and EASY plug in and its free (certainly this explain why he's not cross checked on flv !)
2011-08-14
Reviews: 5
Wow!
Great work.
just functional without any problem in the first install.
2011-08-09
Reviews: 8
I had AV reloaded at 1.5 site. Needed it for an updated site to 1.7. This excellent plugin replaced it in less than five minutes!! I did not even need to update the tags.
2011-08-02
Reviews: 1
This is a really good video player, drop the tags into your articles as described and "it does exactly what it says on the tin".
Great plugin :)
2011-07-30
Reviews: 11
Installed onto J! 1.7 and worked perfectly first time. Most excellent addition.
Page 2 of 4