The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Gallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! component. It is an image gallery with slideshow.

See demo with different features:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/ (click on links on left side to see different features of Phoca Gallery)

Demo with tree and image module:
http://www.phoca.cz/wallpapers/

Demo with description and no popup:
http://www.phoca.cz/templatedemo/phoca-gallery-description

Demo Phoca Gallery and Simple Caddy integration:
http://www.phoca.cz/stockphoto/

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 2.5 (1.6, 1.7):
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-gallery

Demo Phoca Gallery and YouTube Video (CSS3):
http://www.phoca.cz/virtuemartdemo/phoca-gallery-youtube

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 3:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/

Customized Phoca Gallery on live sites:
http://www.cssjoomla.com/


Phoca Gallery 3.2.6 Requirements:
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Gallery 4 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-08-05
Reviews: 7
In fact this is the absolute standart of Joomla gallery and the most useful solution to organize photos on the site. If you just want to make customisable gallery without problems, this extension is for you.
2012-07-28
Reviews: 4
I'm fairly experienced with joomla and website design in general. I found this extension extremely easy to use and for a beginner and HIGHLY customizable. Couldn't ask for a better gallery. Perfect in every aspect of what I was looking for from ease of use to the display on the front end. Displaying one category right now as default but LOVE that when my artist does more shows I can categorize them by show names and the user can then navigate through different categories.

Very well designed, Thanks Jan!
2012-07-27
Reviews: 1
Please don't believe the negative "reviews" on here. I have been using phoca for 3 years and yes at first it can be a little confusing to understand not because the component is difficult but because I was new to web design. Once I understood what I was doing I saw this is a great FREE photo gallery solution. If you take some time to understand how to use the tool you can make it dance if you want to.
2012-07-17
Reviews: 1
Great photo gallery, will use on my sites. The only problem I had was getting cooliris to work. Going to the Phoca website showed me the way though.
2012-07-09
Reviews: 1
Best thing under the sun! Amazing amount of customisation options. Exactly what I was looking for.
2012-06-29
Reviews: 1
I used it for Joomla 2.5
firstly i confused with the component because there are many parameter to edit but after several time i learned, the component is very great. i can show all my product perfectly.
i also give donation for this component (not much because our company still new) so i disable visible link to developer - tell me if i'm wrong to do this.
overall, i love this component very much and i will use it for another website.
thank to phoca developer
(sorry if my english not so good)
2012-06-23
Reviews: 1
I hardly ever write reviews but this one really is a gem... I have spent hours searching for a gallery mod that would integrate with Picasa and display only the albums I wanted with pop out lightbox, it also integrates with facebook albums but I have not used this feature so cannot comment. However, when using picasa albums This does it perfectly (and more). The mod is highly customisable, the accompanying documentation good and the forum well monitored and supported.

I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to put a gallery on their site, it can take a little perseverance when getting to change some of the more intricate elements but it is well worth is as you will have a very customisable gallery. Also.. check out accompanying mods such as the Phoca Gallery Image Mod which are very easy to use and create some wonderful elements to any site.
2012-06-15
Reviews: 4
I have spent 2 days trying to get this component to work. I believe the developer put a lot of work into developing this however there are issues and I think it could have been made simpler. For example, the only place to change settings is in the parameters, and there are not intuitive as to what changes. Also the padding and margin settings should be individual - I could not and still can't figure out how to center the thumbnail. I tried to use the module to add to an article but was told I needed to use the plugin - so I did, but the plugin settings are over written by the component. Most of the slideshow settings don't work and return a 404 error that the category isn't published when it clearly is and you have to try each setting and save it to see if it will work. I am sorry that I spent time adding this component as I am sure there are others that are not as complicated!
Owner's reply

Hi,

1)"the only place to change settings is in the parameters, and there are not intuitive as to what changes" - settings called Options in Joomla! are rendered by Joomla! itself, not sure what is the problem to have only one place to change settings? Does it make sense to have it on different places? Really no idea, but in every case, this is more a question on Joomla! developers, not on the component itself, as Options are rendered by Joomla! core

2) "Also the padding and margin settings should be individual" - they are individual and you can set them in Options

3) "I could not and still can't figure out how to center the thumbnail" - thumnails are centered as default - unique CSS solution working in obsolete IE browsers and mobile phones

4) "I tried to use the module to add to an article" - yes modules are not designed to use them in articles - in Joomla! - just read the Joomla! documentation.

5)"so I did, but the plugin settings" ... if you have problems with plugin, please visit Phoca Forum and documentation, there is easy guide which explains why modules and plugins need to have a menu link of the component in Joomla! to not get 404 site while using SEF - this is a Joomla! feature.

