The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Simple Image Gallery Popular Plugin

*** New version 3 released, now compatible with Joomla! 1.5 to 3.x ***

Adding image galleries inside your Joomla! articles is now super-easy and simple, using the magical "Simple Image Gallery" plugin for Joomla!.

The plugin can turn any folder of images located inside your Joomla! website into a grid-style image gallery with cool lightbox previews. And all that using a simple plugin tag like {gallery}myphotos{/gallery}.

So for example, if we have a folder called "my_trip_to_Paris" located in images/stories/my_trip_to_Paris, then we can create our gallery by simply entering the tag {gallery}my_trip_to_Paris{/gallery} into some Joomla! article.

The galleries created are presented as a grid of image thumbnails. When your visitors click on a thumbnail, they see the original image in a lightbox popup. The thumbnails are generated and cached using PHP for better results.

So let's briefly see what are the main advantages of using Simple Image Gallery: a) You don't need to have an additional gallery component to display a few images, b) you don't need to tell your visitors "to see our photos from Paris click here" and c) you focus more on content writing and less on administering the images!

The plugin is ideal for news portals wanting to display some product images, for example, inside their articles. Or for people who quickly wanna show their summer vacation pictures. With Simple Image Gallery, you can have as many galleries as you want inside each article.

Please note that if you want to create a gallery from a subfolder located inside your "image gallery root folder", simply adjust the plugin syntax to reflect the remaining path (after your set "root folder"), e.g. {gallery}folder/subfolder/othersubfolder{/gallery}. Make sure you write the path to your target folder without any slashes at the beginning or the end of your path.

You can see a demo of the plugin here:
http://demo.joomlaworks.net/simple-image-gallery

Simple Image Gallery is a Joomla! plugin developed by JoomlaWorks, released under the GNU General Public License.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2006-12-09
Reviews: 2
As it says, very simple to use

As said before in the reviews, a few options to choose from would be great, but it has to stay simple
2006-12-09
Reviews: 1
Really love the aptly titled simplicity of this plugin, works as advertised and outputs attractive functional galleries. Newest 1.1 irons out all the major issues mentioned before.

The people at JoomlaWorks are turning out some great Joomla addons, quick with upgrades, attentive to improvements and prompt and polite in answering questions about their products.
2006-12-07
Reviews: 1
i searchs long time such a plugin! it's near perfect, but it's new.

my wishes for the next versions:

- option to set number of cols
- option to write a little more informations for each picture

Thanks alot for this Plugin! I'll donate joomlaworks as soon as possible!
Owner's reply

All that you ask have been fixed in version 1.1. Enjoy!

2006-12-07
Reviews: 1
I really like this plugin because of its simplicity.
I'm now trying to combine this plugin with your sliders & tabs plugin. When using tabs, the images are shown correct.
However, when using the gallery inside a slider, only the backgrounds (shadows) are shown and not the images themselves. It would be fantastic if this would be solved.
2006-12-07
Reviews: 2
Very useful plug-in. It's easy to setup and run too.

My galleries looks fine (in Firefox) but the big pictures are opened in a full new window, with no alpha effect. I've tried to disable other javascripts, but there's no conflict. In IE I can't even get the page. I got an strange error message instead. My source code looks exactly the same as Joomlaworks demo does.
2006-12-07
Reviews: 2
This is a fantastic, easy to implement plugin. A couple of suggestions, though to make it a little better:

1. Ability to use the lightbox image set technique to go between photos directly from within the lightbox.
2. Ability to place image folders anywhere within the site instead of only as folders/subfolders within images/stories.

One small bug that I have seen is when displaying images of various sizes and orientations, the thumbnail shadow boxes don't align properly with some images.

Other than that - what a GREAT PLUGIN! I look forward to the next release.
2006-12-07
Reviews: 1
Tried this and would love to get it to show correctly in IE, but it does not greyout site as it should, in Firefox it works great, correct thumbs and all, but in IE, when you open the same, it's clipped....any ideas would be great on how to fix this. Email for link to site to see IE problems
Owner's reply

The xml declaration included in the top of some templates (even the default Solarflare) is causing these display issues in IE. The XML declaration "forces" IE to run in quirks mode, meaning not complying to HTML/CSS standards! Removed the line "" and everything will show up fine in IE.

2006-12-06
Reviews: 4
Simple and easy!

The best gallery solution for a "news" website.

Just a suggestion to give a 10:
Please, consider to make a JCE plugin too, this way editors can just click the gallery icon at JCE toolbar, try to imagine something like this - a popup opens with "Choose gallery folder" option, the editor can browse at server and finally click the "insert gallery" button. The WYSIWYG editor window can shows a colored bar to indicate where gallery starts, and the HTML editor window shows the plugin tags with folder path.
2006-12-06
Reviews: 5
This is a total snap to install, and use, and looks great.

Questions/Issues...
I get an error on each page that reads "Notice: Undefined offset: 15 in .../plugin_jw_sig.php on line 59." How can I make that go away?

