The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Gallery Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Gallery is a Joomla! component. It is an image gallery with slideshow.

See demo with different features:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/ (click on links on left side to see different features of Phoca Gallery)

Demo with tree and image module:
http://www.phoca.cz/wallpapers/

Demo with description and no popup:
http://www.phoca.cz/templatedemo/phoca-gallery-description

Demo Phoca Gallery and Simple Caddy integration:
http://www.phoca.cz/stockphoto/

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 2.5 (1.6, 1.7):
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-gallery

Demo Phoca Gallery and YouTube Video (CSS3):
http://www.phoca.cz/virtuemartdemo/phoca-gallery-youtube

Demo Phoca Gallery and Joomla! 3:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/

Customized Phoca Gallery on live sites:
http://www.cssjoomla.com/


Phoca Gallery 3.2.6 Requirements:
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Gallery 4 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2010-11-26
Reviews: 6
This is the first review I've ever done. What a GREAT component! It works as promised. I've tried others over the past 2+ years and Phoca Gallery is the ONLY photo gallery I use consistently for new sites. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Doug
2010-11-19
Reviews: 5
This is a complete gallery solution, we well planned, and executed. Excellent documentation.
2010-11-18
Reviews: 5
Good component. A little complex for my needs, and missed a few feature. But still a good component overall.
2010-11-17
Reviews: 5
If a website I use needs an image gallery then I use this extension without trying another one...there is no reason, it also works with joomfish!
2010-11-16
Reviews: 4
I really wanted to use this extension since I like how it works overall, but ended up not using it because album management from the front end is not flexible enough. Categories seem to be assigned to each user separately, with each user mandated to start out with one and only one main category and create all other categories as subcategories of the main category. There needs to be more flexibility in allowing users to work with any category no matter who created it, and there should not be a restriction in forcing all users to have just one main category.
Owner's reply

Hi, as answered in the forum, this is still under working, the issue is a security, which is very important for open source project, so not every feature can be easily added because of following possible security issues.

Jan

2010-11-13
Reviews: 5
I tried just about every Gallery Viewing software that is available for Joomla , (about 14) none of them came close to what I was looking for. To just display a page of thumbnails and be able show them, single (shadowbox) or as slide show. Some did fill the order a bit, but most required alot of programming knowledge. Phoca Gallery is VERY user friendly.
2010-11-11
Reviews: 13
I have been using this extension for almost all of my clients and I must say, this extension has been a favorite for all of my clients and portals.
It just works out of the box and has got a real load of features, which I was expecting in a fully featured photo gallery.

Great job by Jan, who has released it FREE and also invests his valuable time in fixing bugs, updating the extension.

Hats off to him and his dedication to Joomla! Community!
2010-11-10
Reviews: 3
For testing I have recently installed a number of galleries, this one seems to be one of the best. Good job, Pavelka, krasna galerie.
2010-11-08
Reviews: 16
This is the best gallery extension that one is likely to find for Joomla and it's free!

It is a great component with many, many options that allow you to configure it the way you want it to work and display.
Because it has so many options, it is mandatory that one reads the documentation carefully to get the combination right.
One is not likely to have one's gallery up and running in 5 minutes from installing the component. This is a large piece of software and one must know how the options are interrelated. Once it has been properly set up, though, it will work great for both back-end and front-end.
Pair it with "Phoca Gallery Button" or " Phoca Gallery Slideshow" and you get the easiest way of adding images to your articles with lots of options.

A lot of work has been put into this and user feedback and requests have obviously been implemented.

The developer certainly deserves recognition and support for all his hard work.
2010-10-31
Reviews: 8
Am rating it good only because it is obviously a good extension and I can see the developers have put a lot of hard work into it and I don't want to take that away from them.

I was however very dissatisfied with it as I couldn't get the rating system to work and the posts within the Phoca forums didn't address this issue where it was raised by previous users. Indeed I applied the advice given i.e setting image rating both in global settings and via the menu item, neither of which worked.

