The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Very Simple Image Gallery Popular Plugin

The "Very Simple Image Gallery" Plugin for Joomla!1.5, 2.5 and 3.x is a downgrade of the ingenious plugin "Simple Image Gallery" from Fotis Evangelou und George Chouliaras back to a "Web 1.0" gallery. The modified version comes without a lightbox, the plugin shows one large image, followed by thumbnails.

- supports .jpg, .png und .gif
- can be aligned in your content item left, right, centered, float left or float right
- thumbnails optional below, left or right of the main image
- optional split galleries into multiple sets
- as many galleries per content item as you want
- every gallery can be configured individually (Parameter Overrides)
- optional show title and/or text with every single picture (Captions)
- optional show default title/text for the whole gallery
- optional link every single image to a different target (Links)
- optional use a default link for the whole gallery
- optional link the image to the original image file
- scale thumbnails optional proportionally or cropped
- works with and without JavaScript
- does not require a JavaScript Framework (Mootools, JQery)!
- change main image onClick or onHover

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2010-02-19
Reviews: 1
After many hours of internet search for the perfect image gallery... Found it! Very Simple Image Gallery! Worked as advertised. Installed in minutes, I loaded images and added the link into an article and Voila! the site is up with a clean, elegantly designed gallery. And many thanks for your clear documentation! Great job for a great product!
2010-02-17
Reviews: 2
An excellent & "very simple" image Gallery to set up. Thanks to Andreas for his quick and responsive support :)
2010-02-01
Reviews: 3
This plugin does exactly what it describes. It looks great and is super easy to install and configure.

Thank you!
2010-01-11
Reviews: 14
Thanks for this great and 'very simple' to use extension.
It's working just fine, and I'm looking at the comments page on it's site to get some final adjustments.

Congratulations for all the joomla folks.
2010-01-10
Reviews: 30
Excellente, great plugin, very very very good, thanks.
2010-01-03
Reviews: 2
I very rarely write reviews but felt this Joomla plugin deserves major accolade. As a relative Joomla newbie I find that the whole Joomla system is both amazing and also challenging in equal measures.

Sometimes you can very quickly do what you need to on a Joomla website saving a lot of programming time. Other times you are battling against nonsensical or no instructions with Joomla extensions, or difficult CSS styling issues thrown up by extensions not matching the styling which you have created.

This plugin however is an absolute joy, and not just because it quite simply works brilliantly. It is down to the programming skill of Andreas and also in equal measure the accompanying instructions which the majority of other extensions lack or try and charge support fees for (and even then the instructions are not as good as these). The instructions are simple, understandable, well laid out, and more importantly do not assume that the user knows fully how Joomla works.

Very well done A+++
2009-12-16
Reviews: 21
This was so easy to use I just couldn't believe it. Best of all it is so simple to use I can let the administrator add and change their own pictures in the file without any risk of them messing it up. Well done, excellent plugin.
Kos
2009-12-05
Reviews: 4
Great little plugin this. I wanted to have thumbnails against my article in a blog layout. The best thing about this plugin, is once its setup (which doesn't take long) I can just add the image in the article and boom! Its perfectly setup in the list. Better still the image is linkable and people can still expand it to check it out. Thanks for a great plugin.
dpv
2009-11-24
Reviews: 2
Very nice, easy to use. An excellent option when not interested in using lightbox effect.
I just have one suggestion (or a request, maybe...)
It would be very useful to have an easier way to add captions and links to the images; i.e.: a txt file containing data for the entire folder.
Besides that, everything is perfect. Congratulations!
2009-11-14
Reviews: 1
The Plugin is very simple to install and configure and the step by step tutorial is crisp and easy to follow.
Thank You !
2009-11-06
Reviews: 1
This was a fantastic plugin. It really is really easy to use. Simple and effective.

Check it out on my website. It's only simple but effective.

I did this in less than an hour...
2009-10-21
Reviews: 2
This plugin lives up to it's name, it realy is very simpel, and better still.. it's looks great.

Good work
2009-10-15
Reviews: 4
This extension is so easy to use and the output looks great! This extension lives up to its name--very simple image gallery.

Thank you for taking the time to create a very detailed set of instructions, as a Joomla beginner, I greatly appreciate the fact that in under 15 minutes I was able to create a beautiful image gallery for my site.
2009-09-01
Reviews: 1
Very easy to install and use with very good documentation.
Looks good and works well.
It was just what I was looking for.
Thanks!
2009-08-26
Reviews: 13
A great plugin with least config possible, lightbox effect will make it complete.

Thanks
2009-08-25
Reviews: 5
This is an easy plugin to use and is great for my purpose which is something that can be implemented quickly, easily and still looks good..

just make sure that when you reference the image in the syntax {} to use exactly the same file extension, ie .JPG or .jpg not one or the other. I was using .jpg and my captions weren't loading.. realised my images were .JPG and changed them and now working like a charm..

I can't wait for the developer to add a few more viewing styles which can easily be added into the syntax..

great work
2009-08-16
Reviews: 1
I confess I was not sure this worked but it does and does look very nice. Besides offering a lot of options from the menu it lets you choose some more writting a bit of code with each different gallery, allosing you to have different sized galleries in your site

If you like to write content and have images within, this is one of the best ways to go - and believe me I've tried different solutions. I like the way you can set your galleries fast.

And besides all that support seems to be great. Had some trouble with the frame around the images and my template css and Andreas Berger got back to me - even during the weekend - sending me the code to get everything working. Thanks.

This is the way to go if you need a gallery. If in doubt check the galleries in my site, at www.joseantunes.com. Look for Editorial and Galeria in the top menu.
2009-08-11
Reviews: 4
This is a great plugin....now if we could just get the Lightbox effect on the main displayed image.... :)
2009-08-11
Reviews: 1
This plugin seems very nice. I have installed it on my website it is looking very nice on web page.
2009-08-10
Reviews: 4
I always admire those who put a lot of thoughts into their work. The author of this plugin is no exception. Easy to install, easy use, an image by by image screen captured documentation. What more can you ask for? And it is for free. Thank you.
Page 4 of 5