The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Simple Image Gallery Popular Plugin

*** New version 3 released, now compatible with Joomla! 1.5 to 3.x ***

Adding image galleries inside your Joomla! articles is now super-easy and simple, using the magical "Simple Image Gallery" plugin for Joomla!.

The plugin can turn any folder of images located inside your Joomla! website into a grid-style image gallery with cool lightbox previews. And all that using a simple plugin tag like .

So for example, if we have a folder called "my_trip_to_Paris" located in images/stories/my_trip_to_Paris, then we can create our gallery by simply entering the tag into some Joomla! article.

The galleries created are presented as a grid of image thumbnails. When your visitors click on a thumbnail, they see the original image in a lightbox popup. The thumbnails are generated and cached using PHP for better results.

So let's briefly see what are the main advantages of using Simple Image Gallery: a) You don't need to have an additional gallery component to display a few images, b) you don't need to tell your visitors "to see our photos from Paris click here" and c) you focus more on content writing and less on administering the images!

The plugin is ideal for news portals wanting to display some product images, for example, inside their articles. Or for people who quickly wanna show their summer vacation pictures. With Simple Image Gallery, you can have as many galleries as you want inside each article.

Please note that if you want to create a gallery from a subfolder located inside your "image gallery root folder", simply adjust the plugin syntax to reflect the remaining path (after your set "root folder"),. Make sure you write the path to your target folder without any slashes at the beginning or the end of your path.

You can see a demo of the plugin here:
http://demo.joomlaworks.net/simple-image-gallery

Simple Image Gallery is a Joomla! plugin developed by JoomlaWorks, released under the GNU General Public License.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-06-12
Reviews: 2
The good news is that this is a simple easy-to-install and easy-to-use component. The bad news is it has lots of bugs and some design flaws that make it not very intuitive to the end user.

The bugs are:
-file names of the photos in your gallery cannot have any capital letters or it will crash.

-depending on which style you choose some will display photos incompletely with half the photo not appearing at all if you move your mouse out of the frame. If you move your mouse into the frame the photo will appear in its entirety but then you have to look at the navigation buttons.

-sometimes the close button disappears (on the lytebox setting) and then users don't know how to get out of the show.

design flaws:
-navigation!! Every single end user complained that it's not intuitive as to how to move to the next slide. This could be solved by having the next and previous buttons appear by default for the first few seconds and then disappearing until the user mouses over them again. Or better yet, take them out of the picture window entirely and put them down in the caption area.

-it'd be nice if vertical photos could have their captions displayed NEXT to them instead of underneath them. Displaying the caption underneath vertical photos makes the viewer have to scroll down to see it.

All in all I'd say it's not a bad component but it's not worth buying the pro version.
bbw
2008-05-29
Reviews: 7
needed a simple, quick no frills way to display a bunch of images wherever I wanted them to be... It worked first time around and I use it frequently now... a good alternative if Gallery or similar is overkill for your needs...
2008-05-09
Reviews: 3
This is a great plugin, but when i installed it on Joomla 1.5 stable - it did not work for some reason, so i had to download another plugin to make it work. Once I have installed another plugin, it looked and worked well. But there was another down side, that there is no order of pictures unfortunately...
2008-05-01
Reviews: 6
The installation of this mambot was very easy and without any fiddling it just works, saving me lots of time and now I am able to show my visitors so many more photos than I would usuall be able to do due to time constraints.

Thank you very much for this extention
2008-05-01
Reviews: 3
I have used this on a couple of sites now and on my first commercial (non-intranet) site and I'm impressed - it does just what it should with no tweaking.
2008-04-29
Reviews: 1
hi
this mambot works fine with firefox, but not with IE7. It will only generate the backgrounds of the thumbnails, or it will put the thumbnails just anywhere on the screen, but not on the backgrounds...

too bad ... its a nice mambot... any ideas of how to fix this for IE7 ?
2008-04-19
Reviews: 1
Installation was really straightforward. Use the Mambot Installer, then it's all done. Drop images into folders in the right place and then a few words in the content. Finished. Took me 15 minutes from "I'll give this a try' to looking at photos on the webpage.
2008-03-05
Reviews: 1
I've been using Joomla for just over a week. I know nothing about Unix and PHP is a closed book. Yet I managed to get this installed and working in just over 15 minutes.

It installs as a Mambot flawlessly, I had to reset the ownership on the directories and files and then figure out that when you are told to write {gallery}directory{/gallery} you don't need to put any more path information than that.

One small issue (and it may be me). If you upload an image and create a content item that uses it, then overwrite the image (say, with a smaller version) you have to re-open and then save the content item to see the new version.

