The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


sigplus Popular ModulePlugin

sigplus Image Gallery Plus is a straightforward way to add image or photo galleries to a Joomla article with a simple syntax. It takes a matter of minutes to set up a gallery but those who are looking for a powerful gallery solution will not be disappointed either: sigplus is suitable for both beginner and advanced users.

Even while simple to use, sigplus offers an impressive set of features. Images suitable for gallery preview are automatically generated with cropping and/or centering, and clicking on a preview image brings up a pop-up window overlay (so-called lightbox) showing the original full-size image without navigating away from the current page. Images in a gallery can be displayed in fixed or flow layout, they can be shown on a slider or carousel/rotator, or an image can blend into another using a fancy transition effect. Appearance and behavior are highly configurable including image margin, border, padding, slider/rotator orientation (horizontal or vertical), animation speed, slideshow delay, image sort order, etc.

Despite its versatility, sigplus is completely free. It is a full-fledged product with all features included, there is no need to buy a commercial professional version with extra features or purchase club membership that grants you additional privileges.

Translations included: English, Dutch, French, German, Hebrew*, Hungarian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Slovak and Spanish* (asterisk indicates front-end only). Joomla 1.5 users should install plg_sigplus-1.3.x (and optionally mod_sigplus-1.3.x), users of Joomla 2.5 and later should use the package installer pkg_sigplus-1.4.x (click "Download" for the latest version released in the series to date for maximum compatibility).

Report Extension

 

 

2011-03-09
Reviews: 3
Very easy to set up and can place anywhere you like. Great plug in.
2011-03-05
Reviews: 11
Well done - I was pleasantly surprised with the installation and ease of use.
2011-03-05
Reviews: 16
I'm so thrilled to have found this gallery extension! It's perfect "out of the box" and then you have plenty of configuration options + useful customization options.

And even I could understand because of the extensive and well written documentation. This one is highly recommended :-)
2011-03-04
Reviews: 1
Very easy to use and it works great
2011-03-04
Reviews: 1
Easy to install, easy to use, easy to enjoy!
Really like it. Thank you Levente.
-Donghai
2011-03-02
Reviews: 1
I believe it is a good module and plugin.
it has many display options and styles.
it is very adjustable and can take what ever form you like.
to tell you the truth I liked it until I saw what
happens to my site when I use it Chrome 9.0.57.
it is not working and it is preventing from my other modules to work properly as well.
Owner's reply

Hard as we try, it is impossible to ensure that a given extension works in all possible configurations, especially in a diverse environment like Joomla where extensions by multiple independent developers are expected to work along. Given a single aggressive player that does not play by the rules, the whole page can break. sigplus is designed in such a way to be very cooperative but sometimes this is just not sufficient. The reason there is support provided for the extension is exactly to help you tackle these problematic situations. Should it turn out that sigplus is responsible for a certain failure, which is rarely the case, we guarantee a full refund of any fees associated with support.

2011-03-02
Reviews: 1
Simple, easy to use, yet it's powerful image gallery! Thank you guys for make this as a non-commercial extension.
2011-03-01
Reviews: 2
I would almost give it an Excellent rating but I can't get one thing working. I use labels for my gallery to give some images an external link. But I would like to give some images in the same gallery just an image popup. Now I only can give images a link using the lightbox=none parameter so the rest of the images are just images. these should be popups....If this was possible it is an excellent extension
Owner's reply

Unfortunately, it is impossible to develop an extension that suits every purpose. Such a mixed mode, where some preview images act as links while others trigger a pop-up window, is not currently supported by sigplus. Since the software is open-source, feel free to modify it, or contact the developer to have a custom spin-off version implemented for you.

2011-02-24
Reviews: 1
Wonderful extension. Has all the features that I was looking for. Very easy to install and use. And it come with detailed documentation.

Well done! And a big thank you!
2011-02-21
Reviews: 16
I had been a user of Simple Image Gallery plugin for some time, but as I grew more confident as a Joomla user I needed more control and better performance - plus the reliability of an actively developed gallery plugin - so I went out looking for an alternative.

