The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Simple Image Gallery Popular Plugin

*** New version 3 released, now compatible with Joomla! 1.5 to 3.x ***

Adding image galleries inside your Joomla! articles is now super-easy and simple, using the magical "Simple Image Gallery" plugin for Joomla!.

The plugin can turn any folder of images located inside your Joomla! website into a grid-style image gallery with cool lightbox previews. And all that using a simple plugin tag like .

So for example, if we have a folder called "my_trip_to_Paris" located in images/stories/my_trip_to_Paris, then we can create our gallery by simply entering the tag into some Joomla! article.

The galleries created are presented as a grid of image thumbnails. When your visitors click on a thumbnail, they see the original image in a lightbox popup. The thumbnails are generated and cached using PHP for better results.

So let's briefly see what are the main advantages of using Simple Image Gallery: a) You don't need to have an additional gallery component to display a few images, b) you don't need to tell your visitors "to see our photos from Paris click here" and c) you focus more on content writing and less on administering the images!

The plugin is ideal for news portals wanting to display some product images, for example, inside their articles. Or for people who quickly wanna show their summer vacation pictures. With Simple Image Gallery, you can have as many galleries as you want inside each article.

Please note that if you want to create a gallery from a subfolder located inside your "image gallery root folder", simply adjust the plugin syntax to reflect the remaining path (after your set "root folder"),. Make sure you write the path to your target folder without any slashes at the beginning or the end of your path.

You can see a demo of the plugin here:
http://demo.joomlaworks.net/simple-image-gallery

Simple Image Gallery is a Joomla! plugin developed by JoomlaWorks, released under the GNU General Public License.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2007-09-09
Reviews: 1
This is an excellent for putting a gallery into content items. Is there a way for it to work with contacts?
2007-09-02
Reviews: 1
I´ve tried quite a few gallery extensions and finally sticked with this one. Two great things here are: very easy image management (just ftp images to a folder and write the given code in the content); great look! Quite proud to finally get the right solution. Thumbs up, you greeks!!!
2007-08-31
Reviews: 19
Really nice gallery! Easy to install, easy to add galleries to content items. I liked it so much I went & bought Simple Image Gallery Pro. Well worth the money for the added features. Thanks!
2007-08-31
Reviews: 1
Simple to install, very easy to use, looks great!
2007-08-04
Reviews: 1
This is a sweet plug-in. Just like all allvideos plug-in, it works the first time. I have spent the last couple days looking for a nice simple gallery. I don't think I'm stupid, but I could not manage many other gallery components and modules. They all try and be "easy" with the admin upload section for photos, but I just can't get those to work. Easier for me to just put the photos on my server myself. And the upload would never work for me. But, Simple Image Gallery is simple and sweet! One question, my thumbnails are showing up. They are just little white squares. Any help would be great!
2007-08-02
Reviews: 2
What this module does is so simple, it is easy to install and the results are great. This must be one of the easiest ways to add a simple gallery to your site. Well worth a look and thanks to the developers.
2007-07-26
Reviews: 1
Simple Image Gallery is almost perfect.

I wished somebody would create a component version of this, in that you can upload and edit galleries while editing your article but nevertheless this works great.

Thank you people for thinking this.
2007-07-05
Reviews: 3
I am using the PRO version of this Mambot and I have to say, after searching and trying about 5 different galleries (all had conflicts with other components/modules/mambots!) this one works and is very slick looking. Took me no time at all to install, configure and get a very sleek looking gallery! Kudos and thanks!
2007-06-28
Reviews: 1
I and some others have the problem that if you use this plugin and their video plugin on the fontpage at the same time, it generates an error when you open your site in IE.

Their is no solution yet but for who has the same problem visit this thread where hopefully the solution will be posted soon:
http://forum.joomlaworks.gr/index.php?topic=382.0

I Need to say one more thing:

KEEP UP MAKING THESE GREAT PLUGINS!!
2007-06-27
Reviews: 6
installs quickly, pretty simple to get running - SIG PRO really is the Pip, though as it adds captions which are VERY cool...
2007-06-26
Reviews: 1
Well, it was easy to install, the description is great.
And it works really nice!

Thank you!

Tamas
from Budapest, Hungary
2007-06-22
Reviews: 1
After testing and reviewing several different gallery extensions I tried Simple Image Gallery (in content items). It is simple (not a lot of configuration), and doesn't provide for resizing full size images (had to do that in Photoshop), but works smoothly and perfectly.

This extension creates a standard "photo album" style layout with litebox features! Perfect!

Thanks!
2007-06-13
Reviews: 1
This is the perfect tool it's just what I needed. Something to allow me to easily insert images into an article without the need for using photoshop. Saves lots of time and looks extremely professional.

I wanted to test the functionality of the Mambot first so I installed the free version and love it. So much so I'll probably buy other items like this from the same developers.

Thanks for providing such a great tool. If I had a spare $20 right now (pay day tomorrow) i'd buy the commercial release.

5/5 stars only has a couple of minor issues with XHTML coding which causes my HTML Tidy program in Firefox to show a couple of warnings nothing major though.
2007-06-04
Reviews: 1
Worked perfectly the first time! Well documented forums for other tweaks as well!

A+
2007-05-20
Reviews: 3
I tried the free "SIG" and while it worked, I had several issues (check the forum on the joomlaworks site). I loved the bot and decided to upgrade as perhaps it would fix some issues, and it did. the "pro" version is 12E (about $16 US) and it comes with several image libraries. I found that Litebox (MooFX) worked best. Plus the captions look really nice in the Pro version as well.

My 'average' vote here is for the SIG standard, I would give 'above average' rating to the pro version.
2007-05-10
Reviews: 2
Your plugin is very nice! I appreciate the easyness of your simple image gallery, and still it looks very professional.

I am wondering why some pixels of the bottom of the pictures are cut?

Thank you very much! I will recommend your site...
2007-04-27
Reviews: 1
In my experience, JoomlaWorks just release good things
the only feature i like to see in the next version is a description for each photo, anything else, and congratulations

Juanhck
2007-03-22
Reviews: 1
Installed "Simple Image Gallery" Plugin from JoomlaWorks, and ...it really works! Absolutely no installation problems, a real advantage for my new webstite.
Keep up the good work!
2007-03-19
Reviews: 11
I don't think that this review will be much help to anyone....I had no problems installing or using. It does what I want with excellent results!
Great product! Great work!!
Thanks and thanks again,
Jim
2007-03-15
Reviews: 1
I absolutely love this plugin. First of all it is extremely convenient to use when you have a folder with many images in it and you need to post them quickly and wholesale. With only one set of tags--{gallery}folder path{/gallery}--you can post an entire folder of images, which are automatically thumbnailed perfectly. Very elegant-looking. Image thumbnails load quickly. Great plugin. We use this plugin to post company holiday and event pictures on our intranet portal. Thanks to developer!
Page 9 of 12