The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Simple Image Gallery Popular Plugin

*** New version 3 released, now compatible with Joomla! 1.5 to 3.x ***

Adding image galleries inside your Joomla! articles is now super-easy and simple, using the magical "Simple Image Gallery" plugin for Joomla!.

The plugin can turn any folder of images located inside your Joomla! website into a grid-style image gallery with cool lightbox previews. And all that using a simple plugin tag like {gallery}myphotos{/gallery}.

So for example, if we have a folder called "my_trip_to_Paris" located in images/stories/my_trip_to_Paris, then we can create our gallery by simply entering the tag {gallery}my_trip_to_Paris{/gallery} into some Joomla! article.

The galleries created are presented as a grid of image thumbnails. When your visitors click on a thumbnail, they see the original image in a lightbox popup. The thumbnails are generated and cached using PHP for better results.

So let's briefly see what are the main advantages of using Simple Image Gallery: a) You don't need to have an additional gallery component to display a few images, b) you don't need to tell your visitors "to see our photos from Paris click here" and c) you focus more on content writing and less on administering the images!

The plugin is ideal for news portals wanting to display some product images, for example, inside their articles. Or for people who quickly wanna show their summer vacation pictures. With Simple Image Gallery, you can have as many galleries as you want inside each article.

Please note that if you want to create a gallery from a subfolder located inside your "image gallery root folder", simply adjust the plugin syntax to reflect the remaining path (after your set "root folder"), e.g. {gallery}folder/subfolder/othersubfolder{/gallery}. Make sure you write the path to your target folder without any slashes at the beginning or the end of your path.

You can see a demo of the plugin here:
http://demo.joomlaworks.net/simple-image-gallery

Simple Image Gallery is a Joomla! plugin developed by JoomlaWorks, released under the GNU General Public License.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-10-27
Reviews: 8
I've used SIG and SIGPro for years. It's my "go to" photo gallery plugin! Installation and usage are a snap! The syntax for customizing displays is easy to understand and well thought out.

I've built hundreds of Joomla! websites over the years and the guys at JoomlaWorks consistently produce top quality stuff. The freebies are great, and the "pro" extensions are well worth the asking price. Whenever I've had an issue (usually with customization) the forums are active and a huge help. 5 stars!!
2011-10-05
Reviews: 1
I've used this plugin for Joomla 1.0, when it was called a mambot. Now redsigning my site to a 1.7 I was pleasantly surprised the plugin is still going strong and was even improved.

I strongly disagree with previous reviewer: it works perfect to me after activating it...
2011-10-01
Reviews: 2
I have the exact same problems and complaints that the other negative reviewers wrote here. I installed the free version of the extension and it worked sometimes and had NO options. Basically this "free" extension is just an attempt by the owner, JoomlaWorks, to upsell you to buy their pro version which they advertise as being full of photo layout features. So I bought it for $20 and it doesn't work with Joomla, as noted in the other negative reviews here!! Do NOT install this free extension nor buy their Pro extension!! Just like the other users who wasted their time wrote, the JoomlaWorks extensions do NOT work and their support wants Super Admin Control Panel access to your Joomla site to change your core Joomla files to make their faulty extensions work!!! No way I'm giving someone I don't know over the Internet ACP access to my site so they can change core files, delete files, and screw up my whole website - just to make their defective extension work!!!! Stay away from JoomlaWorks and their extensions!!
Owner's reply

Here we go...

You wrote:
"I have the exact same problems and complaints that the other negative reviewers wrote here. I installed the free version of the extension and it worked sometimes and had NO options."

Which problem is that? Unless you are uploading 25MB pics and causing your own server to choke, the plugin works flawlessly even on the crappiest servers.

You wrote:
"Basically this "free" extension is just an attempt by the owner, JoomlaWorks, to upsell you to buy their pro version which they advertise as being full of photo layout features. So I bought it for $20 and it doesn't work with Joomla, as noted in the other negative reviews here!!"

The Pro version is indeed more powerful. But we don't force you to buy it. People use the free version in literally hundreds of thousand of sites. They do that because it's good in providing, well, a "simple image gallery". Downloads from our site for the free version have surpassed 2m last time I checked. So I'll assume you're uploading 25MB pics on a shared host... You'd need a cluster to convert galleries of 25MB pics...

You wrote:
"Do NOT install this free extension nor buy their Pro extension!! Just like the other users who wasted their time wrote, the JoomlaWorks extensions do NOT work"

That is really your assumption...

You wrote:
"...and their support wants Super Admin Control Panel access to your Joomla site to change your core Joomla files to make their faulty extensions work!!! No way I'm giving someone I don't know over the Internet ACP access to my site so they can change core files, delete files, and screw up my whole website - just to make their defective extension work!!!! Stay away from JoomlaWorks and their extensions!!"

Your problem was clearly server related. We always ask our customers login credentials in order to provide thorough support, which, if you think about it, most of the times is not even remotely related to our extensions. Crappy hosts, bad permissions, badly written extensions causing issues and the list goes on. You may not know JoomlaWorks cause you maybe new in this community. If JoomlaWorks was "thin air", we wouldn't be around since 2006, nor distribute some of the best free extensions in the Joomla! community.

Bad developers are indeed quickly identified in open communities. But so are bad, angry users, who don't read any documentation and have no patience at all...

