The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Gallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! component. It is an image gallery with slideshow.

See demo with different features:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/ (click on links on left side to see different features of Phoca Gallery)

Demo with tree and image module:
http://www.phoca.cz/wallpapers/

Demo with description and no popup:
http://www.phoca.cz/templatedemo/phoca-gallery-description

Demo Phoca Gallery and Simple Caddy integration:
http://www.phoca.cz/stockphoto/

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 2.5 (1.6, 1.7):
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-gallery

Demo Phoca Gallery and YouTube Video (CSS3):
http://www.phoca.cz/virtuemartdemo/phoca-gallery-youtube

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 3:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/


Phoca Gallery 3.2.6 Requirements:
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Gallery 4 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-01-16
Reviews: 4
Very professional solution for image gallery with active development! Thanks for the developer! 5*
2011-01-02
Reviews: 4
Highly recommended! Very easy to manage and great customer support.
2011-01-02
Reviews: 1
Having tried several gallery modules we stopped when after trying Phoca Gallery. This excellent module is very customisable; straight forward to install and use; and looks excellent when published on our page.

We cannot recommend the module enough, and plan to support the further development of this module as soon as our site has taken off.
2010-12-15
Reviews: 1
Many thanks developers of Phoca, very simple, none-commercial. Excellent ! Vote 5 starts !
2010-12-12
Reviews: 1
I must say that this component was really helpful. I have tried lots of gallery components, but none delivered close to this one. I advice any one who is interested in something cool, to go for this component.
2010-12-09
Reviews: 1
Super, super, super.... excellent. Very, very thanks for the component.
2010-12-04
Reviews: 5
We have been using this Component for a while, having already donated to ensure it's survival. After having a small problem I emailed Jan at 8.00pm on a Saturday night about it. He replied within an hour with a solution.
Not only is this a great Component, the support is second to none
2010-12-01
Reviews: 17
This is the most functional gallery component i've found. It has a lot of options and it integrates well with the rest of your site.
My only concern is, for galleries with a very high level of graphic impact i prefer to use some other plugin, because in my experience Phoca is somewhat "rigid" in its display.
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your review, but I really don't have any idea what you mean with "rigid", maybe this should be not written in review but in the forum or feature request site with fully explanation.

Will be great to get more info.

Thank you, Jan

2010-12-01
Reviews: 1
If you are looking for a gallery component for Joomla that has absolutely everything... you have arrived to the right component, thanks a lot to all developers; viva el software libre!!!
2010-12-01
Reviews: 16
I tried a few other gallery components before trying this. Phoca is the way to go for my site. I downloaded the Black theme and it complements my site beautifully. Totally configurable and looks very very sharp. Thanks!
2010-11-29
Reviews: 3
I tried many components for a image gallery but this one is the best. It's easy to install and it has many components that allows to display images and videos.I recommend this for all the Joomla users who want an awsome gallery and I'm going to make a donation for this great developers team.
2010-11-26
Reviews: 5
This is the first review I've ever done. What a GREAT component! It works as promised. I've tried others over the past 2+ years and Phoca Gallery is the ONLY photo gallery I use consistently for new sites. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Doug
2010-11-19
Reviews: 6
This is a complete gallery solution, we well planned, and executed. Excellent documentation.
2010-11-18
Reviews: 5
Good component. A little complex for my needs, and missed a few feature. But still a good component overall.
2010-11-17
Reviews: 5
If a website I use needs an image gallery then I use this extension without trying another one...there is no reason, it also works with joomfish!
2010-11-16
Reviews: 4
I really wanted to use this extension since I like how it works overall, but ended up not using it because album management from the front end is not flexible enough. Categories seem to be assigned to each user separately, with each user mandated to start out with one and only one main category and create all other categories as subcategories of the main category. There needs to be more flexibility in allowing users to work with any category no matter who created it, and there should not be a restriction in forcing all users to have just one main category.
Owner's reply

Hi, as answered in the forum, this is still under working, the issue is a security, which is very important for open source project, so not every feature can be easily added because of following possible security issues.

Jan

2010-11-13
Reviews: 5
I tried just about every Gallery Viewing software that is available for Joomla , (about 14) none of them came close to what I was looking for. To just display a page of thumbnails and be able show them, single (shadowbox) or as slide show. Some did fill the order a bit, but most required alot of programming knowledge. Phoca Gallery is VERY user friendly.
2010-11-11
Reviews: 13
I have been using this extension for almost all of my clients and I must say, this extension has been a favorite for all of my clients and portals.
It just works out of the box and has got a real load of features, which I was expecting in a fully featured photo gallery.

Great job by Jan, who has released it FREE and also invests his valuable time in fixing bugs, updating the extension.

Hats off to him and his dedication to Joomla! Community!
2010-11-10
Reviews: 3
For testing I have recently installed a number of galleries, this one seems to be one of the best. Good job, Pavelka, krasna galerie.
2010-11-08
Reviews: 16
This is the best gallery extension that one is likely to find for Joomla and it's free!

It is a great component with many, many options that allow you to configure it the way you want it to work and display.
Because it has so many options, it is mandatory that one reads the documentation carefully to get the combination right.
One is not likely to have one's gallery up and running in 5 minutes from installing the component. This is a large piece of software and one must know how the options are interrelated. Once it has been properly set up, though, it will work great for both back-end and front-end.
Pair it with "Phoca Gallery Button" or " Phoca Gallery Slideshow" and you get the easiest way of adding images to your articles with lots of options.

A lot of work has been put into this and user feedback and requests have obviously been implemented.

The developer certainly deserves recognition and support for all his hard work.
Page 7 of 18