The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Gallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! component. It is an image gallery with slideshow.

See demo with different features:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/ (click on links on left side to see different features of Phoca Gallery)

Demo with tree and image module:
http://www.phoca.cz/wallpapers/

Demo with description and no popup:
http://www.phoca.cz/templatedemo/phoca-gallery-description

Demo Phoca Gallery and Simple Caddy integration:
http://www.phoca.cz/stockphoto/

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 2.5 (1.6, 1.7):
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-gallery

Demo Phoca Gallery and YouTube Video (CSS3):
http://www.phoca.cz/virtuemartdemo/phoca-gallery-youtube

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 3:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/


Phoca Gallery 3.2.6 Requirements:
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Gallery 4 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-01-03
Reviews: 4
My english is not very good, but to your extension i am writing. I am arrived here at joomla! I did download a lot of
extensions to 1.5 rc4. A lot of extensions work more or less, others as xmap are good and nice, but your extensions is a espectacular demonstration of what we need to show here. Easy Instalation, no difficult to download (without a lot o registrations and other things), for my installation did work perfectly and if you need a translate to portuguese, i can do this, i haven´t much time, but is possible. Good luck and a lot of thanks!
bxt
2008-01-03
Reviews: 1
Exactly what we needed, no hassle & looks nice (business site). Combined with the plugin, allows us to show our wares within an article.

Great job Jan!
2007-12-15
Reviews: 2
This component is EXACTLY what I need for my website. This component is brilliant, easy to use and simple to install. The only fault is that images in the gallery disappear when fluid width is selected from my template.
2007-12-11
Reviews: 1
And the most important thing... it works!

I tried another gallery extentions.. very impressive in demo web.. but in the end it doesn't work... error in installation... and configuration...

This PhocaGallery... works!

Great job!
ace
2007-11-11
Reviews: 1
simple, beautiful solution,
installed real quick & easy to configure.

had some issues displaying full pictures,
their forum pointed me in the right direction & it turned out to be a hosting issue
[if you're with godaddy - PHP 4.3.11 needs to be upgraded to PHP 5 in your control panel]
after that was updated it all came together & works like a dream.

this products seems to be in constant development so i rekon the best is yet to come:)

if you're looking for a gallery solution - THIS IS IT.
2007-11-04
Reviews: 2
Installed easily, was simple to configure. Overall, for what this is, it's a nice little plugin. I haven't seen a better one for Joomla! 1.5 yet.

However, it was not quite adequate for my needs because of one small omission. When viewing the photos large, there is no facility to show a title and/or a description of the photo.

When these are added, it will be awesome!
Owner's reply

Yes, there is.

2007-10-31
Reviews: 6
Just to let to know others about my experiences: no troubles with installation, simple image handling and management, appealing appearance. I just give preferce of this component for others offered. Thanks very much for this contribution.
2007-10-26
Reviews: 11
First of all, this is a great component with excellent menu support and a good set of options. I have two issues with the gallery.

1. The title is displayed only with the thumbnail. This would be a great option for the modal or popup.

2. The modal window (which I don't use because of the IE thing) is always max-height on the screen. Adjustable? Less than max even slightly would be nice. Part of the frame is hidden if I've got firefox searchbar open.
Owner's reply

You can add the title into a description in detail window...
You can change the modal box size

2007-10-20
Reviews: 3
G'Day,

I was looking for a simple way to integrate my photos into Joomla and this is it. Very nice. Before moving to J! I had a PHP script that scanned a directory creating a sumary page of all the folders it contained and then the thumbnail view was of all the images it contained. This meant all I had to do was upload my images and I was done. This extension is as close to that as I could find.

I did notice a few bugs though with 1.1.0:

- Under IE the thumbnail view has both horizontal and vertical scrollbars which should not be there. Firefox does not exibit this behaviour:

FF: http://img151.imageshack.us/img151/8586/phfirefoxuy1.jpg
IE:http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/2730/phinternetexplorerls0.jpg

- As already posted the popup lightbox viewer also has scroll bars under IE where it shouldnt.

Feature Requests ;-):

- Ability to set the pixel size (height and width) of the thumb nails
- Ability to specify the number of columns in the thumbnail view
- Ability to show EXIF data from images either as a mouse over (thumbnail) or with the image (thumbnail, full size)
- Ability to invoke the thumbnail generation explicitly
- Ability to download and/or email the full sized original image
- Some form of client side application that would allow you to do category creation, file upload, gallery add without having to do it manually through the J! web interface (Do you have an API document somewhere?)
Owner's reply

Thank you for your tips.
- Ability to set the pixel size (height and width) of the thumb nails - this can be complicated because after doing changes, every thumbnails (e.g. 1000 photos) must be resized
- Ability to download and/or email the full sized original image - in version 1.1.2, there is a ability to download images with some image information

There is no API. Any help will be appreciated (How to do API from comments, help with English language while writing comments)

2007-10-17
Reviews: 1
Great start, but I am missing a module (or plug-in, àla Simple Image Gallery), that can fetch images from a category.
Owner's reply

Yes, you are right. Plug-in is in alfa phase yet...

2007-10-14
Reviews: 1
Hello there Mr. Pavelka,

This multi add feature was exactly what I needed... I testet out Phoca Gallery a couple of days ago but decided against it precisely because I would have to add each image one at a time.

I find you tool to be very good indeed, but as you know - we never really get satisfied, and so obviously I also have a few pointers as to where you might focus:

1. The Lightbox popup is not correctly sized with respect to the height here on my IE7, and so a scrollbar appear. I'll go see if I can fix it myself for the time being...

2. Subcategories would be really nice...

3. An option to let the category description appear in the "Phoca Gallery Category List Layout" beneath the link to the category

4. Download option in the popup to the original image (before Phoca resized it)

5. If there's any way to speed up the thumbnail generation it would be great :-)

Regardless: Great work, Jan!! I really look forward to future editions.

/Balslev
Owner's reply

The speed of thumbnail generation depends on speed of your server. There is a problem. Mostly, you have only 30 seconds to execute the script. So you can create thumbnails faster without redirection the site. But if you want to add e.g. 50 images, creation of thumbnails will be broken because of execution time. You can solve it, if you use redirection after creating a thumbnail. But you must use HTTP redirection, not server-side redirection (because there is a browser protection too - loop protection). Mostly the thumbnail is creating once far all. It is better solution than creating thumbnail on-line for every user who visits the site.

2007-10-13
Reviews: 1
This is EXACTLY what I was looking for. Simply perfect for me. You should give it at least a try
2007-10-10
Reviews: 6
Use the latest version of Joomla and this component installs quickly and configures in just a couple of steps. I had our membership gallery up and running in minutes. Had a minor problem -- my error -- and Jan was right there to make sure everything was working properly. Great support, easy to configure. The slide show is slick.
2007-09-29
Reviews: 1
This component is an extremely elegant gallery solution. Configuring and displaying galleries is very straightforward. This has the promise of becoming a very powerful native Joomla gallery solution - something that is sorely lacking right now.

I'd like to offer a couple suggestions for future development:

1. Front-end editing
2. Registered user submission of photos/galleries
3. Multiple-level categories
4. Option to assign photos to more than one category
5. Tagging (site-defined and user-defined)
6. Community Builder integration

Congratulations, and thanks for providing a such a beautiful gallery component. I'm looking forward to continued development.
WOW
2007-09-28
Reviews: 12
Great Job :)
I like it!
Page 18 of 18