I have image sizes and aspect ratios that are not uniform. Sometimes the thumbnail does not fit in the shadow box for which it is intended (additional white space shows up between the right edge of thumbnail and the shadow box). I get better results when I resixe the original image to an even multiple of the target thumbnail width. Is there a better solution?

If a thumbnail is shorter (vertically) than the one next to it, S.I.G. drops in another thumbnail below it in the same row. Great idea, but a problem can/does show up because this is a progessive feature. At the end of a row (on the right), the stack can grow up to 3-5 thumbnails high with TONS of white space left under the first thumbnails on the left.

Perhaps a solution would be to track the height of the tallest individual thumbnail in the row, and double up below short thumbnails only if there is room for it (without increasing the min row height required for the tallest individual thumbnail).

Great work. Wish I was a programmer so I could help out.

bertm
Owner's reply

All you have to do to solve these issues is donwload the latest 1.1 released. It fixes all the things you mention.

2006-12-06
Reviews: 2
I don't believe the rating, 'Excellent' is high enough for this plugin. It installed into my version of Mambo (4.5.3h)with no problem, it came with more then enough instructions in the 'bot' to get me started and within moments after the install, I was adjusting the size and quality of the viewable thumbnails...OUTSTANDING! The use of this 'bot' is just about endless and I see many ways of incorporating it into my sports web site. Once again...THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!
p.s. may I say 'Thank You' one more time...
2006-12-06
Reviews: 8
Your plugins and addons are really consistently usable and well put together and this is no different. I spent quite a while working with multithumb which while powerful frequently stopped working for strange server-side reasons. This gallery is smooth as butter and looks great but as with all really usable addons you soon begin to wish for a few features like ordering and Lightbox navigation as mentioned earlier.

I'd also like to remove the "jpg" reference in the title but unlike F.Filo can't negotiate the code! Very minor gripes then. Good work again. Many thanks
2006-12-06
Reviews: 1
The plug-in is very simple to use. Interface is very nice but I get the following error message on the pages where thumbnails appear:
Notice: Undefined offset: 5 in /mysite/mambots/content/plugin_jw_sig.php on line 59
2006-12-06
Reviews: 1
Very nice plugin, easy to use with excellent layout results.
I suggest for next version:

- make "title" more friendly (not just the image file name)
(I've modified file plugin_jw_sig.php to do that)
- use selected images in content definition or specific folder (right now) like image files source

Bye
Owner's reply

I can do the first one, but doing the second one too would completely loose the "Simple" in front of "Simple Image Gallery" name, wouldn't it?

2006-12-05
Reviews: 2
This is so simple to use it's a real pleasure! Just set a folder, add the atg to content, and you're good to go.
I gave it a quick test: one thing to note is PNGs come out very bad looking from the process, better to avoid, jpg and gif are fine.
I'd suggest adding
1. the usual recommendation to publish the bot after install, and
2. the tags to use at the top of all the other text you see on edit screen!
well done, Greece 10 points ;)
Owner's reply

We are honoured by your comments monsieur Eyezberg!

2006-12-05
Reviews: 1
You guys at JoomlaWorks are creating quality stuff. This latest gallery comes seriously close to what I’m looking for. However, not everyone is a fan of the “lightbox.” For starters, it is cumbersome to click on and off again to see the next large image. Yes, I know this is a “simple” image gallery and it seems to be another well executed plug-in for the Joomla architecture. If there were a simple navigation within the “lightbox” to go to the next or previous large image, then it would be 9.0; if there was JavaScript alternative to viewing the large images in a resizable pop-up with simple next/ previous and slideshow/ stop slideshow control, then it would 9.5. A “perfect 10,” in my opinion, would be to add a function for registered users to create their own albums via the front end. Of course, this would no longer be a “simple image gallery” but I would pay money for it.
Owner's reply

Thanks for your feedback rafa3x. We are already making 1.1 with all the changes you suggested and some more finetuning, too! Just a note though concerning your last request (10). You can already do that if you give access to your registered users to input content in your site. They simply upload images to a folder through the editor and then call the gallery throught our Simple Image Gallery tags! Right?

2006-12-05
Reviews: 3
This simplicity was exactly what every gallery missed out.
Thanks, great mambot.
2006-12-05
Reviews: 1
Tried it, worked first time. Just created the folder, put the pictures in. In my content i wrote {gallery}folder{/gallery} and it worked.

Thanks for the plugin.
2006-12-05
Reviews: 2
I like the look of this...it looks very impressive and simple to manage.

I downloaded the plugin but could not find ant documentation on the site or in the zip file so am a little disappointed.
Owner's reply

First of all, the documentation is included in the most reasonable place it could be! Inside the plugin's parameters page. Access this page by going to Mambots >> Site Mambots >> Simple Image Gallery Plugin. If you cannot access the "mambots area" and get a "restricted access..." message, it's not a plugin error, it's a Joomla bug. Solution for that can be found here:

http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,99636.0.html

Page 12 of 12