The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Gallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! component. It is an image gallery with slideshow.

See demo with different features:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/ (click on links on left side to see different features of Phoca Gallery)

Demo with tree and image module:
http://www.phoca.cz/wallpapers/

Demo with description and no popup:
http://www.phoca.cz/templatedemo/phoca-gallery-description

Demo Phoca Gallery and Simple Caddy integration:
http://www.phoca.cz/stockphoto/

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 2.5 (1.6, 1.7):
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-gallery

Demo Phoca Gallery and YouTube Video (CSS3):
http://www.phoca.cz/virtuemartdemo/phoca-gallery-youtube

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 3:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/


Phoca Gallery 3.2.6 Requirements:
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Gallery 4 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-12-08
Reviews: 4
I am pretty hard on software because I spent most of my career developing mission critical software (people died if my software failed). I have rarely been impressed with software that is less than 'mission critical'.

I am impressed with Phoca Gallery and Jan the developer. I have a website with hundreds of categories and over 5000 individual jpg images which Phoca Gallery is supporting. Not only did the software handle my site with very few problems but when I had a problem, Jan was very quick to help me resolve the problem.
2009-12-08
Reviews: 2
This is a great piece of software. Highly recommended!!!
2009-12-03
Reviews: 2
Awesome awesome extension!
Have been testing various extensions for days and this is just what I needed. But like someone posted, there's 1 restriction I wish could be changed:

1) Users need to register to be able to rate or comment photos.
- Hope this can be otherwise~
2009-11-19
Reviews: 11
Thanks for extensions you created. Allah swt bless you...
2009-11-19
Reviews: 4
So simple AND so versatile!
Many useful options in the backend, gallery-themes and professional CSS design made it our choice!
Just minutes after the clean install the first good looking galleries could be presented!
2009-11-16
Reviews: 2
Just finished tweaking some styles, and Phoca fits great. The new User Control Panel (v2.6+) on the front end allows users to make their own subcategories and upload multiple photos, just brilliant.

We just added the menu item to the user menu (for the Phoca Gallery) and users have a one-click stop into their own gallery which they can manage, update and play with to their hearts content!

Nice work Jan -- THANKS for the efforts, you deserve community support for your smart and thoughtful coding!
2009-11-13
Reviews: 2
Excellent slideshow with excellent support. Need I say more!
2009-11-05
Reviews: 1
I run (among other things) a photo studio, and use Phocagallery so that my customers can visualize the shots of their session online. Phocagallery has proven adaptable, reliable and robust, and has filled my needs perfectly.

In my case, each client is registered as a user (using comunitybuilder)and the session is saved as a new category; only the client has access to her category. This has worked out ideally.

Perhaps the greatest thing about Phoca is Jan's tireless and good-natured support in the forum, better than many "paid" support options.

Thank you Jan, for an excellent and vital extension.
2009-10-25
Reviews: 2
man, you are insane! respect for great compo!
2009-10-24
Reviews: 6
The attention to details with how this component can be configured is excellent.
The options available make this gallery suitable for any kind of website needing enhanced image display.
2009-10-22
Reviews: 1
Not too many components work well in IIS, Sobi is one major one that didn't work. we needed to develop a directory of individuals (member directory) containing photos, details, info etc.
First looked to Sobi, but no IIS compatibilty. Combining Phoco gallery and the tree module, we developed a replacement. This more then speaks for the flexibility and great coding job done on this component.
2009-10-20
Reviews: 19
I was able to setup my gallery in 2 minutes: create categories, upload photos (I done it by FTP) and add with "Multiple add" feature, that create thumbs and links to category.

And the gallery is pretty good also with standard theme, so few or none customization is needed, almost in a first step.
Wow
2009-10-16
Reviews: 3
Installed easy, worked well, but then I saw what else they offer: blew me away!
These guys have focused on a few core competencies: Galleries, On-site Document Management, and Google Map Wrapping.
And they cover them well and with precision.
Gotta check them out.
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your great review.

"These guys have ..." :-( There is only one guy not guys :-( and for now I am spending all my freetime with answering posts in the forum. So if somebody wants to help the Phoca projects with answering posts in the forum, this will be great and much appreciated.

Thank you, Jan

BTW: thank you to all for great reviews.

2009-10-12
Reviews: 1
This Component is the best!
2009-09-30
Reviews: 2
After trying dozens of galleries, it was the best thing that could have happen to me. In conjunction with the remaining Phoca products it gets even better.

Restrictions:
1) Users need to register to be able to rate or comment photos. You will need to hack an auto-login function to do avoid it.
2) There is a breadcrumb bug with the category title when creating multi-level categories. The higher titles are being concatenated to the lower ones.

Thank you very much. It needs a donation.
WOW
2009-09-26
Reviews: 3
Amazing! I am very impressed with how configurable and easy to use Phoca Gallery is. What is really exciting is the ability to give my users access to upload files through my website instead of them having to use Joomla.
2009-09-25
Reviews: 5
I think excellent doesn't cover it.

It's brilliant, and, it's free! But I will donate because this component is exactly what I need!
Once you configure your global parameters (that can be overwhelming at first because there are a lot of options, but this allows better customization) you’re good to go!

I’ve tried other galleries but this is by far the easiest to use and gives the prettiest outcome.

I would like to have more options to configure the slideshows depending on the type used, but, still, the best gallery and the developer, Jan, is very helpful!
2009-08-24
Reviews: 2
This is one of the best extensions EVER.

It should have an Editors Pick on it.

Everything was so simple and easy to do.

i can't think of any think bad to say, although i would say, "The download Image should be better."

The way you can download images by right clicking is a bit old and not very professional. Use header().

Apart from that is the best script in the world with nothing wrong with it. It Pure Perfect.

Thankyou
Paul
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your review, in Phoca Gallery you can select two methods of download:
- original image will be open and you can download it with "right click"
- image will be directly downloaded after clicking on download icon.

Or you can use an external link to download, e.g. link to Phoca Download component where you have files ready for downloading.

Jan

2009-08-18
Reviews: 1
This is first time I'm rating one extension in joomla .

I've nothing to say ...Phoca gallary is superb .If you try this one you will love it

Regards
haris
2009-08-15
Reviews: 3
very good supported and individual styling...i love it.
Page 11 of 18