My research led me to 2-3 plugins that stood out form the rest for their extensive documentation, plethora of options, paired with user friendly configuration.
As I tested them on my local installation first and then on my website, sigplus soon arose as a dominant option. The features that I like best are:

- Its performance. For some reason, thumbnails load faster with sigplus, notwithstanding whether mootools or jquery engine is chosen.

- Its slightly modified version of Slimbox. The developer has made the popup engine more "international" by replacing the hardcoded buttons/pictures for "Next", "Previous", "Close" with discrete and aesthetically pleasing buttons with no text. This is a great improvement in user experience for non-english websites.

- The plentiful popup styles.

- The ability to define the tags that trigger sigplus! Many gallery extensions out there use {gallery}, which can cause problems some times, if more than one such plugins are installed, which is not that uncommon. Even during the testing/selection process, this proved to be very handy.

- The various options for the handling of javascript, like loading the local copy or using CDN.


I did however come across some issue, with code being displayed below the loaded image popup with Slimbox for mootools.
I was tentative contacting the developer since there did not seem to be a very explicit/formal way to get support. So I emailed him explaining the problem, being careful to frame the communication as a "bug report" instead of asking for help or a fix.

I was blown away by the response I got, the involvement and the time spent by the developer to address my problem.
He was very quick to locate the issue and propose fixes...but I did not make it easy for him with my lacking reporting and manual errors.
Then he took control and fixed the issue himself on my site in the blink of an eye. He even proposed to address some other javascript errors on my site!
That's the mark of great sense of responsibility and good will, which is totally obliging.

In short, the support was mind-blowing. Even if this was a commercial plugin or paid support, I could not expect it to be more high quality, effective and prompt.

I will surely be donating to the project, because it is very deserving.

If I had a request, it would be to include "Shadowbox" as a popup option; to my mind it has a very classy quality, very fitting for some particular uses.
I don't know if is within the scope of the project to add support for flickr and picasa. Personally I use a gallery component with such functionality for hosting a large collection of photos broken into categories. It would definitely turn into a complete solution, but it's certainly not an omission.
Owner's reply

Offering more pop-up window engines that are compatible with the sigplus lightbox scheme is on the agenda but without compromising the compactness or the ease of use of the extension. Though not yet decided, future versions of sigplus will probably ship with a certain set of pop-up window engines and provide a single-click installation of other engines. Similarly, integration with flickr and picasa is a planned feature but might affect the current design of the extension, and needs further consideration on our part.

2011-02-18
Reviews: 13
Very smooth, very nice!

Are there any plans to enable the display of Picasa and Flickr images?
Would be greate!
2011-02-18
Reviews: 1
fully customizable and whole documentation, simple usage nice output.
Thanks.
2011-02-16
Reviews: 1
Simple, flexible, well documented, and a joy to use. I'm a complete newbie and I was able to get this up and running straight away, and use it in many different contexts on my site. You can use it as a module, or embedded in HTML. It can be used as a scrollable box or placed paragraph-style in a page. You can customize just about everything about its look and feel.
2011-02-15
Reviews: 3
Simple to install and configure, many thank to developer
2011-02-12
Reviews: 1
Free, easy to us and it comes with a readable documentation

Thanks a lot!
2011-02-11
Reviews: 3
Simple, fast and with excellent documentation.
2011-02-11
Reviews: 1
Thank you very much for this excellent module. so simple and very powerful. People like you are the back bone of joomla.
thanks once again
2011-02-10
Reviews: 7
I am amazed once again with the extension from here. I didn't expect too much but I get all what I ever wanted in one simple gallery and even more. I paid the other day for some joomla gallery and now I see that this one is much, much beter and I want to say one simple but warm: THANK YOU!
2011-02-08
Reviews: 1
don't frustrate yourself searching a free and advanced yet simple enough, clean, lightweight and does everything you want gallery...it's all here in sigplus... cheers...
2011-02-07
Reviews: 1
I was looking for a photo gallery component for joomla 1.6 and tried many. This one is the best!
Simple, effective and with many different options: one photo linking to a gallery, a gallery itself, an image slideshow, watermark, css options....
Thanks!
Page 9 of 14