The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Gallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! component. It is an image gallery with slideshow.

See demo with different features:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/ (click on links on left side to see different features of Phoca Gallery)

Demo with tree and image module:
http://www.phoca.cz/wallpapers/

Demo with description and no popup:
http://www.phoca.cz/templatedemo/phoca-gallery-description

Demo Phoca Gallery and Simple Caddy integration:
http://www.phoca.cz/stockphoto/

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 2.5 (1.6, 1.7):
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-gallery

Demo Phoca Gallery and YouTube Video (CSS3):
http://www.phoca.cz/virtuemartdemo/phoca-gallery-youtube

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 3:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/


Phoca Gallery 3.2.6 Requirements:
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Gallery 4 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-12-30
Reviews: 1
I am using phoca gallery since several years now. When I selected it, I didn't have too much knowledge of Joomla in general and any specific components. So I picked Phoca Gallery based on the good reviews. It's very easy to use, provides the results I was hoping for and runs very stable. Thanks for this great work !
2012-12-19
Reviews: 2
I have been searching for a gallery extension in this category for a week. So far, this is the best and I have fit with this. Thanks for the developer.
2012-12-11
Reviews: 2
This component is already using 5 years. It's the best components and recommend it to everyone!
2012-11-30
Reviews: 1
Meant to write this review here but accidentally posted it under the plugin. Have loved this component and used it for 2 years on my photo booth website. Works great and does all that it says that is does. Just wish that it had a simple way to password protect each album without having to make registered users for each one. Then it would be perfect! (in my opinion)
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your feedback, you can set permissions for groups too, not only for each user.

Jan

2012-11-10
Reviews: 3
The least I can do for this great component is to rate it with a perfect score. The developer is so awesome that even with no paid subscription required for this component, he makes sure everybody gets a smooth transition from old versions to newer ones. Just awesome! Please continue the good work. Thank you so much.
2012-10-31
Reviews: 3
I think Phoca Gallery is a good extension. My website centers around photo gallery displays and this component works well for it
One thing I really like about this component the endless customizable options available for me.
I did notices some bugs when I tried the demo though. Example would be that I was unable to center the thumbnail. So this area still needs a bit more testing and bug fixing.
The interface looks good but it could be a bit simpler and user friendly. But overall, I would recommend this component.
Owner's reply

Hi, not sure what you mean with centering and bug.

Most appreciated feature of the Phoca Gallery is the unique system of centering of thumbnails. It means, the thumbnail is centered horizontally and vertically (which is a common issue in HTML/CSS)

This is why a lot of users use the Phoca Gallery instead of other gallery - because they have centered the thumbnails.

Please let me know in Phoca Forum - http://www.phoca.cz/forum what you exactly mean.

Jan

2012-10-05
Reviews: 1
Great component! The only limitation is the inability to enter into the post thumbnails square but you can only use the plugin that does not allow the use of thumbnails square
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your review, but I really don't understand what you exactly mean with "thumbnails square"

Can you post this as a topic into Phoca Forum (with some more concrete explanation), etc. - http://www.phoca.cz/forum

Thank you, Jan

2012-09-18
Reviews: 6
no doubt the best image gallery.. only one issue.. dont know if I am unable to figure it out.. to give captions i have to open each image and give.. if there can be an option of giving the captions in a notepad file or something like that.. it wud be great.. nevertheless.. great extension..
2012-09-12
Reviews: 1
This must be the best gallery extension for Joomla. Though I've had some issues with migrating, it's easy to use and very intuitive.
2012-09-02
Reviews: 1
It seems like it's a good component. But, i am looking for a plugin/module which counts image as page view. Currently,the one i am using, my images are opening in light-bulb effect and there entire gallery is treating as 1 page view. I am looking for something which counts each image in a gallery as 1 page view. Please suggest me, if you have in phoca that option. If not any other extension, i canlook in to? even commercial also fine
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your review, not sure if I understand you correctly, but you can display images on the site with "no popup" method, it means, every image will have own page. If I don't understand it correctly, please, just visit phoca forum (http://www.phoca.cz/forum) to write more detailed question.

Thank you, Jan

2012-08-15
Reviews: 5
It is simple best for photo gallery.This component has a number of very useful option.I used the Phoca Gallery in first time and fully satisfied.

