The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Gallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! component. It is an image gallery with slideshow.

See demo with different features:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/ (click on links on left side to see different features of Phoca Gallery)

Demo with tree and image module:
http://www.phoca.cz/wallpapers/

Demo with description and no popup:
http://www.phoca.cz/templatedemo/phoca-gallery-description

Demo Phoca Gallery and Simple Caddy integration:
http://www.phoca.cz/stockphoto/

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 2.5 (1.6, 1.7):
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-gallery

Demo Phoca Gallery and YouTube Video (CSS3):
http://www.phoca.cz/virtuemartdemo/phoca-gallery-youtube

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 3:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/


Phoca Gallery 3.2.6 Requirements:
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Gallery 4 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2013-04-29
Reviews: 2
I want to say Thank You to developer for that great job he made. One of the best components you can find.
2013-04-24
Reviews: 2
we have used the module for displaing players and teams galleries on our new basketball website. It does the job very well.

I found translations on their forums as well as other answers for my questions that i had during the installation and setting it up

Do reccomend.
2013-04-22
Reviews: 2
Used on our website together with Phoca Restaurant Menu to display our menu.

It fully meets our expectations.

We had some problems while setting up Phoca Restaurant Menu but these have been solved thank to help in developer's forum.

Phoca Gallery works flawlessly.
2013-04-21
Reviews: 3
This is a great component, very flexible, easy to customize and it offers many possibilities. It is easy to install an the documentation is clear.
If there are additional questions, the forum is efficient and the support is fast. Good work!
2013-04-10
Reviews: 1
This is by far the best and most flexible gallery component I have come across on Joomla. Beautiful lightbox effects and easy customization makes it my favorite photo gallery. Plus you have the option of a front-end admin access for uploads do you dont have to worry about having to give granny access to the admin back-end. Good work guys
2013-04-09
Reviews: 4
Absolutely fantastic gallery! Finally i was able to customize my photo gallery according to my needs. You can also have lot of useful plugins which help with better integration into joomla site. Last but not least is perfect documentation and active forum.
2013-04-08
Reviews: 7
Works very well. In case you have any problems, the documentation is clear and has helped me very well with a few things I did not immediately understand.
Well done!
Thanks for this quality extension!
2013-04-08
Reviews: 6
this is really an absolut excellent component.

it comes with lots of options and configuration possibilitys.

the support is perfect!

thx for your work jan
2013-04-07
Reviews: 2
I use the gallery, installation was simple and ok, but there is problem with the internet explorer 10, it does not display the slideshow. Firefox was OK.
I registered in Phoca (annoying security prompts) and found no help.

In a google search for problems with Phoca several clues that were all brought no result.

I think it is better for a plugin to buy with Suport.
Have a nice day
Jacqueline
Owner's reply

Hi,

will be great if you can be more specific.

Phoca Gallery uses a lot of different slideshows so if some of them has problems in non standard browser it can be changed to other one until javascript developers of current javascript libraries will do some new handling for new non standard browser. It is common thing that every new version of IE behaves different way to previous version and that it needs some time so developer can do exception for such version.

I don't understand your last sentence. In case some other plugin uses the same javascript library like you have used in Phoca Gallery, it will get the same problems with IE. But mostly other galleries don't have so many features. So you can just switch to other than used method. Comparing two different things is really not helpful for other users :-(

Not sure if you run some e.g. forum etc, but please you should know, that in world of spam and ddos attacks, you need to run some protection in the forum. :-(


Anyway - the problem is of course IE and maybe not updated javascript library. I am developer of Phoca Gallery, not a developer of IE or the javascript library, so I really don't understand the review :-(

Jan

2013-03-25
Reviews: 2
I have used Phoca Gallery, with no need to call for support, which in itself is a recommendation.

The component does what it advertize, with a large choice of detail page presentation, and a robust frontend administration capacity. You can adapt the look with thémes. I personnalyy like wallpaper.

Numerous extensions through modules and plugins seem available, but I did not check them out.

Two (small) complaints :
- the configuration process (parameters) is not always very clear and some try and error was required
- the localisation(French) was not complete
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your review.