Please if you have problems, just visit Phoca Forum, all of mentioned problems can be easily solved and most of them don't have any dependency to the component which you have reviewed :-( :-(

To JED moderators - please remove this review as in fact this is not review for the component :-( :-(

Thank you for understading.

Jan

2012-06-10
Reviews: 9
This is simply a superb component I have used. It took me a while to get my head around the way images, categories and embedding youtube video. But then it worked like a charm.

This component has a number of very useful functionality and I am sure I'll them in future.

Thanks v much and a A+++ from me!
2012-06-08
Reviews: 3
I have been using this component since its early versions and have followed it development through the many websites I have developed for clients.

The component is easy to modify, integrate and user friendly (Although I came to learn that some users had hard a hard time to understand how things work).

I love the integration with social networks and album services.

Support is usually fast and OK via the forums. Developers care and follow the cases.

Thank you for the great component.
2012-05-26
Reviews: 5
Thank you Jan for such a great gallery. There are so many options/settings it is just wonderful! Well done!
2012-05-26
Reviews: 1
Hello,
I have used Phoca Gallery around 5-6 websites that was developed by me. The gallery is awesome. Really i am satiesfied with it. I can customize its CSS to make a different looks. Anyway, I have used Modal Box alltime, but when we click on the modal box, all time and for all pictures it takes a fixed width-hieght to show the iamges. I am trying to finding the opntion from the admin panel so that the iamges Enlarged auto adjust to the browser window like facebook iamges or "Photoon Photo Gallery Light" ? I feel so much happy if you reply me.

Thanks
Rasel
2012-05-22
Reviews: 2
I used the Phoca Gallery in times past but was never fully satisfied. However, do to a need for a client, I decided to try it again. It seemed to work much better than I remembered. I love the facebook import abilities. Now the client uploads the photos to only one place and can very easily and quickly import them to Phoca Gallery.
Thanks for this component
2012-05-21
Reviews: 1
Overall, this is a good extension for a free extension. I like the feature where you can choose from several shadow types. But there seem to be few minor glitches when displaying pictures. I've used official module to display my galley but the shadows of thumbnails are positioned wrong.

There are many setting parameters but it can give you headache when things like it happen because you don't know which parameter will fix/affect it.

Maybe the extension needs more simple interface, for admin backend. The front end I think is well designed.
Owner's reply

Hi,

1) shadows - mostly this is caused by template - if you visit Phoca forum - http://www.phoca.cz/forum you will get quick info how to modify the template to not be in conflict.

2) admin interface - it is a Joomla! interface, so maybe this is more a question on Joomla! developers.

Jan

2012-05-10
Reviews: 1
I think this is the best Gallery, too. I tried some other gallery components, but this fit exactly my needs. Easy to customize and simply to handling. If you want to do professional gallery, I absolute recommend this. A lot good features and nice effects. It's totally free... Excellence extension, I thanks for the developer!
2012-05-06
Reviews: 4
Lot of functions and fully customizable, also suitable for complex sites with different levels of permissions.
2012-05-04
Reviews: 1
Top tool
Very powerful and flexible settings. Commendable support.
Just great!
2012-05-03
Reviews: 54
The Gallery is really good but..

There is no way to disable the Powered by phoca link. And it links to 2 different URLS's - One for each word "Phoca" "Gallery" ( Author gets 2 links from your site )

Why is this not mentioned in the Extensions description that there is a forced link?

You should mention it.
Owner's reply

Hi, I am sorry, but you are not reviewing features of Phoca Gallery.

I have never seen such information for e.g. Joomla! itself? There is powered by Joomla! in footer and I saw no "review" on this fact?

If you don't like "Joomla!" or "Phoca" then please don't use it :-( but if you want to do review, please make some useful review which can help other people to get some useful information. :-(

I am driving an old Volkswagen but didn't call to Wolfsburg to tell them, the car is bad, because it has "VW" sign included???

I have never write bad review on Windows, because its logo is displayed on my copmuter and I have bought this software (better not to mention software I have downloaded for free like Suse Linux)???

Please use right information. There is no forced link and never was in Phoca ... You are not forced to use it. Phoca community does not force anybody to use it. If you know what freedom means, your freedom was not, is not and will be not violated by anybody who developed Phoca extension. :-( :-(

If you have some useful tips or info, will be great to know them - just visit Phoca Forum, it is open to every idea.

Thank you,

Jan

2012-05-03
Reviews: 7
I searched endlessly for the perfect photo gallery module and downloaded too many duds to count. I found Phoca Gallery and it was exactly what I needed! Easy to install, clean interface, and fast content upload. I added the multiple upload and galleries became very easy to set up. The wide array of addons were also really helpful in making this exactly the gallery I needed. Thanks so much for providing this!
2012-04-30
Reviews: 2
Fast support and super easy to install for a noob like me!
Page 4 of 18