Good component, looks good and serves a good purpose just wasn't good enough for what I needed.
2010-10-25
Reviews: 1
It does just about everything I want out of an image gallery. Love it! The only problematic area is the admin menu. Finding what you want in that mile long list of options can take some time. Dividing the menu into smaller, more manageable chunks would be welcomed.
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your review, if you mean parameters, these are rendered by Joomla! framework and in Joomla! 1.6 there will be tabs for them, so e.g. in Phoca Gallery version 3, options are stored in tabs.

2010-10-24
Reviews: 2
Just WOW! I can honestly say that this is the best component for image gallery i have seen until this moment. He is very simple and powerful. The documentation is very clear, if you installed this component first time so you can get all the information for every single step. Also there is a lot of configurations and customizations so it can satisfy a lot of needs. Choose the color,size,type of pop up window and of course many more options. As well I was looking for any component which can help me to organize the youtube gallery and compare to others I will definitely use Phoca.
Thank you very much to developers, keep going to update it.
2010-10-12
Reviews: 2
Installation is very smooth, and the documentation is good. I've been using this for several months now, and I'm very happy with it. I've also installed a few plug-ins that relate to Phoca Gallery; one of the strengths of Phoca Gallery is that there are many additional plug-ins you can add that will extend the functionality of your photo gallery. Since I first installed it, there have been updates. Updates go very smoothly. All you have to do is use the "install" page in your extensions menu, and you'll get two options on your screen, one for a fresh install, and one for an update that will keep your current data intact. Even though it is free, the quality is such that I felt very motivated to make a donation to support the future development of Phoca Gallery.
2010-10-05
Reviews: 5
Phoca Gallery really makes image gallery tasks easy. All the options may be intimidating initially but it is worth the end result.
2010-09-28
Reviews: 17
I really cant explain how much I love this component. Its a complete image gallery solution. 2 thumbs up
2010-09-16
Reviews: 1
I was building a site for my dojo and needed a flexible gallery component that the non-technical staff can administer and one that did not require a separate menu or article for each category/gallery to show the images. I tried many of the free ones and few trials but each had some weaknesses or/and shortcomings. The only one that really met all of my requirements was Phoca's; extremely flexible, many config options, and has a built-in batch image upload manager to boot (Java based)! I only installed the component part as it is the only thing I needed.
I ran into one problem with thumbnail display, emailed the developer and received a response within a few hours with a suggestion where/what to look for. His suggestion led me to discover a feature of the RocketTheme template I was using that injected invalid height and width attribs into the img tags; once I tweaked the template's feature everything worked great. (thank you Jan for the speedy support!)
For those needing to remove the credits from the footer; just make a small donation to support the developer and keep this great product alive. For my need, this one worked better than some expensive commercial extensions.
2010-08-28
Reviews: 2
Just what i am looking for. Straight forward and incisive. Big UP!
2010-08-28
Reviews: 10
This is probably the most comprehensive and well maintained gallery for Joomla.

And, it is free! Thank you Jan.

However, I would appreciate if we could turn off the link to Phoca. If all extension developers included a link to their site, all our sites would look like link farms.

This is the sole reason why I do not use it.
Owner's reply

Hi, see the Phoca Forum, there are so many ways to get link free version.

Jan

2010-08-16
Reviews: 1
This extension is really the best, but I think it miss one function for picasa.
For each new picture I must go to category and load.
I want to add picture automatically (by a script called every hour for example).
I'm looking for that and I will send you my modification if it's work perfectly but I don't know exactly what to change!
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your review.

"by a script called every hour for example" ... this is more server than Joomla! extension issue. For this you need some specific settings on your server which will run the script automatically. :-(

Jan

2010-08-13
Reviews: 1
The one of the most engaged developer I ever seen. Extension with a lot of features that is free but extremly proffessional like Jan.
Well done!
My first comment here but need to be posted cause of his job.
Page 8 of 18