The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Gallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! component. It is an image gallery with slideshow.

See demo with different features:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/ (click on links on left side to see different features of Phoca Gallery)

Demo with tree and image module:
http://www.phoca.cz/wallpapers/

Demo with description and no popup:
http://www.phoca.cz/templatedemo/phoca-gallery-description

Demo Phoca Gallery and Simple Caddy integration:
http://www.phoca.cz/stockphoto/

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 2.5 (1.6, 1.7):
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-gallery

Demo Phoca Gallery and YouTube Video (CSS3):
http://www.phoca.cz/virtuemartdemo/phoca-gallery-youtube

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 3:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/

Customized Phoca Gallery on live sites:
http://www.cssjoomla.com/


Phoca Gallery 3.2.6 Requirements:
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Gallery 4 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-09-07
Reviews: 1
Great component with very active development. Very easy to use with all the features you could want!
2008-09-04
Reviews: 3
Looking for a gallery for joomla, but do not want to setup an external gallery?
Or want a easy to manage, simple to set up gallery which integrates fully in joomla?

Then this Phoca Gallery solution is really something to spent a few minutes on to test.

A few minutes is enough to download, install, set it up and have it running! Very easy to understand and manage.

Looks very nice, professional and stable.

It's possible to alter the looks and appearance to suit your needs.

I am satisfied and convinced this is a quality gallery for joomla, which you at least should consider before making an (other) decision.
2008-09-04
Reviews: 1
I had to sign up just to offer my appreciation of this product. I have used many Joomla extensions but this one just takes the cake. Easy to install, easy to use, excellent configuration options, looks great.

Thankyou for finally solving all my image gallery needs.

Cheers

Hilly
2008-08-30
Reviews: 2
I'm using Phoca Gallery for almost a year now. First versions didn't look and work that great, but the newest does :). Simple installation, and looks good.

It still earns 5 out of 5, but what I would like in a newer version is that you can select how big you want the thums to be at the page which shows all your categories.

Thanks for this great extension Phoca!
2008-08-13
Reviews: 6
I can't believe how good this gallery is.

In the entire life of Joomla I don't think there has been a better looking gallery component.

I am really impressed.

The only reason why this is 4 stars is the lack of being able to create new galleries / categories in the front end.

For that reason I cannot use it on my site, but as soon as users can create galleries in front end this will be a 5 star for me and I will gladly donate.

Great work
Owner's reply

Hi, see Phoca Gallery version 2.0.0

2008-08-10
Reviews: 2
Easy to set up and install.
2008-08-07
Reviews: 23
This gallery is a must have.
I have a few websites with a gallery but with my mnew joomla 1.5.x versions not much seems to be supported or they are way behind development.
Then i found phoca gallery.
What i like about it is its simplicity to configure your albums.
The simple update feature is great and support by Jan is top.
2008-07-27
Reviews: 9
This is a very powerful and clean gallery. I used it for a 300+ (and growing) gallery website and it's integration into articles is nearly flawless.
There are even some nice goodies like PicLens support or various ways to display the full images in the gallery component, as well as some extra modules and plugins (The Random Image module is just great!)

All I wish to be added some day is the ability to have a "auto-size" lightbox which adjusts according to the image resolution instead of a fixed lightbox size.
2008-07-11
Reviews: 5
Kudos for this great component. By far the best gallery I've tested till now. Easy install and config. Great support. I recommend.
2008-07-11
Reviews: 4
Gallery installed with no problems, works great without any snags.
Frontend is limited to single pic uploaded at a time.
Backend is limited to single uploaded unless you using ftp to upload directly to server.
I still like it.
2008-07-10
Reviews: 1
Finally! If you want to create photo gallery's and have your user's access via the front end - this is it look no further! BOOK MARK THIS! Its perfect. Simple, sweet. I spent way too much time looking for this, this is awsome!
2008-06-27
Reviews: 1
Very nice, worked out of the box (joomla 1.5)
Thanks to the developers
2008-06-24
Reviews: 3
I tried few galleries before this one, and all of them had many bugs and weren't up to my expectations. This gallery is really great, quite stable, has many options and piclens suppport, which is really useful.
Support is incredbile, Jan is always there to answer questions and help you, which really means a lot, especially if you are a newbie.
2008-06-14
Reviews: 1
Phocagallery 1.8.6 is good enough that I'm now transitioning off Gallery2 with the bridge. I have 6000 photos so we'll see how it goes. I have a short list of other features I'd like to see but I'm not at all worried about them being implemented because the developer Jan is a super human programmer capable of coding at the speed of sound. The releases were coming out so fast I couldn't keep up.

In comparison to other galleries Phocagallery has the advantage of being 1.5 native, not a bridge and capable. The code is solid, it's simple to use and install and has good features. I expect it to continue to mature and become THE gallery for Joomla 1.5. I used RSGallery2 for a short time and have been using the Gallery2 bridge for years. Phoca doesn't do everything the others do yet but the code is cleaner and new development is happening much faster. I think Phocagallery is the future.

With Phocagallery 1.8.6 you can now rotate images and recreate thumbnails. In addition to the already present features of having as many categories as you want (and nested too) with the ability to have a theme you have a good base to create nice galleries. In the future I'd like to see more powerful theming, and some new modules..

Grant
2008-05-24
Reviews: 5
I've been looking for an good gallery component for a long time, but most components are full with bugs or they seem to be death and not been updated for months and months.

This component is been edited very well! loads of updates and really good future's.

The "piclens" support is awesome.

However there is 1 thing that is not completed, the multiple upload future that's important for me is not working as it should be in my eyes. I hope this will get developed in the future.
2008-05-23
Reviews: 2
It's really amazing, does everything I want a gallery to do, it's fully customizable, tested on FF2, Opera 9.5, IE6, IE7, Safari.

It's easy and has great support on Phoca's website, this is far best ever extension I used for Joomla, I wish that every extension I'm using had such a great support and was so customizable.
2008-05-14
Reviews: 3
This is a great extension! Easy to install and to configure! Does what it suppose to do.
If you're stuck, simply follow the instructions on their website.
Keep up the good work.
2008-05-06
Reviews: 3
i do love this gallery it works as advertised and the option to simply upload a folder within the main folder and it will automatically create categories for said folders, however a downside to this is there is ( not that ive found ) no way to set global permissions upon these new categories so when i create them im stuck with running an SQL query to get them all set to public viewable in one swift move

other than that this extension is growing in new ways with each release and only gets better each time.
2008-05-02
Reviews: 2
Thanks a lot for this amazing gallery...
2008-04-30
Reviews: 2
After *paying* for another gallery which I've spent a week trying to get running, reading their support forum, having questions or thread posts go on deaf ears, I finally gave up and figured my purchase was a 12 euro donation.

I downloaded Phoca Gallery, buzzed through the very well laid out documentation, installed the component, and was up and running with a fully functional gallery, just as advertised.

No headache, no frustration.
Just a functioning gallery.
Page 16 of 18