The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Very Simple Image Gallery Popular Plugin

The "Very Simple Image Gallery" Plugin for Joomla!1.5, 2.5 and 3.x is a downgrade of the ingenious plugin "Simple Image Gallery" from Fotis Evangelou und George Chouliaras back to a "Web 1.0" gallery. The modified version comes without a lightbox, the plugin shows one large image, followed by thumbnails.

- supports .jpg, .png und .gif
- can be aligned in your content item left, right, centered, float left or float right
- thumbnails optional below, left or right of the main image
- optional split galleries into multiple sets
- as many galleries per content item as you want
- every gallery can be configured individually (Parameter Overrides)
- optional show title and/or text with every single picture (Captions)
- optional show default title/text for the whole gallery
- optional link every single image to a different target (Links)
- optional use a default link for the whole gallery
- optional link the image to the original image file
- scale thumbnails optional proportionally or cropped
- works with and without JavaScript
- does not require a JavaScript Framework (Mootools, JQery)!
- change main image onClick or onHover

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-07-28
Reviews: 36
very simple, and tutorial for dummies ... I think everybody can make this work, congratulations!
2009-07-26
Reviews: 3
I liked this plug-in alot. True it was simple and had many features. I had many problems on which folders to upload and not. For some reason some folders it would let them be viewed while others it would simply complain. Though the case seemed to be size - the problem wasn't exactly in the size... the module didnt say much rather gave me a couple a numbers.

Some folders though has I hight MB worked and some that had lower didn't work. In the very end I had to search for another module!
Owner's reply

@Ruminiki24
I'm sorry to hear that.

@all
I'm happy about everyone who reviews and rates one of my extensions. Besides of this, I encourage everybody who has problems to ask for support at bretteleben.de. It does not take more time than it takes to write a review - but it can save you time (e.g. dealing with "a couple of numbers"). I'm just a one-man show and I cannot promise to solve every problem but up till now no question remained unanswered.

Best regards
Andreas Berger

2009-07-20
Reviews: 3
An easy and configurable way to get your images into an article. Output looks clean and uncluttered. Default options are set in the plug-in menu while overrides are allowed per included instance within the article. Assuming content editors can set up image folders and upload their own images to it, then this plug-in then makes it easy for non-expert content editors to have a gallery appear in their articles. These guys have a slew of other little image extensions and the other one I used (the CSS one) made use of the same folders which was handy.

I had an issue to begin with and the developers were very responsive and helped me to troubleshoot.

One thing that would be nice would be an optional full-screen preview button perhaps discreetly placed in the corner of the image. However, other extensions from other developers that I tried that had such an option were in other ways less appropriate to my site.

Thanks very much for developing this plug-in!
2009-07-11
Reviews: 3
Hi

I have tried some components but your component is that I'm searching for.

Great component
Easy to install

Thank you!
2009-04-28
Reviews: 6
After 2 days learing to install Joomla and making my first complete site, I needed an image gallery.
I went for Very Simple Image Gallery, and I was amazed who effective this litle plugin was. It was just what I needed and Easy to config. Ok than; thanks to the step by step documentation.
2009-04-05
Reviews: 1
Dear bljoomla,
I must thank you for sharing your wonderfully simple gallery with the world - for free.

I've tried a couple of flash galleries but I just can't get them to work properly. Quite few of them can't event let me use ftp to upload photos to a folder and do up the gallery from there.

Your "simple" gallery does all that and works like charm. The only thing I realised is that I think the file names can't be too long or contain funny signs like this one: '.

All in all, I think you wrote a great software and because of your gallery, I am convinced that I've made the right choice to move on from wordpress + gallery, now i only need to use joomla + your plugin.

Please continue to do up great software like this for the community.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!
gjc
2009-03-03
Reviews: 1
I've looked all over Joomla for a gallery that refreshed the page with every new photo because i want the page impressions and this is the only one that worked right of the box.

I would have given it five stars if there was a way to caption to each photo. that's the only thing missing.
2009-02-25
Reviews: 1
I tried several image display extensions before this one. This is extremely simple to use and the end result is both attractive and friendly for the user viewing the images. I use it to display product images. I like that the developer keeps the extension simple, attractive and functional. And he seems to update it pretty regularly. Thank you for an excellent piece of engineering!
2009-02-13
Reviews: 1
The new version saved my day! I used the VSIG for a while on my own site, where I do the file management through an FTP client. But I installed it on someone else's page an ran into the permissions problem, because they do everything through the Joomla Media Manager.

After trying to make work-arounds for 4 hours, I found out that this problem was allready fixed by the creator by request on the post below. (Joomla should get an update notification feature :-)

I like this plug-in because it is no-nonsense, light and very easy to visually tweak through CSS. The FTP layer is an incredible improvement.

I do have one feature-request:

It would be very nice to have an editor button to insert the code. So n00b-users can easily select the right folder in images/stories. Even cooler (and quicker) would be to also manage the file upload through that button. So users can choose an existing folder or upload images to a new one.
2009-01-21
Reviews: 2
Great, functional and very simple plugin!

My only problem (in a Apache/PLESK environment) is the folder rights when the plugin is creating folders and thumbs. As a feature request, it would be very nice if the plugin could use the FTP layer in Joomla! 1.5

I very much like the simplicity and fact that "Very Simple Image Gallery" is NOT using LightBox. LightBox is great for showing portfolios etc. But for a quick view at some product images, LightBox is just to slow!

Also a good “how to” page is available.
Owner's reply

Hi ropet4!

I tried to use the Joomla-Framework (and this way the FTP-Layer) with the current Version 1.1.2. Maybe you want to have a look at it.

Kind Regards
Andreas

2009-01-19
Reviews: 1
There are not enough extensions which would allow searchengines to index pictures. I tried Very Simple Image Gallery, pictures are indexed. Nice!
Page 5 of 5