The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


AllVideos Popular Plugin

*** New version 4.6 out now, fully compatible with Joomla! 1.5, 2.5 & 3.x & fully responsive! ***

AllVideos (by JoomlaWorks) is truly THE all-in-one media management solution for Joomla! and a classic must-have extension for any Joomla! based website.

You can use the plugin to easily embed media hosted on popular services like YouTube, Vimeo, Dailymotion, SoundCloud (and many more) inside your Joomla! articles (or K2, redShop, Virtuemart etc).

Additionally, it allows you to playback almost any video/audio file format hosted on your server or even a remote server, providing great flexibility when it comes to media content embedding. Fun videos, product presentations, audio podcasts, you name it!


--- WHY ALLVIDEOS? ---
- You don't have to copy/paste huge blocks of HTML code, just to get a video from YouTube to playback on your Joomla! website! Your WYSIWYG editor loves it and so will you and your clients!
- You use simple and descriptive plugin tags like {youtube}heu37ej3qs{/youtube}, {flv}batman_darknight{/flv} or {mp3}pixies_bonemachine{/mp3}.
- Allows for mobile/tablet compatible media embedding where supported.

AllVideos means dead-simple & inexpensive media streaming for anyone. You can use, for example, YouTube to upload your videos and then embed them inside your site without consuming your server's bandwidth or having to spend money on expensive video conversion software!


--- FEATURES ---
1. Dozens of media providers supported like YouTube, Vimeo, Dailymotion, Metacafe, MySpace, Flickr Video, Blip.tv, TwitVid, yFrog, SoundCloud & more.
2. Stream your own media content, using the 20+ web compatible video and audio formats like flv, swf, mov, mp4, wmv, wma, mp3, 3gp, webm, ogv, ogg, divx and more.
3. Easily embed your media content either directly from your server or a remote server!
4. Simple controls inside the plugin's parameters page provide layout consistency on all the videos shown in your Joomla! website. Set your preferences in seconds, publish the plugin and you're ready to start streaming content!
5. Easy, descriptive syntax for media embedding - {format/provider}filename{/format/provider}. You can also use syntax like {format/provider}filename|width|height|autoplay{/format/provider} (e.g. an "autoplaying" {youtube}he73js82|600|450|1{/youtube}) to display videos at different dimensions!
6. Uses MVC templating. Just copy the /tmpl folder included in the plugin, move it to your template's /html folder and rename it to "jw_allvideos", then style the output as you wish
7. Mobile/tablet friendly: if you use MP4 for uploaded videos or if you use services like YouTube, Vimeo & Dailymotion, your videos are mobile ready
8. Includes 3 templates: Classic, Framed and Responsive
9. Fully responsive players when using the "Responsive" template
10. Uses the core Joomla! updater
11. Includes the new JW Player v6


--- LEARN MORE ---
Visit the AllVideos product page at: http://www.joomlaworks.net/allvideos

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2007-01-08
Reviews: 1
I tried to use this and it did not parse right on my server, returning an error instead of embedded video. I was informed it was my problem cause my server must be configured wrong. It seems funny though, as all my other components, plug-ins and scripts work JUST FINE on my server...very disappointing.
Owner's reply

Well, after much investigation on why someone could get serious php errors out of nowhere (at least in the sphere of sanity :) ), we figured out that the plugin code breaks if the user "colors" the plugin's tags so that they are more "visible" to the eye. So version 2.5 will be more strict in the sense that even if you add extra markup with your WYSIWYG editor between the allvideos tags, the code of the plugin will clean up this code.

2007-01-08
Reviews: 1
I got it working. But my criticism is that for newbies, this will be hard to figure out.

I suggest the author includes a plain .txt file of instructions with the .zip file. I couldn't get any documentation to show up after I installed, and the main site is apparently in overhaul mode and didn't see access to online documentation. When I click the link in the mambots section, it says access is restricted and locks the file so I have to do Global check-in.

For newbies, it needs to be installed in the Mambots section even though it's called a plug-in. And copy/paste the information during installation BEFORE you click the Continue tab.

All I want it for is showing YouTube videos, and it does that nicely. It works for what I need it to do. After installation, I just type {youtube}fileidhere{/youtube} and where fileidhere is, you copy/paste in JUST the gobbledygook filecode id number (NOT the entire html!) from YouTube. And it works fine. Doesn't show up in preview, you have to publish the article to see it.

Overall, good mod, does what I need it to do.
2007-01-07
Reviews: 4
This plugin is very usefull indeed, but when I try to stream videos from Youtube somehow the video is muted, I can get the picture but not the sound. From other sites it works perfectly.
Owner's reply

So the issue is with the videos you chose from YouTube! Not entirely YouTube!!?? Check out our demo site for this, we have a couple working just fine: demo.joomlaworks.gr

2007-01-04
Reviews: 1
Installed the stuff, and it works great.
Easy in use. Just as the rest of there stuff.
2007-01-03
Reviews: 1
It seems starting the preview image was dropped in version 2.4. Any particular reason? This is down grade of the standard.The display is more attractive with a preview image.
Owner's reply

The "AllVideos" FLV playback features are tied up to the features of the FLV player it uses. If there are changes in this FLV player, they will be reflected to the plugin as well.

BTW, the FLV Player happens to be the best in the world right now, and it's been developed by the uber-cool Jeroen Wijering. ;)

2006-12-30
Reviews: 1
I was very happy before with the AllVideos Plugin when it only used to stream video from outside sources (youtube, etc). But, now that you made it a local player as well, I am ectastic. Words don't exist that would praise you highly enough. I wonder if you might include .mkv (Matroska) video files in your plugin as well, so I wouldn't have to downgrade them to .avi or .mpg first? Thank you!
2006-12-23
Reviews: 10
very cool to put you tube video in my content.

