The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


AJAX Scroller Module

NEW: Now compatible with Joomla 3.x!

AJAX Scroller is a Web 2.0 module for Joomla! that displays and scrolls your site's Articles, Banners, RSS feeds, Tweets, Virtuemart products, K2 items or other content, loaded dynamically using different animation effects.

It can be used to present newsflashes, testimonials, latest news, banners, remote RSS feeds, Twitter updates, web-shop products or any other content with autoplay or manual scrolling in a smart and smooth way.

AJAX Scroller module for Joomla is highly optimized, hundreds of articles can be displayed and scrolled without any additional load on your website. It uses AJAX technology to pre-load the next article in advance so it's ready for scroll without delay. Once all items are fetched the remote requests stop while scrolling can continue. The whole process is performed without page refresh, quickly, smoothly and user friendly.

You can even duplicate the module and show different slideshows on same page. It can be configured to display several articles at once and remember the last viewed item on page refresh. AJAX Scroller is simple to install and use but powerful in terms of configurations.

AJAX Scroller key features:

• AJAX technology, making the module very quick and user friendly
• Highly optimized, pre-loading articles in advance
• Stops remote requests when all elements are fetched
• Can display unlimited number of articles without affecting the page load
• Can display and scroll several articles at a time
• Remembers the last viewed article and starts there on page refresh
• In addition to Articles, it can display Banners, remote RSS feeds, Twitter updates, Virtuemart products and K2 items
• User and friends timeline, mentions, lists and keyword search support for Twitter
• Vertical, horizontal scroll and fade switch
• Appealing visual animation slide effects including linear, expo, bounce, back, elastic
• Select displayed articles by category, multiple categories or frontpage state
• Different ordering options including random order
• Can display article images, parsing image mambots
• Optional title and read more link to the article
• Can display only intro, full text or both, limit the text length
• Navigation next/prev buttons, play/pause button and loading image
• Auto play with customizable pause time
• Strong styling possibilities, uses CSS to customize the appearance
• Possibility to display module within article content using loadposition plugin/mambot
• Possibility to display multiple instances on the same page, with individual styling
• Compatible with 3rd party plugins to open links in a lightbox rather than in a new window
• Joomla! 3, 2.5, 1.5 native (no legacy mode required) and 1.0 compatible
• Uses Mootools only, framework already loaded in Joomla, no jQuery or any other additional frameworks required
• Supports Joomfish
• Works with all major browsers: Internet Explorer, Firefox, Opera, Safari and Chrome

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2014-08-30
Reviews: 1
Easy to set up, real time refresh my twitter feeds. Lack of language support but then it is easy to overcome. I wanted to remove some part of the text added to the feed. Looked everywhere in files and couldn't find it. So i requested code to change to remove the twitter link and got quick respond. Emir went to my ftp and uncommented the code himself. Great support !!!
2013-10-30
Reviews: 1
Overall, I like this extension. It works and is pretty easy to use, but there are a few limitations that you may want to be aware of before you purchase.

The thing that most annoyed me about this is that there is an option to display your slides in a random order, but this doesn't work. On the support forum, they say that the random order is different on different computers, but this is not what most people want when they want a random order. I wanted the order to be different each time you visit the site, but that can't be done with this extension.

Also, be aware that you have to set a specific size for the scroller (in pixels). You can't have it adjust to fit any screen, even if you edit the css. I also don't think there is that much you can do to change the look of the scroller without editing the css.

All that said, this extension has still been useful for me. I'm no expert and have only used it on one site, but I just thought it might help someone out to know these things before purchasing.
2013-06-13
Reviews: 3
I've used Ajax Scroller for some time on older J1.5 sites. The recent Twitter API update meant my site stopped working. The developer not only released a fix real fast to address the Twitter API change, he also did a (legacy) J1.5 fix as well! Who said support was dead? Top marks!
2013-06-13
Reviews: 9
I use this module for streaming a twitter feed on my website. When it broke yesterday... as many streaming twitter feeds did with the the move to Twitter api v1.1.. the developer had a new version ready before I knew that it was broken.

Many modules and components do what they advertise... just as this one does. Most modules are are as easy to set up, like this.

What sets this module apart is the superior support.

After installing the new version, it didn't work correctly. I fired an email to the developer. He responded in two minutes. One can't always expect that kind of help... but it deserves a note on the JED when it happens!

Thank you... and it turned out the problem was a conflict with my .htaccess file, nothing even to do with the module itself.
2012-12-19
Reviews: 5
I'm using the scroller as a one-line horizontal ticker from a couple of articles for my JomSocial site. Works just as I need it to, and was easy to install. Changing the CSS for my custom height and width worked well, because I could use Firebug Inspect in Mozilla to test the CSS changes before I made the final changes.
2012-12-10
Reviews: 2
Easy installation, nice config options and cool transition effects. Thumbs up for the fact that it memorizes the last item it was showing even after page refresh!
2012-11-10
Reviews: 3
AJAX Scroller met my requirements immediately, and the author responded immediately to my comments (even at the weekend!)

