The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Simple Image Gallery Popular Plugin

*** New version 3 released, now compatible with Joomla! 1.5 to 3.x ***

Adding image galleries inside your Joomla! articles is now super-easy and simple, using the magical "Simple Image Gallery" plugin for Joomla!.

The plugin can turn any folder of images located inside your Joomla! website into a grid-style image gallery with cool lightbox previews. And all that using a simple plugin tag like .

So for example, if we have a folder called "my_trip_to_Paris" located in images/stories/my_trip_to_Paris, then we can create our gallery by simply entering the tag into some Joomla! article.

The galleries created are presented as a grid of image thumbnails. When your visitors click on a thumbnail, they see the original image in a lightbox popup. The thumbnails are generated and cached using PHP for better results.

So let's briefly see what are the main advantages of using Simple Image Gallery: a) You don't need to have an additional gallery component to display a few images, b) you don't need to tell your visitors "to see our photos from Paris click here" and c) you focus more on content writing and less on administering the images!

The plugin is ideal for news portals wanting to display some product images, for example, inside their articles. Or for people who quickly wanna show their summer vacation pictures. With Simple Image Gallery, you can have as many galleries as you want inside each article.

Please note that if you want to create a gallery from a subfolder located inside your "image gallery root folder", simply adjust the plugin syntax to reflect the remaining path (after your set "root folder"),. Make sure you write the path to your target folder without any slashes at the beginning or the end of your path.

You can see a demo of the plugin here:
http://demo.joomlaworks.net/simple-image-gallery

Simple Image Gallery is a Joomla! plugin developed by JoomlaWorks, released under the GNU General Public License.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2007-03-10
Reviews: 1
This was extremely easy to install and use...very appealing on the front end...just what I was looking for!
2007-03-07
Reviews: 1
Really great, simple to use, lightbox looks very sophisticated. The ability to include it in a content item makes it powerful and flexible to use it anywhere on your site, not only as 'one big component' like RSGallery.

One minor issue: the alt-text already is displayed on the thumnail, including the tags. Looks strange.

Other issue is that I found the on-the-fly thumb generation too slow, even when only about 15 images in the gallery. To solve this, I tweaked the showthumb.php a little. When a page is first loaded (typically by myself during testing) the generated thumbnail is stored on the server in a separate directory. Next time the item is loaded, my 'smartthumb.php' will first try to load the pre-generated thumbnail. It's working really fast now for all my other visitors...

Suggestions for new features:
Although the strenght of this mambot is its simplicity, the ability to add a per-image caption would be really great.
I also would suggest an option to center the thumbs. When using images with different aspect ratios, it can look a bit messy sometimes when all are lef-aligned. Or can I do this via the css?

But, all in all, a great plugin that I will use a lot on my photograhpy site. Oh yeah, did I mention the lightbox is really cool? :-)
2007-03-07
Reviews: 1
The plugin was good, easy to install and to use!
but
1.Conflicting with a flash gallery (smooth gallery) or any
flash image rotator
2.Thumbnails do not correspond to the indicated size...
2007-03-02
Reviews: 1
Im working with a Rockettheme-Template ("Firefrog") and this Gallery, which looks great and has a marvelous user interface, is not working. No black screen, no well designed thumbs. The template im using is professionally made. Joomlaworks says on the troubleshooting-Info "Just revert to the default template of joomla". Well, easy to say, but after some 100 hours of developing an individual website with joomla..... Better would be to give some information where on the css changes have to be made. I hope there is a good answer too to that, so I can please our visitors with this wonderful tool too.
2007-02-25
Reviews: 1
This is a great extension, installs very easy and looks great. Have a little problem but I believe it is easy to fix.
2007-02-24
Reviews: 1
Love this extenstion. One of the best gallery-extensions if you don't want to go flash...

one question though: how can you get a one-thumbnail-preview for a whole gallery? I might just have overread this one, but hell, how do you get this modification??
2007-02-23
Reviews: 2
This system would be fantastic, but pages containing the produced gallery are full of mistakes which prevent the xhtml validation... :-(
2007-02-23
Reviews: 1
I wanted to say this is by far in my opinion the best image solution. Once i installed it i thought i had a problem with it and emailed the author. He responded within a couple of hours with an answer. Excellent!

