The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Gallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! component. It is an image gallery with slideshow.

See demo with different features:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/ (click on links on left side to see different features of Phoca Gallery)

Demo with tree and image module:
http://www.phoca.cz/wallpapers/

Demo with description and no popup:
http://www.phoca.cz/templatedemo/phoca-gallery-description

Demo Phoca Gallery and Simple Caddy integration:
http://www.phoca.cz/stockphoto/

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 2.5 (1.6, 1.7):
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-gallery

Demo Phoca Gallery and YouTube Video (CSS3):
http://www.phoca.cz/virtuemartdemo/phoca-gallery-youtube

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 3:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/


Phoca Gallery 3.2.6 Requirements:
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Gallery 4 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-07-20
Reviews: 1
This is the best gallery. Period.
It has everything you need in a gallery, is very actively developed and maintained while you get very quick and friendly support in the phoca.cz forums.
flat our ROCKS
2009-07-03
Reviews: 2
Kudos to the Phoca Gallery component/modules/plugins. The themes and design are so great, and it provides just the functionality I need. It is free (GPL)... moreover, it is very scalable. Thank you Phoca Gallery developers!
2009-06-27
Reviews: 1
Hi
i use any comp, mod phoca and i am very happy
very nice and work very well
if i post in the forum of the administrator of this website
i have already an answer
congratulations
regards
pascal
2009-06-19
Reviews: 2
Thank you - configurable, simple and very good looking - exactly what I needed. And believe me or not I have tried every single one photo gallery on Joomla! Extensions apart from commercial ones.
2009-06-08
Reviews: 4
As with all complex modifications, there is a learning curve with this. You have to take the time to figure things out on your own and maybe read some documentation. However, Phoca gallery is professionally done top to bottom and is not beyond the abilities of any entry level or average Joomla user to install and set up. Meaning I'm glad this isn't commercial, because it could easily be. I can't imagine needing any other features from a photo gallery that would still allow it to remain user friendly. Excellent work and thank you very much for keeping this free, it is much appreciated.
2009-06-05
Reviews: 1
The short and the sweet version is that this is a great extension that works well without having to devote your life to reading documentation. Install it and it just works. That's high praise!
2009-06-04
Reviews: 1
It's great component, but it has some discomforting issues.
When You want to create new category - you can't create new folder for this category so easy. So, You must do:
1 Go back to "add pictures" section
2 Here You can create new folder
3 Go back to category section - and create new category
4 Go back to picture category - now U can upload picture to new category.

So creating new folder for category should be in category section- not in picture section.

Other thing is : when You want to "upload picture" - You must choose folder to upload. After uploading - the folder change to default name. So You must choose him once again - and now U can add the picture.

And other thing : Many templates has problem when there is "clear:both" taggs in css and php files like in phoca. On 10 templates 2 looks horrible.

But it's only few things, all other are great, so i won't write it here (to much writing like for my english ;) )
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your comment.

See http://www.phoca.cz/forum where I describe why there is an advantage of having two independent layers: File layer (image files on your server) and Database layer (image names in your database). If you are creating category, you don't need to create folder on your server.

I don't understand this:
"You must choose folder to upload. After uploading - the folder change to default name. So You must choose him once again - and now U can add the picture" ... please create new topic in Phoca Forum, so we can solve it


"Many templates has problem when there is "clear:both" taggs in css and php files like in phoca"

Phoca Gallery uses valid CSS and HTML code (there are some exceptions because of supporting all possible browsers) but this should not be problem for template which keeps standards. There is no other way how to end float boxes where images are displayed (clear:both).

But of course I can take a look at it, maybe we can find some solution (if the template is correctly made) to solve such problem. So the same as before. Some topic with link to site where this problem occurs in the forum would help.

