The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Gallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! component. It is an image gallery with slideshow.

See demo with different features:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/ (click on links on left side to see different features of Phoca Gallery)

Demo with tree and image module:
http://www.phoca.cz/wallpapers/

Demo with description and no popup:
http://www.phoca.cz/templatedemo/phoca-gallery-description

Demo Phoca Gallery and Simple Caddy integration:
http://www.phoca.cz/stockphoto/

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 2.5 (1.6, 1.7):
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-gallery

Demo Phoca Gallery and YouTube Video (CSS3):
http://www.phoca.cz/virtuemartdemo/phoca-gallery-youtube

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 3:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/


Phoca Gallery 3.2.6 Requirements:
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Gallery 4 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2013-07-14
Reviews: 5
Excellent extension, very easy to use and all I need is there.
Thnak you very much for hard work.
2013-07-13
Reviews: 3
This seems like a very good extension. However after a few weeks trying to use it I failed because the documentation is not clear enough for a person with my limited experience. Although I have created my own website and installed RSGallery2 on it. Because RSGallery2 has not been up graded to J3 I needed to replace it Maybe what is needed is a Phoca for Dummies. Certainly more complete documentation would help.
Owner's reply

Hi, not sure if you have read the Phoca Documentation here:

http://www.phoca.cz/documentation/category/2-phoca-gallery-component

1) Most of users say, that it is great that such free extension has a lot of documentation, so it is very subjective to say, the documentation is not clear enough - of course documentation of Joomla! needs to be read too as it is fully Joomla! component. And of course, not everything can be added to documentation and sometimes it is not clear enough, e.g. if the feature should be documented in Phoca or in Joomla! And of course, the Phoca project is made by one human, so it is really hard sometimes to update the documentation. And more harder to update documentation for extension which is done for Joomla! which is not stable LTS yet (Phoca Gallery 4 and Joomla! 3 - first all the plugins and modules needs to be written and then the documentation can be updated.)

2) "person with limited experience" - the next thing what users appreciate, is, there are Jonathan's comments. Jonathan stared with Phoca Galley and he was very new to Phoca and Joomla! and after he understood it, he gave me the offer to make comments for novices - so Phoca Gallery documentation includes comments for novices made by Jonathan who knew the novice's problems as he was in fact novice while writing the comments - the documentation.

So I think, this can be called: "Phoca for Dummies" and if you will use Phoca Gallery again, will be great you can write comments too, so this will help other people. I will be glad to implement such comments into documentation. And if you write new parts of documentation, this will be great too. You will be welcome.

Anyway, always if you will have problems which you cannot find in documentation - http://www.phoca.cz/documentation then just ask in Phoca Forum - http://www.phoca.cz/forum/ - I or Benno we are trying to answer all the questions in the forum.

And of course before reviewing any free extension, you should know the following:

http://www.phoca.cz/phoca-needs-your-help/

Thank you for understanding.

Jan

2013-06-17
Reviews: 18
While I have been a fan of other Phoca products, I'm afraid this isn't working for me.

Installation seemed to go fine, but I can't even set up a category. I found this error dating back years on their forum. No time to mess with it, moving on.
Owner's reply

Hi, Phoca Gallery works on hundreds of thousands of pages without any such problem, which means, this is not a system problem (this means it is not a basic problem in Phoca Gallery)

Regarding this problem - just see the Phoca Forum - http://www.phoca.cz/forum/ - there are some solved similar issues. Mostly this was caused by javascript conflict in administration - without any dependency to Phoca Gallery. Javascript conflict just disabled normal function of Joomla! button behaviour (to check the form and save the category)

Anyway I am open to help everybody (I have answered over 40.000 posts in different Joomla! forums - include Phoca Forum) and I can take a look at the administration of user in case user gets some conflict there.

There are many ways how to solve any problem but the worst solution, is to not ask on forum or other contact form and directly write such review here?

Are you really sure, you wanted to use Phoca Gallery? In case you got problem, are you really sure you wanted to solve it? This review seems like you never wanted to solve the problem, in such case I don't understand this review? It is a fake review? Not. Do you want to solve the problem? If yes, just contact me, there are many ways ho to solve the problem. You can do it easily on Phoca Forum page ( http://www.phoca.cz/forum/ )


Thank you for understanding.
Jan

2013-06-16
Reviews: 3
Is exactely what one need, from simple to complex, and not the other way round !!!
Highly recommend !!!
Thanks for the good work !!!
2013-06-11
Reviews: 2
I use that album for several years. Sometimes there is a problem with the installation (not create the tables in the database, then you need to change the prefix in the names of the tables on the joomla's table prefix, and import the sql file - everything is clearly written on the side phoca.cz).
For me it is the best choice.
Thanks!
2013-05-27
Reviews: 4
Phoca Gallery is an excellent component. I use it for several years now and I couldn't be more happier with it. I love it's plugin which makes it easy to input images in the articles - Phoca Gallery Button Plugin.

Component and it's plugins or modules are easy to install and configure. For component it took me few moments before I understood the configuration options, because it has so many options. However, once I figured it out, it was easy to work with the component.
Only thing I might suggest to developer would be, to make the Detail View Settings, Category View Settings, General Settings, Slideshow Settings,... spread in tabs, so there is less scrolling, but that is more personal preference than anything else.

Handling with images once they are uploaded via ftp, couldn't be more simple, same goes for setting titles. I like that it offers more layouts for detailed window - Slimbox, Highlisde Js, Shadowbox,... not only that, in general component offers so many features, also if you don't want to use them you can disable them. It offers more than I need, but if I ever change my mind I know I can use the rest later too.

