The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Gallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! component. It is an image gallery with slideshow.

See demo with different features:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/ (click on links on left side to see different features of Phoca Gallery)

Demo with tree and image module:
http://www.phoca.cz/wallpapers/

Demo with description and no popup:
http://www.phoca.cz/templatedemo/phoca-gallery-description

Demo Phoca Gallery and Simple Caddy integration:
http://www.phoca.cz/stockphoto/

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 2.5 (1.6, 1.7):
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-gallery

Demo Phoca Gallery and YouTube Video (CSS3):
http://www.phoca.cz/virtuemartdemo/phoca-gallery-youtube

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 3:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/


Phoca Gallery 3.2.6 Requirements:
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Gallery 4 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-05-19
Reviews: 9
I use Phoca Gallery by default on any new site, and with extra plugins and modules I can do everything I imagine. After 6 months with that gallery, im still surprised with some features i'm discovering. 5/5 and strongly recoomended.

PS: And support Jan's hard work with donations, if You plannning to use Phoca Gallery for your commercial sites. We (Joomla! community) need his support, we need his work.

PS2: I had one problem at the beginning. I got answer with solution after minutes.
2009-05-01
Reviews: 1
I registered (finally) just so I could leave a review for Phoca Gallery. I find this to be the best gallery available for large galleries in Joomla - and I've tried over 3 others. The support from the forum is unbelievably good, especially for a free gallery. The instructions are a little confusing at first, but it's not to hard to understand after a throughout reading. Outstanding!
2009-04-30
Reviews: 4
Phoca is a real quality solution if you want a gallery. The product works well and there are a lot of extension and options that work together in a very consistent way in my experience. It take care of all the basics like bulk updates, grouping, categorising and gives many options to link galleries together.
I had worked with Gavick first, which is ultimately promising a more flashy presention, but Phoca works and the site and author are really friendly in a real open source spirit like Joomly itself it. Highly recommended.
2009-03-29
Reviews: 2
I've been using it some time, but they made great new features into 2.2.x series that makes me stick to this gallery only. You won't find that much addons for one gallery on other place. Styles and much modules/plugins extension. Keep good work Phoca. Recommendation.
2009-03-29
Reviews: 4
A very nice gallery, everything's customizable. Pity it didn't work on a shared hosting server, with "safe mode" set to "on". I couldn't create any categories, so I couldn't upload any photos.
Owner's reply

Hi, Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! extension and it has the same requirements on hosting as Joomla! regarding to safe mode functinons

2009-03-28
Reviews: 6
After going through numerous other gallery’s I turned to Phoca, I didn’t expect much from it, as I was “just giving it a try”. For a non commercial extension gallery for Joomla, Phoca is excellent; it will satisfy just about everyone with all its rich features and not to mention the user friendly interface. Any one looking to build a nice family album, gallery should try this.

But there’s still few things, basic features Phoca is missing, Such as a kind of Extension / Module that shows “Latest Added,/ Highest Rated, /Or Viewed Photos”

– More like the other extension it has called Random images, but only to show latest images and not random images. 4.5 outta 5.
2009-03-26
Reviews: 1
It is very easy to use. The author must spent a lot of time on developing it. Good job.
The only thing I want to mention is that Highslide seems taking long time to load pictures. My pictures are only 640 x 480. The first is quick and the second started acting up. However, overall it is a good extension.
2009-03-23
Reviews: 1
Easy to install, user friendly, easy to manage and looks great. Some minor features I wish it had out of the box but the support seems to be great so I am hopeful for new features in the future.

For a easy\great looking photo gallery this is a must try.
2009-03-20
Reviews: 1
I am new to Joomla!, but had no difficulty uploading, configuring and using this app. I had a full blown picture gallery on my site, up and running, in about 20 minutes. Highly recommend this one.
2009-03-19
Reviews: 1
For me is a very good component. Is great.

Thanks Jan for this amazing gallery component.
2009-03-16
Reviews: 1
I've tried several other galleries (will not mention for a matter of ethics) and the only one that fulfilled our website needs was Phoca Gallery. It allows several levels of subcategorizing, random album covers, whatsoever. Support from the developer, when needed, is also excellent. I can't do anything but to recommend Phoca Gallery.
2009-03-10
Reviews: 7
It is the best gallery i've try, and believe me I've try many. keep changing till i found phoca gallery now I stick to it.
It's easy to upgrade so when they give you a new version of the component (constanly getting better) you don't have to do much, just install and and click upgrade.
Very flexable and easy to use.
2009-03-09
Reviews: 12
I like everything what Phoca galery offers: Its easy to install, good balanced organised interface, clear desciption and good working interaction with joomla in general.
But...for photographers, designers who have always a sharp eye for detail, it gives bad rendered images that are way too low in quality. Most large pictures are resized in I think jpeg 30 quality which was 10 years ago good enough, but today it is way too low. There isnt any way to improve or change the settings in Phoca galery itself, so theres no other way left then to FTP upload self improved and edit images in the image folders yourself. That makes the entire gallery not worth to install anylonger.
Owner's reply

Hi, there is no jpeg 30 but jpeg 85 as default. Next time please ask in the Phoca Forum about features, because this (settting quality for jpeg) is ready yet (in version 2.2.3) and the 2.2.3 should be completed and released soon (I hope it will be released before this answer will be published :-) )

Jan

2009-03-01
Reviews: 5
Like every piece of software in existence, there could be some minor improvements, but overall, I think Phoca sets the standard for others to reach for. Super simple installation, wealth of options and great performance. Facebook could learn a lot just from your uploaders. Thanks a million.
2009-02-24
Reviews: 11
Just installed Phoca gallery on my third website. Just as Phoca download and Phoca guestbook. The support is very good (and quick) and the documentation is also very good. It is all easy to install and to configure.
2009-02-23
Reviews: 2
i have to say this is first class it installs in under 1mins and takes about 10mins to add the setting you like and to add a few pics this is the best Gallery on here and for all the things it can do im shocked its FREE...
2009-02-22
Reviews: 2
this is powerfull extension, easy to install, configure, manage photo album, and you can use it even without any documentation, i cant say anything more, thanks dude for making this great component oh yah i forget the most important thing...its totally free....!!!
2009-02-18
Reviews: 1
This is one the best components I've ever used and the best gallery component I've ever used. The ease of install to setup to use is great. I would recommend this anyone looking at putting up a gallery with multiple categories/ topics. Man and to provide this Free that's wicked I'll definitely donate to your development work. thanks
2009-02-16
Reviews: 3
I spent hours going through and setting up various galleries before trying this one. They all had one conflict or another. I wish I had tried this one first. Install is simple, setup is simple, configuration is simple, and the end result is beautiful. Best gallery available for 1.5. Thank you for this product. Excellent work.
2009-02-16
Reviews: 1
nvr write reviews but this is great ;-)

easy upload
easy + intuitive control
very configurable
pics are downloadable, commentable, ratable
smooth crisp design

Easily the best gallry out there, and ive seen quite a lot. And its dutch!! hehehe tnx Jan
Page 13 of 18