2009-06-02
Reviews: 2
Of course, there are always individual needs for any piece of software. As a developer of other component I know what I'm talking about. Therefore I can only say one word: Respect! This component meets all my needs. Many thanks!
2009-05-25
Reviews: 3
Extremely well done...with one major limitation. Users a limited to submitting photos to only one category of their choice or to pre-existing categories they've been given access to. This is not a sustainable model if you have a very collaborative community or large numbers of photos belonging to multiple people. It will become too difficult to keep organized. Otherwise amazing!
Owner's reply

Hi, I am working on new user - frontend - behaviour.

Please check forum http://www.phoca.cz/forum for up to date information

2009-05-19
Reviews: 9
I use Phoca Gallery by default on any new site, and with extra plugins and modules I can do everything I imagine. After 6 months with that gallery, im still surprised with some features i'm discovering. 5/5 and strongly recoomended.

PS: And support Jan's hard work with donations, if You plannning to use Phoca Gallery for your commercial sites. We (Joomla! community) need his support, we need his work.

PS2: I had one problem at the beginning. I got answer with solution after minutes.
2009-05-01
Reviews: 1
I registered (finally) just so I could leave a review for Phoca Gallery. I find this to be the best gallery available for large galleries in Joomla - and I've tried over 3 others. The support from the forum is unbelievably good, especially for a free gallery. The instructions are a little confusing at first, but it's not to hard to understand after a throughout reading. Outstanding!
2009-04-30
Reviews: 4
Phoca is a real quality solution if you want a gallery. The product works well and there are a lot of extension and options that work together in a very consistent way in my experience. It take care of all the basics like bulk updates, grouping, categorising and gives many options to link galleries together.
I had worked with Gavick first, which is ultimately promising a more flashy presention, but Phoca works and the site and author are really friendly in a real open source spirit like Joomly itself it. Highly recommended.
2009-03-29
Reviews: 2
I've been using it some time, but they made great new features into 2.2.x series that makes me stick to this gallery only. You won't find that much addons for one gallery on other place. Styles and much modules/plugins extension. Keep good work Phoca. Recommendation.
2009-03-29
Reviews: 4
A very nice gallery, everything's customizable. Pity it didn't work on a shared hosting server, with "safe mode" set to "on". I couldn't create any categories, so I couldn't upload any photos.
Owner's reply

Hi, Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! extension and it has the same requirements on hosting as Joomla! regarding to safe mode functinons

2009-03-28
Reviews: 6
After going through numerous other gallery’s I turned to Phoca, I didn’t expect much from it, as I was “just giving it a try”. For a non commercial extension gallery for Joomla, Phoca is excellent; it will satisfy just about everyone with all its rich features and not to mention the user friendly interface. Any one looking to build a nice family album, gallery should try this.

But there’s still few things, basic features Phoca is missing, Such as a kind of Extension / Module that shows “Latest Added,/ Highest Rated, /Or Viewed Photos”

– More like the other extension it has called Random images, but only to show latest images and not random images. 4.5 outta 5.
2009-03-26
Reviews: 1
It is very easy to use. The author must spent a lot of time on developing it. Good job.
The only thing I want to mention is that Highslide seems taking long time to load pictures. My pictures are only 640 x 480. The first is quick and the second started acting up. However, overall it is a good extension.
2009-03-23
Reviews: 1
Easy to install, user friendly, easy to manage and looks great. Some minor features I wish it had out of the box but the support seems to be great so I am hopeful for new features in the future.

For a easy\great looking photo gallery this is a must try.
2009-03-20
Reviews: 1
I am new to Joomla!, but had no difficulty uploading, configuring and using this app. I had a full blown picture gallery on my site, up and running, in about 20 minutes. Highly recommend this one.
2009-03-19
Reviews: 1
For me is a very good component. Is great.

Thanks Jan for this amazing gallery component.
2009-03-16
Reviews: 1
I've tried several other galleries (will not mention for a matter of ethics) and the only one that fulfilled our website needs was Phoca Gallery. It allows several levels of subcategorizing, random album covers, whatsoever. Support from the developer, when needed, is also excellent. I can't do anything but to recommend Phoca Gallery.
Page 13 of 18