The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Gallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! component. It is an image gallery with slideshow.

See demo with different features:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/ (click on links on left side to see different features of Phoca Gallery)

Demo with tree and image module:
http://www.phoca.cz/wallpapers/

Demo with description and no popup:
http://www.phoca.cz/templatedemo/phoca-gallery-description

Demo Phoca Gallery and Simple Caddy integration:
http://www.phoca.cz/stockphoto/

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 2.5 (1.6, 1.7):
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-gallery

Demo Phoca Gallery and YouTube Video (CSS3):
http://www.phoca.cz/virtuemartdemo/phoca-gallery-youtube

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 3:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/

Customized Phoca Gallery on live sites:
http://www.cssjoomla.com/


Phoca Gallery 3.2.6 Requirements:
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Gallery 4 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-10-20
Reviews: 19
I was able to setup my gallery in 2 minutes: create categories, upload photos (I done it by FTP) and add with "Multiple add" feature, that create thumbs and links to category.

And the gallery is pretty good also with standard theme, so few or none customization is needed, almost in a first step.
Wow
2009-10-16
Reviews: 3
Installed easy, worked well, but then I saw what else they offer: blew me away!
These guys have focused on a few core competencies: Galleries, On-site Document Management, and Google Map Wrapping.
And they cover them well and with precision.
Gotta check them out.
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your great review.

"These guys have ..." :-( There is only one guy not guys :-( and for now I am spending all my freetime with answering posts in the forum. So if somebody wants to help the Phoca projects with answering posts in the forum, this will be great and much appreciated.

Thank you, Jan

BTW: thank you to all for great reviews.

2009-10-12
Reviews: 1
This Component is the best!
2009-09-30
Reviews: 2
After trying dozens of galleries, it was the best thing that could have happen to me. In conjunction with the remaining Phoca products it gets even better.

Restrictions:
1) Users need to register to be able to rate or comment photos. You will need to hack an auto-login function to do avoid it.
2) There is a breadcrumb bug with the category title when creating multi-level categories. The higher titles are being concatenated to the lower ones.

Thank you very much. It needs a donation.
WOW
2009-09-26
Reviews: 3
Amazing! I am very impressed with how configurable and easy to use Phoca Gallery is. What is really exciting is the ability to give my users access to upload files through my website instead of them having to use Joomla.
2009-09-25
Reviews: 5
I think excellent doesn't cover it.

It's brilliant, and, it's free! But I will donate because this component is exactly what I need!
Once you configure your global parameters (that can be overwhelming at first because there are a lot of options, but this allows better customization) you’re good to go!

I’ve tried other galleries but this is by far the easiest to use and gives the prettiest outcome.

I would like to have more options to configure the slideshows depending on the type used, but, still, the best gallery and the developer, Jan, is very helpful!
2009-08-24
Reviews: 2
This is one of the best extensions EVER.

It should have an Editors Pick on it.

Everything was so simple and easy to do.

i can't think of any think bad to say, although i would say, "The download Image should be better."

The way you can download images by right clicking is a bit old and not very professional. Use header().

Apart from that is the best script in the world with nothing wrong with it. It Pure Perfect.

Thankyou
Paul
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your review, in Phoca Gallery you can select two methods of download:
- original image will be open and you can download it with "right click"
- image will be directly downloaded after clicking on download icon.

Or you can use an external link to download, e.g. link to Phoca Download component where you have files ready for downloading.

Jan

2009-08-18
Reviews: 1
This is first time I'm rating one extension in joomla .