I like it !

Sunny regards

Kurt Steiner
2006-12-23
Reviews: 1
OK - Just installed the update and all appears well.

Having used Joomla since it split from Mambo I can say that the author of this plugin should receive a medal or a donation of anyone that uses it a lot on their sites.

On issue - a lot of times i cannot get WMA files to stream at all. Also I find some mp3's play at "chipmunk" speed !! I think this is VBR or something in the way they are encoded ?? many a time I have had to re-encode an MP3 several times to get it working and sounding OK.

One thing though - what happened to the ability to add an image as a placeholder for video items?? I made one especially and it worked with version 2.1 but now I see no option for it.

I'm off to check the forum on the developers site... I could have missed something but I'm pretty familiar by now with it :)
2006-12-22
Reviews: 1
Once again CodeLines that Rocks!
Thanks to Fotis Evangelou & George Chouliaras
Mambot is plug & play.
Many Thanks!!!
2006-12-06
Reviews: 4
This is a superb piece of work. Installs easily and works first time with files that are local to the site. (Make sure that you view the published story, and not a preview!)
But... I'm sorry to be one of the few with criticism here. I found that it didn't work on almost all of the remote audio file I tried, using the {mp3remote} tag, and in this case including the file extension.
I checked the files and the servers using Odeo, and they are functioning ok, with no hotlinking measures. There doesn't seem to be any documentation to cover this.
Owner's reply

We had missed the .mp3 extension inside the code, that is why you couldn't remotely add mp3 files, following instructions in our documentation. But this has been fixed in v2.4! Enjoy!

2006-12-03
Reviews: 1
Had some difficulty getting it installed, but that was not the plugin's fault. I was just too new to Joomla.

Makes the content much nicer (is an understatement) having video intergrated into the content.

Cant imagine my site without it.
2006-11-30
Reviews: 1
Works great and easy to use. Is it possible that in future releases we can put the video directory outside of the web accessable area (www, public_html, etc..) to prevent people from hotlinking? .htaccess doesn't do such a great job with preventing video hotlinking.

Overall, excellent work!
2006-11-29
Reviews: 1
I have been testing this plug in on a demo site for a while and have found it to be a most excellent, simple to use and worthwhile addition! Frequently updated and with great documentation. I rarely use it to stream videos from other sources but instead use it for my own hosted videos. I am not a coder in any way shape or form so please forgive me if i overlook something. These are a few ideas that i have had regarding the AllVideos Plugin that i have had to find solutions for elsewhere:

1.) I have been using the mgmedia bot (also a great extension) for in content pop up videos. For example a "Click Here to Play" hyperlinked pop up video. The mgmedia works great for this, unfortunately it seems it is updated much less frequently. Perhaps an in content, hyperlink Pop up option for this Plugin?

2.) The newest player used in 2.4 has the ability to utilize playlists for media content. However i do not see a way to make this work from within the AllVideos Plugin. Perhaps this is just me. I would definately like to utilize the playlist feature if possible from within this plugin.

3.) The video size remains static. This has been discussed elsewhere, and i understand that as a whole it works well for the goals of this plugin. For my particular situation it would be nice to not have a global setting but perhaps an in string variable setting such as is found in the mgmedia bot?

4.) I have not been able to find a way to have the first frame of the video (before playing) display a logo or picture of my choosing. It always displays the play arrow. This is probably a shortcoming on my side however.

These are just my thoughts again please forgive me if i am saying something that has already been addressed or is a simple coding process that i dont know about. I love this Plugin very much as it is, and have nothing but the best to say about all joomlaworks.gr plugins!
2006-11-28
Reviews: 1
I have a site where users post their own blog. With this mambot they can now add videos to their blog with no problem at all! I created a help file for users using the documentation that came with the plugin and everything works like a charm!

Keep up the good work!
2006-11-27
Reviews: 1
Having been using this mod for a month, I found this module works beautifully except that the number of videos/media inserted in a content page cannot exceed 10. I wish there was no limit on the number of videos in a content page. I like this module, keep up the good work. Thank you so much!
Owner's reply

The bug that caused this limit has been fixed in version 2.4 :)

2006-11-27
Reviews: 1
I totally agree with every positive post made here regarding this plug-in. There's just one thing I need for it: the ability to temporarily disable it inline within content. Why? So I can explain how it works in an article on my site so members who actually use their blogs can include their own videos in them. Of course, it can be done by interlacing HTML within the provider tags, but it would be much nicer to have a {noavp}{/noavp} element (or something like that).

Excellent work!
2006-11-26
Reviews: 4
Only potential beef I have with this is you can't specify your video dimensions by passing parameters in the content window. Apparently you have to preset one video size and thats it.

Hopefully I missed something but thats what it looks like. You have to really fall in love with one video size for all your content.
2006-11-25
Reviews: 1
One of the best components I've come across.

PLEASE CORRECT: for streaming media from remote servers it should be {mp3remote}http://www.remoteserver.com/somedirectory/file{/mp3remote}

You've added .mp3 to the file name which is incorrect.

Thanks,
Navin
Owner's reply

Nope, for remote files the user needs to input the WHOLE link, including the file extension! The documentation is very CLEAR on this.

2006-11-24
Reviews: 5
Since CB, now only if we can see a plugin to integrate the two! :) ...This component is AWESOME!
2006-11-17
Reviews: 1
This plugin works great, but, I have not been able to get it play files on other servers.

(I keep my video files on a different server and domain than my actual site.)
Page 12 of 14