The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Simple Image Gallery Popular Plugin

*** New version 3 released, now compatible with Joomla! 1.5 to 3.x ***

Adding image galleries inside your Joomla! articles is now super-easy and simple, using the magical "Simple Image Gallery" plugin for Joomla!.

The plugin can turn any folder of images located inside your Joomla! website into a grid-style image gallery with cool lightbox previews. And all that using a simple plugin tag like .

So for example, if we have a folder called "my_trip_to_Paris" located in images/stories/my_trip_to_Paris, then we can create our gallery by simply entering the tag into some Joomla! article.

The galleries created are presented as a grid of image thumbnails. When your visitors click on a thumbnail, they see the original image in a lightbox popup. The thumbnails are generated and cached using PHP for better results.

So let's briefly see what are the main advantages of using Simple Image Gallery: a) You don't need to have an additional gallery component to display a few images, b) you don't need to tell your visitors "to see our photos from Paris click here" and c) you focus more on content writing and less on administering the images!

The plugin is ideal for news portals wanting to display some product images, for example, inside their articles. Or for people who quickly wanna show their summer vacation pictures. With Simple Image Gallery, you can have as many galleries as you want inside each article.

Please note that if you want to create a gallery from a subfolder located inside your "image gallery root folder", simply adjust the plugin syntax to reflect the remaining path (after your set "root folder"),. Make sure you write the path to your target folder without any slashes at the beginning or the end of your path.

You can see a demo of the plugin here:
http://demo.joomlaworks.net/simple-image-gallery

Simple Image Gallery is a Joomla! plugin developed by JoomlaWorks, released under the GNU General Public License.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2007-01-17
Reviews: 1
Apart from one issue which I'll discuss in a moment, this plugin was exactly what I needed. The simple display of images on a content page. I looked in the Gallery extentions and couldn't find any that produced the simple result this plugin does - and it does it in style.

The overlay window looks amazing.

My only request, which has been commented on prior, is for support of Pages. In other words a parameter to say how many images per page, and then the support to scroll between pages, without the content around the tag to change.

I am now most happy.
Owner's reply

Might is suggest a fast solution? Use this plugin: http://extensions.joomla.org/component/option,com_mtree/task,viewlink/link_id,1046/Itemid,35/
...and add tabs in your content. Within each tab, place a different gallery. Not the best solution, but could fit the bill. The pagination feature will be taken into consideration though! ;)

2007-01-17
Reviews: 1
Beyond amazing. This is the easiest and most powerful image gallery out there. Its a breeze to setup. Multiple galleries for multiple folders for multiple pages. Its about time someone made this! Cheers!
2007-01-17
Reviews: 1
Very nice plugin. That's what I needed.

- lightbox effect
- possibility to put in content

Keep up good working!
2007-01-12
Reviews: 2
Love the simplicity and the look.

One thing I'd really like to see is the ability to add captions (like the optional title attribute in Slimbox).

Thanks again!! You rock!
2007-01-08
Reviews: 5
Great, simple tool. Love it !

NB: Doesn't support png picture files (yet?)
2007-01-07
Reviews: 1
I installed version 1.1 yesterday
It worked great. It fits very well in our sailor community project as our members greatly appreciate looking at foto's without wrestling a lot on how to upload and access it.

Today I tried to use the latest version (1.21). Unfortunatly this does not work. it does not show the thumnails any more, also not in the orginal template.

One improment I would like to suggest is to allow to select one specific thumnail to show up in the intro text part of the content. That would improve the blog pages a lot.
Thanks for producing this great software
2007-01-05
Reviews: 1
This is definitely the easiest image gallery I have tried after trying most.
A way to have a image title included and same for thumb also would be great.
2007-01-05
Reviews: 1
What would send it through the roof ( for me anyways...)
is an insert image button in the editor that would allow you to insert single images in an article. I would even be happy with the ability to define single images for display in articles using the current method.

Thanks
2007-01-01
Reviews: 1
Works great. I also had some problems getting the thumbnails to display, but it was the permissions on my folder
mambots / content / plugin_jw_sig to 755 and the file showthumb.php to 755 and it works great!

Thanks Fotis. You Rock!
2007-01-01
Reviews: 1
Hey this is definately a life saver... and clean too!

However was wondering... has anyone tested this with page breaks and putting multiple galleries in one article separating them by page breaks!


Look forward to y'all reply!


Again great bot!
2006-12-29
Reviews: 1
Awesome functionality if you want your photos displaying inside content items. Great work JoomlaWorks team!!

