The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Gallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! component. It is an image gallery with slideshow.

See demo with different features:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/ (click on links on left side to see different features of Phoca Gallery)

Demo with tree and image module:
http://www.phoca.cz/wallpapers/

Demo with description and no popup:
http://www.phoca.cz/templatedemo/phoca-gallery-description

Demo Phoca Gallery and Simple Caddy integration:
http://www.phoca.cz/stockphoto/

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 2.5 (1.6, 1.7):
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-gallery

Demo Phoca Gallery and YouTube Video (CSS3):
http://www.phoca.cz/virtuemartdemo/phoca-gallery-youtube

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 3:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/


Phoca Gallery 3.2.6 Requirements:
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Gallery 4 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-06-08
Reviews: 3
I have been using this component since its early versions and have followed it development through the many websites I have developed for clients.

The component is easy to modify, integrate and user friendly (Although I came to learn that some users had hard a hard time to understand how things work).

I love the integration with social networks and album services.

Support is usually fast and OK via the forums. Developers care and follow the cases.

Thank you for the great component.
2012-05-26
Reviews: 5
Thank you Jan for such a great gallery. There are so many options/settings it is just wonderful! Well done!
2012-05-26
Reviews: 1
Hello,
I have used Phoca Gallery around 5-6 websites that was developed by me. The gallery is awesome. Really i am satiesfied with it. I can customize its CSS to make a different looks. Anyway, I have used Modal Box alltime, but when we click on the modal box, all time and for all pictures it takes a fixed width-hieght to show the iamges. I am trying to finding the opntion from the admin panel so that the iamges Enlarged auto adjust to the browser window like facebook iamges or "Photoon Photo Gallery Light" ? I feel so much happy if you reply me.

Thanks
Rasel
2012-05-22
Reviews: 2
I used the Phoca Gallery in times past but was never fully satisfied. However, do to a need for a client, I decided to try it again. It seemed to work much better than I remembered. I love the facebook import abilities. Now the client uploads the photos to only one place and can very easily and quickly import them to Phoca Gallery.
Thanks for this component
2012-05-21
Reviews: 1
Overall, this is a good extension for a free extension. I like the feature where you can choose from several shadow types. But there seem to be few minor glitches when displaying pictures. I've used official module to display my galley but the shadows of thumbnails are positioned wrong.

There are many setting parameters but it can give you headache when things like it happen because you don't know which parameter will fix/affect it.

Maybe the extension needs more simple interface, for admin backend. The front end I think is well designed.
Owner's reply

Hi,

1) shadows - mostly this is caused by template - if you visit Phoca forum - http://www.phoca.cz/forum you will get quick info how to modify the template to not be in conflict.

2) admin interface - it is a Joomla! interface, so maybe this is more a question on Joomla! developers.

Jan

2012-05-10
Reviews: 1
I think this is the best Gallery, too. I tried some other gallery components, but this fit exactly my needs. Easy to customize and simply to handling. If you want to do professional gallery, I absolute recommend this. A lot good features and nice effects. It's totally free... Excellence extension, I thanks for the developer!
2012-05-06
Reviews: 4
Lot of functions and fully customizable, also suitable for complex sites with different levels of permissions.
2012-05-04
Reviews: 1
Top tool
Very powerful and flexible settings. Commendable support.
Just great!
2012-05-03
Reviews: 56
The Gallery is really good but..

There is no way to disable the Powered by phoca link. And it links to 2 different URLS's - One for each word "Phoca" "Gallery" ( Author gets 2 links from your site )

Why is this not mentioned in the Extensions description that there is a forced link?

You should mention it.
Owner's reply

Hi, I am sorry, but you are not reviewing features of Phoca Gallery.

I have never seen such information for e.g. Joomla! itself? There is powered by Joomla! in footer and I saw no "review" on this fact?

If you don't like "Joomla!" or "Phoca" then please don't use it :-( but if you want to do review, please make some useful review which can help other people to get some useful information. :-(

I am driving an old Volkswagen but didn't call to Wolfsburg to tell them, the car is bad, because it has "VW" sign included???

I have never write bad review on Windows, because its logo is displayed on my copmuter and I have bought this software (better not to mention software I have downloaded for free like Suse Linux)???

Please use right information. There is no forced link and never was in Phoca ... You are not forced to use it. Phoca community does not force anybody to use it. If you know what freedom means, your freedom was not, is not and will be not violated by anybody who developed Phoca extension. :-( :-(

If you have some useful tips or info, will be great to know them - just visit Phoca Forum, it is open to every idea.

Thank you,

Jan

2012-05-03
Reviews: 5
I searched endlessly for the perfect photo gallery module and downloaded too many duds to count. I found Phoca Gallery and it was exactly what I needed! Easy to install, clean interface, and fast content upload. I added the multiple upload and galleries became very easy to set up. The wide array of addons were also really helpful in making this exactly the gallery I needed. Thanks so much for providing this!
2012-04-30
Reviews: 2
Fast support and super easy to install for a noob like me!
2012-04-08
Reviews: 2
I`ve had Phoca on a few sites (j1,5) and now I was trying to Upload it to J2.5
But what I did , which way I try.... it failed. I have followed Jans lessons , but sorry

when it works it works fine
Owner's reply

Hi, as wrote many times, if this:

a) is fake review - no comments from my side

b) review was meant seriously - then please, reviewed should be features, not that something is not working (if it evidently is working - on demo sites, users sites, etc.). If you get some problem on your server with extensions, please, just visit Phoca Forum - to solve the problems.