I would have one suggestion if possible:
Sometimes i use it for single pics. I would love to be able to enter a description in the {gallery} code and have it appear in place of the nice message. Other than that it is perfect for my needs.
2007-02-18
Reviews: 1
Very nice extension. It is pretty eye candy. But like some other users mentionned, a couple of little things would make it perfect:

-captions on the images
-turn the name of the image off
-jce plugin

thanks,
pht3k
2007-02-17
Reviews: 5
Just so simple, trouble free and the output is great.

No problems installing or usage by "non technical" authors which is what I want.

Suggestion: Keep it simple, don't get sucked into trying to be an all singing dancing solution. It's not a full gallery its a "Simple Image Gallery"
2007-02-14
Reviews: 1
It looks great on the demo site but it does work on either of my sites, installed and published the mambot and added the {gallery}myphotos{/gallery} code to a news item and nothing. Tried the default template and still nothing.

Clearly more issues than whats available in the troubleshooting guide.

This plugin not as easy to use as it sounds.
2007-02-08
Reviews: 2
Great product. I like the ability to quickly throw multiple small galleries onto a content page.
2007-02-08
Reviews: 1
Product looked great and was perfect for my needs, only i couldn't get it to work.
After looking and changing permissions of the recommended files, it turned out the problem was caused by another plugin MultiThumb. Altered the preferences on that and now Simple Image Gallery works great!

I'm happy!
2007-02-04
Reviews: 6
Love it, entirely.

Feature Request: I am displaying images with irregular aspect ratios. Is it possible to make it so that thumbnails display in the center of their space, rather than at the top/left corner. That way, tall/skinny or short/wide thumnails will be more evenly distributed on the page.

Thanks loads for a great tool.
2007-02-04
Reviews: 1
Thanks for the guys at joomlaworks for this great mambot
The installation is easy and the configuration too.Anyone can use the Simple image gallery including newbies to joomla.You don't need to knew programing for make this gallery run .
Thanks a lot for this joomla works
I'm waiting for the next release with printing ability for the images thanks for that Fotis
They really listen to their users and their need they are a great
People that are happy with joomlaworks products please donate to then so they can keep it up with such great products and visit their page they have more great stuff over there
Those who think adding a printing feature for the images give me a hell yeah !!
2007-01-31
Reviews: 2
What a great plugin. It does exactly what it says it will and is very easy to setup. The configuration options are explained well and I had my gallery published in a content item in under 5mins. Thanks for the effort of creating this plugin.
2007-01-26
Reviews: 1
What a brilliant and simple plugin! Well done.

Just a few little things i think would make it even better such as captions on your images in a gallery as a few others have mentioned and also the ability to turn the name of the image off.
2007-01-24
Reviews: 3
I love Simple Image Gallery. A hearty 2 thumbs up!
2007-01-22
Reviews: 1
for a newbie - it couldn't have gone smoother - simple install & publishing. Its fun too, and the pics look great.

One suggestion - it would be good to accept pdfs - it could be a handy storage and reading service.
2007-01-17
Reviews: 1
Apart from one issue which I'll discuss in a moment, this plugin was exactly what I needed. The simple display of images on a content page. I looked in the Gallery extentions and couldn't find any that produced the simple result this plugin does - and it does it in style.

The overlay window looks amazing.

My only request, which has been commented on prior, is for support of Pages. In other words a parameter to say how many images per page, and then the support to scroll between pages, without the content around the tag to change.

I am now most happy.
Owner's reply

Might is suggest a fast solution? Use this plugin: http://extensions.joomla.org/component/option,com_mtree/task,viewlink/link_id,1046/Itemid,35/
...and add tabs in your content. Within each tab, place a different gallery. Not the best solution, but could fit the bill. The pagination feature will be taken into consideration though! ;)

Page 10 of 12