The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


RSGallery2 Popular Component

= RSGallery2 3.2.0 and 2.3.0 released =
The RSGallery2 team is pleased to announce the release of RSGallery2 3.2.0 for Joomla 2.5.x and RSGallery2 2.3.0 for Joomla 1.5.x. These are security releases, users are advised to upgrade immediately.

A special thank you goes to Stergios Kolios (ster [dot] kolios [at] gmail [dot] com) who reported the security issues and was so kind to offer his help and expertise.


= Description =
RSGallery2 is a full featured, easy to use, highly customisable, gallery component for Joomla!

Users can upload their images via frontend and backend, via single file upload, batch upload or ftp upload. Galleries containing images can have as many (nested) subgalleries as you want. Galleries and images can be moved around easily. Three graphics libraries, used to make display and thumbnail images, are supported: GD2, ImageMagick and Netpbm. Images can have a watermark. Images can be regenerated after the settings for display image size and thumbnail image size are changed. The site administrator can set permissions for usergroups to be allowed to upload images, create galleries, edit, delete, (un)publish both images and galleries, vote and comment on images, just like the permissions for Joomla core components are set. View access for galleries can be set by the site administrator just like view acces for Joomla Categories. The look and feel can be customised by creating your own RSGallery2 templates.

RSGallery2 has been around since the Mambo days and was originally developed by Ronald Smit. Since then, RSGallery2 has evolved into what it is nowadays.

Support/discussions: www.rsgallery2.nl!

RSGallery2 has always been a free extension and will always be a free extension! We're all volunteers!


= Upgrade instructions =
Create a full backup of your files and database, as always before making changes to your site.
Note: upgrade will automatically overwrite all RSGallery2 system files, but it will leave your images untouched. So if you made any changes to the templates that are shipped with RSGallery2 they will be overwritten! You either have to backup the template or redo any custom changes after upgrading. Also, the comments in the database will be converted from BBCode format to HTML format.

On Joomla 2.5
Go to the Backend > Extensions > Install/Uninstall > Browse… (find the downloaded file) > Click Upload File & Install

On Joomla 1.5
Go to Joomla's Backend > Extensions > Install/Uninstall > Browse to package file... > Upload File & Install

= Instructions for new installation of RSGallery2 =
Create a full backup of your files and database, as always before making changes to your site.

On Joomla 2.5:
Backend > Extensions > Extension Manager > Browse... > Upload File & Install

On Joomla 1.5:
Backend > Extensions > Install/Uninstall > Browse to package file... > Upload File & Install


= Changes 3.2.0 and 2.3.0 =
See the "Changes" on the JoomlaCode download pages.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2006-10-16
Reviews: 3
With the 1.11.9 update, it works on my joomla now. The last didnt.

SO, no more installation errors if you had that in the prev. version.

Great work.
2006-08-27
Reviews: 1
Great gallery, but one major disadvantage (for me anyway). All images, from no matter what gallery, are stored in one folder. When trying to add a pic to a content item, it's almost impossible to find it among the huge number of other pics.
oak
2006-07-30
Reviews: 2
Yes, it certainly has a potential, I used it [testing] a month.
But there were serious problems - i.e. today I found some categories *disapeared* and I can't edit categories details anymore - it displays always details of 1 same category nomatter which category I click to...
And I read some frightenning articles about how dangerous RSGallery is in terms of security. It seems it's "leading" unsecure component!
But a good thing is, that there is a development and there were 2 new bugfixes and updates last 2 days (29 July), so maybe some of the topics mentioned was fixed...
BTW I found Zoom Gallery and it seems to be a "different league", it's stunning!
2006-07-28
Reviews: 1
I love this component. It's simple and clean. I have been told by my users that the image upload feature of my website(using RSGallery2) is user friendly. Easier to create galleries and upload images.

As long as my users are happy, I am satisfied with RSGallery2.

BTW, I have created a simple mod that display the latest x RSGallery2 comments. You can download the mod from here: http://www.adsrite.com/mod_rsgallery2_latest_comments_1.0.zip
2006-07-12
Reviews: 1
Great potential here, but *beware*. I had to spend about 6 hours cleaning up the code to get it to work. Preview next to image detail (admin) didn't work. Preview popups on image list (admin) page didn't work. Columns on same page were messed up (filename wasn't correct, etc). These issues were related to some SELECT * statements joining 2 tables, messing up $row->name field (both tables had same field). Needed to make misc other fixes. But now, everything's working great. I wish I could send my changes to the developer so everybody can enjoy it! Check out my test site with my changes at http://www.getlife.tv/index.php?option=com_rsgallery2
2006-07-06
Reviews: 1
Comparing to other galleries this is very good. Though I have to mention that the code is quite messy. I takes a lot of time to figure out how to make minor modifications. The path way is bad. It points to the last subcategory only and it is not joined with original pathway. I fixed it, but there are more minor drawbacks... Hope they all wanish after time :)
I like RSGallery very much! Lots of efforts... :)
2006-07-04
Reviews: 4
I was about to pull out some of my old code and try to write my own Joomla! Gallery extension. Now I don't need to. RSgallery2 has some rough edges, and is still in need of development but it has many advantages over all the other galleries I've tried on this list:
1) It work.
2) The displays look good.
3) It's easy to use.
4) It's fun to work with.
5) It does the job!

Looking forward to the next update.
2006-06-25
Reviews: 1
I love RSGallery2 'cause is simple to install, configure and run... Some bugs like uploads from frontend, SEF Urls are not working, etc... It looks great and i know as soon they fix it up it will be the best solution for manage pics...
2006-06-15
Reviews: 1
This software seems to work well for other people, but I found the upload of photos to be confusing. It asks that you create a category before uploading, but there's no place to create the actual category. I sought help on their forums and they were very nice, but they seem to think the software is completely intuitive, which it is not.

One thing I can say is that it installs like a breeze! 2 clicks and boom, you're done. But with no end-user documentation, I can't see using it, because if I can't figure out how to use it (and I'm a web developer) how are my visitors supposed to? Especially when basic end-user documentation doesn't exist!
2006-06-08
Reviews: 2
I tried all gallery modules I could find anywhere, but this was the one that suited my needs best. Installation is a breeze and the galleries are still pretty customizable.
2006-05-14
Reviews: 2
I really like this gallery package. This is the only package I've found that will automatically resize images and allow admin to discard originals. If I could suggest one improvement it would be to allow admin to define top categories to which users can add their own sub-categories.
2006-03-17
Reviews: 3
As the previous reviewer wrote, fpt-upload is buggy, and not working at the moment, but zip-file upload is working perfectly. So no problems there.
2006-03-16
Reviews: 1
as u wrote above with the nice features.
most of them dont work correct at moment.
batchupload is fully not working.

in no other gallery component i have to change something in the php.ini ......... at example

in all other batch upload from specific folder on ftp works great.. not in rsgallery2

and so on

as u mentioned , look on their homepage
in the forum

its not working fully and correct
okay, sure - its alpha

lets wait........

i think, if the bugs are removed, this will one of the best gallery components

cheers
2006-03-15
Reviews: 1
RSgallery2 is a very useful component, especially because of its full integration with Joomla. Features are sufficient in my view. It could do with a few more comments within the html/php file if you want more customization, though.

I'd certainly recommend it if you're looking for a reasonably fast, easy to use gallery component!
2006-03-06
Reviews: 3
RSgallery2 is today the best inline gallery solution for Joomla!. RSgallery2 supports batchupload, usergalleries, and more. Check out the homepage for more info.
Page 5 of 5