If you still aren't sure; give it a go - you'll soon see how simple Simple Image Gallery is.
2008-03-03
Reviews: 2
Great extension to go with your photo galleries. "Simple Image Gallery" As it says. Recommend for everyone.
http://www.joomlaworks.gr is one the outstanding Joomla Extensions developers.
2008-02-29
Reviews: 1
I have yet to see anything out there that even come close to the SIG.

Easy to get up and running.

Enough options (who needs 100s)

Does the job and does it well
2008-02-13
Reviews: 3
Download the pictures into a directory, create your story and add

{gallery}image_directory{/gallery}

to your story. That's it. Thumbnails are automatically created and displayed. Clicking on the left or right side of the picture advances to the next or previous picture. User interface is obvious and well thought out.

Directions and documentation is excellent. However, there are some minor limitations:

* No picture order: The pictures are displayed in alphanumeric order. You can't specify the order.
* No resizing: Thumbnails are created automatically, but the picture images display as actual size. We had to resize our images because they were too big.
* No comments. Only the file name is displayed.
* No layout options in the thumbnail gallery. Thumbnails are displayed depending upon the width of the webpage.
* Can take a while to load. Thumbnails are created on the fly.

Obvious you can't use this for a site that is selling paintings, but for most sites, this works great.I'm quite happy with it.
2008-02-06
Reviews: 1
Just the one for novices and works so intelligently...

Great work keep it up!!!

Senthilkumar
2008-02-01
Reviews: 4
Pros
1. Good, clean code
2. Nice layout
3. Easy installation
4. Plenty of documentation

Cons
1. There can only be one image caption, which is displayed for all images.
2008-01-07
Reviews: 1
Just as most of these posts state... This is aesome and easy to use o a begginer like me. After messing with a half dozen others, I found this to be the gallery tool for me. Administering my site is more than enough with out having to think about a gallery. Thank You Guys!

Now for the Bad part, Dont know where the conflict lies but Anywhere an album is my tabbed rokslide goes out whack. Any Ideas??

Ron Nava
2007-12-31
Reviews: 1
I've installed and start to use so easy that it amazed me!
Do everything it says, is simple, easy to use and light.

To improve the bot, who needs the gallery on multi-lingual site, you can edit the files:
/yoursitepath/mambots/content/plugin_jw_sig.php: line 70
#else {$html .= ''.$images[$a]['filename'].'';}
This line shows the image filename. I just deleted this one, because this name can be anything that a "dumb" user may not know.
One more thing here, I wrote the image counting ("Image # of ##") here on PHP, because I can't translate it on slimbox.js. I've add:
$html .= _IMAGE.' '.($a+1).' '._OF.' '.$noimage;
** The _IMAGE and _OF are set on your site languages.

On the file:
/yoursitepath/mambots/content/plugin_jw_sig/slimbox.js: line 138
#this.number.setHTML((this.images.length == 1) ? '' : 'Image '+(this.activeImage+1)+' of '+this.images.length);
I've just deleted this one too.

Then, to the site languages, by the backend menu:
Site > Language Manager > Site Languages

Add these lines on every language:
/** Simple Image Gallery **/
DEFINE('_IMAGE','Image');
DEFINE('_OF','of');

Thanks for this great bot!
2007-10-20
Reviews: 1
Simple, like the name says!,and easy in use and beautiful results!
2007-10-17
Reviews: 1
Easy to use, works well, but...

If I have lots of large images in a gallery then creating the thumbnails is very slow. Saving the thumbnails the first time they are created or being able to use my own would help (e.g., if tn_ exists use it instead).
2007-10-10
Reviews: 1
Simply and excellent. Great work!
Easy to install, supports different encodings; nice look... Suitable for my needs.
2007-10-04
Reviews: 1
Having struggled with other Ajax based extensions not working in IE and no work arounds to be found it was with some trepidation that I downloaded and installed Simple Image Gallery.

My fears were completely unfounded! The plug-in worked like a dream from the moment I installed it! I cannot tell you how impressed I am at the ease of adding multiple galleries/images to single pages (including the frontpage) of my joomla sites!

Once the site is live and the client has paid I will gladly donate or purchase the pro version. Please keep up the great work and now I want to go explore the other extensions you have created!

This is one completely satisfied user.
2007-09-29
Reviews: 2
This gallery is really simple to use, and with a really good interface.

My complains are it lacks of some basic useful features:

1- add a description (best would be to have the description both under the thumbnail and under the image when it is shown at full size) that allows to put a link to download the original image as well!

How am I supposed to name and identify the images for the user? The same for download them.

...this makes it a singular "mute" gallery! :P

2- maybe this is not a gallery duty, but I would like to show just one defined image in some case, not the whole directory.
Some kind of: "{ gallery }folder/image.jpg { /gallery }"

Currently it seems these basic features aren't even included in the PRO version... Otherwise I would buy it.
Page 8 of 12