I agree it misses ability to edit individual captions to each one of the images, and that's why I'm rating "Good" instead of "Excellent", but again, keep the great work guys!!!
An xml or properties file would do, if I have some time in the near future probably would do a workaround for my site which will be glad to share, and of course, if you don't have it on your next release first ;)

So, last but not least, from my installation experience, let me share the following: Thumbnail images didn't show at all, I checked my server logs and showed the following error:
"Premature end of script headers: ../mambots/content/plugin_jw_sig/showthumb.php" after some trial and error (re-insallation and even debugging the code a little bit) and really close to bother you guys with my problem, I realized it was a file permissions issue. For some reason during the installation the ".js" files under the "../mambots/content/plugin_jw_sig/" directory had permission properties as "666" (devlis mark uuuhhh!!!), changed the directory and the files permissions to "755" and vo alá!!!! I had installed other extensions on my site and this is the first one I encountered with this problem. Not sure if it can be fixed from the configuration of file permissions prior to generating the zip installation file...

Enjoy!!
2006-12-25
Reviews: 4
This little mambot is a great way to have small galleries inside content items. I downloaded, installed, and had a gallery up and online within a few minutes. Cool!

What I am not sure about is where the thumbnails are? I think they are generated on the fly? I did a gallery with 30 images. I know it is over the suggested limit, but I made the thumbnails max 140px, and set the quality to 60. They still seem to load a little slowly, which is why I think they are being generated on the fly, but that is just a guess.

Suggestion for enhancement: Perhaps use an XML file that holds all the file names, and a caption for each photo. Then, by including an option in the tag to turn on reading of the file, you could have custom captions for each photo in the popup. This type of enhancement would not interfere with users who want to keep it as simple as it is now, but would add a little power for those who want to make use of it.
Owner's reply

Yes, the thumbnail images are generated on-the-fly. Using XML as you suggest to input more data to the images we are getting out of course and this gallery will not be "Simple" anymore, right?

2006-12-23
Reviews: 1
This is a great plugin. Thank you very much to its authors.

There's one issue I experience, though. IE7 gives out an error message in the status line: "Done, but with errors on page". The details of this error display: Line 2, Char 1, Error - syntax error, Code 0. Does anyone know how to fix that? Other than that, this plugin works great in IE7.
2006-12-23
Reviews: 1
This is very good plugin but PNG thumb is incorrect even after latest version 1.1
2006-12-18
Reviews: 1
Is it possible (in a future release) to allow the admin to write captions for individual photos? This would make it the perfect gallery add-on in my opinion.

I've been looking for a long time for a gallery plug in that did NOT try to integrate an album from another program. I wanted a photogallery plugin that works within the CMS. Simple Image Gallery is IT!!! Thanks for outstanding work!
2006-12-17
Reviews: 1
simple and great-looking
2006-12-17
Reviews: 1
Excelent plugin/mambot for any site. Easy and quick intallation/implementation.

I'm having a little problem with the pop up, I only get a blank /white image, size is right thoug... I'll look into this asap.

Thanks!
2006-12-14
Reviews: 1
Great job on this. Just what the doctor ordered. I found a small code fix however in the plugin_jw_sig.php file that will keep the title (alt) text that shows when you hover your mouse over the thumbnail from showing the html code i.e. "You are browsing images from the article:Article Title.

It does it on the demo site also.

Just change this part of the code:

$html .= ' IE7 and Firefox.

Anyway, as I said before I love the flexibility of this plugin and I think it's a must have if you have any type of picture gallery in Joomla. Great Job!
2006-12-12
Reviews: 3
I tried the first version, but had some problems getting images to display full size when you clicked on them. This one is a big improvement, and very easy to use. But it's a little confusing for the site visitor. When you click on the image, the popup comes up at the very top of your screen, where you could only see a small portion of the larger image if your gallery is further down the page. And it's not clear that you can click on another image and get the image to open in that same window. If you click close, it actually closes the full article and you have to go back to the full version to see the gallery and additional photos. There needs to be some additional controls on there or explanation when the popup window displays. If the gallery could somehow be set to create a full version slideshow fading from one photo to another full size, that would be classy, however. All in all, however, you've done something that many of us Joomla lovers have wished for!
2006-12-11
Reviews: 1
I've just used this plugin / mambot inside my component to help display some images. I think the author writes very tools, as we are about to use the Ajax Newsflash tool as well which is also excellent and we already have the All Videos Plugin. I quite heavily modified this so suit my needs and it works excellently. Very good quality util, works flawlessly out of the box. Excellent.
Page 11 of 12