The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Gallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! component. It is an image gallery with slideshow.

See demo with different features:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/ (click on links on left side to see different features of Phoca Gallery)

Demo with tree and image module:
http://www.phoca.cz/wallpapers/

Demo with description and no popup:
http://www.phoca.cz/templatedemo/phoca-gallery-description

Demo Phoca Gallery and Simple Caddy integration:
http://www.phoca.cz/stockphoto/

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 2.5 (1.6, 1.7):
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-gallery

Demo Phoca Gallery and YouTube Video (CSS3):
http://www.phoca.cz/virtuemartdemo/phoca-gallery-youtube

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 3:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/

Customized Phoca Gallery on live sites:
http://www.cssjoomla.com/


Phoca Gallery 3.2.6 Requirements:
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Gallery 4 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2009-03-10
Reviews: 7
It is the best gallery i've try, and believe me I've try many. keep changing till i found phoca gallery now I stick to it.
It's easy to upgrade so when they give you a new version of the component (constanly getting better) you don't have to do much, just install and and click upgrade.
Very flexable and easy to use.
2009-03-09
Reviews: 11
I like everything what Phoca galery offers: Its easy to install, good balanced organised interface, clear desciption and good working interaction with joomla in general.
But...for photographers, designers who have always a sharp eye for detail, it gives bad rendered images that are way too low in quality. Most large pictures are resized in I think jpeg 30 quality which was 10 years ago good enough, but today it is way too low. There isnt any way to improve or change the settings in Phoca galery itself, so theres no other way left then to FTP upload self improved and edit images in the image folders yourself. That makes the entire gallery not worth to install anylonger.
Owner's reply

Hi, there is no jpeg 30 but jpeg 85 as default. Next time please ask in the Phoca Forum about features, because this (settting quality for jpeg) is ready yet (in version 2.2.3) and the 2.2.3 should be completed and released soon (I hope it will be released before this answer will be published :-) )

Jan

2009-03-01
Reviews: 3
Like every piece of software in existence, there could be some minor improvements, but overall, I think Phoca sets the standard for others to reach for. Super simple installation, wealth of options and great performance. Facebook could learn a lot just from your uploaders. Thanks a million.
2009-02-24
Reviews: 11
Just installed Phoca gallery on my third website. Just as Phoca download and Phoca guestbook. The support is very good (and quick) and the documentation is also very good. It is all easy to install and to configure.
2009-02-23
Reviews: 2
i have to say this is first class it installs in under 1mins and takes about 10mins to add the setting you like and to add a few pics this is the best Gallery on here and for all the things it can do im shocked its FREE...
2009-02-22
Reviews: 2
this is powerfull extension, easy to install, configure, manage photo album, and you can use it even without any documentation, i cant say anything more, thanks dude for making this great component oh yah i forget the most important thing...its totally free....!!!
2009-02-18
Reviews: 1
This is one the best components I've ever used and the best gallery component I've ever used. The ease of install to setup to use is great. I would recommend this anyone looking at putting up a gallery with multiple categories/ topics. Man and to provide this Free that's wicked I'll definitely donate to your development work. thanks
2009-02-16
Reviews: 3
I spent hours going through and setting up various galleries before trying this one. They all had one conflict or another. I wish I had tried this one first. Install is simple, setup is simple, configuration is simple, and the end result is beautiful. Best gallery available for 1.5. Thank you for this product. Excellent work.
2009-02-16
Reviews: 1
nvr write reviews but this is great ;-)

easy upload
easy + intuitive control
very configurable
pics are downloadable, commentable, ratable
smooth crisp design

Easily the best gallry out there, and ive seen quite a lot. And its dutch!! hehehe tnx Jan
2009-02-13
Reviews: 2
Release Candidate??? Whatever! I had avoided using this gallery until now because it was a RC release. Waiting was a mistake. This gallery will be well worth your while. It is ready now in my opinion! I have tried a few galleries and this is easily the best so far.
2009-02-11
Reviews: 1
I'm new to the world of Joomla / CMS and have been searching high and low for a simple, unbloated photo gallery that would allow basic editing from front-end users, but with the majority of the work done on the back end. After testing almost all of the non-commercial extensions on this page as well as trying to bridge stand-alone galleries like Gallery2, Zen Photo and Coppermine into Joomla (with rather disappointing results, might I add), I finally ran across Phoca Gallery.

