The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Simple Image Gallery Popular Plugin

*** New version 3 released, now compatible with Joomla! 1.5 to 3.x ***

Adding image galleries inside your Joomla! articles is now super-easy and simple, using the magical "Simple Image Gallery" plugin for Joomla!.

The plugin can turn any folder of images located inside your Joomla! website into a grid-style image gallery with cool lightbox previews. And all that using a simple plugin tag like {gallery}myphotos{/gallery}.

So for example, if we have a folder called "my_trip_to_Paris" located in images/stories/my_trip_to_Paris, then we can create our gallery by simply entering the tag {gallery}my_trip_to_Paris{/gallery} into some Joomla! article.

The galleries created are presented as a grid of image thumbnails. When your visitors click on a thumbnail, they see the original image in a lightbox popup. The thumbnails are generated and cached using PHP for better results.

So let's briefly see what are the main advantages of using Simple Image Gallery: a) You don't need to have an additional gallery component to display a few images, b) you don't need to tell your visitors "to see our photos from Paris click here" and c) you focus more on content writing and less on administering the images!

The plugin is ideal for news portals wanting to display some product images, for example, inside their articles. Or for people who quickly wanna show their summer vacation pictures. With Simple Image Gallery, you can have as many galleries as you want inside each article.

Please note that if you want to create a gallery from a subfolder located inside your "image gallery root folder", simply adjust the plugin syntax to reflect the remaining path (after your set "root folder"), e.g. {gallery}folder/subfolder/othersubfolder{/gallery}. Make sure you write the path to your target folder without any slashes at the beginning or the end of your path.

You can see a demo of the plugin here:
http://demo.joomlaworks.net/simple-image-gallery

Simple Image Gallery is a Joomla! plugin developed by JoomlaWorks, released under the GNU General Public License.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-04-20
Reviews: 31
i absolutely love this extension.. it is perfect, simple and so easy to use.

i was looking all over the place for a module to put galleries into my articles and this did the job perfectly. what can i say, it even looks great too!

and to top it off, it's free.. i really must say that this extension is one of a kind and i'm so grateful to have stumbled upon it.

thank you so much!
2009-03-31
Reviews: 1
I like the plugin a lot. Simple to use and visually stunning. The only thing I'd liek to see fixed is the issue of rendering teh title, which includes HTML markup code within the attribute value :(

Despite that - great plugin!
2009-02-26
Reviews: 2
easy, efficient, flexible....i am a joomla newbie but i can totally understand how it works...just create a folder under Joomla stories.....go back to your content and put {gallery} name of your folder {/gallery}.....wolla....Great work !!
2009-02-18
Reviews: 1
just what i needed! easy to configure, simple in use, directory based. Thanks
2009-02-13
Reviews: 1
The good, it's ridiculously simple to install and use.
The bad, the pictures can't be saved, they are displayed in alphabetical order, and mixing landscape and portrait pictures looks a bit messy.
Overall still very positive ...
2009-01-22
Reviews: 1
This is a great product with easy implementation. If it has any flaw it is that on my site the other images rotating randomly appear as you navigate through the site. I'm still trying to find out why, but I'm sure its something within the configuration of my site, or maybe just a firefox issue.
2009-01-11
Reviews: 2
Not a lot of customization available, but keep in mind this product is FREE. Extremely easy to install and use!
2008-12-26
Reviews: 11
It is my pleasure to rate and review this incredible plug-in.

I have to tell you that I have tried all the extensions in the gallery, before using Simple Image Gallery.

They all were buggy, did not install correctly, impossible to customize and so on.

I'm pleased to have this plug-in on my site. It is so simple to install, configure .. and to post galleries with it.

THANK YOU!
2008-12-11
Reviews: 1
I've installed the extension today. Works right away and does what it is supposed to do.
psa
2008-11-18
Reviews: 1
I installed it in one of my sites. Then I bought the pro version. Amazing how simple and efficient it is. Hope it will get slightly more config options and that navigations buttons will be out of the pictures for all the different lay out.
In conclusion : perfectible, but great job!
2008-11-16
Reviews: 1
It's really easy to setup. Their are very less setting to customize, which is a shame. It would be nice if a user clicks on a thumbnail would also have the option to download the original file, instead of only viewing it.
2008-11-09
Reviews: 5
Thank you for making it so easy and simple, great wow wonderful
2008-10-23
Reviews: 6
Simple to install. Simple to use. Very flexible. Way more flexible than the galleries, for instance. Allows to show pictures inside an article.
Perfect.
Thanks bunches.
2008-10-15
Reviews: 3
Great addon and very simple to use.
2008-10-09
Reviews: 5
Simple and easy gallery. The layout is plain and basic - there are fancier galleries out their for free - but SIG allows you multiple galleries within your images directory, and you can use the Joomla media manager to upload the photos.

So I'm being honest here and giving this an average rating. (sick of people giving everything an excellent rating - it wastes everyones time).

What really bugs me is all the advertising you need to wade through to see a the real demo of this extension. Most of the stuff you need to pay for. I've looked at this extension before and left it alone after getting peeved off with the adds and high level marketing.
2008-10-03
Reviews: 6
i was looking for an image gallery wich was very easy to use for users who has no skills with joomla.

just tried this one and it works great.
just upload a folder whit images, insert 1 line into the content, witch direct to this folder, and it works. I love this one

thanks
2008-09-29
Reviews: 1
Once I figured out that to install the plug-in I needed to use the mambot installation tool it was very easy to get working. In a few minutes I had my first article with gallery posted, then made decisions about resizing photos before upload and thumbnail settings on the mambot edit page. Easy to use and seems fine to me. Probably the easiest item I've added to the site I work on in three years.
Thanks!
2008-09-02
Reviews: 7
It's quick, easy and straightforward. Shame about the html code appearing in the alt and title fields but was able to change these in the code. Nice background gradient on the thumbnails.
2008-07-27
Reviews: 9
This is very neat and clean!
It does what it says, no worrying about having to publish or organize your images - just upload it to your directory, but one simple line in your article and there you go!

I built a large gallery using joomla content section and categorys with articles being the gallery directorys. I works flawlessly and very simple!
The only thing I wish the free version should have added once, is pagination for really large folders! Add this, and it will be an 5stars plug-in!
2008-07-09
Reviews: 3
I have used this a couple of times and it does what is says.
Simple to install, only one small line of code to put on the artical page {gallery}myphotos{/gallery}, upload the images and you are done.

If you want to show images quickly and easily this is for you.
Page 7 of 12