The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

Phoca Gallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! component. It is an image gallery with slideshow.

See demo with different features: (click on links on left side to see different features of Phoca Gallery)

Demo with tree and image module:

Demo with description and no popup:

Demo Phoca Gallery and Simple Caddy integration:

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 2.5 (1.6, 1.7):

Demo Phoca Gallery and YouTube Video (CSS3):

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 3:

Customized Phoca Gallery on live sites:

Phoca Gallery 3.2.6 Requirements:
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Gallery 4 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension




Reviews: 8
Very good extension. Very good support

Easy to set up and allows very different layouts.
We are still missing a complete multi-language capacity.
Batch uploads not yet as polished as other functionalities
Owner's reply

Hi, please write more details about your review in Phoca Forum: because I don't understand it :-(

What does it mean:

"We are still missing a complete multi-language capacity"?

Phoca Gallery follows Joomla! rules in multi-language feature, so in 1.7, the standard core multi-language feature can be used. In 1.5, Joom!fish files are ready.

"Batch uploads not yet as polished as other functionalities"

Really no idea, how I should understand this? :-(

Will be great to get detailed info in Phoca Forum.

Thank you, Jan

Reviews: 1
All ok, except some holes in translation (at least Italian one on admin side).
Anyway, the thing is that i like the geotagging incorporated in gallery, but the only thing is that i can't change the marker, I saw i colud do it with phocamap, but not on gallery 3.1.0.
Any clue from anyone?
Reviews: 3
For me is the most complete gallery system for Joomla
Reviews: 1
I think Phoca Gallery is the best component also for newbies. Years ago when I started using Joomla, this component was the first and I doesn't had any problems with it. It's easy to customize, easy to use, fast and completely free! High five for the dev team!
Reviews: 1
Hi there!

Im NEW to Joomla. I have downloaded Phoca gallery and I am BATTLING to get it to display on Joomla. Im sure this is a great component, but not user-friendly for newbies! I know I still have a lot to learn, but more clear guidelines would be appreciated. The documentation was not helpfull at all.
Owner's reply

Hi, not sure if this is a fake review or not. If not and you are newbie as you wrote, try to follow these steps.

Instead of writing bad review which will not help you, try to:

- see Phoca Gallery documentation
- see Joomla! documentation (as Phoca Gallery uses all Joomla! features and mostly it inherits behaviour from Joomla!)
- if you still don't know, just ask in Phoca or Joomla! forum.

And in case you want to write bad review, please be either specific, because:

- developers cannot take your review seriously as there is no info what is actually wrong
- other users get confused, because somebody has written bad review on some component but didn't write what in fact is the reason for the bad review.

So such review is not helpful for you (you will not solve your not described problems), not for developer - I cannot enhance something because I don't know what, not for other users as such information is not useful for them as they really don't know why not use the component. :-(

If you think, the gallery is "not user-friendly for newbies", maybe you should recheck if you want to run Joomla! as Phoca Gallery follows all the Joomla! behaviour features (e.g. adding new category in Phoca Gallery is identical to adding new article in Joomla!, managing parameters is the same for both - Joomla! and Phoca Gallery because Joomla! Config component is used, etc.)


Reviews: 26
I have just installed my second - the first for my community site and the other for a friend to show off his photography.
Two very different presentations from the same component. And I am sure I still haven't understood it's full potential.
Very highly recommended.
Reviews: 1
It is really a good component, maybe the best free gallery component for Joomla! Thanks
Reviews: 5
An excellent component! really!
This is definately the best gallery management solution for Joomla!, it saves a lota time and IS compatible with the latest version of Joomla!
Unlike other component, this component is always ALIVE, and being updated and supported regularly.
A must have in every website,

Reviews: 18
Very powerful. Some people may be willing to pay or see a module that lets you select images via checkbox, and then download them as a zip. But that is minor. All in all, it is a great extension
Reviews: 4
Using Phoca Gallery in the last weeks nad found id wonderfull.
Installed and configured in a couple of minutes, allowed me to upload a lot of image and organizing them in categories in a intuitive a very simple way.
Phoca gallery is fantastic from the point of view of visualization of the photos. You can choose from different ways to show to your visitors you photos with a click!
If you need assistance, the forum is pretty good too. Posted some thread, and obation replays in 24 hours!
All are searching for a complete but very simple gallery, will found it in Phoca Gallery
Reviews: 1
in my very 1st time to post. The phoca products are by far the best!!! excellent job Jan!!!
Reviews: 1
component is really easy to configure and the rendering is really nice.
great job
Reviews: 2
I've used this extension a number of times and have always been impressed. With the developer now rolling out more and more j1.6 support it's going to remain my gallery of choice for the forseeable future.

Greate stuff! Thank You!

Installation: Straightforward
Ease Of Use: Pretty Good
Support: Excellent
Level of Difficulty: 5/10
Reviews: 6
I've tried just about everything out there and Phoca Gallery wins for ease of use and flexibility of display. It's particularly good for a site where I want my clients to upload and manage their pictures without my help.
Reviews: 2
I have tried them all and found this one this fastest ramp up time and easiest to learn with the most powerful effects.
Reviews: 9
Hi! I have been looking all over the place to find a good Image gallery extension in Joomla that allows to me displays many different albums in a nice and friendly way.

Nothing fancy really, I just need the Gallery or album list view with a thumbnail to represent that album/category together with a short description of the image category and maybe the number of pictures in each category, a Category or Album view where there would be thumbnails of all the pictures in a given category/album and finally a detailed view, which hopefully should be customizable so as to offer different options.