2011-09-27
Reviews: 3
Just the gallery I was looking for. Upload image into folder and all will show on the page. Don't have to worry about thumbnail generation. Brilliant. Installation was a cool breeze. 10 stars for Simple Image Gallery! Thank you. :)
2011-09-22
Reviews: 1
I have used the plugin for a tribute site about a band to publish photos easily. It works quite simple and fine, but there are not too many tailoring options. Most of all, the option to add captions is missing.
To have more options, Joomlaworks sells a Pro version. This is where it gets tricky. The most recent update of the SIG Pro version (2.5.4) requires you to install a third party plugin, Admin Tools of Akeeba - which requires access to your server.
Further, SIG Pro requires full (CHMOD 777) access to the cache folder, something my host isn't too happy about.
When asked about this issue in the Forum, the support only repeats itself that Admin Tools should be installed. That is disappointing.
Owner's reply

From your first sentence it seems you enjoyed the free version. So I don't get the low rating, really...

Secondly, the rest is not a review for the free version. Thirdly, neither SIG Pro asks for 777 folder permissions, nor the suggested tool "Admin Tools" by AkeebaBackup.com changes permissions to 777! Admin Tools will correct folder permissions to 755 and it's a free tool, that's we suggest it to anyone who may have permission issues...

2011-09-11
Reviews: 3
Instructions are simple and very very easy to understand. I use Joomla 1.7 and it works perfectly! Thank you so much!
2011-09-02
Reviews: 1
I recently upgraded my website to version 1.7 but the photo gallery component I used on version 1.5 STILL is not compatible with 1.7. Well, after trying and uninstalling several types of photo galleries I found this on to be easier and better than the one I was using on my old site. I was a little concerned at first because I prefer components but not anymore. All I do now is create a folder for my photos, FTP photos to my website, create an article, and publish it. It takes me half the time to make a gallery now. Thanks for the great work.
2011-08-31
Reviews: 1
When I click on an image in a particular gallery, the image opens up in two separate lightboxes, one above the other when only one image should be displayed.
2011-08-26
Reviews: 7
Simple, it works great, does not conflict with other libraries.
Fantastic!
2011-08-24
Reviews: 1
This extension is not very intuitive at all and requires a lot of technical knowledge to make even the smallest of changes. Not recommended for a beginner. Additionally it is buggy on some browsers...
Owner's reply

You are probably referring to some other extension, because Simple Image Gallery is one of the top extensions EVER made for Joomla! and it's on of the top because it's easy to use... Of course that sometimes pisses off copycats... Just saying...

2011-08-11
Reviews: 3
I installed a new 1.7 website and wanted to install this extension. However I just noticed there is no support for v1.7, which is a shame.
Owner's reply

It's fully compatible with Joomla 1.7.

2011-07-31
Reviews: 1
Nobody knows what folder is the right: "images/stories/" or only "images/"

anyway, none of the two folders works.

I've created an article and I wrote this:
{gallery}gallery{/gallery}

all my pictures are in images folder and they are jpg

when I see my article the pictures don't show up, I only see this again {gallery}gallery{/gallery}
Owner's reply

The plugin uses a "root" folder so you don't have to write long folder paths. If the root folder (e.g. in Joomla 1.6/1.7) is just "images" and you enter the plugin tags {gallery}gallery{/gallery} in some Joomla article, K2 item etc. then the plugin will look for images in the folder "images/gallery". If you images where directly located in "images", then it's natural you don't see the gallery.

Read the documentation for more.

Simple Image Gallery is FULLY compatible with Joomla 1.5, 1.6 and 1.7.

2011-07-28
Reviews: 4
So easy to install and use, I had images in content within 5 minutes of installing the plugin.
Why have I not intalled this before now? Makes adding images so easy, no need to use tables, no hassles with lining up images or having them all show the same size, this simple plugin does it all.

Thank you to the developers for this great tool, am now going to purchase pro version. Excellent work!
2011-07-16
Reviews: 1
Excellent work, very easy to install and set up.
2011-07-04
Reviews: 1
The plugin is perfect!! The only thing i have is that i cannot hide the navigation tips. I have deleted them from the ini file but are still showing in the image popup window...
2011-06-17
Reviews: 1
I am a few days into my first Joomla site, coming from zero experience. Some of the concepts are slightly odd after building a static web site. One of the first things I wanted to do was to display images. I tried a few others but kept hitting problems, such as the images not actually replacing the parameters. This was the first product that worked immediately. It's also great to be able to evaluate something from a company before moving on to purchasing something - which I'll probably now do.
2011-06-14
Reviews: 12
I'm a site builder and I use this extension on all of my sites.
2011-06-10
Reviews: 3
Just wanna say "thank you very much". I was looking for a longer period for a kind of gallery-tool. I tried a lot, but what is really a big point for this plugin: it is really easy to use and not flash based. For me, as a photographer, it is very helpful, because it will save time for me.
2011-05-30
Reviews: 2
I'm developing a site under J1.6 and with SIG 2.2, it will not work quite out of the box.

On the free version default template, there is a call to an undefined $title reference and you'll get traces. So it looks like a little detailed overlooked.

After fixing this it works nicely.

I still give 4 stars cause I found through the documentation about the Joomla MVC feature that allowed me to fix the SIG default template within my own site template, without modifying the core plugin and still get updates.

It would have been nice to be able to customize the global messages but I also understand why they've been up into the language files.
Owner's reply

Actual the MVC overrides for the plugin is not a standard Joomla "thing" for plugins. It's how JoomlaWorks implements MVC on most of its plugins so designers can easily change a plugin's HTML output with not too much fuss.

Regarding your issue, it would help if you could submit your issue on our forum and mention the PHP version your server is running or whether you had error reporting in the global configuration of Joomla set to maximum or not...

Thanks

2011-05-05
Reviews: 3
It works like a charm, thanks!
Page 4 of 12