The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


RSGallery2 Popular Component

= RSGallery2 3.2.0 and 2.3.0 released =
The RSGallery2 team is pleased to announce the release of RSGallery2 3.2.0 for Joomla 2.5.x and RSGallery2 2.3.0 for Joomla 1.5.x. These are security releases, users are advised to upgrade immediately.

A special thank you goes to Stergios Kolios (ster [dot] kolios [at] gmail [dot] com) who reported the security issues and was so kind to offer his help and expertise.


= Description =
RSGallery2 is a full featured, easy to use, highly customisable, gallery component for Joomla!

Users can upload their images via frontend and backend, via single file upload, batch upload or ftp upload. Galleries containing images can have as many (nested) subgalleries as you want. Galleries and images can be moved around easily. Three graphics libraries, used to make display and thumbnail images, are supported: GD2, ImageMagick and Netpbm. Images can have a watermark. Images can be regenerated after the settings for display image size and thumbnail image size are changed. The site administrator can set permissions for usergroups to be allowed to upload images, create galleries, edit, delete, (un)publish both images and galleries, vote and comment on images, just like the permissions for Joomla core components are set. View access for galleries can be set by the site administrator just like view acces for Joomla Categories. The look and feel can be customised by creating your own RSGallery2 templates.

RSGallery2 has been around since the Mambo days and was originally developed by Ronald Smit. Since then, RSGallery2 has evolved into what it is nowadays.

Support/discussions: www.rsgallery2.nl!

RSGallery2 has always been a free extension and will always be a free extension! We're all volunteers!


= Upgrade instructions =
Create a full backup of your files and database, as always before making changes to your site.
Note: upgrade will automatically overwrite all RSGallery2 system files, but it will leave your images untouched. So if you made any changes to the templates that are shipped with RSGallery2 they will be overwritten! You either have to backup the template or redo any custom changes after upgrading. Also, the comments in the database will be converted from BBCode format to HTML format.

On Joomla 2.5
Go to the Backend > Extensions > Install/Uninstall > Browse… (find the downloaded file) > Click Upload File & Install

On Joomla 1.5
Go to Joomla's Backend > Extensions > Install/Uninstall > Browse to package file... > Upload File & Install

= Instructions for new installation of RSGallery2 =
Create a full backup of your files and database, as always before making changes to your site.

On Joomla 2.5:
Backend > Extensions > Extension Manager > Browse... > Upload File & Install

On Joomla 1.5:
Backend > Extensions > Install/Uninstall > Browse to package file... > Upload File & Install


= Changes 3.2.0 and 2.3.0 =
See the "Changes" on the JoomlaCode download pages.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-01-01
Reviews: 8
Pretty good. Managed to get galleries I was happy with quickly. My only comment is that it is a shame that I can't get more sophisticated sub gallery structures. However I am happy with this and it will be my gallery component for the forseeable future on our online magazine. I hope the developers find time to continue working on this to make it everything it can be. I am particularly pleased with the integrated commenting facility with this gallery.
2008-12-16
Reviews: 1
I am a complete novice with Joomla and I had this extension downloaded, uploaded, installed, a gallery created, my images zipped up, batch uploaded, named, and published in less than 10 minutes. I can't believe it. Merry Christmas early!

The only request I would have is the ability to upload multiple files without having to zip them up, but that is such a minor thing. Oh, one other thing would be to make the hit counter unique with the use of a cookie like the voting is.
2008-12-16
Reviews: 1
Thank you RSGallery2 I love you.The very first joomla Gallery component to install , Configure , and work with out me haveing to search the manuals , tutorials, help blogs or tearing what little hair i have left out.
Thanks Again Great Job
2008-12-09
Reviews: 6
This is GREAT extension.

Set up in minutes, uploaded images in seconds, integrated immediately.

There is only some shadow in feature activation ( for example in front end it says I can upload images as user, but I cannot find HOW I can Upload !)

If you are looking for a simple, yet full featured gallery, Here you are! download this extension.
2008-12-04
Reviews: 1
This component is complete. And rough...
Many features are available. The API, though not tested, seems promising.
I have been deploying RSGallery2 for about a year now.
Version 2.0.0 beta 1 works alright. And can be coupled with Joom!Fish 2.0 RC, provided xml declaration files are correctly formatted and named...

The French translation provided is not UTF-8 encoded.

As a summary RSGallery2 is a good component.

