The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Simple Image Gallery Popular Plugin

*** New version 3 released, now compatible with Joomla! 1.5 to 3.x ***

Adding image galleries inside your Joomla! articles is now super-easy and simple, using the magical "Simple Image Gallery" plugin for Joomla!.

The plugin can turn any folder of images located inside your Joomla! website into a grid-style image gallery with cool lightbox previews. And all that using a simple plugin tag like {gallery}myphotos{/gallery}.

So for example, if we have a folder called "my_trip_to_Paris" located in images/stories/my_trip_to_Paris, then we can create our gallery by simply entering the tag {gallery}my_trip_to_Paris{/gallery} into some Joomla! article.

The galleries created are presented as a grid of image thumbnails. When your visitors click on a thumbnail, they see the original image in a lightbox popup. The thumbnails are generated and cached using PHP for better results.

So let's briefly see what are the main advantages of using Simple Image Gallery: a) You don't need to have an additional gallery component to display a few images, b) you don't need to tell your visitors "to see our photos from Paris click here" and c) you focus more on content writing and less on administering the images!

The plugin is ideal for news portals wanting to display some product images, for example, inside their articles. Or for people who quickly wanna show their summer vacation pictures. With Simple Image Gallery, you can have as many galleries as you want inside each article.

Please note that if you want to create a gallery from a subfolder located inside your "image gallery root folder", simply adjust the plugin syntax to reflect the remaining path (after your set "root folder"), e.g. {gallery}folder/subfolder/othersubfolder{/gallery}. Make sure you write the path to your target folder without any slashes at the beginning or the end of your path.

You can see a demo of the plugin here:
http://demo.joomlaworks.net/simple-image-gallery

Simple Image Gallery is a Joomla! plugin developed by JoomlaWorks, released under the GNU General Public License.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-05-14
Reviews: 1
Excellent component, easy to use, Just what I wanted to display images horizontally. thanks
2012-05-09
Reviews: 1
New user so free version:
Simple install,
Simple to set up,
Works exactly as shown and most important - works great on site!!
2012-05-06
Reviews: 1
after 2 weeks working on joomla's extension this was the first extension that I could add it to my website easily with no errors and problems.
2012-04-18
Reviews: 15
One of the plugin I install without giving a second thought when I have to show a good image gallery in content. Thank you for great plugin.
2012-03-29
Reviews: 4
What a very nice plugin and so simple te handle! Sort by name of the picture, so I had to give them a number.
2012-03-23
Reviews: 3
The Simple Image Gallery is easy to install and easy to use...this is true only if you want simple gallery without any caption informations and without any advanced settings. If you don't want all the annoying texts to be visible below the image, you must change the code...but if you want to add some usefull caption informations or image titles you don't know what to do. I had to try another - better free gallery. I know that it is free, and I thank you for that, but I am simply dissapointed by lack of the features in this gallery.

I tried only the free version.
2012-03-04
Reviews: 9
I wish I could give 5+ Stars for this plugin. They have not even published this for Joomla 2.5, but I have a proof its working on 2.5.

If you wanna a proof, check out the link below.
http://www.paragonholidays.co.uk/index.php/experiences/luxury-experiences/culinary-tour#highlights


Wonderful work..! Wel done
Owner's reply

Yes, the plugin already supported Joomla! 2.5 but we had not updated this page (and we just did)! Cheers!

2012-03-02
Reviews: 4
I liked the simplicity and clean look of the free version so much that I purchased their "pro" version which comes with many extra settings/display options. A display setting option to choose how many thumbnails to have per row and centered would be nice, but you can achieve the desired result by playing with the thumbnail size settings in the plugin and flipping back-and-forth from backend to the frontend.
2012-02-24
Reviews: 1
In about 2 minutes I had my image gallery ready. Great job guys!!!
2012-02-06
Reviews: 2
Very simple to use. very easy to have this included into your content. Thank you !
2012-01-19
Reviews: 5
This is really nice and simple to use. No messing around at all.

Simple create a folder and dump all your images in there that you want at full size then {gallery}foldername{/gallery}

It does not get more simple than that.

Thanks!
2012-01-18
Reviews: 4
This is indeed a simple gallery to setup. What I would like to see added is the ability to display the contents of subfolders. So if a gallery contains subfolders I would like to see the folder and when I open the folder it would show the contents as another gallery (this could be a feature to turn off or on in the plug-in) That way you can organize all your pictures in folders and subfolders and everything would be accessible from one page which has to be setup once.
Great job!
2012-01-18
Reviews: 5
Excellent for small galleries. This extension has been, without a doubt, the simplest gallery plugin I've come across. I've used this on multiple websites from Joomla 1.0 upwards. Upload a bunch of images to a directory, add a tag to your article and your done! Brilliant plugin.
So good I purchased the pro version for it's extra features.
2012-01-17
Reviews: 10
Thank you JoomlaWorks for yet another great product. You make Joomla look good and a lot of us appreciate your efforts. I'm grateful that, while others are making their image galleries bloated and full of way too many features, you have chosen to keep Simple Image Gallery what it is. It's something that can easily be shown to a client as 'simple'... and they get it:)

Thank you JoomlaWorks!!
2011-12-19
Reviews: 18
First off, any negative reviews of this is just silly. It is so simple. Just install, enable the plugin, set a few parameters, upload your photos, and place the snippet wherever you need a rotator.

Plus, it doesn't have much bloat or links back to the author. It just flat out works. yay
2011-12-19
Reviews: 2
I just installed and tested this on my Joomla 1.7 site and it seems to work as expected.
Only remark is that there is no difference between a landscape and portrait photo. Both are shown in the thumbs as landscape.
Thx!
2011-12-15
Reviews: 3
Oh my god! It is really simple to config this plugin. i Just wanted a plugin for somple image popup viewing with an in build navigation function.

Within 5 minutes it was fixed! I liked the polaroid most!

Just pay €12 and you are done! Great work peeps.
Owner's reply

It is important to note that the free version is fully working and can help you easily post image galleries in your Joomla! site within minutes. You do not need to purchase the pro version to post image galleries on your site. The difference between free and pro is that the pro version offers more gallery layouts and popup engines. Both free and pro make the process of uploading galleries dead simple. So it's entirely up to the user to decide if they want more and therefore go for the pro version or stick with the basic functionality of the free version.

2011-12-06
Reviews: 1
I don’t understand why this extension is build on jquery while joomla has the mootools library. The use of this two libraries causes interference between extensions. With the change of a few lines of code and including slimbox 1.8 for mootools in this extension I solved this interference.
Owner's reply

We chose to use jQuery (in "no conflict" mode) because the plugin supports both Joomla! 1.5 and 1.7, which in turn include different versions of Mootools that cause major JS compatibility headaches.

If you knew how to hack the plugin to enable Mootools for the popups, I'm surprised you could not locate the JS conflict that 100% occurred in your site from other extensions...

2011-12-01
Reviews: 1
It is easy to create a gallery, but it (the free version at least) isn't very usable (it doesn't look very nice). There are very few options. The free version you have no control over what the captions say so it gives some SIG coding that looks bad at the bottom of your Lightbox picture. The pictures they show on here are obviously from their paid Pro version. So I feel it was kind of false advertising. I'll be searching for another image gallery to use. I'll give it some credit because it is easy to use.
2011-11-12
Reviews: 6
Looks good, but if you wanna use it on other than english speaking pages, you must hack the core file for translation (for images on frontend). Standard is to do translation to language files, using languages is necessity in this times...
Also is missing posibility to use other languages (than english) for JavaScripts...
Authors, Please improve this plugin.
Page 3 of 12