At last this free extension is awesome.
2012-08-05
Reviews: 8
In fact this is the absolute standart of Joomla gallery and the most useful solution to organize photos on the site. If you just want to make customisable gallery without problems, this extension is for you.
2012-07-28
Reviews: 4
I'm fairly experienced with joomla and website design in general. I found this extension extremely easy to use and for a beginner and HIGHLY customizable. Couldn't ask for a better gallery. Perfect in every aspect of what I was looking for from ease of use to the display on the front end. Displaying one category right now as default but LOVE that when my artist does more shows I can categorize them by show names and the user can then navigate through different categories.

Very well designed, Thanks Jan!
2012-07-27
Reviews: 1
Please don't believe the negative "reviews" on here. I have been using phoca for 3 years and yes at first it can be a little confusing to understand not because the component is difficult but because I was new to web design. Once I understood what I was doing I saw this is a great FREE photo gallery solution. If you take some time to understand how to use the tool you can make it dance if you want to.
2012-07-17
Reviews: 1
Great photo gallery, will use on my sites. The only problem I had was getting cooliris to work. Going to the Phoca website showed me the way though.
2012-07-09
Reviews: 1
Best thing under the sun! Amazing amount of customisation options. Exactly what I was looking for.
2012-06-29
Reviews: 1
I used it for Joomla 2.5
firstly i confused with the component because there are many parameter to edit but after several time i learned, the component is very great. i can show all my product perfectly.
i also give donation for this component (not much because our company still new) so i disable visible link to developer - tell me if i'm wrong to do this.
overall, i love this component very much and i will use it for another website.
thank to phoca developer
(sorry if my english not so good)
2012-06-23
Reviews: 1
I hardly ever write reviews but this one really is a gem... I have spent hours searching for a gallery mod that would integrate with Picasa and display only the albums I wanted with pop out lightbox, it also integrates with facebook albums but I have not used this feature so cannot comment. However, when using picasa albums This does it perfectly (and more). The mod is highly customisable, the accompanying documentation good and the forum well monitored and supported.

I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to put a gallery on their site, it can take a little perseverance when getting to change some of the more intricate elements but it is well worth is as you will have a very customisable gallery. Also.. check out accompanying mods such as the Phoca Gallery Image Mod which are very easy to use and create some wonderful elements to any site.
2012-06-15
Reviews: 4
I have spent 2 days trying to get this component to work. I believe the developer put a lot of work into developing this however there are issues and I think it could have been made simpler. For example, the only place to change settings is in the parameters, and there are not intuitive as to what changes. Also the padding and margin settings should be individual - I could not and still can't figure out how to center the thumbnail. I tried to use the module to add to an article but was told I needed to use the plugin - so I did, but the plugin settings are over written by the component. Most of the slideshow settings don't work and return a 404 error that the category isn't published when it clearly is and you have to try each setting and save it to see if it will work. I am sorry that I spent time adding this component as I am sure there are others that are not as complicated!
Owner's reply

Hi,

1)"the only place to change settings is in the parameters, and there are not intuitive as to what changes" - settings called Options in Joomla! are rendered by Joomla! itself, not sure what is the problem to have only one place to change settings? Does it make sense to have it on different places? Really no idea, but in every case, this is more a question on Joomla! developers, not on the component itself, as Options are rendered by Joomla! core

2) "Also the padding and margin settings should be individual" - they are individual and you can set them in Options

3) "I could not and still can't figure out how to center the thumbnail" - thumnails are centered as default - unique CSS solution working in obsolete IE browsers and mobile phones

4) "I tried to use the module to add to an article" - yes modules are not designed to use them in articles - in Joomla! - just read the Joomla! documentation.

5)"so I did, but the plugin settings" ... if you have problems with plugin, please visit Phoca Forum and documentation, there is easy guide which explains why modules and plugins need to have a menu link of the component in Joomla! to not get 404 site while using SEF - this is a Joomla! feature.

Please if you have problems, just visit Phoca Forum, all of mentioned problems can be easily solved and most of them don't have any dependency to the component which you have reviewed :-( :-(

To JED moderators - please remove this review as in fact this is not review for the component :-( :-(

Thank you for understading.

Jan

2012-06-10
Reviews: 10
This is simply a superb component I have used. It took me a while to get my head around the way images, categories and embedding youtube video. But then it worked like a charm.

This component has a number of very useful functionality and I am sure I'll them in future.

Thanks v much and a A+++ from me!
Page 3 of 18