I shall investigate other options to see if more of my requirements can be met.
2012-11-08
Reviews: 5
This is an excellent extension but there are allot of them here.

What made me buy more extensions from this developer was that he were really quick on returning my emails and proved to be very willing to meet my requests.

/Digital IT Scadinavia
Peter
2012-10-25
Reviews: 2
the module does not work and the assistance offered no solution to the problem.
Owner's reply

The module does work as many other users can testify. However, sometimes you need to have basic knowledge of CSS to adjust the look according to your needs.

2012-10-09
Reviews: 3
Nice little module for testimonials. Simple to install and configure with lots of useful options. The ability to set the display height in the back-end rather than in the css file would be a handy enhancement Overall, a great extension at a reasonable price.
2012-09-22
Reviews: 1
I give this a 5 star rating - but don't let that be misleading. It is indeed a great extension - but I believe it could be made to incorporate features that make it easier to style rather than having to edit the original CSS and/or to create new CSS files.

I am VERY HAPPY with this extension - but I am also one who believes that things can always be improved!
Owner's reply

Thank you for your review! What can't be stressed enough is that AJAX Scroller is very versatile product. It can be used for Articles, Banners, RSS feeds, Tweets, VM products, it can scroll vertically, horizontally, one, two, four or more items at a time, all that using different animations and with several instances at one page. I could easily have released 20 different products for each different case and sell them separately, as many of competitors do. Instead, I chose to squeeze all those possibilities in one powerful module. Having this in mind, it's very hard to have one or two CSS styles that would cover all situations and all different templates out there. Instead, I made a DEMO site with some style examples where users can copy the styles from. While I agree it takes a little effort I'm sure you'll appreciate everything you can do with AJAX Scroller. I understand that it can be somewhat repelling to CSS beginners and I do plan to include at least a few CSS templates that can be chosen from and get you started in next versions of the module.

2012-05-30
Reviews: 43
AJAX Scroller overcame a couple of limitations of the free "DJ Image Slider" extension which almost did what my client needed for her original artwork website. These were: 1. Adding too many images made the page load too slowly and 2. text formatting was limited. With Ajax Scroller, we can scroll image and text together, the page loads quickly regardless of the number of images, and we can format the text however we want. Another nice feature is that AJAX Scroller is W3C compliant. The only draw back I have found so far is the class based watermark plug-in that worked with DJ Image Slider only seems to be applied to the first image in each AJAX Scroller gallery. I have checked the support forums and it looks like this might be a limitation of AJAX Scroller.
2012-05-11
Reviews: 2
I've used this module on multiple websites, it works great. Easy to install/configure and looks very professional on the frontend of the site. Would definitely purchase other extensions from this developer in the future.
2012-04-17
Reviews: 1
Works perfectly, easy to install and probably the best available solution for "testimonials".
Thank you for creating such a great module.
2012-03-12
Reviews: 2
Proud to be first to try. Great Job!
2012-03-08
Reviews: 1
I wanted a twitter scroller at our site, and tried a number and they were not able to extract the twitter information or do it reliably. The Ajax Scroller reads the twitter RSS and has been working well since installation. The developer also helped me through some initial difficulties with the cache setup to keep Twitter from rejecting me.
nfr
2012-03-01
Reviews: 9
This module does exactly what the developer is announcing.
The handling for styling (especially for more than 1 module on the site) seems to be a little difficult for beginners, but an experienced User shouldn't have any problem.
Good solution!!!
2012-02-19
Reviews: 2
Great tool and great service. I bought this and asked for an extra scroller. Besides the scroller I got excellent explanation how to change-, implement new and create a new scroler myslef. Quick feed back and good service, also for people which are not so familiar with Joomla. I also got help when I suffered antoher problem.
2011-12-13
Reviews: 2
Excellent module!

At the beginning I had some problem with the scroller, but that was because the conflict between MooTools and jQuery.
The AJAX Scroller has nothing to do with it.

AJAx Scroller is just perfect. Works like a charm and it's very easy to use. Just do what it says. I use it on my website for scrolling news.
You just need to tweak the CSS to make it look your suitable way. If you don't know how to work with CSS, you can ask for support and they can style your CSS (paid option!). Btw, the support is just great. Quick response too.

Keep on the good thing :)
2011-12-04
Reviews: 2
I really liked the extension. As a developer, the extension is strait forward and very flexible to edit and customize. It is really what i was searching for and it worth it's price as it saved me a bout 3 days of working in a current project.
Page 1 of 3