The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Videobox Popular Plugin

Videobox is Joomla! 2.5.x and 3.x plugin that enables you to insert video and audio in your articles. It supports videos from YouTube and Vimeo, as well as music from SoundCloud, and HTML5 supported video and audio formats. Videobox offers many ways to insert a video inside the content to fit the needs of your website. The Direct player enables you to insert videos in the content quickly and easily, by putting the video ID between two {videobox} tags, like this: {videobox}KKWTdo5YW_I{/videobox}

Another prominent feature of Videobox is the box display, which enables you to insert videos without sacrificing a lot of space for the player. Rather than the full-size video player, box display inserts a video thumbnail (optionally with the title), which behaves just like the photos in your article - by setting it to float to the left or to the right, it gets wrapped by the content. When clicked, video is played inside a lightbox, or using an Inline player.

This approach allows articles to be straight to the point without unnecessary distractions, while keeping the content dynamic, with all the videos still included right where they belong to. However, sometimes the videos are there just as a citation or a note, and the whole video may have nothing to do with the content. In this case, even a thumbnail used by the box display would be irrelevant and distracting. A link to the video seems a good choice in a situation like this, but it does have one unwanted property: when user clicks it, he leaves your website and may not come back. To prevent that, Videobox has an option to insert an "upgraded" link, which plays the video using the lightbox player.

On the other hand, the Gallery display allows you to insert many videos at once, with a built-in pagination to prevent the gallery from taking up too much space. Gallery can also be used with links instead of thumbnails, which is useful for when you have to add a list of referenced videos to the end of the article.

What are you waiting for? Give it a try!

Features:

* Specify playback end time for YouTube and HTML5 videos
* SoundCloud integration (since 4.0.0)
* Modular video source adapters (since 4.0.0)
* Start playing video when page is opened (since 3.0.0)
* Works with any Joomla! component, not just with articles (since 3.0.0)
* Play button on thumbnails (since 2.0.1)
* Full video URL as video ID (since 1.1.1)
* HTML5 video and audio support (since 2.0.0)
* Non-lightbox player for box display and gallery (since 1.1.0)
* Native Joomla! pagination for galleries
* Custom class and style (since 2.0.0)
* Custom plugin call tag (since 1.1.2)
* Player offset for each video (since 1.1.1)
* Almost all settings can be overridden and set for each plugin call separately

Note that Videobox uses native HTML5 player for local videos. The support for HTML5 video format varies among the browsers, so it's recommended to provide your videos in multiple formats.

Report Extension

 

 

2013-01-02
Reviews: 97
After the first try of this plugin (v2.0.2), I found something need to be improved, so I contacted the author via email, then he replied soon and added these new features (youku support, auto-play option, etc) . Now this plugin is nearly perfect!
2012-12-21
Reviews: 1
I've installed this plugin and had some troubles to get it on as I want, maybe
due a misunderstanding of the tag.

So I put an email to developer whom goes beyond to reply my question, he gave me further assistance to fine tuning my video-gallery.

So it means a nice works and even more nice support.

I recommend both, videbox and its developer.
2012-12-21
Reviews: 41
I'm gradually building a J3.0 test site to get some experience in the new version and wanted a video player, but specifically one that played from a URL not just videos on the site. This too a short time to install and download and once I'd copied the syntax carefully, worked perfectly.

I hope the author updates this to be responsive - it'll be my player of choice for some time.

Thanks!
2012-11-23
Reviews: 14
A perfect solution for a video gallery that displays in a nice, professional way on your site.
Easy to set (I just copied the gallery codes from the creators demo page, inserted in my article and started modifying and understanding how it is done. Great plugin parameters also.

I had an issue with system-widgetkit plugin conflicting with the videobox plugin. Support answered my question the same day.
2012-11-21
Reviews: 16
This is one of those extensions that was really missing before it was released.
It has various display options, easy styling, uncomplicated syntax and it's also fast rendering in the page (it feels faster than AllVideos).

It is also actively supported. As a non-commercial user, I contacted the developer on some occasions to suggest future features and ask for support. He replied quickly and meaningfully paying attention to all requests.

It has now become my main video extension.
Highly recommended.
2012-11-02
Reviews: 3
It was so simple, I had a hard time, but the support was fast, accurate and beyond all expectations! I am a happy camper!
2012-10-31
Reviews: 1
I've been using this extension since initial release and I really like it. It's so easy to use. I'm glad that there is HTML5 support in version 2, because I had to use separate plugin for that and now I can do it all using this plugin and use all Videobox features for my HTML5 videos too. It would be great if you make some kind of editor button for this plugin so users on could add videos without knowing anything about videobox syntax.
2012-10-20
Reviews: 106
I've tested out many video plugins in the JED which there are some good ones out there. However, this one surpassed my expectations. Starting out it was great to begin with, but I decided "what can be done to make this better?". So I contacted support asking about adding a feature to allow full youtube url which they were quick to reply. In a short amount of time the feature was added to the main plugin. I then requested another feature be added which was custom tags to make it so that I could make the syntax what ever I wanted. Sure enough they responded quickly and before long the feature was also added. This plugin also has some other interesting parameters which I have yet to see in the other youtube plugins. So in my opinion this is the best youtube plugin in the JED. Big thanks to the developers!
2012-10-17
Reviews: 4
This is what I needed! Easy to setup, everything works as described
[except of the gallery linefeed with '', but maybe this is caused by JCK Editor...]

@bosit: the one of your two request is already fulfilled :-) With parameter 'lightbox=0' a video is played directly at its thumb box within the gallery (without opening a lightbox)
2012-10-14
Reviews: 3
Amazing plugin, I've been looking for a nice video gallery all around but this one is the only one I found that looks this good :) It also seems to be pretty fast for what it does, so cudos for that too.

Suggestions:
-Add more lightbox libraries to choose from like shadowbox etc (for different colored themes)
-Add option in the gallery mode to play the video directly when clicking on the thumbnail instead of opening it into a lightbox
Owner's reply

I'm glad that you like it and thank you for your suggestions.

As you've suggested I've added an option to play video directly in version 1.1.0.

I'm planing to add more popup player effects in version 2, together with function to insert HTML5 videos directly from file. I'm already working on it, but I can't tell when will it be available for download.

Page 2 of 2