Usually, if my old car gets broken, I am going to visit service (include, I will take the car and describe all problems I have) - mostly the problem is solved quickly. I think, that making review on some website about my old car will not help me and see no logic in such behaviour ... so I am really sorry and I really apologize a lot, but I don't understand this review and logic of this review and cannot answer it normally or help somehow :-( :-(

Thank you for understanding.

Jan

2012-03-14
Reviews: 1
I don't understand anyone griping. I've used this gallery on multiple sites and it is a wonderful addition.
2012-03-11
Reviews: 3
If I need a photo gallery there is not another choice. Thanks for your excellent component.
2012-02-28
Reviews: 5
I have already used this component in two websites. It is very flexible with lots of configuration settings. It might be very confusing on the first look, but take your time to understand the settings and you will know how flexible it is.

It is not suitable for uploading Videos yet but you can add Youtube videos. Only problem I have found is that the YouTube upload form shows in all pages even if I am not logged in and I don't have any control over it. May be I am missing something or it will be fixed in the next version.
Either way it is a fantastic component and I recommend this component.
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your review, yes, the problem was solved in version 3.1.5 (with displaying YouTube form in frontend)

http://www.phoca.cz/news/30-phoca-news/617-phoca-gallery-315-released

Jan

2012-02-16
Reviews: 3
I use Joomla 2.5 and can run the cooliris 3D wall perfectly when I browse the output on a Linux pc by firefox. Detail instruction can easily be found on internet to do that. However, no picture is shown when browse on a Windows pc (XP or 7) by IE or firefox.
I have also tried to install the plugin version and view on an article. Success and fail in the same way.
Phoca's demo site can do that (yes, even by IE where cooliris's website states that they don't support it) but I never success to create an a/c on their forum to post a question asking how.
Owner's reply

Hi, solved in Phoca Forum, problem was not related to Phoca Gallery, see more in Phoca Forum: http://www.phoca.cz/forum

2012-02-12
Reviews: 1
Phoca Gallery is a wonderful component! It allows many different options for configuration and display, and Jan is prompt in responding to questions. This is the best free Joomla component I've used!
2012-02-11
Reviews: 10
This extensions Does NOT work with Joomla 1.6, first it has a install issue (which thanks god has a fix - but still you have to Search for this fix..), second is the "500 - An error has occurred.
JHtml: :batch not supported. File not found." error in back-end... you can't do nothing from back-end of this component.. developer suggest in forum to upgrade to J1.7.. which I think is not correct... many have customized extensions, templates etc... so Upgrading is not a "fix" ... I think you should take off the badge of Joomla 1.6 from your extension here on JED because this Does Not work.
Owner's reply

Hi, it is like you will use gasoline in your diesel car and your car producer will tell you, you should fill your diesel car with diesel. Does this make a sense? Yes ...

So if you are running Joomla! 1.6, you cannot use component which is made for Joomla! 1.7. So if I as developer will help you in forum and say: You need to use extension ready for 1.6 (some older version of Phoca Gallery) or you need to upgrade to Joomla! 1.7 to use Phoca Gallery designed for Joomla! 1.7 ... I think, this make sense.


So really don't understand this review.

If this is not a fake review, then please read this:

a) if you are running Joomla! 1.6 and you don't want to upgrade - just download older Phoca Gallery which is designed for 1.6 (the icon on JED is OK, because there are different Phoca Gallery versions and you will find version for every Joomla! version since Joomla! 1.5 and there is a version for Joomla! 1.6 too, of course).

b) if you want to upgrade (to Joomla! 1.7 or 2.5) - then just use the Phoca Gallery version designed for Joomla! 1.7 with batch feature which is Joomla! 1.7 feature.

I am really sorry, but I still don't understand what is the problem and why this review was made, really don't understand. :-(

You have got from Phoca.cz

- working free extension (developed 5 years) - so you have saved 5 years of your life
- free advice in forum

and because you want not to understand the logic of the system and advices in forum (I still think, it makes sense - you just use the component which is designed for the system, if Joomla! 1.6 does not have included batch support, because it was developed for Joomla! 1.7, you just cannot use extensions which are designed for this feautre and you need to use older one), you just write some review which does not make any sense and seems to be a fake review. :-(

So what is really your problem? You are not able to use right version for right system (Phoca Gallery designed for Joomla! 1.6 in Joomla! 1.6, I think not) or your problem is that Phoca Gallery has Joomla! 1.6 icon listed here on JED?

2012-02-01
Reviews: 2
This extension is A.M.A.Z.I.N.G ! it has so much work invested in it, and it shows! Thank you ! a huge thumbs up!
2012-01-18
Reviews: 2
This component, along with all of the modules and plugins that go with it (at least the ones I've tried so far) is way too good to be free. I'm hoping that Jan will put my donation towards beefing up his forum as I quite often get "Sorry but the board is temporarily unavailable, please try again in a few minutes." Thanks for all of your hard work, Jan. I hope that you can figure out a way to make a living doing this, because you're very good.
Page 4 of 18