The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Simple Image Gallery Popular Plugin

*** New version 3 released, now compatible with Joomla! 1.5 to 3.x ***

Adding image galleries inside your Joomla! articles is now super-easy and simple, using the magical "Simple Image Gallery" plugin for Joomla!.

The plugin can turn any folder of images located inside your Joomla! website into a grid-style image gallery with cool lightbox previews. And all that using a simple plugin tag like {gallery}myphotos{/gallery}.

So for example, if we have a folder called "my_trip_to_Paris" located in images/stories/my_trip_to_Paris, then we can create our gallery by simply entering the tag {gallery}my_trip_to_Paris{/gallery} into some Joomla! article.

The galleries created are presented as a grid of image thumbnails. When your visitors click on a thumbnail, they see the original image in a lightbox popup. The thumbnails are generated and cached using PHP for better results.

So let's briefly see what are the main advantages of using Simple Image Gallery: a) You don't need to have an additional gallery component to display a few images, b) you don't need to tell your visitors "to see our photos from Paris click here" and c) you focus more on content writing and less on administering the images!

The plugin is ideal for news portals wanting to display some product images, for example, inside their articles. Or for people who quickly wanna show their summer vacation pictures. With Simple Image Gallery, you can have as many galleries as you want inside each article.

Please note that if you want to create a gallery from a subfolder located inside your "image gallery root folder", simply adjust the plugin syntax to reflect the remaining path (after your set "root folder"), e.g. {gallery}folder/subfolder/othersubfolder{/gallery}. Make sure you write the path to your target folder without any slashes at the beginning or the end of your path.

You can see a demo of the plugin here:
http://demo.joomlaworks.net/simple-image-gallery

Simple Image Gallery is a Joomla! plugin developed by JoomlaWorks, released under the GNU General Public License.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-03-22
Reviews: 2
Downloaded the free version but obviously needed captions with my images, like lots of other people. I bought the PRO version not realsiing it didn't work with Joomla 1.6 and cannot get any answer or support from Joomla Works - which is a shame as it seems to be easy and quick to use - just not for Joomla 1.6!
Owner's reply

Updated versions are now fully compatible with Joomla 1.5, 1.6 and 1.7.

2011-02-16
Reviews: 2
It serves my purpose well. Sincere thanks to Joomla Works' free tool
2011-02-13
Reviews: 1
Extremely easy to install and use, higly recommended for displaying a collection of images rapidly and beautilly.
Just what you want if you are after simplicity for articles authors.
I m not the first one to point it out : does not allow to add images captions.
2011-02-10
Reviews: 3
As a complete newbie I've struggled to get quite a few of the extensions working. I have tried quite a few different photo extensions. I was quite specific about what I wanted: a slideshow, which could show a different selection of photos on each article of my travel blog.

Yay - I installed this, it not only worked, but it worked first shot without any problems at all. Thank you so much for a lovely extension that that I could get working.
2011-01-19
Reviews: 1
Very nice and simple to implement + get working how you want it. With nice documentation.
My only gripe would be that, at least for me, under joomla 1.5 I had to remove its reference to mootools.js in the jwsig.php file to get it to stop breaking other extesions.

Overall Good anyway :)
2010-11-10
Reviews: 3
I've used this plugin on many sites and clients always report that it's easy to update themselves. This is a great solution for beginners. It's very easy to set up and manage.

It'll help if you have an FTP manager such as extplorer. You'll be able to set up folders and upload iages in no time at all.

Top marks from me.
2010-11-09
Reviews: 5
Nice plugin! Very easy to use. It took me less than 5 minutes to display photo galleries on my website based on files uploaded in my specific folders. Highly recommended!
2010-11-02
Reviews: 1
I found it easy to use and it delivers exactly what it promises. So why not excellent? It only worked for me with jpegs (not png) and it doesn't display captions / titles from the photos own information ... but then it is SIMPLE Image Gallery.
2010-10-31
Reviews: 2
I was charged twice for a purchase i have sent them every thing they asked for and yet i still have no reply made purchase on 10/13/2010 here it is the 30th and still no reply thanks for your great double charging glad to see some thing you make works if i was to say what i wanted joomla would ban me be thank full i respect this company not yours joomla works is the nothing more than the lowest of the lowest hope you all have better luck luck than me just be carefull
2010-10-03
Reviews: 1
Finally, a lightbox-style plug-in that actually works. This was about the fifth one I tried and the only one that followed through to the end. And it works beautifully.

My only "complaint" is lack of customize-ability, I'm a control freak. If there was a way to flip-flop the "navigation tip" and the "nice message" this would be 5 stars.

Well, 4 and a half...having to "hack" the php to get rid of the ridiculous mouse-hover message was mildly annoying and shouldn't have even been necessary.
Owner's reply

Then the coming v2.0 would definitely get a 5-star from you! :) Coming in a few weeks, v2.0 will feature a fully MVC-skinnable theme and lots of switches to adapt content output.

2010-09-08
Reviews: 5
I got the Pro version, i'm very satisfied. Extremely simple to install and configure, many styles to use, it works perfectly on my site.
Thank you guys, excellent piece of work!!
2010-08-10
Reviews: 4
useful, great plugin. simple and easy to use. looks great!
2010-07-26
Reviews: 1
a nice gallery, so easy!

The PRO version is great! I'm a costumer and I'm so happy with the gallery with text and captions.
2010-06-09
Reviews: 1
I am making my site, it's images website. And i tried to use Simgallery, it's better than i need. Easy to use, manage. Good layout, and easy to integrate it with other solution.
I will test more to find other nice point of this gallery. But up to now, i really like it.I recommend this extension A++.
2010-05-16
Reviews: 3
It's requires mootool 1.2 but most of the Joomla Templates are written with Mootool 1.1. So, had an incompatability problem it getting it working.

Had look forward to the JoomSocial and SimGallery intergtation :(
Owner's reply

It does not require Mootools 1.2. It works with Mootools 1.1, the one built into Joomla!.

2010-05-01
Reviews: 1
i missed, that it allowes "subtitles" (descriptions) of every image.

So we modified it – look here:
http://forum.joomlaworks.gr/index.php?topic=11128.0#top_subject

good luck
2010-04-15
Reviews: 2
Great plug in, but can't believe there is no photo caption. If nothing else it should at least show the file name!
Ability to resizing the image would be a great add-on as well.
2010-03-14
Reviews: 1
I do like this simple plugin.
Before correcting one buggy variable on the line 83 of jwsig.php, it used to write an error notice.
But once this is corrected, it works just fine!
Nice work! Thanks!
2010-02-25
Reviews: 4
Good, my rating because of the lack of photo caption feature but other than that this is a very nice tool! thank you! Installation was easy and so was the configuration.
2010-02-25
Reviews: 1
This plugin is indeed extremely simple and easy to use. At first glance I liked it very much.

Later on I encoutered Mootools errors that seemed to origin from the old (or modified?) mootools.js that is included with this plugin. Including a library that comes default with Joomla seems not reasonable to me.
Page 5 of 12