The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Gallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! component. It is an image gallery with slideshow.

See demo with different features:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/ (click on links on left side to see different features of Phoca Gallery)

Demo with tree and image module:
http://www.phoca.cz/wallpapers/

Demo with description and no popup:
http://www.phoca.cz/templatedemo/phoca-gallery-description

Demo Phoca Gallery and Simple Caddy integration:
http://www.phoca.cz/stockphoto/

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 2.5 (1.6, 1.7):
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-gallery

Demo Phoca Gallery and YouTube Video (CSS3):
http://www.phoca.cz/virtuemartdemo/phoca-gallery-youtube

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 3:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/


Phoca Gallery 3.2.6 Requirements:
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Gallery 4 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2010-03-30
Reviews: 2
I'm new to Joomla! so don't have masses of experience in terms of benchmarking this against other extensions. That said I found the documentation on the developers site easy to follow, it installed and worked first time, the interface is pretty straightforward and although I haven't used it to its full potential I'm well impressed so far! Fantastic that it's free too - thanks a lot.
2010-03-23
Reviews: 1
Pro: I agree with all of the positive comments and want to add.... Picasa integration is a huge time saver. It allows staff in a separate location to get pictures to me using Picasa's simple fast upload features. It avoids the problem of sending/receiving emails, downloading emailed pics, uploading to Joomla, etc. Thanks Phoca!
Con: Phoca could make it clearer where to find the Picasa user id and gallery name. These settings can be found in the URL when you are viewing the Picasa web album when not logged in.
2010-03-21
Reviews: 4
Great component!!! Very rich of features and displaying styles (shadowbox, lightbox, ecc.) and themes.

I would like to suggest the multiple upload with ZIP files, because contrary to what is said in the documentation, when you are browsing your pc folder, you can NOT select more than one file to upload. Besides, generally, the way to add images to a category it's not completely intuitive, but I think that in the future it will become easier.
A+!
2010-03-15
Reviews: 1
A dream come true, the multi-file java upload (like Facebook or MySpace) is an answer to all my prayers! Thank you!
2010-03-05
Reviews: 3
I have tried a number of galleries including RSGallery2 and Easygallery. Phoca Gallery is by far the best I've tried. It installs smoothly, the documentation on the home site is good, and the forum is actively watched and responded in by the developer. The slideshow options built in are really nice, and haven't given me any of the nasty javascript conflicts that tend to occur with my template, which makes heavy use of mootools.

I had to migrate a large gallery (~6,000) images, and was able to do so without a hiccup.
2010-03-05
Reviews: 1
Hey Jan,
Congratulations. This is really a great component. Just installed it and it works great.

Greg
2010-03-03
Reviews: 10
It's a little clunky to get going, but once you have everything set up it creates beautiful and easy to navigate photo galleries.

In the world of Components, Modules and Plug-ins, Phoca equals quality.
2010-02-27
Reviews: 2
For me it's the best Joomla Gallery I've seen yet.
2010-02-26
Reviews: 6
Sincerely, the guy behind phoca does an astonishing job.
But, unfortunately it seems that this component does not work with some 4.x SQL database.
Correct me if I am wrong.

With a 5.x SQL database, I think it is one of the best galleries around.
2010-02-25
Reviews: 2
This is certainly one of the most simple but professional-looking extensions I have come across - and certainly holds the benchmark as an extension when it comes to photos and imaging. Scrolling through the parameters is, at first, very intimidating and it does deserve comprehensive documentation. However, as a free download - nobody should complain! The Control Panel is neatly presented and you couldn't ask for anything more than this! Try it out! What do you have to lose??
2010-02-22
Reviews: 3
and succeeded
No big fuzz
fast resultnot the best but free and well working
what else can one want, keep on going man, don't give up for criticasters
2010-02-18
Reviews: 7
Honestly, I can't believe the audacity of the reviewer who snarked about his inability to remove the brand from this component. First, that is sad because it's not that hard to remove if indeed you want to misrepresent the work as your own. Secondly, this component is awesome, it's FREE and anyone who knows anything about programming knows that a TON of time went into developing this extension and it's absolutely wonderful that this developer saw fit to release it as open source. There is no gallery component out there that even comes close to offering the functionality that this one does.
2010-02-17
Reviews: 1
I have used several gallery components on my photo web site and this is the best of the group.
Lots of back end control-size, color-and creates thumbnails easily.
Some issues about sizing the images in the parameter control but when these were ironed out worked fine.
Thanks for a FREE and very usable component.
2010-02-17
Reviews: 2
i don't have any problems. It's working fine with me.

thanks
2010-02-14
Reviews: 1
I love the Phoca Gallery, many thanks to the developer!!! It's the best Gallery I know.
And people who give only one star, like the person wrote bevor me, and want a gallery for a "professional website" should buy a component and don't use a free one. Or give your freetime and create a gallery for yourself - then you understand the hard work and you don't have a link in the footer. I don't understand those people...
2010-02-11
Reviews: 4
This Gallery has everything I needed (Comments, Rating) + more. I was able to install easily, and understand after playing around with all the features. Great Job!!!!
2010-02-09
Reviews: 1
Phoca Gallery is the best image gallery component I came across so far. Looks great and behaves great, a must for every website.
2010-02-08
Reviews: 1
Just great!! Above all, great support from the developer. Thank you Jan for your advice and quick reply.
2010-02-06
Reviews: 1
I am impressed with this gallery. It is certainly the best of the many I have tried. Just one thing to note before you use this. If you create thumbnails, it is apparently a major resource hog on your providers servers. I had my account suspended for going over my providers 90% resource limit. Aside from that, great job!
Owner's reply

Hi,

thank you for your review. But be aware, Phoca Gallery doesn't create any thumbnails. Thumbnails are created by your GD library on your server. Phoca Gallery only sends information to this GD library so there is no option to influence this process. :-(

Jan

2010-02-05
Reviews: 3
I say just perfect...
Page 10 of 18