The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Gallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! component. It is an image gallery with slideshow.

See demo with different features:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/ (click on links on left side to see different features of Phoca Gallery)

Demo with tree and image module:
http://www.phoca.cz/wallpapers/

Demo with description and no popup:
http://www.phoca.cz/templatedemo/phoca-gallery-description

Demo Phoca Gallery and Simple Caddy integration:
http://www.phoca.cz/stockphoto/

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 2.5 (1.6, 1.7):
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-gallery

Demo Phoca Gallery and YouTube Video (CSS3):
http://www.phoca.cz/virtuemartdemo/phoca-gallery-youtube

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 3:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/

Customized Phoca Gallery on live sites:
http://www.cssjoomla.com/


Phoca Gallery 3.2.6 Requirements:
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Gallery 4 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2013-02-20
Reviews: 1
Pretty basic, easy to use, great support and a flawless installation.

Great & simple extension for basic galleries.
2013-02-09
Reviews: 9
This is one of the 'base' components I add to every fresh Joomla install. I use it for single images, image galleries, video galleries. Very easy to customize styles to match your site or need.
2013-02-05
Reviews: 4
This component is great and i recommend it to any other people cause there is no other like this for free!
2013-02-01
Reviews: 1
The best component for gallery with advanced functions
2013-01-16
Reviews: 2
It works great and this new category mosaic ist very nice
2013-01-09
Reviews: 4
This component was just ok. The workflow for adding multiple images is terrible. When you go to add multiple images you have to either create new folder to put your new images into or your images will be uploaded into the normal folder along with your other images. Then you have to select the images you just uploaded among the images that were already there in order to place them in their respective gallery. So if you already have ton’s of images this can be ridiculous. Also, I’m not a huge fan of the folder section at the bottom of the multiple upload. It would be really easy to just select the category you want to upload and click save.
Owner's reply

Hi, I don't understand what you want to say with your subject.

I have many times explained (just look at the phoca site) why users decided to have independent database and filesystem layer. If you will read this explanation, you will understand which advantages the feature you have mentioned has.

Anyway really don't understand if such feature (only one small part of different possibilities how to add images to Phoca Gallery) can be the reason for "two star rating"

Multiple Add feature was added by one community member to Phoca Gallery as feature which should other users help to add images to system faster and easier and since beginning it was appreciated by many other users.

I didn't make this feature so I can say (without loosing objectivity) that your two star rating is based on not understanding this feature.

The folder section is primarily a "file manager" function and if you don't like this feature, of course, you don't need to use it.

"It would be really easy to just select the category you want to upload and click save."

You just select (with one click) one folder (or more to make the work faster) and it will be automatically translated to category and all its subfolders will be automatically translated to subcategories and all files will be translated to thumbnails - all this goes on automatically.

Unfortunatelly Multiple Upload feature does not make any sense without listing folders :-( ... the same like using Total Commander does not make any sense without listing folders and files :-(

PM: If you really want to use Phoca Gallery and you really want to change some feature then please visit Phoca site and add feature request list into the forum. Or visit UserVoice server to vote the changes. This will motivate me or other community members to see such feature and check what can be done in this area.

I or other community members, we are listening to all ideas and all critical feedbacks (because critics move the project forward) but the critic should be discussed in the forum (and explained why e.g. some feature works like it works) but it is hard to listen to some idea which is made from beginning with bad intention on other server than developer/user site :-(

To all users: please if you want some feature should be improved in Phoca extension or changed, visit Phoca site and write it direclty to me or to community members. Saying it to other users who don't have any chance to change - this will not help anyone - you never get that something will change and I or other community member will never get the motivation to see this feedback objectively. :-( :-(