Finally! Someone gets it! Thank you, Phoca Gallery, for delivering an complicated, lean photo gallery with just enough bells and whistles to keep things interesting without crossing over into the "only a php geek would know what to do with 99% of these options."

Oh, as for installation...I'll repeat what everyone else below me has said...go by the documented instructions and you'll be just fine. It might seem a little intimidating for newbies to amend one or two lines of code, per the instructions, but trust me, it's easy as pie and definitely worth it for this outstanding non-commercial gallery.
2009-02-09
Reviews: 3
First I had a fancy gallery extensions - which suddenly refused to work. Installed Phoca Gallery, and it does the job without any fuzz.

Jan is making great extensions (look up everything named "Phoca"). It seems that his programming always is clean and simple.

My wish for this component is that there should be more different ways to show the galleries. There a few, but most of them are only slight variations.
eli
2009-01-29
Reviews: 4
I tried many Gallery mods and tried to find the best and simplest one...

When I first approached Phoca Gallery and I saw all the add-ons available, I thought that this might be complicated or too much for my needs.

Well I was wrong:
Documentation & FAQ are Excellent
Installation is a Breeze
Customization is very clear and straightforward
Usage, usability & functions are simply magnificent.

& its free!!!!!

Thank you for the dedicated work.
2009-01-28
Reviews: 7
I have basically tried every photo gallery extension and I would say that this is one of the best and most coplete out there. First of all, all of the features actually work, which compared with some is a big deal. It is set up very much like your typical joomla setup, so there really isnt a learning curve as you try to navigate something new. Also, it is loaded with features, so you get a lot in this componant. My favorite feature is being able to easily select from your list of registered members if you want a gallery category to only be visable to them. This is really cool... esspecially for people who do paid work. Great job! I havent even gotten to check out the extensions yet, but I am excited to try them.
2009-01-27
Reviews: 2
Very complete component, a lot of options:Integration with joomfish, watermark, front end upload (limited), and so on. A good support from author.
2009-01-27
Reviews: 1
Simply the best joomla gallery with great support... and I have been trying quite a lot. ;) Congratulations to Jan.
2009-01-25
Reviews: 1
After having been through the nightmare of using G2 several years back, I have so far been amazed at the simplicity of this extension! Very professional, from the installation through the presentation of the galleries on my site. While there are tons of options, I had 6 different galleries up on my site in about 20 minutes, from download to display.

5 Stars all the way!
2009-01-23
Reviews: 3
I have looked at a lot of galleries. This is hands down the best. It is easy to install. The parameters can be a little tricky but the documentation is great, the forum has lots of answers. It is clean, fast, good looking, and theme driven.

To get started you can ftp your images and choose add multiple from the control panel and voom the subcategories are created and the thumbnails. No more bringing them up 5 or 10 at a time. I loaded over 500 images in less than 15 minutes.

Then you get a random image module that links directly to the gallery. No more having to keep images in 2 locations, 1 for the random image, and then in your gallery.

It also has an add on slideshow plugin so you can put slide shows in content or on a page directly from any category.

It is all well written. This is the gallery you should start with and prevent yourself a lot of headaches. Seemless integration into my theme and joomla. Great all the way around.
2009-01-20
Reviews: 1
I had been looking for an easy to use gallery and this one does everything, plus the little extra of batch upload in folder structure (which becomes categories). Very cool

Development is constant and the user interface has been well thought out. Good work.
2009-01-14
Reviews: 4
Cute little component but with no pagination and a clumsy upload procedure it is not practical for large galleries.
Owner's reply

Hi,

- there is a pagination (since the first version of Phoca Gallery)
- Upload procedure - standard upload in Multiple Add View, flash upload in Multiple Add View, standard upload in Add View, flash upload in Add View, Java upload will be implemented in next version. Upload works in frontend and in administration...

There is a special way how to quickly create your L A R G E gallery. Just create a folder structure on your PC (folders, subfolders, images), then upload this structure into your server (e.g. via FTP). Go to Multiple Add and with just one click, Phoca Gallery creates categories (from folders), subcategories (from subfolders without any limit) and thumbnails... Thousands of images in e.g. hundreds categories and subcategories per one click ... :-)

Page 14 of 18