The documentation is very detailed, it's easy to find support on forums too, and developer himself responds on support e-mails quickly too.

The whole package offers more than I need, I couldn't be happier with this component, it's modules and plugins. I'd recommend it to anyone who wants to set up gallery on their Joomla website.
2013-05-21
Reviews: 1
I have Used this Extion of Phocas for quite sometime, from 1.5 to currentlty Now Joomla 3.1 though i am waiting for a phocas image module for 3.0, the Gallery is the BEST... i have NEVER Found any better gallery extension that is Better. the Extensions are Just as good for Phocas Gallery. If You are seeking a NEW and Better PHOTO GALLERY, THIS IS IT... Thanks to the Developer. just 1 of the best extensions I LOVE
2013-05-12
Reviews: 1
Best gallery out there.
it delivers everything that you even need(or don't).
i'v seen many extensions,but they were just pieces of what i need,but his one have all those pieces in one extension !
b4 it i used joomgallery and it was great,but it lacked one thing - youtube support.
so i migrated to phoca,that deliver same level of quality(with some differences ofc) but also give ability to have video gallery.

hope to see more features.
2013-04-29
Reviews: 1
I want to say Thank You to developer for that great job he made. One of the best components you can find.
2013-04-24
Reviews: 2
we have used the module for displaing players and teams galleries on our new basketball website. It does the job very well.

I found translations on their forums as well as other answers for my questions that i had during the installation and setting it up

Do reccomend.
2013-04-22
Reviews: 2
Used on our website together with Phoca Restaurant Menu to display our menu.

It fully meets our expectations.

We had some problems while setting up Phoca Restaurant Menu but these have been solved thank to help in developer's forum.

Phoca Gallery works flawlessly.
2013-04-21
Reviews: 3
This is a great component, very flexible, easy to customize and it offers many possibilities. It is easy to install an the documentation is clear.
If there are additional questions, the forum is efficient and the support is fast. Good work!
2013-04-10
Reviews: 1
This is by far the best and most flexible gallery component I have come across on Joomla. Beautiful lightbox effects and easy customization makes it my favorite photo gallery. Plus you have the option of a front-end admin access for uploads do you dont have to worry about having to give granny access to the admin back-end. Good work guys
2013-04-09
Reviews: 4
Absolutely fantastic gallery! Finally i was able to customize my photo gallery according to my needs. You can also have lot of useful plugins which help with better integration into joomla site. Last but not least is perfect documentation and active forum.
2013-04-08
Reviews: 7
Works very well. In case you have any problems, the documentation is clear and has helped me very well with a few things I did not immediately understand.
Well done!
Thanks for this quality extension!
2013-04-08
Reviews: 6
this is really an absolut excellent component.

it comes with lots of options and configuration possibilitys.

the support is perfect!

thx for your work jan
2013-04-07
Reviews: 2
I use the gallery, installation was simple and ok, but there is problem with the internet explorer 10, it does not display the slideshow. Firefox was OK.
I registered in Phoca (annoying security prompts) and found no help.

In a google search for problems with Phoca several clues that were all brought no result.

I think it is better for a plugin to buy with Suport.
Have a nice day
Jacqueline
Owner's reply

Hi,

will be great if you can be more specific.

Phoca Gallery uses a lot of different slideshows so if some of them has problems in non standard browser it can be changed to other one until javascript developers of current javascript libraries will do some new handling for new non standard browser. It is common thing that every new version of IE behaves different way to previous version and that it needs some time so developer can do exception for such version.

I don't understand your last sentence. In case some other plugin uses the same javascript library like you have used in Phoca Gallery, it will get the same problems with IE. But mostly other galleries don't have so many features. So you can just switch to other than used method. Comparing two different things is really not helpful for other users :-(

Not sure if you run some e.g. forum etc, but please you should know, that in world of spam and ddos attacks, you need to run some protection in the forum. :-(


Anyway - the problem is of course IE and maybe not updated javascript library. I am developer of Phoca Gallery, not a developer of IE or the javascript library, so I really don't understand the review :-(

Jan

2013-03-25
Reviews: 2
I have used Phoca Gallery, with no need to call for support, which in itself is a recommendation.

The component does what it advertize, with a large choice of detail page presentation, and a robust frontend administration capacity. You can adapt the look with thémes. I personnalyy like wallpaper.

Numerous extensions through modules and plugins seem available, but I did not check them out.

Two (small) complaints :
- the configuration process (parameters) is not always very clear and some try and error was required
- the localisation(French) was not complete
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your review.

1) For now I don't have any information about if after enabling some parameter it will cause some error. If you get some error message will be great you can post it in Phoca Forum so I can take a look at it.


2) Unfortunatelly I don't speak French, so if French language will be updated or not, this depends on French community - users who speak French. If you speak French, will be great you can update the translation and send me a copy (it is about some lines of strings which can be translated into your language e.g. by Google Translator and cleaned by yourself (as if you speak French you will know if the translation have a sense)


Thank you, Jan

2013-03-23
Reviews: 1
The most complete photogallery plugin in JED. You can choose everything, effects, thumbnails, description, lightbox, ecc.

Just some problem in bulk upload with chrome, but i believe you can use firefox tu upload pictures.
2013-02-20
Reviews: 1
Pretty basic, easy to use, great support and a flawless installation.

Great & simple extension for basic galleries.
Page 2 of 18