1) For now I don't have any information about if after enabling some parameter it will cause some error. If you get some error message will be great you can post it in Phoca Forum so I can take a look at it.


2) Unfortunatelly I don't speak French, so if French language will be updated or not, this depends on French community - users who speak French. If you speak French, will be great you can update the translation and send me a copy (it is about some lines of strings which can be translated into your language e.g. by Google Translator and cleaned by yourself (as if you speak French you will know if the translation have a sense)


Thank you, Jan

2013-03-23
Reviews: 1
The most complete photogallery plugin in JED. You can choose everything, effects, thumbnails, description, lightbox, ecc.

Just some problem in bulk upload with chrome, but i believe you can use firefox tu upload pictures.
2013-02-20
Reviews: 1
Pretty basic, easy to use, great support and a flawless installation.

Great & simple extension for basic galleries.
2013-02-09
Reviews: 7
This is one of the 'base' components I add to every fresh Joomla install. I use it for single images, image galleries, video galleries. Very easy to customize styles to match your site or need.
2013-02-05
Reviews: 4
This component is great and i recommend it to any other people cause there is no other like this for free!
2013-02-01
Reviews: 1
The best component for gallery with advanced functions
2013-01-16
Reviews: 2
It works great and this new category mosaic ist very nice
2013-01-09
Reviews: 4
This component was just ok. The workflow for adding multiple images is terrible. When you go to add multiple images you have to either create new folder to put your new images into or your images will be uploaded into the normal folder along with your other images. Then you have to select the images you just uploaded among the images that were already there in order to place them in their respective gallery. So if you already have ton’s of images this can be ridiculous. Also, I’m not a huge fan of the folder section at the bottom of the multiple upload. It would be really easy to just select the category you want to upload and click save.
Owner's reply

Hi, I don't understand what you want to say with your subject.

I have many times explained (just look at the phoca site) why users decided to have independent database and filesystem layer. If you will read this explanation, you will understand which advantages the feature you have mentioned has.

Anyway really don't understand if such feature (only one small part of different possibilities how to add images to Phoca Gallery) can be the reason for "two star rating"

Multiple Add feature was added by one community member to Phoca Gallery as feature which should other users help to add images to system faster and easier and since beginning it was appreciated by many other users.

I didn't make this feature so I can say (without loosing objectivity) that your two star rating is based on not understanding this feature.

The folder section is primarily a "file manager" function and if you don't like this feature, of course, you don't need to use it.

"It would be really easy to just select the category you want to upload and click save."

You just select (with one click) one folder (or more to make the work faster) and it will be automatically translated to category and all its subfolders will be automatically translated to subcategories and all files will be translated to thumbnails - all this goes on automatically.

Unfortunatelly Multiple Upload feature does not make any sense without listing folders :-( ... the same like using Total Commander does not make any sense without listing folders and files :-(

PM: If you really want to use Phoca Gallery and you really want to change some feature then please visit Phoca site and add feature request list into the forum. Or visit UserVoice server to vote the changes. This will motivate me or other community members to see such feature and check what can be done in this area.

I or other community members, we are listening to all ideas and all critical feedbacks (because critics move the project forward) but the critic should be discussed in the forum (and explained why e.g. some feature works like it works) but it is hard to listen to some idea which is made from beginning with bad intention on other server than developer/user site :-(

To all users: please if you want some feature should be improved in Phoca extension or changed, visit Phoca site and write it direclty to me or to community members. Saying it to other users who don't have any chance to change - this will not help anyone - you never get that something will change and I or other community member will never get the motivation to see this feedback objectively. :-( :-(

2013-01-08
Reviews: 4
The best.
Using it for several years and don't think to use other once. Recomended.
2013-01-02
Reviews: 1
Probably the best Gallery because of all the features and possibilities to adjust. the support is very quick and friendly. I really can recommend it for private and commercial use. Thanks to Jan - please keep going!
2012-12-31
Reviews: 12
So far, so good -- some trouble with entering multiple new Images at once (upload lock, but I'm not sure whether that's the extension or the server, and I'd really like to be able to enter individual titles with multiple new images), but overall a MUCH better extension than the others I've tried.
Page 2 of 18