2013-01-08
Reviews: 4
The best.
Using it for several years and don't think to use other once. Recomended.
2013-01-02
Reviews: 1
Probably the best Gallery because of all the features and possibilities to adjust. the support is very quick and friendly. I really can recommend it for private and commercial use. Thanks to Jan - please keep going!
2012-12-31
Reviews: 12
So far, so good -- some trouble with entering multiple new Images at once (upload lock, but I'm not sure whether that's the extension or the server, and I'd really like to be able to enter individual titles with multiple new images), but overall a MUCH better extension than the others I've tried.
2012-12-30
Reviews: 1
I am using phoca gallery since several years now. When I selected it, I didn't have too much knowledge of Joomla in general and any specific components. So I picked Phoca Gallery based on the good reviews. It's very easy to use, provides the results I was hoping for and runs very stable. Thanks for this great work !
2012-12-19
Reviews: 2
I have been searching for a gallery extension in this category for a week. So far, this is the best and I have fit with this. Thanks for the developer.
2012-12-11
Reviews: 2
This component is already using 5 years. It's the best components and recommend it to everyone!
2012-11-30
Reviews: 1
Meant to write this review here but accidentally posted it under the plugin. Have loved this component and used it for 2 years on my photo booth website. Works great and does all that it says that is does. Just wish that it had a simple way to password protect each album without having to make registered users for each one. Then it would be perfect! (in my opinion)
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your feedback, you can set permissions for groups too, not only for each user.

Jan

2012-11-10
Reviews: 2
The least I can do for this great component is to rate it with a perfect score. The developer is so awesome that even with no paid subscription required for this component, he makes sure everybody gets a smooth transition from old versions to newer ones. Just awesome! Please continue the good work. Thank you so much.
2012-10-31
Reviews: 3
I think Phoca Gallery is a good extension. My website centers around photo gallery displays and this component works well for it
One thing I really like about this component the endless customizable options available for me.
I did notices some bugs when I tried the demo though. Example would be that I was unable to center the thumbnail. So this area still needs a bit more testing and bug fixing.
The interface looks good but it could be a bit simpler and user friendly. But overall, I would recommend this component.
Owner's reply

Hi, not sure what you mean with centering and bug.

Most appreciated feature of the Phoca Gallery is the unique system of centering of thumbnails. It means, the thumbnail is centered horizontally and vertically (which is a common issue in HTML/CSS)

This is why a lot of users use the Phoca Gallery instead of other gallery - because they have centered the thumbnails.

Please let me know in Phoca Forum - http://www.phoca.cz/forum what you exactly mean.

Jan

2012-10-05
Reviews: 1
Great component! The only limitation is the inability to enter into the post thumbnails square but you can only use the plugin that does not allow the use of thumbnails square
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your review, but I really don't understand what you exactly mean with "thumbnails square"

Can you post this as a topic into Phoca Forum (with some more concrete explanation), etc. - http://www.phoca.cz/forum

Thank you, Jan

2012-09-18
Reviews: 6
no doubt the best image gallery.. only one issue.. dont know if I am unable to figure it out.. to give captions i have to open each image and give.. if there can be an option of giving the captions in a notepad file or something like that.. it wud be great.. nevertheless.. great extension..
2012-09-12
Reviews: 1
This must be the best gallery extension for Joomla. Though I've had some issues with migrating, it's easy to use and very intuitive.
2012-09-02
Reviews: 1
It seems like it's a good component. But, i am looking for a plugin/module which counts image as page view. Currently,the one i am using, my images are opening in light-bulb effect and there entire gallery is treating as 1 page view. I am looking for something which counts each image in a gallery as 1 page view. Please suggest me, if you have in phoca that option. If not any other extension, i canlook in to? even commercial also fine
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your review, not sure if I understand you correctly, but you can display images on the site with "no popup" method, it means, every image will have own page. If I don't understand it correctly, please, just visit phoca forum (http://www.phoca.cz/forum) to write more detailed question.

Thank you, Jan

2012-08-15
Reviews: 5
It is simple best for photo gallery.This component has a number of very useful option.I used the Phoca Gallery in first time and fully satisfied.

At last this free extension is awesome.
Page 3 of 18