The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Gallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! component. It is an image gallery with slideshow.

See demo with different features:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/ (click on links on left side to see different features of Phoca Gallery)

Demo with tree and image module:
http://www.phoca.cz/wallpapers/

Demo with description and no popup:
http://www.phoca.cz/templatedemo/phoca-gallery-description

Demo Phoca Gallery and Simple Caddy integration:
http://www.phoca.cz/stockphoto/

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 2.5 (1.6, 1.7):
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-gallery

Demo Phoca Gallery and YouTube Video (CSS3):
http://www.phoca.cz/virtuemartdemo/phoca-gallery-youtube

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 3:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/


Phoca Gallery 3.2.6 Requirements:
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Gallery 4 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-04-30
Reviews: 5
This is a superb Gallery, simple to install and super quick to set up with a load of images in no time flat. I've used other galleries that are quite complicated, but this little beauty is smooth and user-friendly even for a novice. The ability to change colours/backgrounds/borders etc to suit ones website design is magnificent. A Gallery that truly integrates into Joomla 1.5. Well done to the developers - genius!
2008-04-29
Reviews: 1
I'm using phocagallery with the plugin for a couple of months. I really appreciate the good and fast support on the phocagallery forum. Further more I like the aspect of enlarging images in the modal box with a slideshow feature. The only feature request I have is to have multiple language support for the descriptions...

This is a really nice solution if you want to have a gallery on your Joomla 1.5 website. If you want to have images in your article with a possibility to enlarge them, use this in combination with the phocagallery plugin.
2008-04-23
Reviews: 6
After a long struggle with another gallery I finnaly looked for alternatives. Phoca was like finding a treasure! Thank you very much for this great gallery.
2008-04-22
Reviews: 1
Amazing job : professionnal, documented, works perfectly. Thanks a lot!!!
2008-04-20
Reviews: 1
This is a really, really easy component to install and use. I had a few issues with it on my hosted site where I could not make thumbnails but Jan was incredibly helpful and, although I could not solve the thumbs problem, I found a workaround and now the site looks fantastic.
All credit to Jan for his swift help.
2008-04-17
Reviews: 1
Good integration into Joomla, no bugs encountered yet.
UserInterface could be a bit more intuitive, though. Gallery is list of foto's and categroy is a gallery, imho. But once this is clear, no pain and a lot of gain! Well done.
Owner's reply

Don't understand:

Frontend:
Categories view - list of categories
Category view - images in one category

Backend:
Gallery - main view with images
Categories - list of categories
Themes - themes

2008-04-12
Reviews: 1
This is an extremely easy to use plugin for Joomla 1.5. The interface is just so simple and seems to be the new way of things for Joomla plugins since the 1.5 incarnation.

The interface is extremely simple to use and whilst the options available are not overwhelming they are certainly enough to provide for 99% of your needs.

It integrates well with Joomla 1.5's SEO capabilities and requires the upload of images through Joomla's default media manager (maintaining a standard workflow).

Excellent component!!
2008-04-10
Reviews: 1
This is one of if not the best available gallery extension for Joomla 1.5. I have tried SIG, and it just does not not seem to work with 1.5 even though they claim it does. This is extremely easy to setup and is highly configurable. Well done!!
2008-04-10
Reviews: 5
I'm using the latest version of Phoca gallery with Joomla 1.5. The problem I have with it is that once installed,loaded with photos, the gallery thumbs/folders show well on the page, but once clicked the next page shows no photos nor any site template. I've tried using various templates but it's not the site templates. I tried using the 2 Phoca gallery templates and the problem persists. I get a blank white page with a menu on the left, no modules, nothing and no photos. Everything is published. Is there a missing plugin or something? I'd rate this higher but cannot considering the problems with it.
Owner's reply

Hi, if you have some problems, which can be caused e.g. by SEF or not correctly URL creating, or... please visit the Phoca Gallery Forum

2008-04-10
Reviews: 4
If you have Joomla 1.5, and you need a photo gallery. It doesn't get much better for a clean intuitive photo gallery application.

Once you get it installed, check out phoca's FAQ on PicLens. If you use Flickr, it's a must have!
2008-04-08
Reviews: 3
I have been searching for an image gallery managing solution for Joomla for over a year, and continually had to compromise with clunky code, bad UI, or just not the exact features I wanted.

You can add images to the Phoca folder via FTP, add them to the catagories quickly via the component, have auto-thumbnails, image descriptions, AND (important!) your users can download the images easily (a problem that few developers seemed to care about). With the other Phoca modules this is a powerful gallery tool indeed.

Phoca is clean, neat and well-documented. I will be implementing it on the not-for-profit sites I help maintain, and making a personal donation when I can afford it, because work like this really deserves recognition. Thank you for developing such a worthwhile extension!
2008-03-18
Reviews: 1
Easy to install and use yet powerful to use. Out of the box it looks very clean on the website.

The few questions I had were answered by the comprehensive demo examples and text information provided. Also forum replies were very quick.

Cheers Jan!!!
2008-03-14
Reviews: 9
A surprisingly simple gallery / slideshow component with a great look. Setup is straightforward and logical; display options are reasonable, if not comprehensive. Wish-list: collaborative additions to galleries from the front-end.
2008-03-05
Reviews: 5
I have little words words to descripe this component...
I is simple the best this ever!!! beste ever!
simple to install
simple to work with, just dump all your pictures in the folder phocagallery en it does everuthing for you with ease.
Thank you so much for this! :)
2008-03-04
Reviews: 10
Finally found a Gallery that a dummy like me can get working!

Up and running in 15 minutes. No errors like I've had trying other Gallery components in 1.5.


Thanks
2008-02-14
Reviews: 9
This is one hell of a component! Not only is it a real native Joomla! 1.5 component, unlike many others who claim they are but actually aren't, but it's easy to deploy and administer. Apart from that, Jan the architect gives excellent support and is open to suggestions.
2008-02-09
Reviews: 1
I give it a 8 out of 10! It is the best gallery for joomla if you don't need multiple user support. Simple to use and looks good too. I have been waiting for something like this! My only complaint is there is currently no support for generating square thumbnails like gallery2 does. When it has the ability to make all the thumbnails the same size I will vote it a 10!
2008-02-02
Reviews: 5
thanks. easy to setup.
only problem i had was i cant create categories in IE7
found out i coud be done in other browser
i used prism ( from mozilla labs)
2008-01-23
Reviews: 2
I love this gallery. I tried getting some of the other galleries that I've used in J! 1.0.X sites that were 'now supported' in 1.5, and I had nothing but problems with them. I decided to go try something new. Phoca Gallery was supported so I gave it a whirl.

I was impressed of the bat. Uploading images is simple. I love that I can do it with a simple FTP Client. No zipping up images like you have to do with RSGallery for mass uploads or anything like that. very easy and simple to use.

I would suggest to the wonderful developers to support categories/sub categories, though. For the site I'm building right now it was necessary to have this function, but I've figured out a way to get around it. Its a bit more clumsy, but it will work.

A++ Gallery here!
2008-01-05
Reviews: 1
I have been following Phoca Gallery since its earliest release and I can safely say that it is THE BEST gallery to use with Joomla! CMS! Easy install, easy configuration and overall front end best functionality and usability.

If you want a gallery for your Joomla! install, look no further, just type phoca in Joomla extension search bar and download your copy if this great gallery. Finally, and best of all, the gallery developer is very helpful.
Page 17 of 18