I've nothing to say ...Phoca gallary is superb .If you try this one you will love it

Regards
haris
2009-08-15
Reviews: 3
very good supported and individual styling...i love it.
2009-08-15
Reviews: 1
I love this extension. Simple to install and it works. Thank you so much.
2009-08-09
Reviews: 1
Here I am in the middle of a massive upload(Over 1.2 gigs of Photos from a recent event I attended) and am stuck at a very trivial issue. I am not able to center my gallery. :-P

So I switch on GTalk and perform a quick chat with Jan from Phoca. In less than 10 minutes all my issues are solved. :D

Can't thank this guy enough it seems sometimes. :-)
2009-08-06
Reviews: 8
This is an excellent extension that is challenged by very HI-res graphics on many installations because of memory limitations in the server impelmentation of the GD library. This, otherwise excellent product, could benefit with some workarounds for that problem.
2009-08-05
Reviews: 3
Uploading pictures very complicated. Plus java problems... Demo site it looks good... I will stick to joom gallery, it is simple and does the the job...
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your review, you can use the following methods to upload images in Phoca Gallery:

- standard upload (one image upload)
- java upload
- flash based upload
- ftp upload
- media manager upload
- other web file manager upload

You can select method which will be not so complicated for you. E.g. you will prepare the tree of folders and images on your PC. Then you will upload the whole tree to your server and in Multiple Add View, Phoca Gallery will automatically convert all folders to categories, all subfolders to subcategories and will create thumbnails from the images.
Jan

2009-08-03
Reviews: 23
This is an amazingly useful extension. The backend and frontend functionality is superb.

The most impressive thing is that you can choose your thumbnail size for each of three modes.

Ease of use combined with configurability. There are backlinks front and back, but the front can be made quite discreet by choosing the text only option.

5stars all round. Magnificent.

There is also a gallery tree extension which goes with this which really adds to functionality.
2009-08-01
Reviews: 5
One of my go to stand-by applications. Always works.
2009-07-30
Reviews: 3
This extension is amazing. It's quite hard once downloaded but with a little taking time and customization you'd never go to another gallery extension... why?? Cause there would be absolutely no need.

Infact I had many difficulties once I had this downloaded and lots of trouble but with 3-4 days of working I finally got used to it...

Thanx for the amazing extension!
2009-07-27
Reviews: 1
I liked this. I had it on two sites till we got so many pictures up and we found the space was being consumed at a fast rate. Looking closely we found that for every picture there is a copy of the original, a medium sized thumbnail and a smaller sized thumbnail. I can understand the small and medium thumbnails, I guess you have to have the duplicate full size file to add in the watermarks. I like having the watermarks but isn't there another way to do this without doubling the memory usage?
Another problem is that you have to create your own images/phocagallery folder that isn't off the default images/stories so other programs cant find your images to display. Why cant you go with the defaults?
Fix those niggles and you'd have me very happy.
Owner's reply

Hi,

Phoca Gallery doesn't create copy of original images, there are three thumbnail types:

- small - displayed in Categories View, in administration
- medium - displayed in Category View, in administration
- large - displayed in Detail View, in Switch/Swap function, in Overlib

Large thumbnails are important, because e.g. users upload images with 3072x2304 or 2816x2112 and other similar sizes. Such size cannot be displayed in browser (on common displays) so e.g. size of large thumbnail, which is 640x480, is needful.

If you will add watermark, it is added on medium and large thumbnails, there is no duplication, no doubling the memory usage

Phoca Gallery images are stored in images folder, which you can access by other programs, just set the path in Global configuration in Joomla! - the parameter is called Path to Image Folder

2009-07-23
Reviews: 1
I tested many photo gallery tools looking for a best tool that will suit our needs, from photo animation, slide show, article images integration...to creative portfolio display, just to name a few. I found Phoca Gallery, tested and there functionality are impressive. Installation is straight forward just like any other Joomla component. It took me a little more time to get acquainted. The Phoca Gallery demo site is very instructive and well organized, the explaination is simple and provide example for each of the plugin functions.

Strongly recommend to give good try. I will impresse you... A+++ to the Phoca team.
2009-07-22
Reviews: 4
I switched to this component when I recently switched to Joomla 1.5 from Joomla 1.0 This has to be one of the best components out there if you need a photo gallery for your site. There support is good too I posted a question on the forums and within 24 hours I had answer. I am also using other Phoca Components on my site.

Good job and keep up the good work.
Rod
2009-07-20
Reviews: 5
after trying several other gallery components I finally found this one and I'm very happy. smooth install,nice plugin and a lot of settings to match your sate.
Page 12 of 18