The type of display I'm most interested in for the detailed view is a popup window displayed inside the current window, showing my image clear and large, fitted to my browser window dimensions so as to take advantage of all the screen real estate and with a few buttons to move forward and backward between the images and hopefully the possibility to have a slideshow feature within the popup.
Another feature which is somewhat optional but very well appreciated too is the ability to post comments about the categories and/or the images, directly from within the popup view or within the category/album view, using Jcomments or Facebook comments for instance.

Well… I must say that Phoca Gallery does pretty much all of that and in a pretty nice way… but not nice enough for me!
The part I don't like much is the popup view. The main problem comes from the size of images: it is fixed for most views, which means it could appear nice or not depending on what the final user screen resolution and browser window space he is using and that means that I need to struggle and test lots of different options to find something I more or less like. That's not very good to me! I would rather want to know how it will look beforehand than putting a fixed size which would look different from one screen to the next and never be sure of how the final users see the images.
The display style that most fits my needs in Phoca Gallery currently is the Slimbox but the problem with slimbox is that there is no slideshow support, nor embedded comments in Slimbox popup view and that image size is fixed! So it appears too big at some screen resolutions, too small at others and just as I like only for some specific screen resolution and window space..

In the end the look and feel I would like to see is the one used by the Sigplus extension, which in terms of popup displays exactly the images as I like to see them, meaning fitted to the window, with all controls nice and clear and always accessible, independent of what resolution my images were in. The problem with that extension is that there is no comment support and above all no category management, which is something I need.

I've had several times what appears to be a bug when I upload photos to a new category. Everything seems to go smooth but when it's done and I go check the album all images and thumbnails appear blank! Then If in the administration of Phoca Gallery I try to display the images it goes into recreating thumbnails automatically, which in turns fixes the problem. Not really sure what happens but as long as it works rather quickly afterward it's not a huge deal but still ackward..

I also encountered some failures while uploading some photos with the Java upload tool. Sometimes it would upload, say, 10 pictures out of 30 and give out an error message.
I then need to refresh to see that there were some photos uploaded. I have no clues what happened!!

The flash upload doesn't work for me with Flash version 10. I read somewhere that only Flash version 9 is supported… that's really a pity but as long as the java upload works more or less I'm still happy.

Finally in the multiple add view I would like to see an indication of what folder we're in because if we missclick the folder name where we want to upload the photos then we would not know it.

I've read somewhere that if I don't create a folder, putting the images in a new category would create the folder for me or something like that… Well that would actually be nice but I didn't really see that happen.
It would be good if Phoca Gallery could automatically create one folder for each category I create and let me assign the images to the category without the need for me to go and create a specific folder each time and choose it to upload my photos. I think this is very easy to develop and would greatly simplify the process of uploading photos!!

About the thumbnails to display the image representing a gallery, I sometimes had an image which had non standard 4:3 or 3:4 dimensions and the thumbnail image would come out the little square that is supposed to surround that thumbnail image. That happens when I use images that are wery wide and not tall for instance. Looks weird.

Also a simple request, I would like to be able to show the category description text in the Gallery/album list view instead of the category/album view. The option to do either one would be great but for me I most need to know the description before I enter a specific gallery!

Hence, although Phoca Gallery is pretty close from making me really happy, I feel that it is not there yet (for me).

Anyway for the price let's be clear it is a great extension and hopefully one day it'll be able to do all the nice things I'm dreaming of! ;-)

Don't hesitate to write back, should you want more details on something I said, I'd be more than happy to assist.
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your review, the best way to talk about the requests is the Phoca forum.

Thank you, Jan

Reviews: 14
Sorry to write that, because this component seem to be great as many people like it and use it, but when I installed it for the first time, I firstly wasted time to understand it with all its settings, (too much settings !!) ...
I had many problems and decided to reinstall it on a clean new site J1.5.23 and I still have the same problems with thumbnails ceation wich make bugs all the time, I restart installation a few time, upgrade latest version, and after a full day, I decide to give it up because I can't spend so much time for just having a photo gallery ...
I notice that I went on forum but didn't find solution for my issue and have no more time to post on it...
Owner's reply


"I firstly wasted time to understand it with all its settings"

There are default settings. I you don't want to waste time in Settings, you need not to set something, default settings will care about it. I really don't understand why to negative review something because it gives me possibility to setup a lot of things and gives me more freedom than I need :-(

"I still have the same problems with thumbnails ceation wich make bugs all the time"

If you have found some bug, will be great to get more information in forum. Mostly this can be solved as mostly server settings need to be changed (no bug in the script).

"I notice that I went on forum but didn't find solution for my issue and have no more time to post on it..."

Is this some kind of humour?

I have a problem but I will not ask ... so will I solve my problem? I think, not. Sorry but I don't really understand the logic, why not spend some seconds (maybe minuts) to ask? :-( :-(

Still not understand?

You don't have time to ask in forum to solve your problem but you have time to make review where you will describe that you have not time to ask to solve your problem?

I am sorry, please do not take it personally, but I really don't understand it :-( :-(

Reviews: 3
Thanks, I would like to see more social sharing integrated it, eg, I couldn't find a facebook like button for each photo and Jan simply says FB has discontinued but elsewhere I have found a like button that works ok (just as a seperate module).

Regards though, nice job.
Reviews: 2
This is a great component. Fairly easy to use (I am relatively new to Joomla) and very complete. Support is better than that of even most commercial extensions.
Reviews: 2
Very good component. Functional, powerful - a lot of configuration options. I installed without problems on Joomla 1.5 version. Thank you.
Page 6 of 18