JoomFish declaration XML files and French translation files are available at...
2008-09-26
Reviews: 5
A fantastic component. Solid, fast, flexible, great admin features. The true beauty of this component is discovered when you start to play with the templates and tweak them to create a completely original front end look and feel. Developers are consistently moving forward, adding features, fixing bugs. I have used RSgallery2 on many sites.
2008-07-15
Reviews: 5
But with a few minor changes (changing alias to id in the code to eliminate errors), this is working exactly how I hoped it would. Great little component!
2008-07-09
Reviews: 2
I was searching for a photo gallery, and after some tests I have choose to use RSGalllery, it looked like the component I really needed.

After an intensive use of this component I decided I wont use it anymore. There are many bugs, configuration options not working, frontend management is weak,....

Th worst of this compoenent its not having support at all, I mean you go to support forum and you can see nobody has answers!
2008-07-08
Reviews: 3
It is a great module, that will allow you to have comments and voting on its default template. however other templates do not support commenting and voting...
2008-07-02
Reviews: 2
I've tried literally dozens of gallery sites, both internal and external to joomla, and this is by far and away the easiest to use. It works straight out of the box, and within 20 minutes I had 4 galleries uploaded onto my site.

I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to display more than a few pictures in joomla.

It looks like there is constant work being done as well, which is always reassuring! Thank you for such a fantastic product!
2008-06-24
Reviews: 1
I tried every free component for displaying pictures that supports 1.5 and am blown away by how easy and versatile this component is. THANK YOU!
2008-06-20
Reviews: 1
Finally! Something that does exactly what I need and actually works!! I tried four other image gallery products before I finally tried this one and it blows the others out of the water. It worked immediately and I haven't had a single problem. It looks great and is very funtional. I love it.
2008-06-18
Reviews: 4
It's the best choice for Slideshow + Thumbs Gallery for Joomla. Both are in one Main Restangle. There are so much features and templates for customization of the gallery, like Descriptions, Votes, Comments and many, many others.
Thank you very much, guys.
2008-06-16
Reviews: 1
It works for me, i havnt encountered any bugs yet. Even if i do find a bug, the author did say it was beta 1. The previous reviewer gave an unfair review.

In previous versions i havnt been able to change from the default template. Havnt attempted yet with this version.

Thanks the the developer ! All in all its a good component.
2008-06-09
Reviews: 2
The only way I can describe this is frustratingly BUGGY. Nothing works as expected. Forum is silent on MANY issues that have yet to be resolved.

Joomla 1.0 and 1.5 versions errors, bugs and more bugs. Update component and the little that used to work no longer works. Templates are minefields of errors. Gallery display is a hit and miss affair. Navigation goes where it wants to. Commenting is also here today and gone tomorrow.
2008-05-14
Reviews: 5
I appreciate anyone coding GNU/GPL software so, first and foremost, thankyou to the developers.

There probably isn't a better gallery component for users to upload their own photos to your site. Maintenance and backend config features are a plenty.

However, my main gripes are as follows (I am using 1.14.3):

1. Bugs - There are quite a few e.g. the on going lightbox issues. The slideshow_parth issues not showing full images. Issues with descriptions not showing. Templates not installing correctly.

2. You will probably need to change your php.ini as you may well get timeouts.

3. The "support" forum - There are so many unanswered posts! It gives me the feeling that a lot of people are in the same boat with bugs/issues and they are just left to drift.

If you are looking to setup and quick and simple way for users to upload pictures to your site then give it a whirl.

If you are looking for something that will add a bit of WOW factor to your site I would look at something else.
2008-04-17
Reviews: 3
Good, this is what I want, gallery with comment system + rating system + linking url + supportwebsite + smooth operation and even more from what i said, I think this will be a real joomla image gallery when the stable file is released!
2008-04-12
Reviews: 1
This gallery has many bugs and does not work property, and no support on the official forum.
2008-02-26
Reviews: 1
The old version 1.13 was really correct and i thought that RSG2 may become THE gallery for Joomla.
But with the newest version it goes worst to worst. You need a lot of memory in your php config, and you have to change your time limit (wich may not be allowed by your hoster).
Finally there is so much bugs that you can not use it.
2008-02-22
Reviews: 1
RSGallery2 Component is one of the best tool which integrates a powerfull image Gallery system in your joomla website,However it currently in progress to work with joomla 1.5 Natave component,but we can still use it by using Lagecy Mode enable.

Such a good component.
Page 2 of 5